reviews for: listing #87098 - Mission Beach, California Cottage rental

Adorable Beach Bungalow 6 Houses From the Beach!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $500 /nt
    $1,621 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Restful home away from home.

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We loved everything about this nice little home. It was very clean and well-maintained. The open living area and kitchen was well stocked and the entrance inside the courtyard was so fun to set and watch everyone. Everyone who spent time there were very friendly. Close to the beach is a plus. Would recommend it to anyone . The wine was most welcome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

The property was exactly what we expected after viewing the website several times. Everything was uber clean and well maintained, we wanted for nothing. The property manager went out of her way to insure that our arrival and entry to the home was seamless. This was important since we flew all day and were tired when we arrived. The fridge was generously stocked with beer, wine, water etc. so very thoughtful and appreciated.
But the very best part for us was the location. We walked to the beach several times a day since it was literally steps away. We also walked to the bay often, just a block away. The # 8 bus stopped at the corner and was very handy for trips to " Old Town" and other points of interest. And lastly, my tiny Maltese had an enclosed patio to run around or nap in the sun. It was a perfect vacation and I would choose this arrangement over a hotel any day. Management was available, helpful, but in no way intrusive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location for a relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Windemere property! It felt very welcoming when we arrived. It is literally less than a minute's walk to the beach and centrally located, so within easy short walks to many outstanding eateries, including "La Playa" Taco Shop on Mission Blvd, which has THE BEST carne asada burritos ever, and at an amazing price. The kitchen is modern and well-supplied. The gas grill on the patio is perfect for barbequeing a nice dinner.
The agent was very informative, plus being flexible and supportive and helpful.
It's a fantastic location and we couldn't be happier with our weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved our stay at Luv Surf Beach Bungalow!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay on Mission Beach. It was my husband and I we also had a little dog Schatzi the house was perfect for us. The first impression that I had this was a warm and cozy little bungalow it didn't disappoint us at all. The first night of our stay was a little rough not a good night sleep bad mattress. We meet Traci and Sheila at The Patio Restaurant they're part of the management team Luv San Diego Surf my husband told them of the mattress and they put a 911 call out to have a new mattress delivered the next day. They're great group to work with. We were new to San Diego so the book they provided with locations for restaurants, doggie parks, attractions to see was greatly appreciated. We did find the doggie park was very useful because dogs are not allowed on the prom or beach between 9 AM and 4 PM. We found this out by being stopped by Mr. Officer Friendly! The Beach Bungalow was everything that they described it to be in their literature. There was no garage which we knew, but we parked the car close to the house in the alley had no trouble at all. I do recommend this to all that want to be close to the beach and lovely place to stay you won't be disappointed and the management team are wonderful to work with. They know how to take care of their customers and that's saying a lot!!! We had a nice surprise visit from Samantha New Year's Eve with a lovely gift from the team they made us feel special in every way.
Thank you luv San Diego Surf team for making our trip so memorable.
~Happy New Year Seaside Oregon~

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

This home is in a great location, literally 100 feet from the beach. Really close to pacific beach where all the restaurants and bars are located. We were able to squeeze in six people into this place with two people on inflatable beds. Still plenty of room for the price mid summer! Had all the amenities necessary to have a good week long trip. Washing machine and dryer was nice to have.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girl's Beach Escape

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

The house was in perfect condition and fully stocked as promised. Right in between the ocean and the bay. When we needed help figuring out the bbq we got prompt and superior customer service. We had a magical weekend and did not want to leave. I would highly recommend this rental and The Luv San Diego Surf Team!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable beach bungalow in the best spot of Mission Beach

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

We took advantage of a last minute cancellation at this beach bungalow and found it perfectly charming, fully accessible to booth the beach and the bay, and fully loaded with everything we could possibly need (besides our personal clothing and items) for a mini-vacation at the beach. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Dogs Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

If you're a dog owner yourself, you probably have thought about your dog when you travel, bought him a present from the road.. And when you return, chances are you receive an excited and enthusiastic welcome. When you’re heading to San Diego, you don’t have to worry about boarding your four legged family member or leaving him with a stranger. Instead, choose Luv Surf in Mission Bay, a pet friendly option that was perfect for us. We pulled into our Luv Surf beach house rental; we had arrived. The dogs already smelled the ocean out the window and were pacing back and forth in the back seat. With multiple options to choose from we went with the property on Jamaica Court and it did not disappoint. Neutral beach colors decorated the space and the rental came with every amenity one could need. The beach house also boasts a nice patio area with a BBQ and inside a full kitchen with all the bells and whistles, even a stocked fridge with beer, wine, waters and juice. I was a little nervous to see how the dogs would react being in a strange place on their first trip away from home. Let’s just say they made themselves right at home and quickly took over the house as if they themselves had made the booking online. The place was very accommodating and warmly welcomed Miller and Dublin with lots of pet amenities sure to please all canine guests. Conveniently located minutes away from great shops and restaurants; you couldn’t ask for a better location. The dogs figured out upon arrival that the beach was across the street and made it clear by crying at the door; they were ready to play in the sand. If you don’t have a pet to bring with you don’t worry you won’t need to go and borrow one from a friend to stay here. These rentals are perfect for a couples getaway or vacation with friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good Location

