reviews for: listing #87454 - Islamorada, Florida House rental

Islamorada's Finest Canal Front 'One Story' Vacation Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Venetian Shores
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,975 - $1,975 /wk

sort by:

Great Fishing Destination

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Very nice, well kept house and yard. Excellent central location in the Keys with close proximity to most amenities. Islamorada is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for a relaxing fishing filled holiday. There were a couple minor issues with the house during our stay, but the owner was very accommodating and made every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable. I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Winter Retreat

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We stayed in this fine home over Christmas break and had a relaxing vacation in the FL Keys. The home is beautifully appointed and feels like a luxury getaway. Located close to the supermarket and local restaurants, we were able to cook meals and enjoy them in the outdoor patio or go out to eat local cuisine. Everything was so convenient. The appliances in the house are nice and high quality, even down to the superfast Internet connection. The dock was great for launching our kayaks and even for going swimming/snorkeling. We saw plenty of pretty fish right from the dock. The owner, Eddy, is fantastic and a pleasure to work with. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We were very pleased with this rental. Everything was immaculate and in great order. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You won't be sorry!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This place gives you a feel good from the moment you walk in the door! A large luxury home that is so well appointed that you will have no regret choosing it. It was absolutely immaculate!

The house and it's furnishings scream quality and everyday you will marvel at the amount of peace and relaxation this place provides. The amazing fact that it's all on one level makes it ideal for the elderly and the handicapped.

If you love nature and adore being outdoors but are used to luxury, this is the place for you. We loved dinning outdoors and fishing off the dock. The grill and kitchen were so well equipped, that cooking and cleaning up were a breeze. The outdoor furniture and cabana were top-notch and give you the feeling of total luxury.

The bedding is like staying in a 5 star hotel and the jacuzzi was to put to good use after a day of blissful activity. Everyone in our group loved this place and we felt very lucky to be there. The location was ideal!

We docked our boat at the amazing dock that always had a cool deck and provided us with opportunities to spend time outdoors even during the hottest part of the day. We fished in the evening and watched beautful sunsets. And on one beautiful morning, we had a big friendly manatee who decided to pay us a very long visit. He saw us at the dock where we were gearing up for a fantastic day snorkeling and fishing. We couldn't believe it when this huge friendly sea cow decided to come and say hello! He was like a big old friendly dog who loved his belly rubbed! Oh! and every morning there were parots and red-headed wood peckers and all kinds of wild life! There was no end to the nature and animal life.

The fishing and snorkeling opportunities were extremely abundant and available minutes from the dock. Do yourself a favor and book this place, it's full of the great memories that my family and I left there! You will not regret your decision!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Above our Expectations

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The group of 8 of us chose this house to host our week long fishing trip. As soon as we entered the house we knew that we had chosen the perfect place to stay. The entire house has been renovated and was very clean. The outside, which was where we spent 90% of our time, was the perfect place to relax by the water, grill, dock the boats, and fish. The home is located in the perfect area with easy access to good restaurants, grocery stores, bait stores, and both the Atlantic and Gulf sides of the keys. Eddy, the owner, is honest, fair, and responsive. This place is a perfect place to stay whether with a family or taking a fishing trip and I highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great vacation home

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Home was located close to desirable activities, was modern, immaculate and well maintained. Nice location on canal for morning coffee and evening margaritas. I would not hesitate to recommend home to others or stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review from one of the "Nine Family Members"

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

I'm the daughter from the previous review & have to agree with everything that was said! We had a ball in our "backyard aquarium" watching the fish & trying to get "the big one". Next time we'll bring heavier line, but we had so much fun trying to reel in the huge ones who ran away with it. Some of the activities we enjoyed and recommend: awesome day of deep sea fishing on the "Sea Horse" (caught about 20 tuna / mahi mahi); best meal there was grilling up our fresh catch on the backyard grill; a day of snorkeling & sea kayaking at John Pennekamp State Park; beautiful day at the Islander Resort (about 5 miles or so south) which has 2 pools, hot tub, outdoor bar/restaurant, volleyabll, rentals of every kind, beautiful beach with snorkeling-lots of fish right offshore (open to the public); supper at the Islamorada Fish company (gotta watch them feed the nurse sharks!); lots of relaxing early mornings & happy hours on the back patio area. Would definitely return-perfectly spotless-just like listing states. We used every inch of the space, including the attached suite-just as beautiful as the house & a very nice quiet hide-away! Thanks for spoiling us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Very clean and well kept property

