reviews for: listing #87103 - Kihei, Hawaii Studio rental

Lovely Ocean View $89/nt.Pool/Htub/Kitchn/WiFi/Calling Plan!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kihei Bay Surf
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $119 /nt
    $525 - $833 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,370 /mth

sort by:

Active Senior on a Return Visit

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

I said in my review last year that I would love to return to this cozy condo, and I was lucky enough to come back again this year! Having been here before made it much more comfortable, as everything was familiar and I knew what to expect and knew how to get around.

This time, I was more adventurous in my walks and in taking the buses all around Maui.

It was very windy this year, so I enjoyed the little beach and grassy park right across the street, as it was more sheltered from the wind and blowing sand than the regular beaches. I also discovered some farmers' markets with fresh fruit and vegetables within walking or busing distances.

As I travelled up and down South Kihei Road, I found out that this part of Kihei is the most pleasant as it's much less crowded and busy. I love this place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maeve,

Two great reviews are better than one lol
Mahalo, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Active senior on a return visit

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

I said in my review last year that I would love to return to this cozy condo, and I was lucky enough to come back again this year! Having been here before made it much more comfortable, as everything was familiar and I knew what to expect and knew how to get around.
This time, I was more adventurous in my walks and in taking the buses all around Maui. It was very windy this year, so I enjoyed the little beach and park right across the street, as it was more sheltered from the wind. I also discovered some farmers' markets with fresh fruit and vegetables within walking or busing distances.
As I travelled up and down South Kihei Road, I discovered that this part of Kihei is the most pleasant as it's much less crowded and busy.
I love this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maeve,
It is always a pleasure having you stay with us and I admire how you get out there and explore the island with such zest and enthusiasm. We too, love the park across the street. When we visit the island we often get caught up in renovations and the like and, before we know it, it is almost sunset.To be able to just rip across the street to that postcard beach and watch the sunset is so wonderful. The showers and picnic tables make it just a great spot too. We are now at the point where our rental business is about 50% new clientele each year and 50% repeat guests. We absolutely love it when people come back to us because it is the best possible endorsement that we are making our guests happy! Can't wait to have you back again next time. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for the price

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

This was a very clean and comfortable room. It was furnished with many items for the beach and some spices and other items to cook in the room. I would definitely stay here again. The only draw back was its located on a Main Street in Kihei, so there was a lot of road noise, so I didn't leave the slider open much. The view of the beach was ok. All in all you really can't find a nicer place for the price.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location For An Active Senior Without A Car

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

I gave this wonderful condo 5 stars because it was perfect for an active senior without a car who loves to walk everywhere. It only took about 20 minutes to walk to the malls, post office or grocery stores, and on my early morning jogs I discovered the local neighbourhoods.I also found the bus very useful for getting around to farther away places in Maui, and the bus stop right outside the door was so handy. A day pass costs only $4, purchased from the driver, and you can travel all over Maui!

I'm a real "beach person" and had my own private beach, a two minute walk from the condo, just on the other side of the Humpback Whale Sanctuary, which is still part of Kalepolepo Park. I would often watch the kite surfers launching their amazing kites right near my beach.

The condo was exactly as it looked in the listing, and was very clean and well supplied with kitchen appliances and accessories. I made all my own meals and enjoyed eating many of those meals, especially breakfast, on the lanai. The condo was very well appointed, with special Hawaiian decor, everything from the pictures to the knobs on the drawers. I was very pleased to see that there was a bathtub as well as a shower in the bathroom.

I certainly appreciated the Wi-Fi and made a point of emailing my family and friends, telling them how much I was enjoying myself. The free long distance phone calling was really a fantastic bonus as well.