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Location, location, location! This place is right in the center of it all. You can walk to everything but it is set just far enough off the beach so you have some privacy as well. We stayed for a few relaxing days and enjoyed walking the beach and sampling the restaurants. Upgraded kitchen and decor was well done. The master bed is actually a double, not a queen. Once we got the heater working it was warm and cozy. Good value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bungalow at Mission Beach

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

I took my dog with me on a girls weekend stay.This home was everything it was decribed as, and more. It was beautifully decorated in a great location and I felt like it really could have been a second home for me. It was comfortable and clean, I just loved it. The owners were great and really made you feel at home. I had lost my diamond earing and was contacted by them that they had found it and they did not hesitate in getting it back to me. We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Pet Friendly Home Away From Home

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This was a wonderful vacation for our family which included our puppies (dogs), we had a wonderful stay. Gina and Tracy made sure that the house was fully stocked and we did not have to want for anything. This is a home away from home, could not be happier and would surely stay again in one of their homes. The best part was that they are pet friendly and the dogs loved being able to go out on the porch through out the day and say hello to everyone that passed by, they loved it!!! I want to thank Gina and Tracy for making this a memorable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute & sweet

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Thank you for accommodating us on short notice. The home is very cute and you definitely have done a great job thinking of all the little details to make it feel like a home away from home. The location to the beach is also great. That said, we were disappointed when we arrived to find out the house is really a 1 bedroom house. We thought it would have 2 bedrooms based on the listing. The 2nd room is a laundry room/storage room with a futon bed.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 Incredible weeks @ Windemere Christmas/New Year

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Perfect location; a quiet street nestled between the bay & the
beach w/plenty of nightlife, dining and coffee shops within a short walking distance.There was plenty of shopping nearby to meet all of our needs.The house was cozy & nicely decorated w/a fabulous kitchen.The bungalow was stocked w/everything needed for us to enjoy the beach.After many beautiful sunsets & long walks on the boardwalk it was hard to leave,but we look forward to our family reuniting here again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Christmas yet with my beautiful family!!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Had the best stay here!! love the Windemere bungalow!! thanks gina ?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect little getaway!

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at this bungalow for our first family vacation. We had our 4 month old and our puppy Ollie, and the whole family had a great time! The home is incredibly comfortable and cozy with everything you could possibly need. We took daily walks up PB and Mission Beach (as the house is located right smack dab in the middle) and sampled some great beachy cuisine (try the cinnamon buns at Baked). It is super close to the Zoo and Sea World too. I would recommend this home to everyone. We had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hope Ollie was just as cozy as the rest of you :) Please let us know of any future stays in SD. We would love to have you back. Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and Macks liked his stay also.He especially liked the fact that he was the only one. He also loved the dog toy's with the sound in it. Those are his favorites.
Again, Thank you. And thank you for the Christmas tree. I'm going to put it in a bigger pot and when our grandson and Erika buys a house next year he can have it as a momentum. Their wedding was beautiful at the castle in Ramona. We had the rehearsal dinner at the beach house, a barbecue dinner. Our grandson Pete and Erika had their friend stay at the Camarada Hotel. We had a good time. Thank you so much for your hospitality.
I would like to know about your other beach houses also. So if you can send me those links that would be great. Our other grandson is going to be married in May, 2012. He is in the air force in Korea at this time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Thanksgiving Stay to Remember

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Thanks for a wonderful Thanksgiving getaway! We loved the beach house which was perfect for our stay. The dog loved walks around the Bay and beach. It was fun to explore San Diego- our first time here. We'll need to come back again to take in all the sights of Balboa Park. Thanks for the recommendations to Anthology where we had a blast singing along to all the "Beatles" hits with Abbey Road. Also enjoed the Lyceum Theater and SD Rep's performance of "Great American Trailer Park"- hilarious! And of course just hanging out front and meeting the neighbors. Hope to make it back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Stay!!!

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Gina- Awesome! Thanks for being so accommodating. Everything was perfect and we had a great time. See you in the Spring!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a true home away from away..

