reviews for: listing #876 - Haiku, Hawaii House rental

A Luxury Home, 5 Acres of Privacy with Pool/Spa, Permitted
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Haiku
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $545 - $745 /nt
    $3,815 - $5,215 /wk

sort by:

Blown Away

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

Our group of six adults were blown away by this beautiful property. Words and pictures can never come close to our experience.
Thanks for allowing us into your home.

Owners response: It is very encouraging to see a review that speaks to the concept that "your picture does not do you justice".

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Estate for a Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

What a wonderful treat this property has been, especially for those of us enjoying our first Hawaiian experience. We had a large family group consisting of 3 generations, yet the house offers privacy, ample space and a variety of options for all.

In addition to day trips to Molokini, Lahaina, the Aquarium, horseback riding ..., we’ve enjoyed watching the World Cup, playing cards, cooking together, dining on the Lanai, as well as using the awesome pool & Jacuzzi.

The garden surrounding the pool area is open enough for activities and perfectly landscaped with a view of the canyon down to the ocean. It’s been such a fun and relaxing time, just enjoying the views, ocean breezes and each other’s company.

We found that the house has all amenities and items needed aplenty and in great working order.

Alain & Elisabeth have been helpful & gracious hosts before and throughout our stay.
We very much appreciated them taking their time to share their knowledge and the blessings of this plantation with us.

Paia & Haiku offer some of the most delightful eateries on the island. Just ask Alain for suggestions.

“Das Maui Pole Haus & besonders der Garten sind paradiesisch schoen! Wir durften eine supergute Zeit geniessen!”

Mahalo, Thank you & Dankeschoen and hopefully “Auf Wiedersehen!!!”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

My parents booked a weeks stay for themselves, my family, consisting of myself my husband and our 2 boys ages 14 and 16, and three additional close family friends. We arrived tired after a long plane ride and found the house just beautiful. The view off the deck was simply stunning. We had plenty of room and the house is designed so you can enjoy your individual private space it you wish. We relaxed in the pool and hot tub and my boys enjoyed exploring the grounds and finding coconuts, a first for them. We rented cars and in the weeks time on the roads felt comfortable that we knew our way around. The people were friendly and the food was amazing. We also enjoyed having the ability to cook some old family favorites. My boys aren't great travelers and are seldom content even in some of nice places we have been and they both gave the Pole House 2 thumbs up. Their happiness made the whole trip more enjoyable as, anyone who has had teenagers can probably relate too. Finally, I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed the property owners Alain and Elizabeth. They were kind, generous, and helpful. Just easy people to be around. They provide information about local attractions along with travel tips. They helped me identify an anniversary gift idea for my parents, a helicopter ride, and provided all the contact information I needed and let me use their email and printer to make sure or gift remained a secret. I highly recommend the Pole House as a destination for anyone interested in making memories that will last a life time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house and property!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

My family and I (4 people total) spent 1 week at the Maui Pole House this April. We are two adults in our 40s, with two teen kids. We've rented many houses/condos in many different locations.

We have nothing bad to say about the experience. It was a wonderful place to spend a family vacation! Everything on the website and the VRBO listing was accurate.

A few items worth noting...

House was very nice and clean. All expected amenities were present, clean, and in good working order.

This was especially important to me as I like to cook. Aside from having all the desired household appliances (blender, rice cooker, toaster, gas grill, etc.), most, if not all food staples were there too (spices, flour, sugar, coffee, etc.). In addition, previous guests leave lots of food/drink items when they leave, as we did when we left. Washer/Dryer were new and worked well. Also had a large supply of linens including beach towels, multiple beach chairs, coolers, games, etc.

House grounds were really spectacular! Alain and Elizabeth were great hosts! The take great care of the property, they are both very kind and approachable. Most importantly, they were available if needed as they live in a cottage at the edge of the property (which you can't even see from the house, as it's well-hidden behind lots of lush plants).

I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants a secluded fantastic house for a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place to bring family.

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the pole house. This is a great place. The home and land are just amazing. We had three couples and four children and there was plenty of room and it never felt even a little cramped. The kids enjoyed the pool and everyone enjoyed laying in the sun and use of the hot tub. The home has everything one needs for a short or extended stay. The home is close to all kind exciting things to do. Five minutes to Paia and all of it's beaches, shopping, and eateries. There are hikes all over the place and if you Crossfit there is an awesome box (Upcountry Maui) about 12 minutes away. If you are looking for a laid back non-resort vacation this is hard to beat. Alain and Elisabeth were great. We really did not need much but if we had a question they were right there to help. Alain even gave us and the kids a history session on the coconut and cracked open a bunch that we had collected right on the property. Hard to beat fresh coconut. We liked it so well if I get the chance I am going to try and bring my brother and parents back for a trip. Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

Our family stayed here for our first ever Hawaiin vacation and were just in love with it. It was enjoyable for each of us, from age 2 to 70. Nothing really compares to waking up and watching the birds while eating fruit fresh from the yard. It was so nice to be able to relax around the pool after a day of adventure and cook our own meals as opposed to having to eat out.

The house was stocked with everything we needed for adventures, from dining recommendations to boogie boards.
We really enjoyed Paia and Makawao and checking out the little shops and cafes. It had a great laid back feel, and wasnt swarming with people like some other areas on the island were.

