reviews for: listing #86946 - Kanab, Utah House rental

Red Ledges Roost
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $175 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Great location in a quiet neighborhood!

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We had a great stay in your cute little SW home! The close and easy access to Zions, slot canyons and Best Friends Animal Sanctuary was perfect. Looking forward to returning with mt. bikes in the future - canyon to the north of the home is an easy 5 minute walk and looks like a great place to ride bikes!

Owners response: Dear Pete and Sandra,
Thank you for staying at Red Ledges Roost, we really appreciate your business.
This area is great for bike riding, hiking and ATV rides. It is the best way to really see the country. We are looking forward to your return visit. Thank you for
taking good care of our home.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house in a perfect location

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

My family of four (wife, 8 year old daughter, 3 year old daughter) met my dad and his wife for a nice weekend in Kanab. As everyone stated in the reviews the homeade rolls were awesome. The homemade rolls started the weekend off right and we had a nice relaxing weekend the rest of the way. The house was big and spacious and far better than any hotel/lodge you would get in town and having a full kitchen is so much nicer than eating out every meal (which is great since the restaurant choices are somewhat limited in Kanab). We brought our bikes and biked around the golf course and into town. There was a great backyard with a BBQ that unfortunatley we didn't exploit since we were bike riding, horseback riding, going to the Best Friends Animal Santuary and into Zions... so we just didn't have time to have a long slow dinner out back. We will defintely come back to this house and had a great trip.

Owners response: Dear Danny and family, Thank you for staying at Red Ledges Roost. We really appreciate your business. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, the area around Kanab is very beautiful and peaceful. Thank you for the way you took care of our home, you are always welcome to come again.

Sincerely,
Carol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. The location was ideal for taking day trips to Bryce, Zion and North Rim Grand Canyon. The rolls, jam and fresh fruit were much appreciated when we first arrived. We also appreciated your attention to detail in providing things like the ice chest and back packs. The Wi-Fi was appreciated and used daily to check weather for our day trips. We enjoyed dinner in Kanab almost every night and especially liked Rocking V Cafe. Thanks again Carol for your hospitality and for sharing your home. Our trip was Awesome!

Owners response: Dear Christy and Joureen, Thank you so much for booking with Red Ledges Roost.
How surprised we were to find towels washed and everything left so nice. We really do appreciate all that you did in taking care of our home. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. You are the best. We are happy to hear you had a great vacation, Please come again, you are always welcome.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Home Away, yet in your comfort"

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

It was a great experience and specially our little kids had the most fun in the backyard. Everything in the house was well provided and every room was equipped with the required amenities.
Thank you for the rolls and the strawberry jam and yes they were awesome.
We definitely plan to be there again as well as recommend it to our friends.

Owners response: Dear Rinita and Family,
Thank you very much for booking with Red Ledges Roost. We are happy to hear the children enjoyed the back yard. It is one of our favorite places also, we enjoy watching the shadows on the Red Cliffs in the morning or evening. We hope to
have you visit again someday! I hope you also enjoyed the wonderful area around Kanab. There is lots to see! Sincerely, Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home with amazing views

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

The Red Ledges Roost is a terrific home to stay in while on vacation. It is your home away from home. It has everything you need and to top it off it gives you stunning views of the red rocks. I will for sure plan on staying there again.

Owners response: Dear Ty,
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate your guest staying at Red Ledges Roost. We are happy to hear your guest enjoyed the beautiful Scenery and the Homey feeling the house offers. I am sure they enjoyed the beautiful scenery
of Southern Utah. It is the best! Especially with you as their guide! You always give your all and are the best guide around. Thanks again, We appreciate you very much.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

The house was one of the best we've ever stayed in. Well equipped, clean and very comfortable.
Thank you Carol.

Owners response: Dear Kathleen and Family,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate so much the care you took of our home and would love to have you return someday.
We try to make Red Ledges Roost that we ourselves would like to stay. It has been a pleasure having you, looking forward to your next visit
You are always welcome

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly at pictured!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

perfect for the traveler---located well for seeing Bryce, Zion, the North Rim. Clean, tidy, all that one could need on a vacation. Thanks Carol for a great place to rest.

Owners response: Dear Karen and Family,

Thank you for the good review. It has been a pleasure having you stay with us . We appreciate the way you and your family took care of our home.
You and your family are always welcome back for another vacation in the future.