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This home was very well suited to our needs for a family getaway in the keys. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and well maintained property. We would be very happy to return to this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

OUR FAMILY VACATION - ALL NINE FAMILY MEMBERS

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

What a beautiful home we lived in during our vacation. It was just as described and even better. All 9 members of our family had high praise for our accomidations. We were pleased with the location, everything was so close to us.
We had a great time fishing off the dock. Our daughter and grandson both had such large fish take their bait that we could not stop the fish from running up the channel and taking all of my line .GREAT FUN !! We had an egret come in the yard every morning and we had fun feeding it fish scrapes out of our hands. We called her "Ethel the Egret". More fun !! Our family will definitely return for our next vacation. And we highly recommend this home to all vacationers. The ower, EDDY, is a very nice person to deal with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Owner is a perfectionist, house was unbelieveably clean! Beds were comfortable, Eddy (owner) was super responsive and great to deal with! We traveled with two couples, two children and two boats, home is so comfortable, they have equipped with everything! Venetian Shores one of the best neighborhoods in Islamorada and quick access for boating, fishing. We come to Islamorada frequently and would definitely rent this home again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Package!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My husband and another couple enjoyed a wonderful week of fishing and stayed in this beautifully maintained home. It had everything we were looking for. A well built boat dock with power, water and fish cleaning station and a beautiful home with everything we needed. It is well maintained and very clean with top of the line appliances. Our communications with the owner was always positive and questions were answered promptly. We highly recommend this residence for your island vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding party

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

We call my daughter "The Hotel Snob" as she wants everything very clear. When she walked in the house she called me to say, "The hotel snob is happy." There is very little I would change. Everything worked and was clean. We were happy that the neighborhood was one in which we felt very safe. It was close to grocery, beaches, and fishing. There was plenty of room to visit and outdoor space was also great. My only recommendations to Eddy would be to furnish trash bags and maybe purchase a few more large towels. Another plus was everytime I had a question, I called Eddy and he got right back with me.

I have no reservations at all in recommending this property. Go and have fun in the Keys.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home in a very nice neighborhood!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

When going down to Islamorada, I didn't know much about the area. We were going down for a wedding, and just knew that this house was close to the wedding reception. Upon arrival, we were very pleased with the condition of the house and the neighborhood it was in. Venetian Shores was VERY nice!!! The house was spotless (as promised by Eddy the owner) and everything is very new and updated. The backyard is very nice and is perfect if you are bringing a boat and plan on fishing. We also had motorcycles, so the garage access was excellent to keep them secure and out of the weather! We did have one problem which was no fault of poor upkeep. While on our stay, the AC/Heat stopped working. I took a look at the AC/Heating unit which was a trustworthy brand, and couldn't have been more then a year or two old. I called Eddy to let him know right away. He had someone there right away. When that contractor didn't have the part, Eddy called another who responded the next day. Eddy always answered his phone, and was never too busy to deal with our problem. The unit was fixed before our stay was over. Fortunately, the weather was nice during our stay which made the issue easier to deal with. We were leaving the area late on the evening of our checkout, and we're allowed a late checkout due to no one checking in the day of our departure. That was nice and made our departure more relaxed as we enjoyed the home and backyard a little longer on our last day. We didn't take advantage of the private suite, but I'm sure it was as well kept and clean as the rest of the house. Overall, I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a well kept home on their vacation. Very nice for a family, especially one who enjoys backyard BBQ's and fishing!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Thanksgiving with friends and family

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Great times in Islamorada! The house was very clean, well maintained, and comfortable. Nice dock and set up for your boat. The location was perfect and provided easy access to the bay and ocean. Founder's Park is just minutes and a good place to launch your boat for a reasonable fee, and has great facilities for the whole family to enjoy. Lots of activities and great restaurants located in Islamorada and adjacent keys. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We live in South Florida, and for my entire life I have been coming to the Keys. As my family grew, we moved from motels, to homes. We have stayed in quite a few over the years in Venetian Shores, however, this home, by far has been the most enjoyable. Newness, cleanliness, and the care and concern of the owner and staff were more than I expected. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