We will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven in Haiku

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

My family and I rented this beautiful home in Haiku for our recent vacation to Maui. The house is more spectacular in person! The website is fantastic, but it really must be seen in person to get the real feel. Eveything is so well maintained from the grounds to the home itself. Everything was very clean upon our arrival. The owners were extremely helpful and kind. My husband was born and raised ion Maui, and we really enjoyed this home and its location, since it was not in the typical tourist areas, however you are still very close to all the beaches and attaractions that Maui has to offer. This house is great for families and children. There is a large gate around the pool area, as well as baby gate and playpen for infants. The home came fully stocked with beach chairs, cooler, umbrellas, boogie boards as well as many pool toys! Our kids had a blast here! The yard is so large that the kids just loved running amoungst the palms, looking for fallen coconuts. Needless to say, we will definetly be back again. We can't wait! Aloha and Mahalo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect stay at the Pole House

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Pole house for a week, I really wished we had longer,
such a beautiful house with everything you need including,big kitchen, internet, swimming pool.
This is a great family house beautiful views we always had breakfast on the balcony
Alan was wonderful and showed us all about the coconuts,and extremely helpful for anything that we needed and directions to places.
would go back in a heartbeat

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Pole House

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

If you like to stay in a beautiful place on gorgeous grounds, have total privacy and ocean views – this is the place! It is so relaxing to sit out on the balcony, sipping your morning coffee, enjoying the view across the beautiful flora all the way down to the ocean, feeding and watching the birds, and just doing nothing! The hammock is just as perfect, as is the whole area around the pool, and the special sitting area below the pool. While I get cold easily in the water, the pool had a perfect temperature and I could easily do laps for an hour at a time. It felt great!

All the rooms are spacious, and the whole living room/dining room/kitchen area is spread out, making it easy to find your own favorite spot. Everything you need for a great vacation is available, incl. boogie boards, folding chairs, etc.

This is a beautiful, peaceful place away from it all, yet close to everything (a great breakfast place is just ½ mile away). I especially loved feeding the birds every morning (bird food is provided). The first bird let me come within 1 yard of it (of course, I had the container with the food in my hand...). But then - even after I poured out the food and it started eating, it was OK with me being very close. Quite special! – And in case you hear clicking noises at night, those are amorous geckos…

Mahalo to Alain and Elizabeth for being perfect hosts: unobtrusive, discreet, attentive, available. And everything was impeccably clean and lovingly cared for. Again, Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

End May, early June 2013

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Magical is the one word that can best describe the Maui Pole House and it's gracious Host and Hostess, Alan and Elisabeth.
My family was weary from the strains of every day life and took a spur of the moment trip to Maui. Because our trip was "unplanned" we stayed at a Resort property the first few days. It was nice, but it was a resort full of people and standard hotel rooms.
We began looking for a vacation rental property on our 4th day on Maui and by a stroke of good fortune found the Maui Pole House.
There was an opening for 8 of the days we had remaining on Maui and based on the pictures and description of the property, we booked the space immediately.
Words can hardly convey the beauty, peace and tranquility that is offered by the Maui Pole House, it's gracious grounds and wonderful owners.
The pictures on the website are enticing but you must go there to fully comprehend all this house has to offer.
When the gate to the grounds opened, our eyes fell upon the landscape and we became silent as we were overcome by the beauty. As we rode down the drive to the Maui Pole House our anticipation grew.
We arrived at the house and Alan was waiting to meet us. He offered us any assistance/advice he and/or Elisabeth could give us.
When we walked through the doors of the Maui Pole House we could feel the warm embrace of the house wrap around us. Instantly all the jagged nerves and feelings of being overcrowded were cast aside.
Our days were spent relaxing at the pool, having friends from Maui join us and using the house as our proverbial "home base" on Maui. While I preferred to spend my time enjoying the house and the lavish surroundings, we were strategically placed within 20 minutes of recreational activities such as zip-lining, snorkeling, etc.
We (me, my two grown sons, my daughter-in-law and my two granddaughters) were "frayed" when we arrived on Maui. Within one day of staying at the Maui Pole House, everyone became more comfortable and really began to enjoy our vacation.
When it was time to leave our hearts became heavy and as the gates closed behind us we all felt like we were leaving home and family behind.
Blessed are those that have the opportunity to stay at this fabulous place.
We thank Alan and Elisabeth for sharing their magical home with strangers and for allowing us the time we spent there.
Mahalo Maui Pole House for your warm embrace and beauty. May your hallways and grounds always be filled with joy, love and laughter.
The Gearharts

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay :: Gorgeous Property

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

My family, including my parents, sister and her fiance, my husband and 19 month old daughter stayed at the breathtaking Pole House on our recent trip to Maui.

Right when you pull up to the gate, you know you are about to enter a special place. The grounds are immaculate and the care taken in maintaining them is very apparent. The house itself is lovely and suited our needs perfectly. It was luxurious, yet comfortable and we did not worry about our little one toddling around. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need to whip up a great meal. The pool. Oh my goodness, that pool is AWE-SOME. This trip to Maui was different due to my daughter being with us, so my husband and I spent more time at our lodging than usual. That pool was such a great feature to have - and so relaxing once the kiddo went to bed. The location of the home is great - right off the Hana Highway, so many adventures are right out the gate.

Alain and Elisabeth are wonderful. We certainly felt as though we were staying in our own little paradise, but it was comforting to know they were so close. Alain even enlightened, and entertained, us by opening a couple of coconuts one evening. A true treat for folks from Texas!