Thanks again, it is folks like you that we love to have!

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great, homey place

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

We did feel like home here. The house has everything we needed, including good WiFi, and kitchen utensils. Carol was a very helpful hoast, and mailed to us an item we forgot at her house. Thank you, Carol

Owners response: Dear Florin and Family,

It was a pleasure having you stay in our home. We are happy to hear you received your sons necklace.
I appreciate they way you took care of our home. You are welcome back anytime you may want to return.

Thank you for booking with us we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Red Ledges Roost is a wonderful place to stay. Peaceful, quiet, tucked away. Gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. Well kept rental. Carol was so helpful with all of the arrangements. Definitely would recommend this to anyone! They even had two dishes of rolls rising in the kitchen for us to cook when we got there along with homemade delicious strawberry jam :).

Owners response: Dear Stephanie and University of Utah Students,
Thank you all so very much for the care you took of our home! We were all impressed. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. You are always welcome back it was a pleasure having you. You certainly out did yourselves and showed that collage students can be responsible adults. I cannot say enough about how
pleased we were in finding everthing in perfect order. Thank you again for everything you did, You guys are the very best renters we have ever had.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home in Kanab

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

What a beautiful, clean, comfortable home! We were welcomed with homemade rolls and jelly. The house was spotlessly clean with the highest quality, comfortable linens. It was a perfect place to stay for our family of six for trips to Zion, Bryce, and Lake Powell. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this home to others. Thank you Carol for providing a wonderful place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Vicki and Family,

Thank you so much for you great review. We appreciate knowing that you had a good time while staying at Red Ledges Roost. We try to make it a place where we would enjoy staying ourselves. Our goals are to have a very clean place to stay with all of the comforts of home. We truly are the hub of the National Parks, State Park and National Mouments.
There is lots great hikes right around the house. The red hills are wonderful relaxing watching the shadows of early morning and evening. We have also seen deer out on the golf course on occasion. It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and you are always welcome back.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kanab, Bryce Canyon and The North Rim

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

No worries about Red Ledges Roost. The space was larger than expected, clean, cool, and great location on the local golf course where we could slip out before sundown and hit a few shots before night fell. Loved the fresh rolls waiting for us. Thanks so much, Carol! Halfway into our stay, our son fell out of a tree at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and had to be life-flighted to Flagstaff. Carol was really great providing comfort and assistance in the face of these challenges and helping with special needs relative to our stay. We appreciate all you did for us!

Owners response: Dear Craig and Family, Thank you so much for your review. We hope and pray that your
son is doing better. We felt so helpless and wanted to do something. Hopefully everthing
turned out for the best. We appreciate the way you folks took care of our home. Thank you so much and know you are always welcome back. It has been our pleasure to have
you stay with us.

Sincerely,
Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Family

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We had a great time! We have a sizable family of 7, and the house was very confortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the whole house was VERY clean! It is located close enough to many parks that allowed us to make day trips. We were welcomed with fresh baked bread and homemade jam!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lia and Family,
Thank you so much for your great review, we really appreciate it. We are so happy you had a great time, our goal is to make our customers happy. Red Ledges Roost
is a great place either for families, or friends, elderly senior couples to come and enjoy staying in a home instead of the hassel at motel. It is much more convient where you have great beds, can cook your meals and do your laundry. There is many things to do and see and Kanab is a perfect hub to visit the National Parks, State Parks and National Monuments just within short driving distances. Thank you for being such great renters and taking such good care of our home. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June 2012

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Nice location for visiting North Rim Grand Canyon, Zion, Best Friends, Bryce Canyon, Antelope Canyon and the Wave. If you do the lottery for the wave...the office where it is conducted is right next to the subdivision. Comfortable home and a great central location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Sheryl,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We also appreciate
the way you took care of our home, thank you. It is nice to have BLM right next to the subdivision, it is handy when you want to get in the lottery for the wave, maps and information about the Southern Utah area. Our home is also located on a golf course for
anyone intrested in playing golf. Kanab is the central hub to the Grand Canyon, Zion,
Best Friends, Bryce Canyon, Lake Powell, The Wave, Peeaboo Slot Canyons, Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Pipe Spring National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase and many more great
hikes and areas to explore.

It has been a pleasure to have you stay with us and you
will always be welcome. Thank you once again.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Red Ledges Roost

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

The house was perfect in accommodating 4 adults (two couples). Between the master suite and the two-bedroom/ibath area, we all had plenty of private spaces, in addition to the computer room/office, and the den. Everything was clean and in perfect order upon our arrival, and included the surprise biscuits and jam!!