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

‘This was a last minute booking and from the moment I made contact with the owner, Gina, I know this was going to be a special stay. Gina is the epitome of great service and professionalism. Exemplified by the fact I forgot to pack a hairdryer and Gina so kindly went and purchased a new one for me to use asap.
The cottage is extremely well equipped and is a true home from home. Much thought has gone into making sure all creature comforts are provided. We arrived to a warm, welcoming and spotless abode, with lights ready lit.
It is perfectly positioned, just a minutes stroll from Mission Beach and down one of the most picturesque streets in the area. Plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance too. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here; perfect cottage in a great location.’

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This cottage is a true home from home.

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

‘This was a last minute booking and from the moment I made contact with the owner, Gina, I know this was going to be a special stay. Gina is the epitome of great service and professionalism. Exemplified by the fact I forgot to pack a hairdryer and Gina so kindly went and purchased a new one for me to use asap.
The cottage is extremely well equipped. Much thought has gone into making sure all creature comforts are provided. We arrived to a warm, welcoming and spotless abode, with lights ready lit.
It is perfectly positioned, just a minutes stroll from Mission Beach and down one of the most picturesque streets in the area. Plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance too. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here; perfect cottage in a great location.’

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

R.H. of El Cajon, CA

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

I highly recommend this clean, tastefully laid-out, and well prepared cottage after a beautiful stay with my wife, two young girls, and our dog. It's unusual and welcome to find a place that is in such fine condition and still welcomes pets. There's a great patio and you are steps from the beach and just across a street from access to the bay. You can hear the soothing sound of the surf. Shopping and a good coffee house are nearby as well. If you want to be immersed in the real San Diego Beach culture, this is the spot. This was a stay-cation as we are San Diegans but it still felt like an escape to our younger days as beach dwellers! Everything you need is there, from linens, to dog beds, to beach toys. Glad we gave it a try and we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful location

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We parked the car and never looked back. From the front yard you can see the bay or the beach by just turning your head. We walked to the beach, we walked to the bay, we walked to dinner, shopping and we walked just for the walk. We enjoyed the sunset at night, and our afternoon were spent on bike rides on the board walk and the bay. On the bay there is this adorable sail boat rental business, and on our next stay we are going to try our hand at that.

The house had everything to make it a home. The large Grand Room made for a welcoming way to begin and end the day. When watching TV, cooking or Sitting at the dinning table you never felt left out. The openness of the bungalow just seemed to spur conversation.

We left he bungalow with the thought of our next visit. The stay was not just a vacation it became ……….. more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at Luv San Diego Surf! We look forward to serving you again very soon! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A vacation that became so much more

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Wonderful location: We parked the car and never looked back. From the front yard you can see the bay or the beach by just turning your head. We walked to the beach, we walked to the bay, we walked to dinner, shopping and we walked just for the walk. We enjoyed the sunset at night, and our afternoon were spent on bike rids on the board walk and the bay. On the bay there is this adorable sail boat rental business, and on our next stay we are going to try our hand at that.

The house had everything to make it a home. The large Grand Room made for a welcoming way to begin and end the day. When watching TV, cooking or Sitting at the dinning table you never felt left out. The openness of the bungalow just seemed to spur conversation.

We left he bungalow with the thought of our next visit. The stay was not just a vacation it became ……….. more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning location, loved it!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We would recommend to anyone looking for a weekend getaway. Price and location are excellent and close to everything. Had a great time as it is a wonderful place to stay to relax, hang out, grill, and spend time with friends. Neighbors are friendly and even stopped by to say hello. House itself was great and very attractive. Furnishings were in excellent condition, clean, comfortable, and very spacious living room perfect for entertaining. Kitchen is fully equipped and very user friendly. Management team was professional and friendly. We enjoyed our weekend getaway, not wanting to leave. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luv San Diego Surf is the best!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

This bungalow was not only adorable, but had everything we needed to have a fantastic beach trip! It is classy and conveniently located, on a really nice Court on the Beach side in north Mission. We loved it!!!! We will come back yearly with pleasure. Also, the management staff is awesome....thank you, Jessica, for making our stay such an extreme delight! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Looking forward to serving our customers all year around! Thamk you, loyal customers, for the great response to Luv San Diego Surf!!!!! Come on to the beach and enjoy the surf year around! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great waves....

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

My friends were staying at this house in Mission Beach recently and I was really impressed. The place is super nice with everything you need. It was like you were home away from home, but even better. My family and I are staying there in a month and we can't wait. Hope the waves are good!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a charmer!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Just finished an amazing weekend at this beautiful cottage. Not only were we just steps from Mission Beach, but this owner had every amenity available to us. This owner has incredible taste and has transformed the historic Endless Summer feeling into a reality....also love the fact these folks LOVE animals and the environment....heard they are also opening up a local restaurant.....we definitely will be back here and often....thank you for an amazing experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review