reviews for: listing #86939 - Dana Point, California Condo rental

Strand Beach Escape
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Niguel Beach Terrace
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $315 /nt
    $1,575 - $2,205 /wk

sort by:

Condo is attractively furnished and upscale.

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We spent the month of March here and enjoyed every minute. Very up to date and the owners were available if we had problems. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This condo has everything you need!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful condo in the July and it has everything that you need. Our kids loved all the beach toys and we enjoyed walking to the beach everyday. The condo is prettier in person and Denise was so kind and accommodating from the very start! We enjoyed the pool & Jacuzzi after a long day at the beach and the location is fantastic because you can walk to Cannons seafood, Luciana's and the Point. I would highly recommend this condo for a relaxing vacation in Dana Point.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, great property!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We found this property to be in a perfect location for our planned trip. The property and amenities were as advertised, and we were very pleased with the quality of the accommodations and cleanliness. We had everything we needed for the week and we enjoyed the nearby beaches, walkways, and parks. The pool and hot tubs were very clean and accessible. We would most certainly stay here again. Thanks to Freddie, Harvey, and Denise for being so organized and making the arrival and departure so easy. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice --- just like the pictures

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Everything was just as we expected, no surprises. Property was clean and updated. We tried the Harbor Grill and would not go back. It was not bad but it was not great, We live in Healdsburg,Ca. and are spoiled I guess. We enjoyed all restaraunts in Laguna Beach Area much more. The last night we tried Salt Creek Grill in north Dana Point and the food and atmosphere was great. The Ferry to Catalina Island fron Dana Point was a treat. On the way home we watched dolphins jumping over the wake of the boat at sunset, what a sight!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

30th Anniversary Vacation

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

The condo was very nice. When I contacted the owners' with questions they called back quickly and were very courteous. The Dana Point area is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone. We went to the Wild Animal Safari Park, Captain Dave's Whale Watching Safari, and took the Catalina Express to Catalina Island. We also enjoyed walking by Salt Creek Beach. We ate at several area restaurants, The Point Sports Bar and Grill, the Brig down by the harbor, the Harbor House Café, Shwack Bar and Grill just to name a few. Our vacation was quite enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautifully decorated condo with everything.

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this sweet condo. Beautifully decorated, has great amenities, organized, easy and comfortable. The complex is conveniently located in Dana Point, the park and beach a short walk, and everything else a short drive. Recommended to all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Experience!

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

The entire HomeAway process was seamless, starting with a prompt response from the property owners to arranging the rental. The listing description was accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities, etc. The condo itself was stunningly beautiful, sparkling clean, and fully equipped. Every detail related to the unit was spelled out in the Strand Beach manual. A special touch included a welcome call from Denise on day two of our visit. The location was perfect! We found the people of Dana Point and the surrounding communities to be both engaging and friendly. The views were breathtaking, and a daily walk along the beach was the highlight of our trip. We also spent time at the harbor, shopped in Laguna Beach, and went swimming in the complex's pool. There were a variety of fabulous restaurants from which to select. We dined at five different vegetarian/vegan, or friendly, restaurants (Avanti Cafe, Native Foods, Pita Pita Cafe, VeggieGrill, and Zinc Cafe) in the area, and they were all excellent. We would definitely recommend this property to friends or relatives. Thanks for helping to make this a very special 30th anniversary vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So Incredible That We Returned!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My 2 daughters and I take an annual Mother's Day vacation and this home is so fabulous that we came back; second year in a row!
The location is perfect. It's just steps away from a fantastic beach and stunning views. Amazing restaurants and shopping are all within a few minutes drive.
The property itself is beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and has all of the amenities that you could possibly need.
We can't wait to come back for a third visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Location and Property

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This property was the perfect location for our family to spend relaxing and site-seeing in LA and San Diego. The owners, Freddie and Harvey, were in contact with us from the time we booked the property and were very accommodating during our stay. The condo is well maintained, tastefully decorated and stocked with all the essentials and more. The pool and the beach were easily accessible and near to the property.
The location was ideal for our family to visit Disneyland, Universal Studios and all the attractions in San Diego. We even had time to visit Palm Springs one day. Two outlet malls are near for a necessary shopping trip. It is very easy to get to the freeways and on your way to your day's destination.
Restaurants and grocery stores are close by and very easy to find.We would recommend this property to families and couples. We will stay here again.

The Morrison Family Edmonton, Alberta

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Beautiful condo; very comfortable; everything we needed for a stay with two kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great condo very close to the beach

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

A beautifully presented and classy condo. It is a short walk to the beach, so great for families. The only thing missing were freezer blocks for the cool bag and a 4 slice toaster. We would return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week at Dana Point

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Great location, well kept unit. All amenities provided.

Unit is well laid out and was very comfortable for 2 couples.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet beach vacation.