The outdoor space was used daily, and one of our group enjoyed the golf course everyday. And, of course, the view from the patio was spectacular!

Only one negative, and that was the lack of a door between the master bedroom and the master bath.

Thank you for everything. We will remember you to our friends traveling out your way!!

All our best,

Peg and Jim Dawson

Owners response: Dear Jim and Peg,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hopefully some day you will stay with us again you are always welcome. Thank you for taking such good care of our home. We really appreciate folks like you that are so considerate.

We are happy to hear you used the golf course, it is so close all you need to do is step out the back gate.

We feel Red Ledges Roost is a perfect central location for seeing all the surrounding National Parks, State Parks and National Mouments in the area.

At this time we are a little uncertain what to do about a door on the Master Bathroom, but thank you very much for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you so much for remembering us to your friends we really appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect home base for Canyons vacation

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Within two steps of entering this home, I knew my family of four would be happy here--the cleanliness and spaciousness was immediately striking.The home is very well equipped, the environment was always peaceful, and the view from the back patio is stunning.
The intent of our vacation was to explore Zion, Bryce, and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We did not want to pack our belongings each day and frequently move to new lodging, and we wanted space to enjoy each others' company after hiking in the parks. The home provided a good central location for doing so.
Zion was an easy drive from the home. Given the heat of summer, the best approach to Zion was to hike early in the day (the earlier the better). Compared to staying in the Zion lodge, the home's distance precluded returning to the park in the evening; however, we exhausted ourselves so much early in the day that we welcomed staying in the home in the evening. By the way, the east entrance drive into Zion is the most beautiful scenic drive I've taken. Zion tip: Do your research to plan your hikes and understand the (excellent) Zion shuttle system before coming.
Getting to Bryce took 1.5 hours--an easy drive, and getting up early to deal with heat issues was not required given the higher elevation.
Because we wanted to spend two days at the Grand Canyon in order to see the sunrise one morning, and because we were able to book a last-minute stay in a cabin at the park, we checked out of this Kanab home for that final leg of the trip. I know others have made day trips to the Grand Canyon from this home, and it is definitely reasonable to do so (although it would be a long day)--if doing so, my advice is to stay at the Canyon through sunset because the colors in the Canyon wash out mid-day. Another note: Other accommodations between Kanab and the Grand Canyon are extremely few and far between, and don't begin to compare to this home.
All four of us were extremely happy with "our" Kanab home. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and professionally organized.
Final note: Although we are not golfers, any vacationer who is a golfer would love this home, as a serene, beautiful course is just outside the backyard gate.

Owners response: Dear Terrsa and family,
Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate people like you very much,
It has been a pleasure having you stay with us. You and your family were very
considerate in taking good care of our home, Thank you.

We are happy you enjoyed your vacation, Southern Utah and Northern Arizona has so many beautiful places to see and lots to do. We love it here ourselves, we have lived here most of our lives and still have not seen everything there is to see.

Did you take any of the hikes around the house? Squaw Trail is a wonderful hike up into the red ledges. This hike overlooks the town of Kanab and all of the surrounding area. When we lived in Red Ledges Roost we loved to set on the back patio and watch the shadows on the red hills behind the house. It is very relaxing and peaceful.
Many nights we would BBQ dinner out there and have a very enjoyable evening.

We hope you had a safe trip home and all was well on your return.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Colorado Hikers

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

We just got home from this great residence. The pictures don't actually do the property justice it is remarkable. It is perfectly located we very easily got to Zion, Bryce and Lake Powell. It was a very comfortable place to stay, very well stocked we wanted for nothing. There was 7 of us and we never felt over crowded or like we would get into each others way. We could even have some quiet time if we wanted. We are already planning our return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Dennis and Friends,
Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate so
much how you took care of our home. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try and make Red Ledges Roost somewhere we would enjoy staying ourselves. Kanab is the perfect place to stay to enjoy wonderful hiking in the National Parks and the surrounding areas. We appreciate your business. Thank you very much. Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home to visit the parks and canyons