The only downside is we didn't have more time in this fabulous Maui oasis!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

VACATION OF A LIFETIME

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

I found the Maui Pole House while searching for the PERFECT location for my friends - their 40th wedding anniversary - and they had never been to Hawaii. I am a beach bunny to the core but I know there is so much more to the Islands than that. When I saw this property on line I thought - now this is Hawaii - this will give my friends the real feel for the islands. I was not disappointed - it was even more beautiful and peaceful in person than the pictures depicted. We did not have great weather there - I know this is the "rainy" side of the island but there were always those day trips where we could find a sunny beach and many other wonderful adventures - from the pool and the hot tub to the drive to Hana to whale watching and snorkeling at Molokini and Lanai to watching the sunrise at Haleakala and later zip-lining at its base - we were wowed.. wowed... WOWED! Paia is a really cool little town with fabulous shops and restaurants. Alain and Elisabeth are the most gracious hosts ever and we can all hardly wait to come back! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Coming from people who spent a few days on Kauai and Oahu prior to staying at the Pole House, it is extremely flattering to be reviewed as such … and despite Mother Nature’s tendency during their stay, it appears that there is a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Location

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

The Maui Pole House was perfect for our group of five including my wife's 92 year old grandfather. The house is beautiful and spacious, well equipped and quiet. It was such a treat to drive down the lane along banana and coconut trees and wide lawns to this retreat. We enjoyed the pool and spa, and sitting on the deck in the evening. We were over for my son's wedding and the time we spent here put us in the perfect relaxed Hawaiian mood. Alain and Elizabeth are great hosts. They set the house up to welcome you, never intrude and are available if you need them. We would easily return to this spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Haiku Heaven

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The Maui Pole House was perfect for our stay. The property is as breathtakingly beautiful as the photos suggest. It's proximity to Haiku Mill (an equally beautiful site), where our daughter was married, was ideal. A beautiful and well appointed kitchen,the pool and spa, the expansive deck (affording bird watching and spectacular views), the tastefully furnished living and bedroom spaces, the attentive caretakers, - all contributed to a stellar experience. We can.t wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

While reminiscing on our wonderful Hawaiian vacation, I felt it's time to put my thoughts to "paper".

My wife and I had been to Maui before, but it was nothing like this.

My family (4-adults) found the "Maui Pole House" to be a secluded, serine, beautiful healing sanctuary in paradise. We felt the 5-acre property, the immaculately clean house (equipped with all the necessities), and the pool with heated jacuzzi to be absolutely irresistible. It was so perfect, that we became reluctant leave the house for our day trips. Mostly we were content to buy food from the nearby markets, cook at home, and eat on the ample lanai.

To anyone contemplating a Maui vacation, I promise you that you will NOT be sorry you spent time at the Maui Pole House.

Borrowing a line from Douglas MacArthur, "I shall return".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Thomas & Deborah, Thank you for letting your heart speak. We are truly touched!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our first visit to Maui

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We, myself, my wife, our 14 yr old daughter and 12 year old son, came from Massachusetts for our first visit to Maui. The first thing my wife said as we drove up the drive way was what a perfect place. The gardens surrounding the house are gorgeous and the home both comfortable and spacious. The house is secluded without being out of the way and is easily accessible from the Kahului airport as well as being convenient for almost everywhere on the island. The housekeeper and her husband were attentive without being intrusive. I guess the 1st quarter of the year is the rainest part of the year and we did have showers most days so if you have to sunshine all the time you might be better off on west Maui at that time of year, but the downside of that is much more development and no beautiful tropical vegetation and birdlife.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love it when the guests use the word "Perfect"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An amazing two weeks!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We can't recall a vacation being so enhanced by our accommodations. We loved the relaxed vibe of up-country Maui where the Pole House was a wonderful base of operations. There was plenty of room for our family of up to nine adults. Besides the beautiful setting, we really appreciated the home-like feeling: staples in the cupboards when we arrived (and which we gladly replenished), pool toys, beach blankets, etc. We felt privileged to be guests of Ron & Barbara, and well-cared for by Alain on their behalf. One day we hope to return to Maui, and when we do, there will be only one possible place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

A truly amazing home and location. We had a family reunion with 4 couples and totally enjoyed the deck looking out to the ocean (even saw some whales with our binoculars and their telescope). The pool was delightful and sparkling. Wonderful place to relax and difficult to leave to explore Maui. The caretakers were very pleasant and opened fresh coconut for us to enjoy. The property is GORGEOUS! Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great house

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

large, beautiful house with architectural detailing, great furnishings, and big pool. great arboretum setting. landlord is a good guy, easy to work with, and caretakers are a lovely couple. setting is 10 minutes past paia (fish market, flatbread pizza, cafe des amis, mana foods) and therefore convenient for trips to hana, haleakala, and the kahului movies. we love this house but you should know beforehand that this is not sunny, calm (touristy) kaanapali. you are on the windward, rainy side of the island. you need a car here.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: This was John's 4th Christmas at the pole house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second trip to Maui

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We just completed our second stay at this vacation rental. The home is very well kept and clean, and the addition and remodel only added to our enjoyment (completed in Nov. 2011). The household furnishings are of very good quality. Pictures do not do justice to the beautiful garden and pool area. We purposely spent at lot of time at the house, enjoying the spa, pool, and swaying in the hammock! This part of the island is very peaceful and quiet and if that is what you are looking for I highly recommend staying here. A great (and uncrowded) beach is just about 10 minutes drive away. We found several restaurants in the area (Haiku and Paia) that we frequented when we did not cook at the house. Also close is a good, well stocked natural food store (similar to Whole Foods, which is also in Kahului). The caretakers were available for questions, but also discreet and unseen unless we called them. We enjoy telling our friends about the Maui Pole House and highly recommend it.