I would love to go back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow Maeve,

Thanks for the WONDERFUL review! We sure enjoyed having you stay with us and I am sure other folks who are contemplating travel without a car will really appreciate all of the informative detail that you have provided. Thanks too for your comments about the lanai. We love it out there! Please be sure to spend your next vacation with us. Mahalo and Aloha,
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Smart and efficiante Studio

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

The only problem we had was with the traffic outside, and I had a problem with the stairs! Unit is well kept, The pool was very nice, I used it several times ,and the BBQ is set up real nice! There are many good restaurants, You could always take advantage of the Parks & Beaches! Thanks Again,


P.S. The kids will love it! Kathy & Horst

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo. So glad you had a wonderful time. Just to clarify for new guests, the stairs to the second floor are just regular stairs, but this building, as advertised, does not have an elevator as it is only a 2 storey. Please be sure to come and stay with us again. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Kihei Condo

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 nights in this studio condo in Kihei and enjoyed our stay very much. The condo appears exactly as shown in the photos and on the video. It is compact but with good use of space and excellent appliances in the kitchen. The pool area is very nice with lots of lounge chairs and the barbecues are great and kept spotlessly clean.

Lisa was very easy to deal with and answered emails quickly and completely.

The location is north of the main village of Kihei but just a 5 to 10 minute drive to shops, restaurants etc. There is a quiet little beach across the street from the condo, which I found really enjoyable.

We ate out quite a bit during our stay - at restaurants from Makena to Ka'anipali to Paia. In Kihei we enjoyed Bistro 808, Kinaole Grill (awesome food truck - best calamari ever!), Coconuts Fish Cafe, Threes (great Happy Hour - try the coconut shrimp - and lunch specials), and for a super breakfast, the Kiehei Cafe. We also enjoyed Johnny B's in Paia and Happy Hour at Leilani's overlooking the beach at Whaler's Village in Ka'anipali ($4 Mai Tais, Margueritas and appies). And don't forget to have shaved ice at Ululani's - amazing!!!

Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Hi Janet,

Glad you loved it and thanks for the dining and drink ideas! Please come stay with us again. Mahalo and Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect rental unit

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Maui, and our first time staying at kihei bay surf. It definitely won't be our last, as this studio was awesome! Even with our 2 little ones there was still plenty of room for us. Lisa was a treat to deal with - extremely helpful and very prompt via email with any questions we had. If you are looking for a styliish vacation rental on a budget, this is the one. Not one complaint from us.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great quiet place for 1 or 2 person

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

I was quite impressed with how nice this place was, especially considering how low the daily rate is. It is a studio, so great for 1 or 2 people but more than that might be pushing it. The landlord's response to emails was prompt and courteous. The pool area is clean also.

One quick note for those planning to stay in this area of Kihei: the wind really picks up in the afternoon for a few hours, but you can go north or south along the coast to avoid some of it. And related to that, the island has a pretty good bus service if, like myself, you're not renting a car. $4 for an all-day pass, and the major roads are covered by 1 or 2 routes per hour. The bus is a great way to get to new beaches or Safeway to grab groceries.

Would definitely recommend this rental to friend or family for a relaxing getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Are Definitely Coming Back! Loved the Sunsets on the Lanai!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

What a treat! This condo was a true home away from home! When we arrived the condo was spotlessly clean and really nicely decorated and furnished. The art work on the walls was really beautiful. You can really feel that the owners take pride in their condo and could tell that special items, such as the pineapple chandelier, had been carefully chosen to make it really special and unique inside. We sure appreciated all of the kitchen goodies too: tea bags, cocoa, popcorn, sugar, flour, spices, bags, foil, cling wrap etc. It was great to not have to go out and purchase all of those items and we were only too happy to leave a few items when we checked out for the next guests to enjoy! This condo is nice and close to the pool and grills, which we really enjoyed because we used that area a lot. The ocean view was really amazing. We watched the sunset from the lanai every night that we were home! Can't wait to come again next year. Thanks, Lisa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute condo, nice complex & location, good value