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We stayed at this lovely home during a family trip to Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon. It had absolutely everything we needed, and plenty of room for 7 people. My 3 kids spent the entire stay without turning on (or even asking to turn on) the TV, because they enjoyed playing the available board games and puzzles after a day of hiking and sightseeing. There is a grocery store just around the corner so there was no need to eat out at restaurants because you can cook at home. We had a fantastic time (even better than at the Grand Canyon, which was the 2nd leg of our trip) and would highly recommend this home for anyone who travels to Southern Utah.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Dear June and Family,
Thank you for the great review, we appreciate people like you who take such good care of our home. It nice to hear your children enjoyed the board games and the great hiking in the area. Kanab is a beautiful area and a hub to many of natures
greatest wonders. Red Ledges Roost is a place to come to really relax and enjoy your vacation. Thank you and your
family again for your business it has been a pleasure having you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Carol,

We had a really wonderful stay in your house. It was clean, tidy, and filled with absolutely everything we could possibly need during our stay. Your house was also comfortable and comforting to come home to after our busy days. The house is beautiful, large, and has an amazing view. Kanab is a wonderfully friendly community and full of character. The location couldn't have been better for our trip - we volunteered for a few days at Best Friends and then we toured many of the parks - Bryce, Zion, Pink Coral Sands, Lake Powell, Grand Canyon, etc. The rolls and jam (and the bowl of fruit on the counter) were a nice surprise too.

I'd be happy to recommend your house to anyone who's going to Kanab (or that entire region) for a vacation. I won't write a review on HomeAway because they require me to sign up with an ID and password. In the interest of keeping my personal information private, I do not create accounts at sites unless I do a great deal of business there. If there is any other travel site where I can write something about your house without creating an account, I will be pleased to do it - just let me know.

Best wishes,
Amy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation destination!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Kanab! Thank you for sharing your comfortable and spacious home with us! We found it to be very clean, well furnished, and fully equipped with everything we needed to prepare meals and accommodate our group of six. Your home is just as the pictures show. We loved the location, your lovely southwest decor and we appreciated the use of the garage. Your special touch of the fresh buns and jam upon our arrival made us feel totally welcome! The minor issue with the WiFi was attended to immediately - which we really appreciated. It was a total success and we would love to come back again next year! I would definitely recommend your home to anyone looking for a vacation in Kanab. Thanks so much! Susan & Howard & Family

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Susan and Howard,
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate it very much. It has been a pleasure having you in our home. We would love to have you back, your always welcome! It really is amazing about vacation homes as they are more comfortable and have so much more to offer than a motel, but really do cost less. You would have needed 3 motel rooms and you payed less than that with the comforts of being in a home.

We are happy you enjoyed your vacation, that is our goal to
help people have a great time and enjoy themselves while in beautiful Southern Utah.

Thanks again,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to STAY!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We booked our group to stay at Red Ledges and they just loved it! Said it met all expectations and more. Highly Recommended! Will stay again.
National Park Tourz llc

Owners response: Dear Ty and Carrie,

Thank you so much for the great review. You guys are the best! We are happy that your folks enjoyed their stay at Red Ledges Roost. Southern Utah is a beautiful and amazing place.
We enjoy setting on the back porch watching the shadows of evening on the red hills behind the house and I am sure your
guest enjoyed their vacation while staying here. Thanks again for your booking and look forward to you staying with us again sometime. Your always welcome!

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We stayed in this lovely home while visiting the canyons throughout the area. It was so nice to come back to a roomy place to relax and unwind. The view from the back patio is gorgeous.
Upon our arrival, we were left rolls and homemade jam for a snack to hold us over until we were able to visit the local grocery store.
Our family of 4 had plenty of room and I am sure many more could easily stay in this home. Thank you so much for a wonderful place to call our home while we explored the canyons. By the way, don't skip the Best Friends Animal Sanctuary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location and Accomodations

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a trip out west and somehow we found this place! What a great choice. Great Locale, Wonderful Digs, Spectacular Views and all for a price that lined up at or below what we would have paid for a hotel.
Visited the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Zion Canyon over a three day stay and all were within easy driving distance.

Great Place to Stay!!! Thanks Red Ledges Roost!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Tom and Amanda,
Thank you so much for staying at RLR and the great review. We appreciate people like you,it has been our pleasure. Kanab is the hub for North Rim, Bryce, Zion, Lake Powell, Escalante, Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Best Friends so there is
many things to see and do. In fact we have live here most of
our lives and still haven't seen everthing. The views in Kanab are truly spectacular and a wonderful place to stay. Hopefully sometime in the future you will come back. You are always welcome. Thanks again!

