reviews for: listing #87665 - Amelia Island, Florida Villa rental

Beautiful oceanfront condo in AIP! New, lower rates!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Amelia Island Plantation
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $292 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Our first visit to Amelia Island

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

My husband and I normally go to the Panhandle are when planning a beach trip. We wanted to try something different this year and chose Amelia Dream. We had a wonderful stay the first week of October. The weather was perfect! We enjoyed the view of the ocean from inside the condo as well as sitting on the patio to look out over the ocean. Everything was very clean and the condo was very convenient to local shops. We will make plans to return again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed it - we go to great pains to keep our place up to date and clean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A very relaxing week!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

We spent eight nights at Amelia Dream in July (family of four with two boys 13 and 14). The beds are very comfortable, it was clean, and there is lots of room. One word of caution, you must walk up about 40 steps to get to the condo which can be exhausting the first day with all your luggage and groceries. Aside from that, it was great! My nephew had his wedding at the Omni so we often entertained other family members because we were so close to the beach. There was plenty of room to cook and feed eight easily. We grilled on the community charcoal grill. The Plantation is beautiful and safe, with tortoises roaming all around. The beach was never crowded, and there was rarely anyone at the private pool. They have beach towels and chairs at the condo to use too. We all loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Birthday Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My daughter (14), husband and I had the most amazing, fun, Zen time at this beautiful condo inside Amelia Island Plantation during Labor Day Weekend. The unit was quaint and equipped with everything we needed to have a fun, stress free time. The kitchen was fully stocked which was awesome as we like to cook for ourselves. Both bedrooms were comfortable, clean and as an Interior Designer the décor and finishes were nice and welcoming. The view from the unit was AMAZING and watching both the sunrise and the sunsets was a treat. The plantation grounds were great (a little dark at night) but beautiful during the day. The farmers market was OUTSTANDING! The beach was clean and not too many people. We loved the fact that dogs were so welcome and next time we will bring ours. The bike paths were beautiful. We had a terrific time making wonderful memories and we plan on returning again so that we can immerse ourselves in some of the island's activities in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: So glad you had a great weekend, please come again any time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Great condo, great beach side location. Would recommend this unit to anyone who wants to be near the water.

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review, we love how easy it is to get back and forth to the water! Come stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful condo at Captain's Court

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

My family and I just got home from a great week at this Captain's Court condo on Amelia Island Plantation. We have been to Amelia Island many times and all agreed that this is our favorite of the places we've rented on the plantation because of its comfort and wonderful location. We had family members staying at another condo nearby and were SO glad we were at Captain's Court instead. Captain's Court has a gate blocking entrance to the parking lot for anyone other than Captain's Court guests which made parking there much, much easier and less stressful than at other Amelia condos. There are fewer units at Captain's Court and they are only two stories high, so the overall feel of the condos is much more private. The pool was never crowded while we were there and was cooler because of being in the shade rather than in the sun right by the beach as at other condos. Also, I loved this condo's location so close to the Omni hotel and beach club and right in the center of the plantation's bike paths, etc.

This unit in particular had a wonderful view of the ocean because, although it's patio opens directly onto the grass and path to the beach, it sits up higher in the dunes allowing for beautiful views. It was also one of the most conveniently located condos within Captain's Court for getting to the beach. Because of the dunes and golf course, it is difficult to get right on the beach at Amelia, but this condo was about as close as you can get.

Finally, the condo was beautifully decorated and very well equipped. My husband loved the well-seasoned cast iron skillet! A television in each bedroom as well as the living room was a nice perk.
Our only complaint about the amenities is that we missed a grill - there may have been one somewhere that is available to all of the condos, but we didn't see it.

Overall, we loved this condo and will definitely consider renting it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family vacation

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We stayed in this lovely place for our family vacation. I spent early mornings on the beach watching the sunrise. We splashed in the waves and gathered shells with our 3 children. What a wonderful way for us to spend a week - especially since back home in Chicago there is snow! My favorite thing about this place is the sound of the ocean you can hear, even when inside and the peaceful quietness of the place. What a treat. Thank you for sharing your place with us - we appreciated every momen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great relaxing week on Amelia Island!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This is our sixth year in a row visiting and we still enjoy every minute being here. We were glad to be able to rent this condo for the second time. The view is amazing and we also enhoing sitting in the back on very windy days. The weather has been quite good. Hopefully we will return again next year and we will be able to check on the progress of the work being doing up by the main hotel. We hate to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This was my first time visiting Amelia Island Plantation and I was so impressed with the place that I'm returning with my entire family!! We had such a great time in the Plantation and in Fernandina Beach - beach, stores, restaurants, pool and other amenities are very accessible. We brought our bikes and spent some time just riding around and exploring.
Part of this great experience was the condo, easy access to everything, including the beach. We sat every morning on the patio and enjoy drinking coffee and enjoying the ocean view from the condo. The furniture in this unit is new and well kept, the bathrooms were clean and the bedrooms and beds were comfortable.
We will definitely recommend this unit to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind review, can't wait to have you stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

