reviews for: listing #8710 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Luquillo SOLIMAR Beach Relaxing & Clean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Solimar - Luquillo
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $125 /nt
    $595 - $850 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent place to stay -Close to Luquillo Beach

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

We had a great time in Javier's rental. It had all the necessities needed for an extended stay. You won’t need to bring a thing- it’s all there. It was very close to El Yunque which we enjoyed very much. There are grocery, drug store and restaurants a very short distance from the house. We recommend The Brass Cactus as a good place for dinner or a beer.
The house is in a gated community which gives that extra sense of security. There is a nice pool a short walk from the house. Luquillo Beach – it doesn’t get any better. It has small waves which makes it nice to go for a swim. The house is 6 miles for Fajardo which has a Walmart and the ferry to Culebra and Vieques. Get there early because the ferry can sell out. Culebra is a beautiful island and don’t miss Flamenco beach. There is no need to rent a car there- they have taxis for $3 each way to beach and there is plenty of food and beverages right where they drop you off. If you want very peaceful waves go to the left and away from the crowd and very good snorkeling as well.
To summarize: We had a great time and this house was close to everything we wanted to do. We will definitely want to return in the future.
5+ stars

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better than Hotel

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Starting with the owner was very friendly and professional,the house and rooms was as the pic. showing and all of the house was working properly internet was a great asset, Kios, the Beach, restaurant was walking distand and the amenities too. The house was very very clean and maintained. The Security was very important for my kids and there was very friendly and professionals and up to date. Also the owner have some info. in the house that was very useful for my fam. about were to eat were is the best Vacation packege and info. about the island. I would recommend this house to my friends, family and clients...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

I reccomend this house

Inside and outside is like the pictures.

The owner is really kind and can give you some info about Puerto Rico.

The house is near the beach (150m) but it is better to take the car and go at 2 minutes away in "Monserrate Beach" (1 km) because in the front of this complex there are a lot of wave and the sand is full of algae carried by the tides (but the water is clear).
You can find supermarket at 1 km.
San Juan is 40 min drive away from Luquillo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent spot

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Best vacation in years. The house is clean, and in good condition. It has everything you need in a home away from home. The beach is a two minute walk away. The community is great and the shopping centers are all five to ten minutes away! The owner is available for anything that might pop up. We will definitely return! I would definitely recommend this house to any one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation house

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

The house is perfectly located in a gated community with a direct access to the beach. It is in a very good condition and ideal for a family with two kids. The owner is very easy to work with and very friendly. He gave us a lot of very useful suggestions regarding local activities and restaurants. I am giving the highest ranking to this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Javier's villa was just as pictured. It was close to everything we needed, we went to Vieque's, an island off Puerto Rico, Ferry left from Fajardo, that was a 10 min ride. Spent alot of time on the beach and kiokos, which is a famous eatery strip.
The security was great. Only thing i missed was pool, maybe the next time. This is the first place i rented that actually had WIFI and it was free.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Luquillo's beaches, kiosks and restaurants make it a very rewarding vacation close to everything and affordable. And then, there is more to see, the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Also the pool facilities are now ready and again.
Thank you for visiting us.
Javier

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice and Quiet Beach Villa

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

This was the perfect setup for our vacation. The property was clean and A/C worked very well. It was close to everything (grocery store, El Yunque, Fajardo (for the bio bay kayak tour), ferry to Culebra/Vieques, Walgreens, gas station, walking distance to Luquillo beach, and the kioskos along Luquillo beach). The place was about a 40-45 min drive to San Juan which isn't bad. We wanted something quiet and away from the tourists area. The area is safe; there is a 24/7 security guard at the gate. The pool was under construction, so we couldn't use it or walk to the beach, but the public parking is a 3 min drive from the condo. The condo had beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella for us to use as well. Luquillo beach is gorgeous and the public side has calmer waters; the private side is a bit rough. We utilized the little vendors/restaurants/bars (kioskos) alot during our stay. The condo also had WiFi. We recommended it to our parents, and would come back again. It was a home away from home. The owner was great to work with and answered all of our questions. Thank you, Javier.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I love It!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

Can we go back home? That's how we felt, like home. We had a great time!! Everything was clean and neat. The villa was very well mantained. It had lot's of beach items, towels and well stocked. Great location too! Everything was very nearby. Javier, the owner, was also very accomdating and helpful, whenever I called. Would recommend to anyone, even a girls weekend!!
Please take care of our favorite place in the world. Hope to be back soon!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

Our family had a great time at Javier's property! The house is in a very secure, gated location and is within walking distance of Luquillo Beach. Also a short 10 minute walk to Balneario Monserrate. Monserrate was nice because we have two yound children and the water is calmer there. Solimar also has basketball and tennis courts in addition to a place to play for children. There is a pool as well, but was closed for cleaning during our stay.

The property is very well maintained, and Javier was very helpful with making our stay enjoyable. I'm a runner, and ran 5 miles outsides each way from Solimar...the entrance staff were equally friendly. Truly felt at home when staying at Javier's house.

Definitely recommend Javier's house, and will stay there again when in PR.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Parfait, une location parfaite pour les vacances

Review submitted: December 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Location conforme aux photos et descriptions. Propreté impeccable. Cadre tout à fait adapté aux familles. Très fonctionnelle (acces Wifi, lave linge seche linge...), tout en très bon état de fonctionnement.
Copropriété très tranquille et sécurisée. Proximité immédiate des commerces et d'une magnifique plage
Excellent contact avec le propriétaire.
Rapport qualité prix plus que correct. Nous recommandons vivement cette location aux familles et couples
idéal pour se reposer, très calme et sentiment de sécurité

Marie Agnes (Dinard, 35, Bretagne, France)

Owners response: Thank you, we are pleased you had a great time. Regards to you and your family.
Javier Fernandez

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

I had a recent stay (June 2011) and this townhouse was clean, bright, & spacious. Javier was great to work with and maintains this property very well. I would recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

just as advertised

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

The unit and condo complex were a bit dated but VERY clean, well maintained, comfortable, well stocked, and great for families. The condo had everything: tons of beach toys, boogie boards, towels, well stocked kitchen, extra sheets, etc. We rented 2 units for an extended family getaway; this unit was close to the beach but farther away from the pool within the complex. The location is great: close to El Yunque, grocery stores, etc. Not the W, but much more comfortable than a luxury hotel for families with young kids.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything and more

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

My wife and I travel extensively and were quite impressed with this property; beginning with the security personnel at the gate and the proximity to the beaches and Kioskos (cafes).

It was great to have a surplus of beach equipment: towels, chairs, umbrellas, ice chests. The patio area was comfortable and had a variety of chairs, tables and lounges to accomodate all of our needs.

This is well worth considering when vacationing in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

I cannot reccommend this place enough. Solimar is a beautiful community. I felt very safe there. The owner was WONDERFUL to deal with...he was very helpful. The place was nicely furnished...everything you needed was right there. The beach was beautiful..also, it is very close to many other sights in Puerto Rico, such as the biobay in Fajardo and the El Yunque rainforest. You will not find a better price in Luquillo! The kiosks with wonderful Puerto Rican food are a short drive away (you could actually walk there, if you wanted to). Please feel free to contact me with any questions. I always use VRBO for vacation rentals....and this was a steal! Come to Puerto Rico...you will be glad you did!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review