reviews for: listing #87328 - Austin, Texas House rental

49 Acres,3 BDRM, 3 BATH,CREEK For FISHING,POOL,15 Min. TO DT
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $450 /nt
    $2,250 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Charlie and Ann's place

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. And thanks for taking care of us so well! Only problem now is that our friends expect to see us there annually.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

It was such a pleasure staying here! The owners are the kindest people and will help you with any assistance in getting around Texas. The house itself was extremely nice and clean. Everyone in our party was thrilled with it and we would definetely stay here again. It is out of downtown Austin, but not too far of a drive from the airport.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Charlie & Ann

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful home. We loved the diversity of each room and the history of the house. You have a very peaceful existence here and we enjoyed the few days of it that we had. Your banana bread was amazing!

Thanks again, Tim, Mike, Mark, Anakin, & Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Words fail to express the amazing and wonderful weekend we experienced at Agave Lane! We were in Austin for our youngest son's wedding. I searched online for a place that would accommodate our four generation family of fourteen. Agave Lane was the only place within my budget that seemed possible.
Charlie and Ann helped to make our weekend perfect with their hospitality and wonderful home. The location turned out to be within a mile or so from the wedding venue. The acreage was perfect to host the groomsmen and keep them "out of trouble" prior to the wedding. The space in the home accommodated our mulity generations comfortably. It was such a joy to be together instead of the isolation of hotel rooms.
The rural location is peaceful and calming. The proximity to stores, healthcare and downtown is perfect!
Charlie and Ann were so kind to check on my parents when they discovered my parents were unable to attend the wedding due to mom not feeling well!
Agave Lane is highly recommended by our whole family!
This wonderful home would be perfect for a couple wanting a retreat, a spiritual retreat, a girlfriends weekend, as well as a family reunion!
Again, thank you Charlie and Ann for allowing us to share your amazing place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very relaxing vacation home.

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We had a wonderful experience. Our hosts were wonderful in making sure that we had everything that we needed. The homemade zucchini bread she brought us was delicious as were the banana peppers from the garden that she surprised us with. Our kids enjoyed the golf cart ride exploring the land. The pool was so relaxing and fun. The yards are pretty and decorative and well maintained. The unique rock gardens were fun to explore for the kids and adults alike. We had a wonderful picnic one evening down by the creek; which was a favorite area for us. The sound of the waterfall was so relaxing and the kids loved the fishing. The home was equipped with everything that we needed. The house is spacious with plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax. The screened porch was a favorite for morning coffee and visiting. Our families will definitely plan a return visit to Agave Lane. We loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Owners Guest Book

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Charlie & Ann, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us. Ann, it was so sweet of you to take the kids for a ride that first evening. Chaney also enjoyed picking flowers with you. The zucchini bread was a wonderful treat! The creek was a great experience. We had a great time picnicing down there. One of the boy caught a bass. The pool was great and we loved the unique rock gardens. There is so much to experience here that we just ran out of time, but will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Our family was in Austin for a family reunion......with the owners! Without giving a biased opinion let it be known we had not been back to the property since the house was renovated and prepared for rentals. We were amazed. It was simply beautiful. How nice for each person to have their own room. So much privacy and so many comforts! The "country living" right in a city was so refreshing. Of course, the hosts were wonderful. They couldn't have been more welcoming or generous. Who could ever choose a hotel when this lovely ranch is available?! We can't wait for our next stay!
By the way---for runners the property offers many beautiful trails for cross country runs. On each run we saw beautiful deer grazing in the mornings!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely, relaxing experience; ideal for the photographer and reader

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

I simply loved staying at Agave Lane! It was, in addition to being peaceful and beautiful, like a trip down memory lane. As a child I spent summer vacations with my grandparents who retired to Texas. These trips were special and have always stayed tucked into my heart. So, just to be in Texas was fantastic. And, to experience these nostalgic memories amongst such a wonderful background was a definite bonus.

The property owners were very accommodating; guided tour of house on arrival, available to answer questions in a timely manner such as "I can't get the washer turned on", and non-intrusive. The house was fascinating, a mix of old and new. Indian artifacts and other interesting items were throughout the residence. Those lovers of vintage books, like myself, will simply adore the collection. I think I must have handled, multiple times, all the books. And there were cozy reading places everywhere; by the pool, on the porch, in the game room. I found the landscape intriguing and enjoyed many photography walks. I believe my memory card listed 450 photos shot.

I can't say much about the surrounding attractions because I spent most of my time at the property. However, I can definitely say my stay at Agave lane was rejuvenating and fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time together at this location. The owners are organized, accommodating, and genuine. We had PLENTY of room for our party of 8 (5 adults and 3 children) and we never ran out of things to do. It's a great place to experience the feeling of rustic Texas, with all the comforts of home. The pool and ping pong table were a big hit, and our hike to the creek evoked many interesting stories along the way. We would definitely stay here again!

C & J Harris
The Woodlands, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We had a great time staying at this beautiful house! Our little ones were thrilled with all the toys and the playset, and we all enjoyed the pool. Everything we needed was provided and easy instructions/labels were left for us. The owners were super friendly and accomodating. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Austin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The house was very comfortable and well located. Their was plenty of room for 6 adults and one child. We had a great time it was very close to everything we wanted to do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This house and location was great. The house is very comfortable and large. We had 6adults and one child and had plenty of space. It was very close to stores and food.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Owners Guest Book

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time! The house is beautiful, we ate all of Ann's Zucchini bread, and basked in the sun in between fun in the pool. The house was perfect for us - Six women celebrating their 30th birthday year. We met in Austin when we attended UT, and came in from all over, from LA To NYC, to share this time together, reminisce, and celebrate our friendship. Thank you for being part of the lifetime of memories. It was delightful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Owners Guest Book

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Thanks for having us in this lovely home in this lovely location. It turned out that everything we wanted to do was on the south side of Austin, so everything was very convenient! The house was perfect for six adults and a little one.

