reviews for: listing #87177 - Barbados, Caribbean House rental

Charming, quiet, relaxing, and beautiful house
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Oistins
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $35 - $35 /nt

sort by:

Lovely Quiet Location

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

Lovely house in a very safe area - completely away from the tourist hustle and bustle.
If you´re looking for bars, restaurants and nightlife on your doorstep, then this is not the right place for you.

Just 10 minutes drive to Oistins / Miami beach / Bottom Bay & the lovely Crane.

Peaceful and private garden and own pool.

Helena and Roman are lovely hosts.
They are there for you if you need anything, but they leave you to enjoy the house and your holiday, without being in your face.

As the house is quite secluded and not at all near to bars & restaurants.
a car is recommended.

Plenty of towels supplied for the private pool area and for the beach.
Washing machine is also a great help !

Everything (house / bedding / garden / pool area) is extremely clean and tidy !!

Thank you Helena and Roman for a wonderful few days and we all look forward to spending more time in your lovely home next February

See you then

Owners response: Thank you very much for this beautiful review. You were great tourists for us and definitely we are looking forward to welcoming you again next February.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Bit Of Paradise

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

This was my 4 th trip to Barbados in 4 years,and I usually stay on the West Coast for the tranquility and beaches of course.
I was a bit apprehensive when I saw the listing for this house in St Philip as I was unfamiliar with the area.
After reading all the positive reviews I decided to go ahead and book for 3 weeks in january.
I am so glad I did, the house is charming ,beautifully landscaped ,comfortable and equipped with everything you might need
except food of course.
The owners Helena and Roman are the perfect hosts and are willing to be tour guide , personal shopper ,taxi driver and the list goes on.
The house is situated 10 minutes from a lovely beach with great amenities,i.e. ...shade ,food ,washrooms and great swimming.
I was not looking for Bars or Restaurants but if u did desire that a quick 15 minute car ride would get to St Lawrence Gap .I rented a Moke for the first time and it was so much fun.
I have to say from the moment I was welcomed at the airport by the petite Helena with the big smile I was sure
I had made the right decision.
To show the heart of these people ,I made a mistake on my airline reservation and had to book a hotel for my last night.
Online it looked ok with great reviews ,Helena dropped me off .The place was like a concrete box ,very clean comfy beds but
the only light was from glass blocks in the shower.
Next morning I am sitting outside having a coffee and who comes around a corner but Helena with her bright green dress and big smile.
She said she could not leave me at the hotel all day ,took me to the beach ,then back to her house till airport time .
Helena and Roman have built this bit of Paradise and choose to share with us the lucky ones.
I was in Barbados alone this trip ,travelled the whole island by car alone never feeling unsafe.
Next year same time I am bringing my husband and friends to enjoy the Island of Barbados I love so much !
Thank u Helena and Roman for the wonderful time and we will see u same time next year.

Deborah Jan 2014

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for this beautiful review. The traveller like you will be greatly missed. We loved your presence on our property and can't wait to welcome you again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Stay once and always wish to come back

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

This was our fifth family holiday in Barbados. As always wonderful. This year we decided to exchange famous West Coast for this charming house owned by Helena and Roman in the parish of St . Philip. What a unforgettable place! We wish to recommend it to anyone who appreciates:

• excellent house location with opportunity to visit the entire island,
o proximity to shops and public transport if you do not wish to rent a car,
o proximity to the fantastic "Miami Beach " in Oistins, best swimming beach in Barbados,
o proximity to unforgettable views of Foul Bay and Bottom Bay,
• distance from the hustle and bustle of tourists and bars,
• silence awakened only by the singing birds (can you imagine anything better? :),
• fresh fruit straight from the beautiful exotic garden that surrounds the house ,
• and last but not least: great hosts Helena and Roman, who at any time are close to help you and same time not disturb your stay, offer their advice and can show places which you will not find on maps and guides.

Everything was as described in homeaway.com listing and even much better.

There is a lack of words (and Homeaway.com space limit :) to describe everything offered by this remarkable place.

Helena and Roman, thank you for such a great stay! We will get back to you soon!