We booked this home last minute for a long weekend, Eddie the owner was very accomodating and the home was very cozy and clean. The home is truly like brand new. The location is outstanding, we brought our boat down and had a blast. We will be reaching out to Eddie again shortly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family reunion place!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Comfortable for 10! We had a wonderful time and felt so pampered with this beautiful house, gazebo, and dock. The pictures are true- it is completely remodeled and very clean.
The manager let us in and Eddy checked on us and we didn't need for anything. We grilled out and gathered in the spacious kitchen/family room or outside under the gazebo. It was especially helpful to be all on one level, no stairs for Granny!
We look forward to coming back. I would highly recommend renting this lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House & Owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

The house was great, outstanding location for fishing/diving and sightseeing. Very comfortable, well decorated and equipped. Nice gazebo, nice dock, plenty of storage and a freezer. Close via boat or car to fuel, bait, ice. Easy access to ocean or bay. House has it all, I wish I were still there.

Eddy (the owner) is easy to deal with, fair and accomodating.

I've rented houses in the Keys many years and I highly recommend this one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best place to stay in Islamorada

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

We had a great time staying at this home. The fishing was great as always and we will be staying there again soon. We all hated to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Florida Keys

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Islamorada at the lovely rental property of Eddy Hoyo. The property manager, Jorge, met us and was very helpful. Eddy also checked to be sure everything was OK. The property was recently remodeled and redecorated to be in as new condition. Very Nice. We were there with our Daughter and Grandkids ages 6 and 9. Some of the favorite activities were Theatre of the Sea for the kids, Gator Park in the Everglades (easy day trip), fishing and catching fish (we took our catch to Island Grill where they prepared it for us in several different delicious ways). The drive to Key West is recommended for the beautiful drive. John Pennekamp State Park in Key Largo-Glass Bottom boat was nice. The best grocery shopping we found was Winn Dixie in Tavemier, a few miles back towards Key Largo. The Grill and outdoor patio provided a great place for dinner on the waterway canal. Another nice resturant (we were there for lunch) was Lorelei's. Overall a great week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Keys Getaway!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

Eddy was wonderful to work with when planning our vacation! His manager, Jorge, met us at the house and was able to recommend several restaurants to try out (none of which we were disappointed in). Lazy Days and Lorelei's had great seafood, service, and atmosphere.

The house was beautiful and everything in the house was brand new. The pictures do not lie, it really is that gorgeous! We enjoyed many meals outside in the gazebo looking out at the water.

Eddy was so accommodating, helpful, and reliable. I would highly recommend his home to anyone traveling to Islamorada!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation, Islamorada

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

My family of four enjoyed a week's stay at Eddy's place in February. My parents also joined us. There was plenty of space for the 6 of us and the bonus room gave the kids an extra area to themselves (although they also loved hanging out in their room with the bunk beds!). The house was really clean, in VERY good condition, modern and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed.

We spent a lot of time sitting around the big table outside under the cabana enjoying the warm air and wonderful views. We also rented a boat and kept it at the house which is in a great location for accessing both the Gulf and the Atlantic.

I would highly recommend renting this lovely home. Eddy was very helpful and professional. If we decide to rent in the Keys again next year, this will be our first pick!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our 2010 CHRISTMAS, BIRTHDAY, NEW YEARS VACATION!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Eddy,
We all enjoyed our Holiday vacation stay at your house it became our Home away from Home, It was equipped with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed the fishing the shrimp were on running big on December the 30th which made Diana’s Birthday! The boat ride up and down snake creek looking at the lighted houses for Christmas was a great sight, very enjoyable; stopping at the grill for a toast on New Years eve started the year just right; and knowing if there are any problems you were a phone call away… you’re a great host!
Thank you,
Greg and Diana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A True Keys Experience!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

As former Keys residents, my wife and I knew exactly the area we were looking for to spend our vacation, and this beautifully remodeled Islamorada house fit the bill perfectly! As soon as walked in we knew we made the right decision. There is attention to detail at every turn, and the amenities and sleeping accommodations had just the right touch. Even a great bunk-bed room for when the grandkids came for a weekend. It's a single level home so no hiking up and down stairs ... just walk out the back sliding doors and enjoy the wonderful view from the dock or beautiful open gazebo ... or jump right onto your boat and be in either the ocean or the bay in less than 10 minutes. Owners are extremely accommodating and the property is meticulously maintained. This home is truly a great value and a Keys experience at it's best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review