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing House Near Stunning Butes

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Our family was very pleased with our rental of Red Ledges Roof. The property was very clean and comfortable for all. This was a great location for us as we were able to visit both the Grand Canyon and Zion Canyon National Parks within two days. We would highly recommend this to all who are interested.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Bill and Family,
It was a pleasure having you stay in our home. We also have found Red Ledges Roost to be a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. It is much better than than a motel room. It is conveniently located, so it easy to visit the national parks in short periods of time. We love to set outside on the back porch and watch the shadows on the red cliffs in the early morning or late evenings. It truly is a quiet and relaxing place. Thank you so much for recommending us to others we really appreciate that.

Sincerely,
Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rental Home

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

Our experience was very positive. This home provided us with a great place to stay and feel at home.
Everything was there that we needed to fix meals, a wide variety of spices and cooking equipment.
The linens were all nice. The owner was very helpful and nice. I would recommend this property to anyone and I personnally would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Carol and Benny,
Thank you so much for staying at RLR. We appreciate the way you took good care of our home. Southern Utah is very beautiful and we are happy to hear you had such a great vacation. Our home has a great location for visiting the national parks, state parks and national monuments. We try and make Red Ledges Roost a place that is comfortable and homey, somewhere we ourselves we like to stay. We appreciate your recommendations to others, and know that you and your family are always welcome back! Thanks again.

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home. Would recommend to a friend

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

We stayed at the Red Ledges Roost during our trip to Utah. It is spacious and clean. The kitchen has quite a lot of amenities as well as cooking seasonings. The owner even prepared us a bakery. The bed is very comfortable.

We have 5 people in our group. We are all very much impressed by the vacation home. We enjoyed our stay.

I would recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Yanshu and Family,
We were also impressed by the great people that stayed in our home. You were very graious even if I got time confused. Thank you for being so understanding. You will always be welcome and thank you for the great review!
Sincerely, Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home and surrounding area

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We were very happy with the lovely home in the heart of canyon country. Upon arrival, we were greeted with fresh baked rolls and homemade strawberry jam. Such a nice touch!
The house was large and quiet. My teenage daughters loved having their own room and we all enjoyed the back patio. The mornings were fabulous out there with the red rocks as a view. The golf course was beautiful and pretty quiet.
While in Kanab, we visited Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion and the Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. Every one of these places is worth the visit!
We used the local grocery stores, Glaziers (sp?) better than Honeys and I don't recommend the local pizza. Fortunately, we had a nice BBQ and patio!
The house exceeded our expectations. There were some food items such as coffee for us, plenty of laundry supplies, lots of soft towels, travel information, small cooler to take to the canyons, etc. We were set!
Carol is a very sweet lady that will take care of anything you need. I highly recommend this home to anyone visiting Kanab. June was warm but a great time to visit all the sights. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Terri and Family,
We are happy that you had a wonderful vacation while in beautiful Southern Utah and that you enjoyed staying at Red Ledges Roost. We have also always loved the way the shadows dance on the red ledges both in the morning and evening! It has been a pleasure having you and your family stay in our home. There is many things to see and do in our area. We have live in this area all of our lives and we are still discovering things. There is some excellent resterants in the Kanab area. Ones I would recommend are Rewind, Escobars Mexican Food and Cowboy Butte Steak House (Fredonia 7 miles south).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Workers at Best Friends

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Three of us-- 2 grown daughters and elderly me just loved our stay at Red Ledges Roost. Nicest place we have ever stayed. Beautiful view, very comfortable lovely home. Laurie and Meredith hiked to the water falls from the house. Loved it. We also loved working at Best Friends again.
Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Ginny, Laurie and Meredith,

Thank you so much for the great review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time spent at
Red Ledges Roost in Kanab, UT.

It just seems there is not enough time to see everything in beautiful Southern Utah. We
have lived here all of our lives and still haven't been able to see everything that is here.

We have tried to make Red Ledges Roost somewhere we would like to be ourselves and it
is. It is very a peaceful place with the comforts of home. It is truly wonderful to watch the shadows fall on the red ledges that surround our home in the evenings or early morning.

Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, being the largest in the nation, is a wonderful place
to visit and volunteer. It is truly amazing how many animals are helped here. I know you
all enjoyed you time spend there.