Owners response: Nice to see you stayed close to home. There is no better way to relax than to stay in the area and off of the roads. I am glad you liked the remodel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

I think I've seen a little corner of heaven. It was as much or more as described. Grounds unbelievable.
We loved Paia, Hana, the waterfalls, everything we loved.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The caretakers do a wonderful job on the grounds. Nice to hear you appreciated their efforts

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui is the BEST!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

If you want to be away from the bustle and crowds, that is THE place. This is our second time to stay at the Pole House, and it was simply superb. It is very well maintained, clean, and very beautiful (the listing pictures can't effectively portray the true beauty of this property). I've recommended the Pole House to friends who stayed here also, and they agree. The trip to Hana is memorable. Along the Hana Highway, take your time to see and swim in the many fresh water pools and waterfalls; explore remote beaches; examine the beauty of the tropical rain forest; and experience rural Maui. No trip to Haiku is complete without having a fabulous meal at Mama's Fish House (reservations recommended). Paia is a neat quirky little town with unique eateries and shops you'll want to visit. Even when not getting out and about, just spending time at the Pole House property is perfect. My family really enjoys cooking out, swimming in the pool, soaking in the hot tub, and enjoying the views. No doubt: we will stay at the Pole House the next time we visit Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven in Haiku!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

This was our second stay at this property. We were guests in June of 2008, and again in June 2011. A special event brought our family to this location in 08, and celebrations of family milestones in '11. what a wonderful place to make memories last. The property is as described perfectly, the pictures accurately reflect the appearance but cannot relay the actual beauty. The grounds are perfectly maintained and the caretakers are amazing. The correspondence with the owner is excellent before, during and after the stay as, and if needed. We enjoy the less populated side of the island, as we have become familiar with the town of Haiku, and Piaia, in addition to the 'upcounty' and its charm. A 40 minute drive takes you to all the action if you want it. I must admit that our favorite times have been the morning rain showers, coffee on the porch in the swing chair watching the beautiful tropical birds in the feeders. Once again, we hope to return to the home for more of the same... hopefully sooner than later! We would highly recommend this property to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous Maui property for an unforgettable stay

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Our family of nine stayed in the beautiful home for the second time in May, 2011.
Big house, lovely big kitchen, beautiful huge lanai with lots of dining space--this was perfect for us.

The grounds are well-tended, the caretakers are wonderful people (they even loaned us their jumper cables when our rental car battery died) and the ambiance is beyond compare.

You can pick your own fruit on the estate grounds or go for a relaxing swim.
We lounged around the swimming pool and soaked in the adjoining hot tub every evening.

We generally cooked our own meals and loved eating outdoors on the big lanai. We also found good take-out food in the nearby town of Paia.

The owner is very gracious and helped us make last-minute reservations for his house when we had to suddenly travel to Maui for a family funeral.

I highly recommend this estate, especially for larger family groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Upcountry Family Oasis and Homebase for Daytrips

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We were blown away upon arrival, very secluded location even though right on the Hana Highway. The property is an adventure for adults and children, coconut trees and ample area to run around and explore. We spent the majority of our time at the Pole House in the pool and hot tub. Operation was easy and intuitive.

Interior of the house is more spacious and impressive than in any photos on the internet. Bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs were spacious and very clean, even though there were 'flooding' restrictions on the bathtub where we would have bathed the kids. Kitchen was perfect excpet for the million tiny bugs that owned the countertops and that took us a day or two to figure out how to manage. We learned that bugs and geckos were also guest in the house and that, "oh that's right, we're in the jungle guys."

Every return to the Pole House was ceremonious, and our 6 year old was the dedicated enterer of the code for the front gate. Both of our children would get out of the vehicle and run up the driveway each time we returned 'home.' It was one of the highlights of our trip and they were so in love with the Pole House. Our niece stayed downstairs and had her own privacy and 'private apartment.'

It rained almost every night and the metal roof was amazingly soothing for me but lesser so for my wife who is a light sleeper. We opened up the doors and widows each night to let the tradewinds ventilate and cool the house. Days were mostly sunny and aboslutely gorgeous.

We hope to return to the Pole House again with our family. Overall and an excptionally lucky find for us.

Thank you Ron and Barbara!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mark

Thank you for the review. I loved the part where the kids ran down the driveway and into the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

girls get away!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Me and 4 other girlfriends plus 1 incredible husband had a little get away to Maui in April 2010. Staying at the Pole House was a giant cherry on top of out very sweet escape to the islands. This home is just wonderful. The very best part was the privacy! We might as well of been the last 6 people on the planet. We ate, we drank, we danced, we even sing songs while splashing in the pool. Hands down the best trip ever! Since we've returned home, there has been several times that the words to "Hear Comes the Sun" just pop out of our mouths at random. We cannot wait till the day comes that we can go again. We LOVED it!! Best of the best on Maui!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try very hard to make the property special. It is very rewarding to get a guest review like this one.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

My husband and two children ages 13 and 3 stayed at this secluded tropical estate for one week in August of 2010. We appreciated many aspects of the property including the privacy, bird watching, and the relaxing pool and hot tub. The home is centrally located in Maui, which makes driving to Lahaina or Hana relatively easy.

Owners response: It is nice to know that the birde are appreciated. We have food available for those who wish to witness the eating pecking order of the flock

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Views...Getaway from the Tourists

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

We stayed here for a business meeting/family getaway. We had nine people including one child. It was a great place to getaway from the tourist areas and the pool you could swim in everyday! The caretakers are there in a moment's notice but completely out of sight. Beautifully gated property with awesome ocean views. We would come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: it is very rewarding when the guest states they will come back again

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Wow. As a Realtor, it is my job to use the photos I take to make my listings look great, even when the home is not so great. I was very concerned that this might be the situation at the pole house. I was so excited when we arrived to see that what was in the pictures on the website were not in any way exaggerated. There were 8 adults on this trip. We’ve all been friends for about 40 years and we labeled this our Hawaii 50 trip (since we’re almost all 50 now). We couldn’t have been more pleased with the house. Being from Texas we were very nervous about there being no AC but as you said, there was no need. The cool breezes during the day and especially at night are already missed now that we’re back as is the lush foliage, sweet birds and the incredible food of Maui. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own pool and hot tub to unwind in after spending the days sightseeing. I will recommend your beautiful home to anyone planning on a Maui vacation. My husband and I are already trying to plan something for the future, bring our children and grandchildren.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Dear Ron & Barbara,



