reviews for: listing #87222 - Tucson, Arizona Apartment rental

Desert Nook - cozy 1 bedroom getaway
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Casas Adobes
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $125 /nt
    $400 - $600 /wk
    $1,400 - $1,700 /mth

sort by:

desert retreat

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

I am writing this review quite a bit later than my previous stay, but just read the newest review and decided I just had to have my say. I didn't write sooner as I did not want the secret to get out, a bit cheeky of me. I am making my plans to return to The Nook this week. I ONLY stay at the Nook if it is available. I have been coming to Tucson for years and now plan my trips around when the Nook is available. If I need anything and I mean ANYTHING the owner Char or her property manager are easily accessed and will help in any way possible. I have even gotten a late night ride to the airport. Char the owner was very reluctant to take any pay for my ride, I insisted and even then it was a pittance. I find quality in the Nook. The furnishings are outstanding and quite artfully arranged. There is plenty of room in the closet and bedside drawers for my personal items. The bathroom is large and has ample space to store ones bathroom items. I cook regularly in the Nook and I love the dishes, I never microwave anything I eat, so the dinnerware was perfect for keeping my food warm. I love the little stove (4 burners) and the oven makes a great cake. I appreciated the stainless steel cookware. I would recommend the Nook to anyone who likes lovely furnishings/art, enjoys cooking, likes long soaks late at night in a sunken hot tub, and cool pools close by for cooling off, for anyone who enjoys the desert birds and plant life. It is true one has to heat the hot tub, but it is not difficult and why waste the deserts energy heating a tub long before you need. If you are out Char will turn it on for you. Enjoy the closeness of the pool for a cool splash and return to the hot tub to warm up. Enjoy The Nook, but hopefully not when I want to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review and look forward to your next stay at the Desert Nook!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good with a Few Shortcomings

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

Good - Location was good in terms of shopping and attractions. If you liked walking or biking it was a safe area for both. I particularly liked the desert surroundings and the birds that came to the feeder. The deck was a nice size and the accommodations were nicely laid out and ample for two. The bathroom was attractive and had a nice shower. Wifi had good reception which was important for communication as there was no phone available. Lots of games were available and we made good use of them - especially scrabble. Char, the owner, provided a nice welcome basket and was very pleasant and helpful.

Shortcomings - The owner had too many unnecessary things taking up space and left little room for guests' personal items. This was particularly true of anyone staying for a month which was my case. The nice pottery dishes were not safe to use in a microwave so I purchased a couple of plates suitable for the microwave. We used the pyrex measuring cups to reheat soup or other liquids. After trying to fry eggs unsuccessfully on the available fry pan and slightly burning my hand because the handle got hot, I purchased a non-stick fry pan. The clear plastic on the kitchen table wa not inviting. I knew there was no 'live TV' but didn't know what Roku was all about. After a month of not hearing local news or anything else live, such as Christmas specials when there in December, it became tiresome. Also there were several movies I never saw the end of because Roku reloaded but never continued the movie. In the bedroom there was a larger TV to play videos. However, there was only a handful of videos and I was not about to start renting any. There should have been ample supply of videos available. The most disappointing for me was the hot tub. To use it you had to go through a process to heat it and then it was available about 2 hours later. So coming back from a day's outing and soaking in the tub was not possible! We only used it once. A cover for the hot tub could have solved the re-heating issue. Some furnishings need to be replaced. Deck furnishings are old, worn and broken but functional. The living room and kitchen furnishings should be reviewed.

Overall, the Desert Nook is a great place. I have previously owned a resort and perhaps view with a more critical eye. Many of the shortcomings I mentioned are easily rectified with little expense and then I would give it 4 stars. For the longer term, some furnishings could be replaced.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We are happy that the reviewer felt that "overall, the Desert Nook is a great place". We think so too! We are always open to suggestions and try to do everything we can to enhance our guests stay.

While our offer to remove seasonal Christmas decorations was turned down by these guests, we have since reorganized and removed some unnecessary items to make more room for guests items. While there were microwave friendly glass bowls in the kitchen, we've added a couple of more and will be sure to point these out to guests as well as the pot holders that hang next to the stove.

Roku is a fairly new internet technology. It is user friendly and offers a wealth of internet channels in an easy to use format. While it is true that there are no local news channels, there are news channels that will keep you day to day - up to date on what's happening across the globe as well as in our part of the world. While there may be a couple of channels that have some problems, the vast majority of channels work well. We've also added to our DVD collection and will continue to do so.

To keep costs down, we do not keep the hot tub heated continually. It only takes an hour or two to heat up and the controls were set up to be easy to use. There are only two switches that must be flipped and we have added signage to the two switches to make it clear which switch to flip first. We are also adding an option to have the hot tub on all the time for an added fee.