Thank you so much for staying at Red Ledges Roost and it was a pleasure having
you!

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing & very comfortable!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

This was a great place for our long weekend to the canyon lands. It is nicely located for easy access to Page, AZ, The North Rim of the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion. The numerous slot canyons were an easy drive also. The house is just as the pictures show - very clean and nicely equiped. Everything is in good working order and Carol was as nice and helpful as anyone could be. She has collected quite a bit of information on things to do in the area and if she doesn't have the info you are looking for there is a BLM office less than a 5 minute walk away and the folks there were very helpful. There was a pan of rolls all ready to bake raiting for us with butter and homemade jam - very tasty! The kitchen is stocked with the basics which is so nice. We hiked everyday and enjoyed a very relaxing home in the evening so that we were ready to go the next day. We had a great time - no complaints at all. I would stay here again and I recommend it. If I had to come up with one thing to change it would be to have WiFi available but I suppose when you are on vacation the computer should stay home :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Patsy and Pam,

Thank you so much for that great review.
We are happy you enjoyed staying in our home. Having guest like you two was a pleasure.

Thank you also for the coffee maker. We have now added a
coffee grinder and fresh coffee beans, for our guest to enjoy because of your suggestions. Hopefully sometime in the near future we will also add high speed internet.

You are right about seeing just a small part of Southern Utah/Northern Arizona area. We live in a very beautiful area with so many things to do and see. We have lived here all of our lives and still have not seen everything.

Thank you again, and we will be looking forward to you staying with us sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay at Red Ledges Roost

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My stay at Red Ledges roost was a wonderful weekend! We came to Kanab around the first of April and visited Zion, Bryce and Grand Canyon, but the rental house was wonderful. The homeade strawberry jam and rolls were great and the chocolates on the pillows made us all feel so welcome. The house had everything we needed and the price was so reasonable, it is the only way to travel with family. I would highly recomend Red Ledges Roost to all of my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Evan and Toni,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Red Ledges Roost. Our goal is to have our customers enjoy our home as much as we have. We like to offer a nice place to stay and enjoy your vacation. We try to make it somewhere we would like to stay ourselves. We want our customers to feel completely at home and have the necessary items to be that way. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the National Parks. Kanab is the hub to the Grand Canyon, Zion, Bryce and Lake Powell. And Southern Utah is one of the most beautiful places in the US. The rolls, strawberry jam, and candy is our way to say thank you for doing business with us. We really do appreciate our customers!

Sincerely,

Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get-away

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

On Febrluary 24th and 25th, my wife and I and another couple stayed at the red ledges roost in Kanab, Utah. We were very pleased with the accomodations. everything was very clean and proper. The beds were comfortable and we really had every thing we needed. While in Kanab we were able to enjoy a trip into the beautiful back country. We journeyed to Lee's Ferry and Navajo bridge. Two Giant California Condors gave us a magnificient performance at the bridge.
The Vermillion cliffs are very beautiful and worth seeing. This is magnificient country. We would definitely stay there again. This home could accomodate a much larger group than ours.
Dean and Anita cordner Provo, Utah.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Dean and Anita,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Red Ledges Roost.
Our goal has been to have our vacation home somewhere we
would like to stay ourselves. Good comfortable beds was a top priority on our list. We would like our visitors to feel completely at home and have the necessary, linens, towel's,
pots and pans, dishes & ect. available for their use. Our home is
the hub to the four National Parks and Southern Utah is
one of the most beautiful places in the United States. The Vermilion cliffs, Navajo Bridge and the Giant California Condors
are just a few of the beautiful things to see in this area. If you do decide to come to Kanab area again may we suggest the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Lake Powell, Grand Esclante Staircase Monument or the Pipe Springs National Monument.
Thank you so very much for the great review of our home. Come and stay with us again. Keith & Carol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dale & Vivienne Reynolds

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Excellant accomodations. All amenities needed, are provided by home owner or are in walking distance close by. Great for couples or for families. We highly recommend you make this home your accomodations for a fun filled time in the Kanab, Utah area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Viv and Dale,
Thank you for staying with RLR and your recommendations. We hope you are now feeling better Dale! Kanab is a beautiful place with many fun things to do. If you are into ATV riding, the trails in this area are truly spectacular.
We have tried to make RLR a place that is comfortable and relaxing and where we would enjoy staying ourselves. Come again, your always welcome.

Sincerely,
Carol Judd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review