Wow. As a Realtor, it is my job to use the photos I take to make my listings look great, even when the home is not so great. I was very concerned that this might be the situation at the pole house. I was so excited when we arrived to see that what was in the pictures on the website were not in any way exaggerated. There were 8 adults on this trip. We’ve all been friends for about 40 years and we labeled this our Hawaii 50 trip (since we’re almost all 50 now). We couldn’t have been more pleased with the house. Being from Texas we were very nervous about there being no AC but as you said, there was no need. The cool breezes during the day and especially at night are already missed now that we’re back as is the lush foliage, sweet birds and the incredible food of Maui. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own pool and hot tub to unwind in after spending the days sightseeing. Elizabeth and Alain were so incredibly sweet and even took the time to come take a few pictures of us as a group. I will recommend your beautiful home to anyone planning on a Maui vacation. My husband and I are already trying to plan something for the future, bring our children and grandchildren.



Mahalo & Aloha,

Marty & Roxane Cook

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Dear Ron & Barbara,



Wow. As a Realtor, it is my job to use the photos I take to make my listings look great, even when the home is not so great. I was very concerned that this might be the situation at the pole house. I was so excited when we arrived to see that what was in the pictures on the website were not in any way exaggerated. There were 8 adults on this trip. We’ve all been friends for about 40 years and we labeled this our Hawaii 50 trip (since we’re almost all 50 now). We couldn’t have been more pleased with the house. Being from Texas we were very nervous about there being no AC but as you said, there was no need. The cool breezes during the day and especially at night are already missed now that we’re back as is the lush foliage, sweet birds and the incredible food of Maui. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own pool and hot tub to unwind in after spending the days sightseeing. Elizabeth and Alain were so incredibly sweet and even took the time to come take a few pictures of us as a group. I will recommend your beautiful home to anyone planning on a Maui vacation. My husband and I are already trying to plan something for the future, bring our children and grandchildren.



Mahalo & Aloha,

Marty & Roxane Cook

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

May 3, 2010

Dear Ron & Barbara,

Wow. As a Realtor, it is my job to use the photos I take to make my listings look great, even when the home is not so great. I was very concerned that this might be the situation at the pole house. I was so excited when we arrived to see that what was in the pictures on the website were not in any way exaggerated. There were 8 adults on this trip. We’ve all been friends for about 40 years and we labeled this our Hawaii 5-0 trip (since we’re almost all 50 now). We couldn’t have been more pleased with the house. Being from Texas we were very nervous about there being no AC but as you said, there was no need. The cool breezes during the day and especially at night are already missed now that we’re back as is the lush foliage, sweet birds and the incredible food of Maui. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own pool and hot tub to unwind in after spending the days sightseeing. Elizabeth and Alain were so incredibly sweet and even took the time to come take a few pictures of us as a group. I will recommend your beautiful home to anyone planning on a Maui vacation. My husband and I are already trying to plan something for the future, bring our children and grandchildren.

Mahalo & Aloha,
Marty & Roxane

Owners response: Lili and Alain are the caretakers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

May 3, 2010Dear Ron & Barbara,Wow. As a Realtor, it is my job to use the photos I take to make my listings look great, even when the home is not so great. I was very concerned that this might be the situation at the pole house. I was so excited when we arrived to see that what was in the pictures on the website were not in any way exaggerated. There were 8 adults on this trip. We’ve all been friends for about 40 years and we labeled this our Hawaii 50 trip (since we’re almost all 50 now). We couldn’t have been more pleased with the house. Being from Texas we were very nervous about there being no AC but as you said, there was no need. The cool breezes during the day and especially at night are already missed now that we’re back as is the lush foliage, sweet birds and the incredible food of Maui. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own pool and hot tub to unwind in after spending the days sightseeing. Elizabeth and Alain were so incredibly sweet and even took the time to come take a few pictures of us as a group. I will recommend your beautiful home to anyone planning on a Maui vacation. My husband and I are already trying to plan something for the future, bring our children and grandchildren. Mahalo & Aloha,Marty & Roxane Cook

Owners response: Elizebeth and Alain are our caretakers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

We stayed at the pole house from feb 5th -19th/10 and there were seven of us,
this trip was a first for my husbands parents and his younger sister,
all of us loved the beautiful landsaping, the great view and of the pool and hot tub, capturing memories of our family that we will be able to share forever,
the house was beautiful and very well equipped for seven,
we spent many hours on the upper deck and outside on the lower seating area,
it was so nice to know that after touring around all day, we could come back to somewhere which felt like home, to see the enjoyment and to see the smiles from our parents on their first trip was priceless,
thankyou both for letting us enjoy your home,

the Sturko Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful secluded enviorement

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

a group of 9 persons stayed here - attending a retreat in Haiku. We ALL felt so thankful that this is where we stayed. It was nicer than the pictures online. Wonderful manicured landscape, home very user friendly and beautiful - I HIGHLY recommend- i have lived in Hi. 30 yrs and this is a secluded private kamaaina place to stay. Don't hesitate! you will not be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Helen for your kind words. The house is very spiritual and I am glad your group was able to experience the unique flavors of Maui. I hope you will come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

a group of 9 persons stayed here - attending a retreat in Haiku. We ALL felt so thankful that this is where we stayed. It was nicer than the pictures online. Wonderful manicured landscape, home very user freindly and beautiful - I HIGHLY recommend- i have lived in Hi. 30 yrs and this is a secluded private kamaaina place to stay. Don't hesitate! you will not be sorry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

