reviews for: listing #875 - Oxnard, California House rental

The White Rose
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Stay at the White Rose

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

The White Rose was great. It was clean, spacious, and well decorated. There were plenty of accessories that helped make our stay fun. Our kids enjoyed the bikes and the boogie boards. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and dishes. The location was excellent, the perfect walking distance to the beach. I really appreciated it when my deposit was promptly returned. It was a great week.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

We stayed at The White Rose on Labor Day weekend 2012.
We found the house to be clean and a perfect for our family’s needs (adult married child and 2 teenagers). The lower level gave our daughter and son-in-law a place of their own with their new baby. The upper level felt much like home and was a great “hang out”. We have nearby family members visit for meals and were able to spend one day at the beach.
The beach equipment (boogie boards, surf board, and especially a cooler to pack lunch in) were much appreciated.
The owner was very responsive to email and easy to work with. The rate was very good for the location. The damage deposit was refunded very quickly. We appreciated finding this place when all the hotels were booked and we needed a place to stay for a family funeral.
The whole family agreed that this is a place we want to visit again when we have more time to play.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family experience!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Michael
Just wanted to let you know what a great time we had at the White Rose last week. It was everything you promised! The weather was perfect as well. We enjoyed a day trip to the channel islands from the Oxnard harbor which was super close. We also LOVED the cozy fireplace as we played games in the family/living room area. A great place to spend quality time with family! We have raved about it to everyone - so much better than staying in a hotel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, right across from beach!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

This house was right across from an expansive beach as promised! Great place.

Pluses (++'s)
1. Across from beach.
2. Mini market (more than a convenience store) within walking distance.
3. Garage door opener provided.
4. Beach toys/bikes/towels provided.
5. Super fast response when we had a leaking sink.
6. SLEEPING: 6 persons are supposed to be upstairs as there is a queen bedroom and 2-twin bedroom with a hall bath. Perfect for parents and two kids. The other 2 are supposed to sleep on a foldout couch. As fold out couches go, it would sleep two small kids but not two adults. Downstairs is where the other 4 are supposed to sleep but its a little awkward, see below.
7. Received refund for deposit within two weeks.
8. Several local owned restaurants within walking distance.
9. 24 hour fitness (with weekly membership available) about 2 miles away on Victoria.
10. Menu's for local dining provided.
11. Great outdoor grill on balcony, although we had to clean it prior to using.
12. Plenty of towels for everyone but IMO, there should be 3-4 x as many washcloths as towels since a new one is used at each shower. See minus' below.

Minuses (--'s)
1. Kitchen had ZERO spices. A little cooking spray, S&P and maybe a season salt would have been great- kind of a pain to carry those everywhere and they can be used by subsequent guests.
2. The address was a closely guarded secret. Even when we picked up the keys, from owner's elderly parents nearby, the address was not revealed after asking twice. We were just told, "look for the white roses."
3. Minimal hangers, washcloths and dishrags in house. NOTE: When we called about the water leak, we asked and washcloths/dishrags were brought promptly.
4. Downstairs is more like a studio apartment. King bed, futon, kitchenette kitchen table and bath (private) are all in one room. This is also the only interior passage for garage. Parents and kids could stay here but there isn't any privacy for any party.
5. Dishwasher had only cold water piped to it and, consequently, dishes did not come very clean.
6. $100 cleaning fee. We had to pay this AND strip all beds, carry out trash, wash dishes and put everything by laundry. Just include it in rental price and make the "policing" part of getting deposit back.

Owners response: I'm glad you all had a great time. We try to always try to keep salt and pepper but more than that
people just take it with them. We do supply a started paper and soap set as well as dishwasher / hand / bar soap, as well as trash bags. I checked dishwasher and someone turned off the 'Heat Dry'...??. We leave washclothes for every pillow but leave towels on the beds, in baths, and extra beach towels .....but try to leave more when there's a bigger party. As far as the address, I
believe it was given at first response email, on the first page of contract, and on the envelope renter's pick up with the keys. I do supply more than the rest of the beach rentals (holiday lights, computer, bikes, etc), but will always try to to accommodate!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We hope to rent this lovely home again.

