reviews for: listing #87062 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Pelican Beach Resort BEACH FRONT Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pelican Beach Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $350 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,200 /wk
    $1,300 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Good place to stay

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The picture shown accurately displays the view from the balcony. It is not direct gulf front accommodations, but is gulf front view (condo is a on the side, but angled to get a good beach view). The beach is a short distance that is no trouble to access. The resort is clean, in a safe area, good for family, has adequate parking, and a sidewalk on the highway good for walking/running. The condo was clean enough for an older condo, which can't sparkle and shine as new ones do. The cleaner did forget a dirty baby diaper left under the kitchen sink. Not a problem, though, because we had some to go along with it. :) The only annoying thing was the slamming door from the pool area, which they need to repair, because it was a constant noise as people went in and out. That is not the owner's fault. The condo is roomy enough for 4-6 people and has two additional sleeping sofas. The washing machine didn't spin water out of clothes. I called the owner,he came and checked it out and accommodated us by allowing us to not wash and dry the towels before we left. He was not aware the machine did not work prior to our visit. There is a coin washer/dryer at the resort. Owner is very nice to work with and accommodating. Our original reservation was the very weekend of a storm that hit the area, and he allowed us to change the reservation to a couple of days later. It was beautiful weather, perfect weather for the beach. I am glad he did that, because we would have lost two nights' stay; we would not have gone during a potential bad storm. This condo is a reasonable rate. Some are ridiculous with their prices. I will recommend this condo without reservation, and would stay again when in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I try to treat others as I would like to be treated, but I'm not always perfect, which is evident since I did the cleaning :) The handy man came to fix the washer and now all is well again. I don't have set in stone reservation rules, I'm just a regular guy who knows people want to have a good vacation, and I am happy to flexible for that purpose. I hope all my renters want to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in Destin

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

First time to Destin. Beautiful beaches, great restaurants and lots to do.
Resort was very clean & well maintained. To check in & get carpass took only 5 minutes. Grounds crew were out early every morning cleaning & sweeping pool areas. Resort has six gas BBQ grills in courtyard & every night they were heavily used. We BBQ'd one night & enjoyed having a beer, BBQing and getting to know others. Great idea at a resort! Pools were clean and never too crowded. Beaches were very crowded but we expected since it was Spring Break. Only complaint was that umbrellas/chairs were set up each morning and many were never used and they blocked the view of the water. Kids are 8 and 10 and we enjoyed Little Nemo Fishing Charter down by the Fishermans Warf. Very reasonable (around $30.00 per)for 3 hour boat ride through harbor and fishing if you don't want to spend a lot on private charter boat. Caught red snapper & even a flounder. Would highly recommend. Restaurants down by warf were fabulous with a great view of the harbor. Also enjoyed the Fudpuckers restaurant on Hwy 98 with live alligator show while you wait to be seated. You can also write your name anywhere in restaurant if you buy a sharpie from them for a buck. Kids thought that was hilarious. If you have kids, you definitely have to go there. Good food there as well.

Condo itself is in a great location right in the middle of all the action. Across from Huge Water park. Go carts, arcades, miniature golf only minutes away as are grocery stores and a movie theatre. Condo sits above indoor/outdoor pool and just steps from coffee shop/cafe with outside seating. Great view of the pool(s) and ocean from the large balcony. We did spot dolphins one morning. Well stocked with all kitchen appliances and there were plenty of beach toys/shovels/boogie boards to use. Some of the furnishings are a little outdated but it was clean, easy to access and owner was very easy to work with. Deposit already received. I would say hard to beat price right on the beach and all the conveniences you would need. Thanks Bart. Would definitely recommend to others especially if you have kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. I'm happy you had a good time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Destin vacation !

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

First time to Destin. Beautiful beach, great restaurants and lots to do.
Resort was very clean & well maintained. To check in & get carpass took only 5 minutes. Grounds crew were out early every morning cleaning & sweeping pool areas. Resort has six gas BBQ grills in courtyard & every night they were heavily used. We BBQ'd one night & enjoyed having a beer, BBQing and getting to know others. Great idea at a resort! Pools were clean and never too crowded. Beaches were very crowded but we expected since it was Spring Break. Only complaint was that umbrellas/chairs were set up each morning and many were never used and they blocked the view of the water. Kids are 8 and 10 and we enjoyed Little Nemo Fishing Charter down by the Fishermans Warf. Very reasonable (around $30.00 per)for 3 hour boat ride through harbor and fishing if you don't want to spend a lot on private charter boat. Caught red snapper & even a flounder. Would highly recommend. Restaurants down by warf were fabulous with a great view of the harbor. Also enjoyed the Fudpuckers restaurant on Hwy 98 with live alligator show while you wait to be seated. You can also write your name anywhere in restaurant if you buy a sharpie from them for a buck. Kids thought that was hilarious. If you have kids, you definitely have to go there. Good food there as well.

Condo itself is in a great location right in the middle of all the action. Across from Huge Water park. Go carts, arcades, miniature golf only minutes away as are grocery stores and a movie theatre. Condo sits above indoor/outdoor pool and just steps from coffee shop/cafe with outside seating. Great view of the pool(s) and ocean from the large balcony. We did spot dolphins one morning. Well stocked with all kitchen appliances and there were plenty of beach toys/shovels/boogie boards to use. Some of the furnishings are a little outdated but it was clean, easy to access and owner was very easy to work with. Deposit already received. I would say hard to beat price right on the beach and all the conveniences you would need. Thanks Bart. Would definitely recommend to others especially if you have kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT Vacation!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

The accomodations and location were great! The property is well maintained and welcoming. I enjoyed working with the owner for rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice comments. I try hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Destin vacation experience!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This was our first Destin experience and i couldnt have asked for more! Great accomadations, very clean! We had a great view of the white sandy beaches and the pools.you can here the waves from inside youre condo, great for relaxing. The owner was a joy to work with. Morning walks on the beach included dolphin sightings! The large balcony was great for enjoying wonderful views. I would definitely stay here again and refer my friends and family to this condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm happy that you enjoyed your vacation. I will be returning your deposit today. Y'all come back now!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review