Danielle, San Francisco, Ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This property made our holiday perfect

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

There were 12 of us altogether and this property was perfect. We were gathering in Austin for our son's wedding and we came from Australia and New Zealand to be there. Mum & Dad & Sisters and their families. After long, tiring flights we were warmly welcomed and spent several wonderful weeks at this property. It was 'Home away from Home' and we loved every minute. The rooms were large and airy, very clean and really comfortable. We had every thing we needed and more. The pool was a real winner with the children and we were able to relax and watch them at play. We saw deer, squirrels, fireflies, hummingbirds and heaps of other creatures. We even went fishing in the lovely creek at the bottom of the property (throwing them back in afterwards). The happy couple and several friends joined us for meals etc. on several occasions and there was room for all. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming, in fact we had a wonderful BBQ with them on our last evening and then were ushered off down to the creek for desert. A fire was lit in the big stone surrounded pit and we all had an amazing time with marshmallows being cooked (or dropped), the children couldn't have been happier. We are only allowed to do one review so this is on behalf of three families and we all want to say that we could not recommend this property and our charming hosts high enough. Everything was perfect and we will definitely be going back to see them. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Guest Book - Featherston, New Zealand

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

We are so pleased we found your house to stay at whilst in Austin for the wedding. Not only was it fantastic accommodations, but you are both the best hosts.

Thank you for giving us a real insight into USA living.

Hope to see you in New Zealand one day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Guest Book

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend! The kids had so much fun hiking, fishing, and playing games in the yard. We will definitely be back for a longer stay!

P.S. The peach cobbler was wonderful - thank you for that sweet gesture!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in the Austin Area!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Our group stayed there for the SXSW 2012 conference, and we could have not found a most beautiful place with such wonderful owners/hosts. The house and property are just beautiful and very charming. The house is big and fully stocked with everything you could need. Although it was a bit too cold to use the pool, it would make for a great summer vacation place. The creek is beautiful and relaxing, ideal for picnics, recreational fishing or just walking about. We also loved H-E-B, the massive grocery store nearby, and the also-massive BBQ restaurant near the house. We all fell in love with this whole area and this place, and we wish we could come back one day. Thank you Charles and Ann for making us feel more than at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great country home for peaceful family reunion.

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

We enjoyed our short time in thig home w pool and lovely manicured back yard on acreage in the hill country. Our family reunion included a one year old and we were thrilled with the toddler friendly back porch where we all could enjoy him playing with the many safe toys the owners supplied. The back yard even included a baby swing (in addition to the play set for older kids) and a baby pool. We couldn't have had a better place for toddler enjoyment and care. the setting was just beautiful, utilitarian and convenient.
The guys even fished a bit in the creek, and we also got away easily by car to Zilker park in Austin (about 20 minutes) and only 5 minutes to the Salt Lick (go at lunch, rather than dinner) and Trudy's is close as well. The kitchen is so fully stocked we baked and cooked as well.
The owner's house is very close on the pool side which was fine for us as we enjoyed their company and helpfulness, but for some couples, it might not seem private enough. We had an excellent time and thought it a good value. Friends who came out to visit with us were inspired by the view from the poolside where we entertained (you have to carry things from the kitchen at the other end of the house, but it's worth it!).

Owners response: We purchased a new table (seats 6) with an umbrella and set it outside on the patio by the dining room. There are 6 additional chairs and a picnic table also. Plenty of seating for a group. The bar-b-Que pit is in this area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

I was visiting Austin with several family members, and we had 8 people total at this property. It was fantastic! We really enjoyed the house and the grounds, and found everything to be just perfect. Charlie and Ann were incredibly friendly and hospitable, and the house was clean and comfortable. We couldn't have been more pleased. All 8 of us would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ann and Charlie Jones Guest House

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My husband and I spent four days at Ann and Charlie Jones beautiful guest house on the outskirts of Austin, Texas. We enjoyed our time there, and would recommend it as a respite for anyone needing to get away from their daily routine.

The visit began with a drive down a winding road, bordered by woodland and various cacti. When we arrived Ann greeted us and showed us around the large and inviting home. She explained that the residence began as a simple adobe home, and over the years new rooms had been built, creating a series of spaces to relax and enjoy the rural surroundings.

There are three lovely bedrooms and three spacious bathrooms, as well as a laundry room. We stayed in the master bedroom which has ample closets and a television. We found the king-sized bed to be really comfortable. Sliding glass doors off of the master bedroom led outside to a path bordered with beautiful flowering plants, and the path overlooks the swimming pool.

The large kitchen is well equipped, and is bright and cheerful. A vast round table, with a Lazy Susan at the center is in the adjoining dining room where we gathered for meals. In the dining room we were intrigued by a large pair of mounted steer horns accompanied by a painting of the bull who had owned them!

We marveled at the large rooms and the decor. There were many beautiful antiques, including a lovely grand piano, tables,and chairs. There are interesting pieces of furniture and glass throughout the room. In addition, lovely old oak, parquet,and pecan floors lead from room to room.

An assortment of Native American spear heads, knives, and arrowheads are displayed in the TV lounge and an interesting collection of geodes and rocks are showcased in the hallway leading to the sun porch.

The day after our arrival Charlie treated us to a golf cart trip to Bear Creek that runs through the property - where we fed the many fish, and the we toured the property on the golf cart.

It is a beautiful property and the hosts are most gracious. The Jones' guest house is a place of peace, calm, and beauty and we highly recommend it for a relaxing getaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review