Artur&Kasia

Owners response: We are glad that all of you enjoyed staying at our house. Thank you for your beautiful review. We are excited that you are coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Helena and Roman have a very beautiful property. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the kids really loved the pool (on days when we didn't go to the beach). The house was clean and well maintained. Easy to get around on public transport if you don't want to drive. I recommend this as a great place to stay and we will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for this beautiful review and for taking time to do this. We really appreciate it. Thank you for leaving the house perfectly clean and see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful,Charming,Relaxing and Fun

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Hi Helena and Roman my friends and i had a great time i would recommend this place to any of my friends or family looking for a peaceful relaxing time, we truly loved and enjoyed our stay. We are looking forward to returning very soon God willing, Roman was a helpful host and the pool was Great.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your beautiful review. Roman was happy having all of you on our property and we wish to rent it to you very soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peaceful place for a vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

My stay here in Barbados @ this villa was very enjoyable. The place was comfortable it is like a home away from home - the home has every thing you will need - all you have to buy is your groceries and move in.

I will recommed it to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and enjoyable vacation. Helena and Roman was friendly and was there if we needed anything they were quick to help out . Thanks again guys for a wonderful vacation.

Pam :)

Owners response: Thank you very much for this review. The house was clean and spotless. See you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peaceful, Quiet and Great location for us!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

My Sister and I stayed here for 9 days and we were very impressed with everything. The place was very clean and tastefully furnished. Helena and her husband were very good hosts. They did not bother us but were very attentive if we needed anything. We felt very safe and enjoyed the quiet peacefulness of the surroundings. We rented a jeep and it was in the midst of everything. We found it easy to get around and quickly accessible to all areas.

We will be back to Barbados and this would definitely be our first choice to stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very, very happy for your honest words and more happy that you both enjoyed so much. Thank you for leaving the house absolutely clean and spotless. We wish you come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful surroundings and quiet

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Helena and Roman when we visited in August 2013. The accommodation was great. The house was clean, comfortable and more importantly for us peaceful. The property and surroundings are beautiful with various plants and foliage. Helena and Roman are exceptional hosts. They were extremely attentive to our needs all we had to do was ask. The first night we forgot to pick up a needed item from the supermarket. Roman was very gracious, he went to the supermarket right away and brought it back for us. This may seem like a small thing but theses are the small things that set them apart as excellent hosts. Thanks Helena and Roman for your warm hospitality.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for leaving house very clean. We really appreciate it and see you in the near future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Bliss

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

I have been here 3 times and each time is better than the last. Helena and her husband are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. You cant ask for anything else, its peaceful, private and you feel like your in paradise. Had a wonderful time and plan to have many more to come. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

Owners response: Thank you very much for this beautiful review. Each time you come here you are better guests. See you soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful,quiet places to stay in Barbados. Helena have been a great Host, always willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible, most important the rates are fantastic. Transportation by bus is very simple as there is a bus stop near by with a frequently operating bus system in the area.
Thanks Helena for the Best Vacation...ill see you soon.

Owners response: Thank you, Alex for taking time to write this review. Both of you are nice guests and we will be happy to see you again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful,quiet places to stay in Barbados. Helena have been a great Host, always willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible, most important the rates are fantastic. Transportation by bus is very simple as there is a bus stop near by with a frequently operating bus system in the area.
Thanks Helena for the Best Vacation...ill see you soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place to Vacation

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

I had a wonderful time here. Helena and Roman were excellent. Whenever I needed something (which wasn't often the home is fully furnished) they came right over to assist. The home was extremely clean as well. I vacationed alone, and I felt extremely safe and secure here. I plan on coming back to Barbados and when I do Helena and Roman's will be at the top of my list. Thank you for helping me having and absolutely wonderful vacation. It will be one I remember for awhile.

Owners response: Thank you very much for such a great review. We really appreciate it. Thank you for leaving the house absolutely clean and we hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Lovely

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

The place is charming, well kept, clean and safe. Helena, is a lovely host, she makes you feel welcomed and she is eager to assist with your needs. I will definately be visiting soon and will most certainly recommend.