We planned our stay in Maui around staying at this
home and we were not disappointed. The house
and grounds were very well taken care of and
beautiful.
Our kids loved the pool and hot tub and could have
just stayed there and not gone to the beach!
The home is very comfortable with an open floor
plan that has the feel of a Frank Lloyd Wright home
in that it draws you to the outdoors.
As a VRBO vacation homeowner myself, I
appreciated the amenities and got some tips for our
home. Yes, it isn't cheap and it's worth the price.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love This Home

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

This was the second time we have stayed at the pole house. The first was 9 years ago. We were there nearly 2 weeks this time. We absolutely love this home. Away from the touristy Hawaii and really home away from home. The house is beautiful, the grounds spectacular. The kids loved the pool and the caretakers were out of sight but always there when needed. There is loads of information at the home, the owners have truly thought of everything. It is an easy drive to anywhere on the island. I would highly recommend this as a vacation destination in Maui. Feel free to email me if you have specific questions regarding the home. Should we return to Maui, we would certainly return to the pole house!!
Denise Pratt, Ann Arbor, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Picturesque

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Wow! What to say?? This Property was perfectly picturesque. From the Pole House itself and the beautifully manicured grounds to the privacy of it's location on the cool, breezy side of Maui, our stay here was... well, perfect. Although we just got home we are already looking forward to returning for another stay! To Ron & Barbara; Thanks for everything.
Cody Bohn, Fouke, AR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

The pictures just don't do justice to how lovely the home, grounds and pool are. This is a quiet area, but near enough to Paia and other towns to do shopping. This was the perfect place for our 25th anniversary!
The Luoto's, Portland, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We came to Maui for are sons wedding, who lives in haiku.The pole house property was everything we dreamed, and hoped it would be, and more. We have been to maui 10 times staying at the pole house was the best. 5 stars The Weber's East Liverpool OH
the webers, east liverpool oh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 5 days this August, and it was pure PARADISE! The property is beautiful, the house spacious and wonderfully cool with the tradewinds and the birds are very friendly. Alain and Elizabeth were very helpful and magically never appeared until after our stay. We will definitely be back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 3 nights after spending 5 nights at the Four Seasons and 5 nights at the Ritz Carlton. We wished in retrospect we had stayed at the Pole House the whole time! The property is nothing short of spectacular. Every little comfort and convenience has been thought of and provided for. We will definitely be back next year!
Julie , West Hills,CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Aloha. We had a fantastic time at the pole house. The place is magical, beautiful, incredibly private and someplace we plan to stay again. FIVE STARS
J.J. and Kristen Stafford, Wailuku Hawaii

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish I were Back

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for my 40th birthday and it was spectacular. The property is amazing and the pool and house make for such a relaxing stay. I hope to return to the house someday to breathe in those amazing Hawaii breezes. Also, the bird feeder brought in some amazing birds. The caretakers were helpful, but non-intrusive. Wish I were back there!
Jason McKean, Woodside, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Have Come Home

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

We have stayed at the Pole House many times. Each time it gets better. The Palms are growing and the fields are finely manicured. The private entry and drive to the house calms us and invites us to relax and sink into the Maui spirit. The house is so pleasing and there are always flowers to greet us. We feel like we have come home.
Jennifer Mitchell, Rockland, ME

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pictures didn't do Justice

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We thought the pictures didnt do the beauty of the palms, ocean view, and flowers any justice. Way nicer in person, we were excited pulling into the pole house!! We also loved the town of Pa'ia. Dont miss the sunsets and many rainbows from the deck, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous, Godfrey, IL.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Hi Ron
Our stay was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous.
Everything was more than we expected. If we are
fortunate enough to return to the island, this is where
we will stay. Five stars!!!
Danny/Maria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and were able to just relax and enjoy our vacation. We highly recommend the Pole House and want to thank you for making it available to us.
Derek and Pamela Broderick, North Pole, Alaska

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Beautiful

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Wonderful house. The home has a very relaxing atmosphere. The grounds are very beautiful. The location makes the trip to Hana shorter. Very helpful caretakers that keep the home and grounds in excelent condition.
David & Donna Lee, Santa Rosa, Ca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love It

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

This property is one of those truly magnificent pieces of heaven where really only poetry will do it justice. Pictures will give you one side ... people's comments will give you another ... but to truly experience this paradise you must actually go there. This house and the surrounding grounds groomed to perfection blow overpriced resorts out of the water. THIS IS THE REAL HAWAII!! The private pool (clothing optional) ... LOVE IT! The scenic deck and open air design of the house ... LOVE IT! Listening to the sounds of nature at night ... LOVE IT! Stay here with someone you love. You will leave blown away at the value you received while finding yourself plotting ways to return to this paradise. It's heaven ... plain and simple.
Eric and Naomi Bryant, Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

very attractive house. great ocean view. nice amenities (internet, satellite tv, stereo). bonuses: the caretakers, alain & elizabeth are available, pleasant and helpful without being intrusive; owner, ron, is collegial as well. the house sits on a palm nursery; for a plant nut like me, that's heaven. great running through the cane fields when it's not too wet. close to view points for jaws. some quite attractive architectural touches, like the stained glass panel by the dining table, dishes, glassware and flatware are (high) homeowner quality, not rental quality. actually the whole place is more like a fine house exchange than like a rental
Anonymous, menlo park, ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