Thank you to the Owners, Denise, Harvey and Freddie - who were very helpful during our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My entire family loved this place. We have stayed in numerous vacation rentals and this one truly met all of our expectations. The on-line pictures are an accurate portrayal; the condo is beautiful and very clean. We were very comfortable during our stay and did not want for anything. It is obvious that the owner has put a great deal of thought into making sure that guests have everything they need, including beach towels and accessories, which was very nice. The entire complex is clean and quiet, perfect for families.

Getting to the beach is a bit of a walk, but totally worth it. Stop and take in the view before heading down the stairs, or taking the elevator/tram down to put your toes in the sand, it's gorgeous! We made it worth our while and packed snacks and beverages to take along so we could stay at the beach longer.

Should we ever return to Dana Point in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfort in a Great Location

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

All ameneties: location to beach, pool, entertainment, close to everything. This condo was more than we expected, very comfortable for 2 kids (4 & 6), 2 parents (both 32), and 2 grandparents (65 & 67). The beach toys were perfect for easy travel and clean up - kept all of us entertained for many hours. The community pool was refreshing for a day away from the beach or a relaxing evening. Overall the community was very quiet and well kept. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone looking for a very comfortable place to stay while in Orange County.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Strand Beach Escape

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Strand Beach Escape. The condo was well equipped, immaculately clean, and very comfortable and convenient to the area. They even had a rolling cooler, boogie boards, and beach towels for us to use. Excellent value.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I like the title

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Strand Beach. We initially had a difficult time finding the property, but once we did, it was wonderful. It was very clean and well maintained. The location was perfect. We would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Memorial Day Week-end at Dana Point

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We spent 3 days in Dana Point paradise. It is amazing place right in between LA and San Diego. Beaches, weather, ocean surprised us even we live in Bay Area and fly to Hawaii every year. We were jogging and walking along the beaches and swimming a lot in the ocean. "Strand Beach Escape" condo brought a lot of value to our vacation experience. First of all condo is perfectly designed and decorated; everything is renovated and in superb condition. Fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms, washer and dryer helped us to feel like we are at home. Booking and payment processes were easy and convenient. We had wonderful experience and looking forward to stay longer at this place next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Memorial Day Week-end at Dana Point

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We spent 3 days in Dana Point paradise. It is amazing place right in between LA and San Diego. Beaches, weather, ocean suprised us even we live in Bay Area and fly to Hawaii every year. We were jogging and walking along the beachs and swimming a lot in the ocean. "Strand Beach Escape" condo brought a lot of value to our vacation experience. First of all condo is perfectly designed and decorated; everything is renovated and in superb condition. Fully equiped kitchen, bathrooms, washer and dryer helped us to feel like we are at home. Booking and payment processes were easy and convinient. We had wonderfull experince and looking forward to stay longer at this place next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place - 5 star arrangement!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We chose this place for our family gathering last week. It matched the description in the listing and more.
I would definitely classify it as a luxury condo. It was very clean and had all the amenities. A block away from the Strand beach and walking distance to Dana Point downtown. I called Freddie a couple of times for minor things and the response was immediate. I was very impressed with the customer service provided by him throughout the booking and stay.
I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Thanks for making it a fun vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mother's Day Vacation

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

My daughters and I booked this condo for four nights and we wish we could have stayed longer!

When planning our trip, we looked at several hotels in the area and I happened to run across this vacation rental and am so glad that I did.

This condo is very clean, modern, warm and charming. We felt as though we were "home" the minute we walked in!

Although we didn't cook, the kitchen has everything you would need to make a wonderful meal and has plenty of counter space. The open kitchen, living room and dining area are perfect for entertaining.

There is plenty to do in the area; the beach is just a few minutes walk; there are markets nearby, lots of amazing restaurants and shopping. Laguna Beach shops are just a short drive up the coast.

We used the pool twice and had the entire pool to ourselves. And the large beach towels provided in the condo are a bonus.

I have already recommended this property to several other co-workers and friends.

Also, thank you SO much to the owners who provided us with a very helpful map/view of the condo, pool/hot tub area, parking, etc.

I'm already planning my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Spot to explore Dana Point and other areas of Orange County. Super clean!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

The condo was immaculately clean and had all the comforts of home and more. The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

Would definitely stay here again should we return to California. It is most definitely a home from home. Everything is provided for you including large beach towels, plenty of cupboard space for your clothing and the kitchen is modern, fully equipped, all utensils and crockery provided, bin bags and kitchen towel as well. Beautiful bathrooms with soft towels. Lots of attention to detail which made our stay very relaxing.

Great outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi within the complex and a 3-5 minute walk to the local beach across the street. Fantastic restaurants in the area as well as Laguna Beach which is about a 10 minute drive from the property. I highly recommend Gen Kai, their sushi burrito is to die for!

I can most definitely say this is a great spot for families and couples. Local cats are very friendly :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Class Condo

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

This place is recently remodeled. The decor could easily allow this place to be featured in a home decor magazine. Everything was very modern. The appliances were all stainless steel, counters were granite. All the small appliances were nice and newer and even included a coffee bean grinder and a canister full of beans! A nice touch was the inclusion of beach gear including a cooler, toys and beach towels. And the condo was very clean.