Owners response: It was nice having you and see you again. Thank you for this review and for leaving the house clean.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

FAMILY REUNION STAYED AT HELENA AND ROMAN'S PLACE

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

What a lovely couple? Roman and Helena was the most gracious hosts one could ever asked for.
The description of the property was just as described, perfect location to get to all of my activities for my family reunion. The property was well kept, clean, quiet and safe. Helena would check on us everyday to see if there is anything we needed, such as clean towels or if we had dirty laundry. Roman was the person to talk to about the cable, internet and TV. My son is 14 and Roman provided him with movies to keep him entertained. They were always available to answer any questions no matter what time. Customer service was impeccable! They are the sweetest couple anyone could ever hope to meet. Without a doubt I would definitely recommend this property to Friends and Family and also a place to stay again the next time I visit the Island of Barbados.

Owners response: Thank you very much for this beautiful review. It was great having you. Thank you for leaving the house perfectly clean. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Beautiful Experience

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

It was our first trip to Barbados, we stayed 10 days and enjoyed every minute of it. We were able to have activities such as: swimming, snorkelling, sightseeing, night fishing, Hiking, visiting botanical gardens and caves, 140 feet underwater trip in the ocean on submarine, shopping, dancing and restaurants. Helena and Roman are great people and their hospitality was beyond our expectaion. Their place is very nice and clean and affordable. Barbados is very nice,clean and safe island and people are very polite. Miami beach is about 10 minutes away from home, water and beach so relaxing you can stay there all day and have fun. Within few steps away from Miami beach, in Oistin, there is a place that offers fresh steakes of different kinds of fish caught daily from ocean, thrown on the grill before your eyes comes with all the fresh salads, potatoes, rice or fries, make it a large size dinner cost around ($12 CAN per plate) and it looks exotic and it is delicious. Ask Helena or Roman to show you where this place is located. I have so much to say about this amazing trip but I'd like to thank Helena and Roman for showing us such wonderful time in Barbados and I hope to see them again soon.
Regards- Shawn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this beautiful review. The house was very clean that there was not too much for us to do. You were great guests and I hope you will be back soon.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Paradise in a nutshell

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

We stayed at this lovely villa for 10 nights, Helena & Roman are extremely friendly and helpful hosts and although we had never been before felt like we were visiting old friends, nothing is too much trouble and they are very knowledgable about the island and give some great tips of where to go and what to see (they live onsite). The villa is very spacious,clean and tidy with every thing you could possibly need. The pool was georgeous and a god send with the hot weather,the garden area surrounding pool and villa are beautiful with mango and banana trees that you could just pick and eat straight from the tree. Barabados is a beautiful island with friendly people. We hired a car for some of our holiday and i think drove around most of the island, and nearly everyone we passed said hello or hey man. St Lawrence Gap was one of our favorite places with fantastic restuarants and great veiws of the beach, along with paradise and miami beaches and of course Oistins Friday night fish fry. Thank you Helena and Rowan for your kind hospitality and hopefully one day we will be back again. Very sad we had to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are happy that you liked this island and our house and that you felt good. We do appreciate your comments and hope to see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Our Stay at Roman and Helene's Barbados Home

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

My daughters and I came to Barbados for the first time and decided to stay in a private home. It was a great choice for us as the owners, Roman and Helene were so friendly, approachable (they stay on the property), welcoming and knowledgeable about the island. They offer an airport pickup ($), which is convenient. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. At night my daughters enjoyed the BIG plasma t.v. and all the DVDs that Roman had. I loved the fact that all the french doors led out to the pool area. It was great to swim at night with the pool lights on surrounded by lush greenery and the stars.
Roman cut open a coconut (which they grow on their property), so that I could try the coconut water, so fresh and good for you.
I would recommend renting a car, as there is so much to see and do on the island. Roman took us on a tour (per hour cost) up the east coast as far as Bathsheba, that side of the island is so untouched, very beautiful.
My daughters and I went on the Tiami 5 hour catamaran cruise, snorkelled, swam with the turtles - pretty cool!!, had an amazing lunch - (not boring sandwiches), the crew onboard were fun.
We went to Miami beach (the water is shallow for a bit and the bottom is sandy)to sun and relax, met really friendly and kind Bajans.
I would highly recommend having dinner at the Crane Hotel - Zen restaurant - rated #1 on the Zagat rating. The restaurant overlooks that amazing beach.
Another restaurant worth trying is Pieces in the Gap area, the tables overlook the water - food was excellent.
My daughters tried surfing at Zed's at Surfer's Point, the instructors were so helpful and encouraging.
One thing you cannot miss is Oistins Friday Fish Night - local Bajan food vendors - so yummy. There is entertain, music and dancing all night.