We had a group of 8 at the Pole House for a week
over Thanksgiving and everyone was comfortable
and delighted with the huge spaces. Having rented
other HI houses before, we all agreed that the large
living room with bountiful sofa and lounging
options made evening relaxation very easy. In
other locations people went to their bedrooms to
lay around, but this house allowed everyone to chill
together, play games, read or use wireless. We
used the well-appointed kitchen extensively for
breakfast and dinner each day. The immaculate
pool and hottub were the first thing we enjoyed
after a long day at the beaches. The location
provides privacy with easy access to local shops or
a short drive to Costo. All around amazing house
and grounds, highly recommended to groups or
families. I've already forwarded the information to
many interested friends who saw the lush pictures.
Thanks to Ron for the easy reservation/deposit
process.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

very attractive house. great ocean view. nice amenities (internet, satellite tv, stereo). bonuses: the caretakers, alain & elizabeth are available, pleasant and helpful without being intrusive; owner, ron, is collegial as well. the house sits on a palm nursery; for a plant nut like me, that's heaven. great running through the cane fields when it's not too wet. close to view points for jaws. some quite attractive architectural touches, like the stained glass panel by the dining table, dishes, glassware and flatware are (high) homeowner quality, not rental quality. actually the whole place is more like a fine house exchange than like a rental

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

This property is one of those truly magnificent pieces of heaven where really only poetry will do it justice. Pictures will give you one side ... people's comments will give you another ... but to truly experience this paradise you must actually go there. This house and the surrounding grounds groomed to perfection blow overpriced resorts out of the water. THIS IS THE REAL HAWAII!! The private pool (clothing optional) ... LOVE IT! The scenic deck and open air design of the house ... LOVE IT! Listening to the sounds of nature at night ... LOVE IT! Stay here with someone you love. You will leave blown away at the value you received while finding yourself plotting ways to return to this paradise. It's heaven ... plain and simple.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Wonderful house. The home has a very relaxing atmosphere. The grounds are very beautiful. The location makes the trip to Hana shorter. Very helpful caretakers that keep the home and grounds in excelent condition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and were able to just relax and enjoy our vacation. We highly recommend the Pole House and want to thank you for making it available to us.
-Derek and Pamela Broderick, North Pole, Alaska (pamder@yahoo.com)
-(907) 490-0086

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and were able to just relax and enjoy our vacation. We highly recommend the Pole House and want to thank you for making it available to us.
-Derek and Pamela Broderick, North Pole, Alaska (pamder@yahoo.com)
-(907) 490-0086

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

Hi Ron
Our stay was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous.
Everything was more than we expected. If we are
fortunate enough to return to the island, this is where
we will stay. Five stars!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 28, 2009

We thought the pictures didnt do the beauty of the palms, ocean view, and flowers any justice. Way nicer in person, we were excited pulling into the pole house!! We also loved the town of Pa'ia. Dont miss the sunsets and many rainbows from the deck, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous, Godfrey, IL. (babbster12@hotmail.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 28, 2009

We thought the pictures didnt do the beauty of the palms, ocean view, and flowers any justice. Way nicer in person, we were excited pulling into the pole house!! We also loved the town of Pa'ia. Dont miss the sunsets and many rainbows from the deck, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous, Godfrey, IL. (babbster12@hotmail.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We have stayed at the Pole House many times. Each time it gets better. The Palms are growing and the fields are finely manicured. The private entry and drive to the house calms us and invites us to relax and sink into the Maui spirit. The house is so pleasing and there are always flowers to greet us. We feel like we have come home.
-Jennifer Mitchell, Rockland, ME (imblwilbur@gmail.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for my 40th birthday and it was spectacular. The property is amazing and the pool and house make for such a relaxing stay. I hope to return to the house someday to breathe in those amazing Hawaii breezes. Also, the bird feeder brought in some amazing birds. The caretakers were helpful, but non-intrusive. Wish I were back there!
-Jason McKean, Woodside, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Aloha. We had a fantastic time at the pole house. The place is magical, beautiful, incredibly private and someplace we plan to stay again. FIVE STARS
-J.J. and Kristen Stafford, Wailuku Hawaii (jjstafford@gmail.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 3 nights after spending 5 nights at the Four Seasons and 5 nights at the Ritz Carlton. We wished in retrospect we had stayed at the Pole House the whole time! The property is nothing short of spectacular. Every little comfort and convenience has been thought of and provided for. We will definitely be back next year!
-Julie , West Hills,CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 5 days this August, and it was pure PARADISE! The property is beautiful, the house spacious and wonderfully cool with the tradewinds and the birds are very friendly. Alain and Elizabeth were very helpful and magically never appeared until after our stay. We will definitely be back again! The only warning I would give is regarding the humidity - this side of the island gets ton of rain and with the heat it tends to ratchet up the humidity and towels and shoes and things will not air dry. Just part of the tropics I guess!
-Chrissy Short, Placentia, CA (ChrissyShort1740@aol.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

We came to Maui for are sons wedding, who lives in haiku.The pole house property was everything we dreamed, and hoped it would be, and more. We have been to maui 10 times staying at the pole house was the best. 5 stars The Weber's East Liverpool OH
-the webers, east liverpool oh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The pictures just don't do justice to how lovely the home, grounds and pool are. This is a quiet area, but near enough to Paia and other towns to do shopping. This was the perfect place for our 25th anniversary!
-The Luoto's, Portland, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Wow! What to say?? This Property was perfectly picturesque. From the Pole House itself and the beautifully manicured grounds to the privacy of it's location on the cool, breezy side of Maui, our stay here was... well, perfect. Although we just got home we are already looking forward to returning for another stay! To Ron & Barbara; Thanks for everything.
-Cody Bohn, Fouke, AR (neveteg@netzero.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Wow! What to say?? This Property was perfectly picturesque. From the Pole House itself and the beautifully manicured grounds to the privacy of it's location on the cool, breezy side of Maui, our stay here was... well, perfect. Although we just got home we are already looking forward to returning for another stay! To Ron & Barbara; Thanks for everything.
-Cody Bohn, Fouke, AR (neveteg@netzero.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui Pole House