In addition to all the usual and advertised amenities, we found the location of the unit within the resort quite convenient. It is in the condo complex nearest the hotel where there is more room on the beach and within walking distance of all the main resort stores and restaurants (although there is also a shuttle.) Little thoughtful extras include flat screen TVs in both bedrooms, wireless internet and a clock radio with an i-pod dock. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Condo

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this spacious, beautiful property as well as the large beach directly in front of it. I took 2 11 year olds with their bikes. The safety of the complex allowed them days of bike riding in the shaded paths throughout the island. The spaciousness of the condo (I honestly couldn't believe how big it was) provided a relaxing break in the early mornings reading on the back porch or during the day hours after boogie boarding, biking, walking, tennis, swimming, or just enjoying the day. The unit was amazing well equipped and CLEAN. We will definitely stay here again in the future and highly recommend this unit specifically. This condo truly looks as good in person as it does in the pics online (actually better since you are right there enoying it all).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you and the kids had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not the dream we expected !

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

After a year of anticipating our stay at "Amelia Dream" we were terribly disappointed. The Unit bills itself as a ground floor unit, well, imagine our shock when we parked our vehicle and counted 44 stairs up to the building! Then we had to climb another two set of stairs to the main floor . When we entered the unit, there was another flight of stairs down to the living room and kitchen and then another flight down to the bedrooms. When we called to say that it would be next to impossible to get all of our luggage and supplies required for a three week stay up all those stairs, the owner of the rental company told us to drive our vechicle up a narrow golf cart path with overhanging tree limbs and difficult to access. As the access stairs from the cart path were being demolished, we did not feel it was safe to access the condo via the cart path.
Besides the daunting access, the unit itself was filthy, grease and lint encrusted exhaust fan, scum and scale stains inside the dishwasher and black mold on the inside of the freezer door. Under the beds revealed a myriad of dust, food and dog hairs. The bathtubs were both blackened on the bottoms and the caulking was moldy. there was no way we wanted to spend a night in this condo.
Our money was returned to us in full, however we had travelled over 1500 miles, spent alot of money and time only to return home not having enjoyed the "Amelia Dream".
It is interesting that the owners and management companies have legal protection via contract, whereas the consumer has little or no protection.
Having had this experience has left us with a bad taste for Amelia Island and have no wish to ever return.

Owners response: We are extremely disappointed and quite honestly taken aback by this review. Our unit sits atop a natural dune ridge. There are stairs to access the unit but once inside, it offers walk-out access to the beach with no stairs whatsoever. Many of our guests with children have found this to be a very nice feature. We have never had a single complaint about the cleanliness of our unit. Nonetheless, we will address this issue with our property manager immediately and ensure that it does not happen again. We acquired this unit 2 years ago and have spent thousands of dollars on new furniture, bathroom fixtures and a new washer and dryer. We have also repainted and redecorated the entire unit. We are constantly upgrading this unit but have not yet replaced all the older appliances and fixtures. While it is disappointing for us to receive such a negative we welcome all reviews and see them as an opportunity to make our place even better for future guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Peaceful and Relaxing Place

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We spent a week at this wonderful condo and beach. The unit and surroundings are just as beautiful as they look in the photos. It is a wonderful beach to walk and look for shells. The Plantation is perfect for biking, we loved the trails. Great kayaking from Walkers Landing, we enjoyed seeing the marshes and wildlife that live there up close! Visited Old Fernandina Beach and Cumberland Island, two great day trips! We look forward to coming back again when we need some R & R.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Highly recommend both day trips plus St. Augustine makes a third. Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fine time on Amelia Island in a great condo

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We lived and worked here for 5 weeks. The condo was fully equipt, stylish and comfortable. The managing agents were very responsive and responsible to questions and requests. As a working artist, the view was one that brought new ideas to mind every morning. Our Chihuahua loved the grass areas out beach side but the calm and open area off the bedrooms is a special place for man and dog. The short walk to the beach was always a pleasure as were our evening strolls over to PLaE, a great resturant. We will certainly recommend Amelia Island Plantation and old Fernandina as a beautiful overall location and most certainly recommend this cozy and well decorated condo for both short and longer term stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, we love long term guests in the winter months. Glad everything was to your liking!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place To Stay

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this property. The views are beautiful, the condo is decorated very tastefully, the kitchen has everything you need and the beds are very comfortable. The secure gated property gives you peace of mind. We will absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

Oh my yes! This was one of the most comfortable, and beautifuly decorated condos we have rented. We are avid travelers. The only reason I would not recommend it to friends is that it might be booked the next time we want to stay. We absolutely loved it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We absolutely loved staying in your condo and will rent it again. It truly was one of the most comfortable relaxing condos we have stayed in. I loved the large patio. We even sat out during a light rain one afternoon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review