We had a very memorable holiday in Barbados, can't wait to come back!!!

The only negative point is that we had to come home!!!

I can honestly say the accommodations at Helene and Roman's is worth checking out for your next or first visit to Barbados. They really are great hosts and you can see they love being there.

Thank you Helene and Roman.

Owners response: This review is really from the bottom of my tourists' hearts. They enjoyed their stay in this house fully. They loved going out in the island. They enjoyed sightseeing etc. They left the house the way I prepared for them, very clean. I woud be more than happy to see them again. They were my wonderful guests. I hope they come soon. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Family Paradise

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

I came to Barbados with my son and his son, my grandson--aged 5. This was the perfect place for all of us. My grandson Arthur absolutely loved the pool and wanted to live in it. His swimming skills advanced a lot because of the time spent in the pool and at Miami Beach. Miami Beach was absolutely perfect for us---shady, other kids to play with sandy bottom a long way out and gentle waves. It is very close,being in Oistins. We were there 13 days and in that time we took a few tours with Roman----Roman is wonderful, great with kids, knowledgeable about Barbados and very patient with me. We saw such wonderful places! Barbados is the perfect Caribbean island. The people are clean, polite and friendly. The bus trips we took were crowded but everybody on the buses was polite, kind, and friendly. Something you definitely would not see in the U.S. It goes without saying that the scenery is gorgeous. And I love the Bajan breezes.
The house is very comfortable and the satellite tv was great. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, and give a quiet and peacful, and private feeling. We have to come back because now we know where to go!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jeane, thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are specially thankful for that, because this is your first day home and you found the time to write this review for us. Every word is very meaningful and true. You were great guests. We will miss you and hope all of you will come soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

I'm In Luv w/h This Place :)

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This little hide-away spot was quiet and peaceful. My friends and I enjoyed it to the max as we are making it one of our personal spots. If you are looking for relaxation and destressig, this is the place to be :). Thank You Helena, will see you soon.

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. Thank you for leaving the house very clean. All of you were wonderful guests and I hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Family Vacation in Barbados!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

We had an amazing 3 week stay here. The kids (ages 5 and 6) absolutely loved it! Very short drive to lots of beaches, each one unique. Beautiful pool. The kids really liked picking bananas from the trees in the backyard.....sooooooo fresh! They also looked forward to the Fish Festival in Oistins on the weekends. Gorgeous gardens and night lighting. The kids improved so much with their swimming that they were asking to take surfing lessons. (....on the list for next year). Regular drive by from the ice cream man truck, the kids quickly could recognize the music playing. It was so nice to BBQ in the middle of winter without a million layers of clothes on. Safe clean and quiet, constant calm breeze, very private, and of course awesome weather. Excellent hosts, Roman and Helena. Can't wait to return. See you next January!

Brenda.

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review and for your kind comments. We are very happy that children enjoyed it so much. All of you are lovely family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Home Away from Home

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Everything was perfect! It was very clean, safe and well kept, from the home to the pool and yard. The home was even nicer than we'd expected. Both bedrooms have balconies/patios. The larger one has plenty of room to sit outside and a bbq. The patio by the pool is also very spacious. My 8 year old loved the pool and it was nice that Roman had some pool toys right there. Roman was always available to answer questions and help us out with anything. I'm sorry that we did not have the opportunity to meet Helena while we were there.
This home is in a great location.....quiet and out of the way, yet it's close enough to everything. We rented a car (GPS recommended) but the bus station is very close to the house for anyone without a car.
We really enjoyed nights at Oistins, Friday night is a big party but any night is fun. We loved snorkeling and finding sea treasures at Folkstone Park, on the West Coast. And the Wildlife Reserve was truly amazing....the monkeys are very friendly! Sand Dunes Restaurant, in St. Andrew, had the best macaroni pie that we tasted on the island. It's a very small shack-like place with local charm and great food. At Boosy's Surf School, Christian Boos gave us A+ surf lessons! I would recommend everyone who wants to surf....go to Boosy's! Christian keeps his classes very small so that everyone gets plenty of attention and instruction. We also took a "guided cultural tour" which I would recommend to anyone who wants to know more about the island's people, politics, history, economy, plants and animals. It was a bit off the beaten path but absolutely perfect for us.....not a commercial tour.
We definitely need to come back and see more of the island. 1 week was not nearly enough time to enjoy all that Barbados has to offer. Helena and Roman's home is perfect and we'll definitely be back. Thank you Roman, for being such a wonderful host. We truly appreciate being able to share a little piece of your world. What a gem! Helena, we hope to meet you on our next visit.