The location is perfect, within walking distance of the beach. The pool and hot tub area was nice and clean and convenient.

The owners provided everything we needed, including a map to the local grocery and pharmacy. I might add that the people at Ralph's Grocery were super! They asked if we had a customer loyalty card and when we told them "no, we're just visiting," they swiped a card and gave us their store discount. Someone even called us the night we arrived to make sure everything was in order with the condo.

I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it highly.

We only ate at one local restaurant, and we would recommend it highly as well. Cannon's Seafood Grill is only 1/2 mile from the condo and has a breathtaking view of the marina and ocean with its mountainside location and huge glass windows. The food there was "fine dining" at a reasonable price ($25-40 entrees) Definitely recommend "splurging" one evening while you are there.

The location was only an hour from the airport (LAX), and about the same to downtown LA or Hollywood. Close enough to the city to enjoy its offerings, but far enough away to be in a community like Dana Point that is quiet, classy and clean. Loved it!

5 stars not enough for this place! You need to change your rating system to include 10 stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

When we opened the door upon our arrival, I thought we were looking at the photos we'd seen online! Everything was just as we'd seen in the listing - only better: we were actually there, inside this beautiful, totally renovated condo. And we had a whole month stretching before us, tantalizing us with it's beautiful decor, high-end finishes (I'd love to have the fixtures, sink and shower head that is in that master bath in my own home!) and so-close location to the park and the ocean. The kitchen was probably the most completely furnished one we've ever rented: Yes! there WERE 20 herbs and spices plus salt and pepper, coffee beans and grinder, sugar and sweetener, high-end pots, pans, dishes, and on and on.

We slept like babies on the great king mattress, watched TV on both over-size LCD TVs, played our DVDs on the Play Station - and that's just the beginning. Each morning, we we out for an invigorating walk by the beach via all three stairways and trails that offer incredible views of the surf, sand, sunsets and incredible mansions that overlook the Pacific Ocean.

Owners Harvey, Freddie and Denise made sure that everything we needed was tended to and it was fun emailing and talking back and forth with them. By the time we left, we felt we'd made three new friends.

We're usually quite ready to go home from long vacations but this is one time when we can honestly say we didn't want to leave! We felt like we were LEAVING home when we closed the condo door behind us for the last time. We're already talking of a return visit someday. Thank you, Harvey, Freddie and Denise, for making our Dana Point vacation so perfect and so memorable!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jeff

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Very nice place in a nice area. Close to the ocean and near shops and restaraunts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Felt like we were in a 5 star hotel

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

From the moment I spoke with Harvey, he was very accomodating. He did the best to make our famiy feel comfortable from before we arrived to the minute we left. The condo was amazing. The interior design was fantastic. I think my wife wanted to take some ideas and apply it to our home. You really didn't need to bring anything except your toothbrush and some clothes. They had all the amenities you would need down to fresh coffee beans to grind, to shampoo in the bathroom, to Netflix. We really could have stayed in our condo the whole time. But we actually had the luxury of walking down to the beach and the pool. The view walking down to the beach was amazing. We would definitely come back again. Lastly, Harvey, Freddie and Denise were very prompt in returning our security deposit once we left the condo. Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay in Dana Point

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Had a great stay at this newly renovated apartment. Lots to do in the area with a great beach walking distance and a also a pool for the development. Definitely recommend it as a good spot for anyone who wants to stay in Dana Point.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect relaxing and beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

My sisters-in-laws and I rented this place for a girls weekend and it was absolutely perfect. The condo is beautifully decorated, very clean and well maintained and had every amenity you could ask for - beach gear, board games, remodeled kitchen with all the cooking utensils and dishes you would need to make all your meals during your stay, comfortable beds, access to a heated pool and hot tub, a gas grill on one of the two patio decks and a washing machine/dryer. The beach, which wasn't very crowded and very clean, is a short walk away. We took full advantage of what Dana Point had to offer - spa treatments, a sea kayaking tour with Dana Point Jet Ski rental, window shopping in the harbor, nice restaurants, etc. We would happily rent this again for another relaxing weekend and would recommend it to our family and friends. You won't regret staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Dana Point Condo Delivers and then some.

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

From the moment we saw this rental unit online and were in contact with the owners until the time we departed, we were beyond excited and had THE VERY BEST EXPERIENCE! The condo is exactly as pictured...but there is so much more that the owners thought about - there are too many "small" details to list - but we all know it's in the details. I felt from the moment that I spoke to the owners that they were honest about everything, they were just those people. The place was awesome to come home to each night, and it felt like home too. We loved it and would stay again. The Strands beach is amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in the condo for one week. It was very comfortable and well located for sites or just relaxing at the beach or pool. It was pretty, clean and reasonably priced! We all agree that we would stay there again for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review