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Kihei Bay Surf. Your condo had all the amenities needed for a great visit and like other reviewers have mentioned, the tropical-themed decor is a nice touch! The complex is so well-maintained, we don't think the resident manager takes much time off! We enjoyed using the barbecue area for grilling burgers, spent every day in the pool & hot tub, and bought tennis racquets so we could use the onsite tennis court as well. Its location is perfect - close to everything in Kihei, 15 minutes from Kahului and 40 minutes to Kaanapali. I had never booked with vrbo.com before but after this experience, I would do it again. I would also recommend this unit to others looking for accommodations in Maui. It's the perfect place for a couple or small family to enjoy all that the island has to offer. Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much. I agree, the resident manager is an angel. You should have seen the place at Christmas time ... 10 000 tiny white lights, it was a sight to behold. We are very thankful to own a little piece of paradise here and are always so glad when guests like you enjoy it so much too. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

The condo was absolutley perfect. It was clean, well kept and plenty of great little details.The decor was absolutley charming. The location was quite nice and convenient. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thanks so very much for the wonderful review! We love it too! The decor in this condo is our favourite out of the 4 that we own. Please come back soon, Ivana. With much Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away home

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

It is a great place to stay at Maui. Location is very convenient from restaurants, beaches and shopping areas.The studio is cozy and has everything we needed during our stay. The property has a common swimming pool and BBQ area maintained quite well. The nearest beach is hardly 500 ft away. There are canoe trips every MWF days. We went along with local folks paddling in ocean for two hours in early morning. It was very refreshing and we saw many turtles there. It was home away home.
The only thing that may bother some people is street noise (vehicle and people) as the unit is just adjacent to the S.Kihei Rd. But this also helps viewing ocean from the balcony. Overall, i think it is an excellent accommodation at Maui. I will love to be back again there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Rabi. I think the canoe trips, steps from the condo, and FREE! are a must do! There is nothing like getting out on the water. Please come back soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super cute and cozy studio

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This studio is just how it looks in the pics. It is in a great location with a small beach directly across the street. I would highly recommend staying here. It was very clean and I already have recommended to my coworkers who will probably be contacting the owner soon. Lisa was very friendly and helpful. There was an awesome craft fair right down the street which was open from 9-4pm daily and had excellent deals for gifts/souvenirs/clothing. The pool was awesome, water temp. was refreshing. Three's Restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced excellent happy hour specials. I will definitely be staying here again. Thank you Lisa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review Irene. So glad you had a great time. It was fun for us having you try out 2 of our condos during your stay, and we are so pleased that everything exceeded your expectations. Please come and stay with us again soon. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kihei Condo

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable three weeks at this comfortable, quiet and convenient condo. The location is great for exploring the Island and is only a five minute drive from the grocery store. Very good bus service stops at the condo complex. The pool/hot tub/BBQ area is very close by and easily accessed. Great beach walking and sunset viewing is right across the street. The only downside is the street noise but the pool area serves as a good lanai substitute at cocktail hour. We would stay here again and Lisa is a very nice lady to deal with. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Aloha Lynda,
We really would like to say thank you for staying with us. We have wonderful guests who are so rewarding to host. We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities of Kihei Bay Surf, the pool area is wonderful with the plumeria in the breeze and the always-hot hot tub and the inviting pool. Our favourite is sitting by the pool in the early evening listening to the sounds of the luau which occurs a few doors down at a neighbouring resort, a few nights each week. Magical! Sitting in Kalepolepo Beach Park across the street on the beach at sunset is another favourite ... I better stop or I am going to well up ... wish I was there. Wishing you nothing but aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute condo

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

I loved the condo. The Hawaiian print furniture and the great price initially sold me, but the sparkly pineapple chandelier, shell knobs, good art, beach chairs, boogie boards and kitchen conveniences will bring me back. Thanks Lisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Olivia. I am so glad that you liked all of the little touches. I always hope that my guests will fall with love with the place like I have. Come back soon! Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved the Visuals and the Value

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

I totally loved staying at Lisa's place. The Hawaiian prints appealed to me initially (because I have a hard time with a drab condo) but the good art, the sparkly pineapple chandelier, the beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, and kitchen conveniences will bring me back. Thanks Lisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Olivia. I am so glad that you liked all of the little touches. I always hope that my guests will fall with love with the place like I have. Come back soon! Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review