Owners response: Thank you so much for this beautiful and informative review. You were wonderful tourists for us and thank you for leaving the house perfectly clean. We will be very happy to see you again at our house.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Treasure waiting to be found!!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

We could not have chosen a more perfect spot. The house was lovely and so well kept, the pictures just do not do the beauty of this house justice. We were greeted by a very welcoming Helena and Roman who was so kind and able to answer any questions we had. Helena made us feel right at home while showing us around the house, we could not have asked for a more warm greeting.

if you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is it.....if your looking for a clean, safe, beautiful and private surrounding this is it.....this home is truly home away from home, very comfortable... AFter spending 5 days we didn't want to leave, my son, mom,aunt and i spent most of our time by the well maintained pool enjoying the plants and waterfall. My husband enjoyed the 200+ channels and movies that was avail. so it was truly a vacation for all.........

the lovely beaches was just like 20 mins away with public transportation (bus) that is so easily accessed with just a mere 2 mins walk to the bus stop. Barbados is a slice of heaven BUT this home is a treasure waiting to be found....spacious, yet cozy. I would definately recommend this house to any friends or family looking to have this sort of experience in Barbados as well as stay there again myself. It was also very close to many exciting things such as the St. Lawrence Gap, Oistens and Bridgetown. Perfect for families especially those with teenagers or young adults because there is always something happening that will keep them busy. All in all we loved this place and were very sad to leave. will definately be returning to this lovely, safe, comfortable home to spend some time with our new friends Helena and Roman.....

thank you helena and roman for making our stay a truly enjoyable one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for such a beautiful comments and thank you even more for leaving this house perfectly clean and ready for my new tourists that afternoon. We miss you all and hope to see you soon, again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Great Staycation

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

It is a nice getaway spot for unwining, pool and area and everything was great,clean peaceful even got to watch movies in 3d love it and will be they again

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. Next time when you come to this house, there will be more movies to watch in 3d. Hope to see you all soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Hyacinth, Joyann n Myself plan a weekend getaway for hyacinth earthday begin 3 couple the 2 bedrooms where great n large enough with n extra beds. begin a local n know how beautiful Barbados is we had very high exceptions which were meet. it is very clean n a beautiful place. some had a ball more than other but when couple are together that happens the men did bbq the sunday by the pool which is lovely n the waterfall, Roman did a great job on the place love it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. Thank you also for leaving the house clean. You were great tourists. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Place to Unwind

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Of all the places that we have stayed on the island so far, this is the most pleasent and fair priced accommodation. It is in an excellent location to drive or take a bus/taxi to the many beaches and excellent sights. We will be making our third trip to this Home away from Home next year and this will be the 12th year visiting Barbados.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your beautiful and true comments. All four of you are very welcome to this home in the future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Honeymoon Get away

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

My fiance and I got married June 10, 2011 and discovered this beautiful house. Before we arrived we were scared because we did not know what to expect. But after being there for one day we new 100 percent that we made an excellent choice in vacationing in this beautiful house with very nice owners. I would recommend to rent a car so that you can visit several beaches around the island. Barbados is an absolutely beautiful island and we will definitely plan on returning sometime in the future. The house was very clean when we arrived and the pool was amazing and always very clean as well. My wife and I highly recommend this to couples, families, or any type of getaways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review. It is very encouraging for couples going for honeymoon. Roman said that you were great tourists and happy to see you again at our beautiful house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

What made me really rent the property first off was the warm greeting i got from Helena over the phone and especially when i got to the property. She was very kind and made sure to show me all over the property when is very nice. It's very clean, very quite and very romantic at night.
The pool is always clean and my friends and i made great usage of the barbaque grill on site.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing or romantic getaway.

Cant wait to go back again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is our pleasure to have you again at our property. All of you were great tourists and we are more than happy to rent this house to you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quiet Paradise

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

Fabulous accomodations, beautiful property and central to the top spots in Barbados.

