reviews for: listing #87006 - Estes Park, Colorado Studio rental

Bunkhouse at Old Man Mountain Studios, walk to town, views,
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Walk to Downtown E.P
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $160 /nt
    $720 - $960 /wk
    $1,000 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Our Bunkhouse Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

When we arrived at the Bunkhouse (we were running late because of holiday traffic), Brian was right there to welcome us and show us around. We easily found the local grocery, walked downtown and enjoyed a pizza dinner before settling in. We spent our Thanksgiving playing in the snow and elk-spotting at Estes Park with our two young boys and Bassett hound, and found the Bunkhouse to be perfectly situated and very well-stocked. They even had a turkey pan waiting for us! On our last night in town, we drove a short distance the 'back way' to get a good spot for the annual Estes Park Christmas parade. It was so much fun, and while long lines of cars sat at stoplights to get back, we drove back over the hill and were "home" in five minutes. As we got out of the car, our Bunkhouse neighbors were whispering "Look!" There was a small herd of elk right on the lawn! Everything about our stay at the Bunkhouse was magical- from the comfortable beds to the lit Christmas tree outside our front door. We will definitely make the Bunkhouse our home away from home when we visit RMNP and Estes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

It was a loverly home away from home

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

The unit was lovely and clean with a lot of great touches - like personal artwork. This was a great place to end up at the end of the day of hiking and we were easily able to make it home away from home. Having a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facility available were all very nice. I think it's a stretch that it's a walk to town but we didn't really want to walk to town so that worked for us. The view from the lovely patio makes you feel like you are far from town and we liked that. I would definitely recommend this rental to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying at the Bunkhouse. The walk to town is 0.6 miles; if you decide you don't want to walk back... hop on the free town shuttle.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in the smallest unit. At first glance it seems very small, but once we brought our stuff in (and we hike and have lots of stuff) we realized that the size is just right. It's well designed (by the father of the owner) and there is plenty of storage space. Although in this unit the kitchen is small and lacks an oven, there's a gas BBQ on a nice outdoor patio, and we cooked all meals at the condo. The unit was very clean and well maintained.

The location is great, right near a road that bypasses the town, and right near the less busy park entrance. We had something that needed to be fixed, and that was attended to right away. This particular unit is best suited to a couple, but we visited the other 2 units and they're larger and very nice as well. Even though the 3 units are attached, there is plenty of privacy between them, with separate entrances and separate patios. There's also the opportunity to meet your neighbors if so inclined (which we did and that added to the pleasure of our stay).

We spent our time visiting Rocky Mountain National Park, and hiking, and also visited the Estes Park Museum (which is very nice, and free), used the library to check our emails (also free), and visited the Stanley Hotel. I found the town itself to be scenic and a pleasure to walk around. There's a large Safeway nearby that provided all our food needs during our stay.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Estes Park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Bunkhouse was Great!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 days at the Bunkhouse (440B Unit #3). It was great. There were just 2 of us but could easily have brought the kids and still had plenty of room. Everything was spotless throughout the place. The appliances were all new and it looked to have been renovated recently and done very well. It had a great covered patio with a grill we used and a nice little deck with table and chairs and an awning that looks out on Old Man Mountain. We had a seperate bedroom from the living/kitchen area so we had tons of room. Was a great location just outside of the main street of Estes Park and on the side of town that made it easy to get to Rocky Mountain National Park. Also, tip for anyone staying there in the future: When you want to get to the grocery store go North on Valley to hwy 34 and take a right. It takes you right to Safeway and bypasses the very slow drive down the main street.

We would definitely stay again in the future. It was certainly not the least expensive place around but we felt it was worth it.

We had a great time and was very comfortable at the Bunkhouse. Hightly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Relaxing, quiet and clean!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the 1 bedroom unit but this would be a great property for a multi family trip because there is another larger unit connected. We didn't hear the other tenants and it was very peaceful, private and quiet.

The unit was very clean, had nice new bedding, nice clean towels and tasteful decor. The bed was also very comfortable. There's a BBQ, seating outside, kitchen with all the amenities, laundry etc. It's just like living in a small home. The property is about a mile from downtown.

Brian was very nice. It was interesting to learn that the property was built by their father who was an architect who studied under Frank Lloyd Wright and the homes are built to be a part of the nature surrounding them. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A Restfull Stay at the Bunkhouse!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

My husband, myself and our son just returned to Estes Park to visit after having moved away several months ago. It was suggested to us that we might enjoy staying at the Bunkhouse and it happened to be available at the time so we gave it a shot. We stayed for three nights, I have to say that those three nights and days were absolutely wonderful!!! The condo was well-appointed and had the most exquisite bed!!!! My husband and I slept like babies!!! It was clean and very quiet!!! Our privacy was of the utmost concern with the caretakers of the property, and they made us feel completely at home. We had a GREAT stay! We would recommend it to both families and couples without exception!! Quite Lovely!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Little Slice of Mountain Paradise

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

For those that know Estes well, you don't need to hear any more rants about the town's splendor. There's a reason we have continuously gone back to visit the quaint little town. With its numerous unique shops, restauraunts, bars and entertainment outlets, (and not to mention breaktakings vistas!) Estes has been our go-to vacation destination for 5 years running. What seperated this rental from the rest of Estes' various lodging establishments was it's local feel. You feel like you can differentiate yourself from the other tourists by getting away from the hotels and into your own cozy little nook, and this lead us to feel like we were experiancing Estes from a whole new perspective. We found ourselves swapping stories with the locals on our first night at the Wheel Bar downtown, and at the end of night we simply followed the conveinent, lit sidewalk back to the rental. Our second day we woke up early to a cup of coffee and some beautiful mountain views from our deck, then took off for a short drive into Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park (we'll save that story for another day!). All in all it was a wonderful experience, by the end of our time there we were having trouble convincing ourselves to return to work, but alas, the voice of reason endured. We've recommended the place to a few friends, especially those who are sick of the hotel feel, and want a more mountain-esque Estes Park experiance. Major highlights : location relative to the Park and downtown, interior decorating, and price. Great for couples and small families!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review