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

After staying at our own family home on Silver Strand beach for decades, this year we needed extra space and were delighted to find The White Rose. It is bright, charming and comfortable. The second floor living space is a wonderful feature with a balcony that even allows a view to the ocean beyond the neighbor's red-tile roof. (I could imagine being at a villa on the Mediterranean.) The home is clean, convenient and quiet. And the roses...It was impossible to walk in or out the door without stopping to smell their classic scent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My family of 6 felt like we were home!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

It was awesome. To say we had the best family vacation yet would be an understatement. We used to live in oxnard and the owner made us feel right at home...even dropped by to make sure everything was great.....and it was. The home is beautiful and spacious. I surfed every day and the kids boogie boarded to their hearts delight. We took a catermeran evxcursion out to Anacapa Island one day and saw(photographed a blue whale in the shipping lane. Thanks for a excellent experience and we will see you again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach getaway

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

The White Rose was the perfect location just across from Silverstrand beach in a quiet community. Our family enjoyed the comfortable home and wish we could have stayed longer. The pictures and description were all very accurate and when we arrived, it was clean and well stocked with all kitchen amenities. We'd love to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The "White Rose" on Ocean Drive - Oxnard

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Our family just spent 10 wonderful days at the "White Rose" on Silver Strand Beach. We had a great time. The beach is just a few steps - across the street - from the house. Our college age and graduate student children were in and out together with their friends all week. In addition to the beach, we took our boat out for a cruise to Santa Cruz Island for lunch and dolphin watching, cruised the harbor a few times, went kayaking, rode bicycles (provided as part of the rental), BBQd a couple of times (but ate out most evenings at the many fine local restaurants), visited downtown Ventura, shopped at the Camarillo outlet mall, visited the Reagan Library, read books, and most of all, just relaxed. The owners are great hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house - best location!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

This was our fourth year staying at the White Rose, and we always have a fantastic time and look forward to many more to come! What we like about it:

Location - by FAR, the best location on Silverstrand. Right across the street from the beach. So close, it is just not worth it to spend an extra $1000+ per week for an oceanfront house. Also, the beach at this end of Silverstrand is by far the best. Wide, sandy beach, perfect for the kids. Further down on the other end of Silverstrand, the beach becomes very steep and the surf zone is rocky - not good at all for playing in the ocean. We stayed down at that end one year, but ended up driving up to this end of the beach every day anyway (and fighting for parking). At the White Rose, you can just walk to the best beach in the area. Also, you are within easy walking distance to the market, Quincy's (Italian), Pepe's (Mexican), Jettys Cafe (Sushi). Very convenient if you are hungry and don't feel like cooking. Quick walk to the harbor for a prime spot to watch the sunsets.

House: Very light and airy upstairs. Cool breeze flows through the house if you open the (many) windows. Nice, decent sized kitchen, center island, with plenty of space. Bottom room is a complete studio, with a private kitchen and bath, which makes it great for two families to share the house. Just having two fridges is helpful if you are bringing a lot of food or drinks. Patio is a nice, relaxing spot, and you have a limited view of the ocean and harbor channel. The WiFi internet is definitely appreciated.

Yard: there is actual grass in the front yard, which is great for the little kids to play ball on. Rare to see anything like it at the beach, and the roses make it very cozy. The gate is also good if you have little ones, as you can close it to keep them from wandering out of the yard.

Garage: plenty of space to store all your beach gear. Also, the provided bikes are nice for taking a quick ride down Ocean ave, or around the harbor.

We have rented a lot of different houses in the Hollywood Beach/Silverstrand area over the years, but we definitely like this one the best! Also, through VRBO you can deal with the (very nice) owner directly, instead of that (unnamed) rental agency, which we've had problems with in the past.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the White Rose. One block to the Corner Store and several restaurants. Kids and parents enjoyed the bikes and very close proximity to the beach. Owner is easy to work with. Will definitley book another week again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding place! Our family of 5 didn't ever want to leave!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

I can't say enough positive about the "White Rose" in Oxnard at Silver Strand Beach. My wife and I drove our three children out from Denver and immediately knew we'd booked the right place when we pulled in, smelled the ocean, heard the waves (the beach is literally one house away), opened the door and gasped at the space and just how nice everything appeared. Our teenager claimed the bigger room upstairs with a queen bed, TV and seating, our two littler ones shared the smaller room with twin beds and a TV. We adults had our own private sactuary downstairs with the king-size bed and even a kitchen all our own. It was bliss. We could all come together and enjoy time, zone to the huge plasma TV or all go our own ways for some privacy. I could live in the shower downstairs, the kids loved the jetted tub. The bikes and boogie boards were a blast and the outside shower made clean up a breeze after going to the beach. We rented wet suits at Momentum surf shop and enjoyed excellent surfing and boogie boarding on the Strand. If I could go back tomorrow I would. I know all the members of my family feel likewise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

White Rose Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

My family stayed at the White Rose January 2010, during the stormy season. The home is comfortable and roomy. We did not feel cramped due to the weather, there is room to roam. The second floor porch is a lovely place for a glass of wine and people watching. It is an easy walk to Silver Strand. The owners take very good care of this lovely home. We will return.;

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review