Barbados is a safe Island, the locals are very helpful and friendly.

The owners were great and ensured we were well taken care of, this is a great place for a quiet vacation or for a family especially with the extrordinary pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to have tourists like you. We hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely place and great people!

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

First, I would like to say that Barbados is quite possibly the greatest place on earth. The people are super friendly, fun, and just generally happy - what's not to be happy about living in the caribbean?

This house is off the beaten path in a great little area that's quiet at night and nice during the day. It is very clean and safe, and the owners Roman and Helena are extremely nice and welcoming. For those of you looking to stay in a touristy spot - this is not for you. It's better for those who want to relax by the pool or grab the cooler with some beer and rum and head to Miami Beach which is about a 10 minute drive. There are 3-4 great beaches within 10 minutes and Bridgetown is about the same distance. My wife and I rented a car and were able to navigate around the island (although I would not recommend this for unadventurous types - the roads are not well marked and you drive on the left side... takes a day or so to learn if you're coming from the states). Also, if you are a hot natured person or sweat a lot I would ask for the air conditioned suite, because some nights during June can be hot and wind is minimal at times so nights can be warm especially after days in the sun. Barbados has a ton to offer and it's great for people of all ages. We did a 6 mile hike, catamaran cruise where we swam with turtles and shipwrecks, went to Mt. Gay Rum distillery, and Harrison's cave... and you just can't beat the beaches, they are second to none.

We will definitely be back and can't believe we ever left. Thanks Helena and Roman for a great place to stay and the wonderful hospitality. Cheers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your beautiful comments. The AC is available for just $15/day, however some tourists choose fans, including owners, for healthy issues. It is optional as the breeze that is there is enough for some tourists. We are happy to see you again at our Beautiful Woodbourne Home. Thank you for leaving the house clean.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

beautiful get away

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

never a dull moment, it was fantastic, nice quiet area to kick back and relax perfect for couples that need that time away, lovely scenery and the pool is lovely at night swimming under the stars, this is the place to be, it is just lovely thank you so much Helena from Malcolm, i really enjoy it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your response. It was great having you at our beautiful and relaxing house. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My second home

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

I would like to start out by saying that I had a relaxing 2 week vacation in this clean and comfortable 2 bedroom house. The rooms are spacious the bed are comfortable and the house has everything you need to feel at home. I am 27 years old and I went alone and felt very safe enough to leave the doors open all day and all of the windows open at night. The pool was amazing (even though I can't swim) the stairs was just fine for me. Helena and Roman A.K.A mom and dad. :-) were amazing host couldn't ask for more. They were informative and kind not to mention kind. They were at my disposible for any questions or just a chat. Helena even baked a delicious polish bread and gave me some to try and Roman makes a killer pina colada. They introduced me to some great people to who I will definitely keep in contact with. They truly polished my vacation. Helena and Roman you were more than just host, you are like family and I miss you both.

Thank you for giving me such a heart warming stay in your lovely home
Latoya xoxoxox

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, my daughter, for your beautiful review. We are happy that you enjoyed staying at our beautiful and comfortable house. Thank you for leaving clean house. We will be more than happy to see you soon.

Helena & Roman

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best thing ever happen To us

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

For the third time we've spent our vacation on beautiful Barbados.
Previously we were in hotels on the West Coast of the island and this time we have chosen our 3 weeks vacation to spend in a guest house. We ended up with Helena and Roman in Woodbourne Park a bit in the south of Barbados and have the vacation of our life.
Helena and Roman have the class to make your vacation into something unforgettable, nothing is too much for them. Helena and Roman are simply in one word professionals.

The difference between a hotel and guest house is at first that it saves you a lot of money. In a hotel you are bound by time, while in a guest house all the time is for yourself. For example, do you want breakfast at 6.30 am, you can. You have complete freedom, as opposed to a hotel. If you want to sit outside the house near the swimmingpool at 2.00 am or later there is no problem, this cannot be in a hotel.

The pool (with lighting) makes the holiday as a vacation should be. Relaxed, relaxed, relaxed. The house was above our expectations, a large living room very clean and very well equipped, even with Internet and a satellite dish. The kitchen is clean and spacious everything you need is there. You feel safe and at home. Barbados has almost no crime and people are friendly and helpful.