The old deck chairs have been replaced and we feel that the comfortable, vintage furnishings are part of the charm of our little place. While the Desert Nook is not a slick resort, we feel it is a great place to call home while visiting Tucson and beautiful southern Arizona.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sanctuary in the Desert

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had a lovely time in this cosy desert get-away! We stayed for several weeks while we visited friends and family in the area. The location was great for those visits, sightseeing, and anything we wanted or needed to do! The Nook itself was well appointed and able to accommadate our extended stay. The owner was warm and friendly! We especially enjoyed the welcome basket and goodies. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind, this is the place for you. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Just right for the 2 of us!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

This was just the perfect spot for my husband and me to return to each evening after a busy day of sightseeing in the Tucson area. It is so nice to have a kitchen for preparing breakfast each morning or a light supper in the evening. This casita was very quiet and private in a nice neighborhood for taking an evening walk. So much nicer than staying in a hotel! I could get up early (darn that difference in time zones!)and curl up with a book in a comfy chair in the living room, while not disturbing my sleeping husband in the bedroom. Lovely, large tiled shower. The Desert Nook was a cozy and comfortable home base for us. We both enjoyed it and would return if we got the chance. Char was so helpful and drew me a map of the nearby shops and neighboring streets! That really came in handy! We explored the Saguaro National Park, Desert Museum, Sabino Canyon hiking trails (take extra water!!), Mt. Lemmon (lovely place to cool off!), Colossal Cave and Mission Xavier. Then we moved down to Tombstone and toured Kartchner Caverns State Park (awesome cave!), Bisbee and the copper mine, and the old streets of Tombstone.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A lil bit of Heaven in the desert.

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The owner, Char, portrayed the property perfectly in her description & pictures.
The covered porch was great, we spent a lot of time sitting there watching the birds & wild life. Char was a great hostess. The inside deplicted typical Tucson. We had a wonderful time. We went to Tucson to view the Foothills & the Nook was a perfect location to do just that. The pool was a god send in the 105 degree heat. The Nook was very clean and well maintained. The welcome basket was a perfect touch. We would stay there again in a heatbeat & recomend it highly to anyone who wants to visit Tucson.

Tony & Vanessa, PA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Absolutly Fabulous

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

I cannot say how much we enjoyed our stay. Perect locatiion for all Tuscon's attrations and everyting North and South. Charlene is a perfect host and the Desert Nook has everyting you could want.

We have been coming to Tucson for 16 years but the house we stayed in before was no longer available so it was with some trepidation that we rented a new place but we were not disapointed.

The Desert Nook is extreemly comfortable - wonderful bed - great breakfast on the terrace - most of the best restaurants in Tucson are within a stone's throw and although the kitchen is small, it is briliantlly kitted out - we have our own restaurant in Scotland and so like to cook and everying we needed was there

Perfect Peace, Perfect Sunsets, Perfect dawns - the latter impotant to us as with the jet lag we are up with the sun.

We arrived tired and stressed from running a usy business in these difficult times and left like different people - worth every penny

Thank you very much and hopefully we will be back.

Chris and Cathryn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

My husband and I were very impressed with Desert Nook. It was very private and quiet. The apartment was very clean and the pool area was beautiful. Char does an excellent job as a hostess. We are hoping to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Desert Nook is a cozy and charming retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved staying at Desert Nook with it's cozy and charming southwestern decor that makes you feel "at home." Located in Oro Valley it is situated in a lovely desert neighborhood at the foot of the Santa Catalina Mountains. A separate apartment located in the rear of the owners home it is completely private. We did not use the pool or hot tub so can't comment of them. Being from Michigan it took us a bit to get used to cactus as landscaping! It was nice at the end of the day to return to our own place. We enjoyed our morning coffee watching the sun come over the mountain tops. Located in a quiet neighborhood, yet easy access to highways that quickly brings you to your Tuscon location. There are several grocery store nearby (Trader Joe's was my favorite)where we would buy our own dinner ingredients to prepare at home rather than always going out to restaurants. While we did not see the owner except when we arrived and departed she is extremely gracious and kind telling us to let us know if we needed anything. As we had what we needed or it was provided in the nook we had no need to bother her. We toured all the typical Tucson sites. Our favorite being Sabino Canyon with a tram ride up the canyon and several hiking trails. The drive up Catalina Hwy to Mt.Lemmon is spectacular. Amazing drive through Saguaro National Park. (Avoid Old Tucson-waste of time and money). Pima Air and Space Museum is interesting and a bit southeast of Tucson is Tombstone. We walked the historic route in downtown Tucson. Of the local restaurants we enjoyed the Southwestern/Mexican one recommended by the owner, Cattletown Steakhouse and Saloon, and for a really great time try Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse located in Trail Dust Town-a wonderful "old west" attraction. I would definitely recommend staying at Desert Nook. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review