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

This was the second time we have stayed at the pole house. The first was 9 years ago. We were there nearly 2 weeks this time. We absolutely love this home. Away from the touristy Hawaii and really home away from home. The house is beautiful, the grounds spectacular. The kids loved the pool and the caretakers were out of sight but always there when needed. There is loads of information at the home, the owners have truly thought of everything. It is an easy drive to anywhere on the island. I would highly recommend this as a vacation destination in Maui. Feel free to email me if you have specific questions regarding the home. Should we return to Maui, we would certainly return to the pole house!!
-Denise Pratt, Ann Arbor, MI (dpratt@ubat.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and were able to just relax and enjoy our vacation. We highly recommend the Pole House and want to thank you for making it available to us.

Owners response: Derek and Pam had not been together while Derek was fighting for us in Iraq. They reunited at the Pole House. Thank you for your service Derek and Pam.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

Hi Ron
Our stay was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous.
Everything was more than we expected. If we are
fortunate enough to return to the island, this is where
we will stay. Five stars!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We thought the pictures didnt do the beauty of the palms, ocean view, and flowers any justice. Way nicer in person, we were excited pulling into the pole house!! We also loved the town of Pa'ia. Dont miss the sunsets and many rainbows from the deck, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We have stayed at the Pole House many times. Each time it gets better. The Palms are growing and the fields are finely manicured. The private entry and drive to the house calms us and invites us to relax and sink into the Maui spirit. The house is so pleasing and there are always flowers to greet us. We feel like we have come home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for my 40th birthday and it was spectacular. The property is amazing and the pool and house make for such a relaxing stay. I hope to return to the house someday to breathe in those amazing Hawaii breezes. Also, the bird feeder brought in some amazing birds. The caretakers were helpful, but non-intrusive. Wish I were back there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Aloha. We had a fantastic time at the pole house. The place is magical, beautiful, incredibly private and someplace we plan to stay again. FIVE STARS

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 3 nights after spending 5 nights at the Four Seasons and 5 nights at the Ritz Carlton. We wished in retrospect we had stayed at the Pole House the whole time! The property is nothing short of spectacular. Every little comfort and convenience has been thought of and provided for. We will definitely be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Pole House for 5 days this August, and it was pure PARADISE! The property is beautiful, the house spacious and wonderfully cool with the tradewinds and the birds are very friendly. Alain and Elizabeth were very helpful and magically never appeared until after our stay. We will definitely be back again! The only warning I would give is regarding the humidity - this side of the island gets ton of rain and with the heat it tends to ratchet up the humidity and towels and shoes and things will not air dry. Just part of the tropics I guess!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

We came to Maui for are sons wedding, who lives in haiku.The pole house property was everything we dreamed, and hoped it would be, and more. We have been to maui 10 times staying at the pole house was the best. 5 stars The Weber's East Liverpool OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The pictures just don't do justice to how lovely the home, grounds and pool are. This is a quiet area, but near enough to Paia and other towns to do shopping. This was the perfect place for our 25th anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

The true meaning of the word, Paradise. With a
contented sigh, we let all our worries go and
enjoyed everything about this amazing property. It
feels like someone's well-loved and perfectly
maintained home except all the dresser drawers
and closets are empty and ready for the new
arrivals. Comfortable beds, a beautiful koa kitchen,
big living room were perfect for our family--and
that was just the inside. Outside is one gorgeous
vista after another. The caretakers are just a quick
call away but all was so perfectly prepared that we
never needed their help. Please save space for us
next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Wow! What to say?? This Property was perfectly picturesque. From the Pole House itself and the beautifully manicured grounds to the privacy of it's location on the cool, breezy side of Maui, our stay here was... well, perfect. Although we just got home we are already looking forward to returning for another stay! To Ron & Barbara; Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

This was the second time we have stayed at the pole house. The first was 9 years ago. We were there nearly 2 weeks this time. We absolutely love this home. Away from the touristy Hawaii and really home away from home. The house is beautiful, the grounds spectacular. The kids loved the pool and the caretakers were out of sight but always there when needed. There is loads of information at the home, the owners have truly thought of everything. It is an easy drive to anywhere on the island. I would highly recommend this as a vacation destination in Maui. Feel free to email me if you have specific questions regarding the home. Should we return to Maui, we would certainly return to the pole house!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

The true meaning of the word, Paradise. With a
contented sigh, we let all our worries go and
enjoyed everything about this amazing property. It
feels like someone's well-loved and perfectly
maintained home except all the dresser drawers
and closets are empty and ready for the new
arrivals. Comfortable beds, a beautiful koa kitchen,
big living room were perfect for our family--and
that was just the inside. Outside is one gorgeous
vista after another. The caretakers are just a quick
call away but all was so perfectly prepared that we
never needed their help. Please save space for us
next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Maui

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: January 20, 2009

The house and property were better than we expected. The grounds and pool have obviously been cared for in a meticulous manner. The furnishings in the house are extremely comfortable and more than adequate for our group. The kitchen is very unique and complete with all of the appliances we needed. The caretakers were very helpful with suggestions as to where we should visit and were available every time we needed a question answered. I recommend this property highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise is an understatement

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

Our party of 6 good friends were looking for a place to enjoy the islands out of. Little did we know the house would be one of the high points of the trip! The view, the landscaping, the interior! We found it hard to leave for excursions on the island! Pictures do NOT do it justice,

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I would just like to say your houe was wonderful. We went for a family vacation and it was awsome.The whole family had great time and loved the house, the pool and grounds are also top notch. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review