At 3 minutes away is a huge supermarket "Emeralds" with a wide range. It is recommended that you rent a car.
Roman has a beautiful big Toyota, with a great RADIO, (that's an other story). In consultation he can bring you (for a small fee) if you want to go somewhere. Friday evening Oistens is the place to be for wonderful food, fresh fish. It's a big party with great music, with a lot of different tourist from all over the world.

We recommended with our hands on our hearts that this is the most beautiful place on earth (by Helena and Roman) a wonderful climate and atmosphere. Specialy for anyone who likes calm and cosiness.

For 50 + this is the place to be.

Because it was very nice, next year not 3 weeks but 4 weeks by Helena and Roman, who made sure that we have enjoyed a wonderful holiday.

Helena and Roman (Ein, Zwei, Drei) are our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for these wonderful comments. We can't wait to see you again next year for a longer time. You were great tourists and always very welcomed in the future.

Helena & Roman

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW !!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We had a great time!!! The owners share a separate part of the house and are easily available to provide any help or transporation. Helena and Roman are great hosts.
The two bedroom with large living area is adjacent to the private pool. Plenty of room to swim, sunbathe, sit in the shade, relax. Everything is spotless and all necessary household items are available including internet, satellite TV....home from home.
Great location, close to airport, easy access to beach, drive to the east coast or Bridgetown (island is 14 x 21 miles).
We plan on returning later this year with friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We will be more than happy to see these tourists again. They were wonderful people and easy going. They were great persons to party with and we miss them a lot and can't wait to see them again. We are already excited to see them whenever they plan to come back. We will always make sure that they have everything they need for their comfort. See you soon.

Helena & Roman

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Barbados - Perfect Set up

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

What can we say, we arrived at nite and not sure what to expect. Woke up to awesome Barbados! Real close to airport, Taxi in less than 10 minutes. Owners are a dream. Took care of anything we needed. Aksed if we needed anything and if they didnt have it, they went to get it. Beautiful pool, quiet neighborhood. 5 minutes to Crane. Great house, Great owners, Perfect Vacation. Recommend HIGHLY! Don't let neighborhood fool you, this place is great. Wife was a little nervous at start, but quickly and enthusiastically came a believer. Rent a car and you have the whole island at your disposal. Who said driving on the left was hard? One day and it was second nature.
Roman and Helena are great hosts, they added a deck and grill just as we arrived, which we greatly enjoyed. We are ready for next year!

Thank you Both,
Roland & Deanna

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roland & Deanna, thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to read such a beautiful comments. You are in our memories as wonderful tourists and hope to see you again, next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Girls' Getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

The house was lovely and the price couldn't be beat. We loved having our own separate bedrooms, being able to cook easily in the kitchen, and dipping into the pool when we wanted to cool off. You were right about renting a car; it really made a difference. I don't think we would have enjoyed ourselves as much, or seen as much of the beautiful island, if we hadn't. We spent one day driving all around Barbados, and then another entire day just at Accra Beach. It was very nice to have that option. Roman was very helpful and kind. I very much appreciate that he was able to pick me up 2 hours later, after my flight was delayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Roman was very happy to have tourists like you. Both of you were very nice, easy going and left the house very clean. We hope to have you again in our beautiful house in the nearest future.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

"A GREAT DISCOVERY"

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Upon opening the gate, you know you are in a different place; A place you want to be; A place you will not want to leave, "Beautiful Woodbourne Park Home" Property surrounded by large, luscious greenery, colourful plants, banana trees, swaying palms, Atlantic Ocean providing a lovely warm tropical breeze, large covered deck, gorgeous swimming pool inviting you to come on in. Exceptional Features: extremely clean, very spacious,well maintained and organized, private, quiet, close to the airport, supermarkets, banks, and the very beautiful turquois waters of "Miami Beach" We were two seniors looking for a quiet spot, away from the tourist areas, and this was a great discovery. Barbados is a small island, a beautiful island, a clean island, surrounded by beautiful, warm waters. The Bajan people are very friendly, eager to help, and very proud of their island. Our hosts "Helena & Roman" were very nice people, professional, friendly, and always there to make our stay enjoyable (they could not do enough). Roman designed and built the home, (wonderful layout), and Helena mastered the surroundings, simply beautiful , great job; You both should be very proud of your property. We had a great time, and hated to leave, ( temperature air 80 & pool 83). "THANK YOU" to you both, and Thank You for introducting us to BATH BEACH. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joan with Murray and their family were ideal guests. We are glad that they had a wonderful time and happy to see them all next year. Thank you all.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

...simply fantastic!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

the house is fantastic with all you need for a beautiful holiday. There is also a swimming pool with the lights for the night...
The property is near some marvellous beaches, like crane beach and miami beach, with white sand and turquoise water..
It is near Oyster market where you can buy and eat freshly caught fish. you need a car, but you can easy reach every part of the isle.
Helena and Roman are very kind and make you feel at home!
Thank you very much and see you next time!
Laura & Stefano from Italy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed our rentals and that you had such a good time in Barbados. Thank you for leaving the house beautifully clean and tidy and we are happy to see you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Place in Paradise..

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

It was the best vacation ever!!!!. The house was centrally located near the airport and supermarkets, from there it was easy to go anywhere in the island specially to some of the most awesome nearby beaches of the island. The house was very clean and had everything we needed to have a great vacation. The pool was a plus for our three Kids, and don't even mention the scuba gear..THANKS..we would definitely recommend this shack in paradise to family with kids, couples or anybody looking to have fun in barbados. AHHH, it was also close to some of the best surf pots. Thanks once again Helena for your hospitality. We will see you guys soon again..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate your honest opinion about us and Barbados island. All 5 of you were excellent tourists for us and we are happy to see you all again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great spot, great price!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

This property is easily reached by car from the airport. The house was exactly what we expected from the ad. (new, clean, quiet, comfortable and well maintained) The pool and patio are lovely and very private. I especially enjoyed being able to swim anytime, day or night. Having a BBQ was very handy. We often enjoyed our morning tea and several dinners on the patio. We drove to many beaches during our stay.( Crane, Dover, Bath, Miami, Oistens) The owner are amazing! They were EXTREMELY helpful and made us feel welcome from our first moment until our last. We have already booked for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments. We were really glad to have tourists like you and happy to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Exactly what we had hoped for

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We were very pleased with the clean apartment and very useful kitchen. The owners were helpful and professional throughout. The neighborhood was quiet and non-touristy, which was great for a restful vacation. Having a car, we believe, was essential as it allowed us to explore wonderful beaches all over the island. We hope to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful comments. We were glad to have you in our house. It gives us a wonderful feeling that both of you had a good time during your vacation and decided to come back in the future.

See you again.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful & Pleasant home, Lovely owners !!!

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Thanks to Helena & his husband who have welcomed our family so nicely. They are so friendly and made us have a wonderful stay in their lovely and pleasant house !!
We could not expect better place where to stay, so quiet, clean, and at affordable price for a really great quality !!
Be sure, we'll be back !!
The house and the swimming pool are really nice !!!
The owner, helena is so lovely and helpful; whatever you need, she is here for your well beeing !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so grateful to receive such a lovely comments. It was our pleasure to have tourists like you. It's nice to hear that you will be back. Not only us but also Barbados island is waiting for you till next time.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

This place has everything you will want and more. Its extremely beautiful, very relaxing, serene, picturesque and most importantly private. I stayed there for a few days with my boyfriend, and it felt just like home, We were extremely comfortable and satisfied, so much so, that we did not want to leave. The pool area was our favourite part of the house especially at night. You will never find a more warm and welcoming environment. I can't wait until next year so we can stay there again, .

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your response, and I am glad that you felt like you were home away from home.. And I am glad that you are wanting to come back next year, and I would love to have you back with your boyfriend.. thank you again.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

My daughter and I were very pleased with these accommodations. It was our little hideway for 2 weeks of rest and relaxation. A saltwater swimming pool was a wonderful bonus! The apartment was clean, fully stocked and cozy.The landlords were cheerful and helpful and made us feel at home. The price could not be beat! You will need a car though unless you are adventurous and like public transit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, the reviewer was there. They really enjoyed it and said that the house is more beautiful than on the pictures. She will recommend us and called us to book for 2 more dates.

Thank you Carol very much and see you again

Helena

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

This is a really nice place to stay. The owners are pleasant and professional people. The area is quiet and inside you feel like you're in another world. The pool area is quite relaxing and heavenly at night.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review