reviews for: listing #8767 - Little Gasparilla Island, Florida House rental

Paradise Found
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

a perfect place for us!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We went 2 months ago now to LGI and Patricia's house. I'm late to write my review, but I really want to share that we spent fantastic days there!!! We are definitely in love with LGI so relaxing, quiet, beautiful... and really Patricia's cottage was perfect for us, with 3 young kids: so close to the beach that you can come back home to grab some snacks or other stuff. And we appreciated on the beach to be able to enjoy the shadow of an elevated house very close, which has its foot on the water, very nice with young kids, who loved to play under the house, and we loved them to be on the shadow.... Patricia's cottage is very clean, well decorated, and Patricia was very helpful. We had to change our dates at the last minute and it was not a problem. There was a lot of stuff for kids to play at the beach. If we come again with our three young ones, we'll definitely rent again this house! (but hope to come next time with our 2 oldest too, and unfortunately there won't be enough room! ;-) ). Highly recommended!
France

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our very close proximity to the beach is definitely a big plus for families! Looking forward to adding you to our repeat guest list!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly "Paradise Found"

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

What a wonderful vacation! The house was everything we were expecting and more. As the previous review states, the shower had some issues which the owner notified us about the morning of our stay (as soon as she found out about the issue). The owner offered her other home on the island if the shower was not up to our standards. The water was fine for us, warm not hot with plenty of pressure considering it is an island. The professional and knowledgeable repairmen where there the following morning and within a couple of hours the issue was fixed. They even stopped to answer our questions about the island and gave a little background info on the island which was great! The house is very clean and very well stocked. We prepared for the stay by purchasing all the groceries and such we needed before getting on the water taxi. We did not have to leave the island the entire time and would recommend (if you don't have your own boat) to do the same. The water taxi will accommodate whatever you need to bring. While there were houses around us, no one was staying in them and it did give the feeling of being secluded. The description of the views were right on, with filtered but nice views of the Gulf from the huge front and rear decks. Another added but unexpected bonus was both decks were screened, eliminating the pests. The owner was very gracious and very easy to deal with. You will not regret staying at the "Paradise Found". We will absolutely be visiting again next year but probably sooner.

Owners response: We always strive to be responsible owners and keep our properties in excellent condition. Most of the time we are able to address any potential problems before they become an inconvenience for our guests. Just added a new refrigerator so our guests would not be stranded with a weeks worth of food if the old one decided to quit unexpectedly!
We've never had disappointed guests with the cottage or Island. Come enjoy Little Gasparilla!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly "Paradise Found"

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

What a wonderful vacation! The house was everything we were expecting and more. As the previous review states, the shower had some issues which the owner notified us about the morning of our stay (as soon as she found out about the issue). The owner offered her other home on the island if the shower was not up to our standards. The water was fine for us, warm not hot with plenty of pressure considering it is an island. The professional and knowledgeable repairmen where there the following morning and within a couple of hours the issue was fixed. They even stopped to answer our questions about the island and gave a little background info on the island which was great! The house is very clean and very well stocked. We prepared for the stay by purchasing all the groceries and such we needed before getting on the water taxi. We did not have to leave the island the entire time and would recommend (if you don't have your own boat) to do the same. The water taxi will accommodate whatever you need to bring. While there were houses around us, no one was staying in them and it did give the feeling of being secluded. The description of the views were right on, with filtered but nice views of the Gulf from the huge front and rear decks. Another added but unexpected bonus was both decks were screened, eliminating the pests. The owner was very gracious and very easy to deal with. You will not regret staying at the "Paradise Found". We will absolutely be visiting again next year but probably sooner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seclusion lover

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Wonderful stay at 'Paradise Found' and thank you very much to the owner for being easy to be in touch with, informative and helpful, and a gracious hostess.
The best part:
- the island itself is nice, the beach is lovely, and Don Pedro State Park is a few steps away (that means no development on that area of the beach)
- the cottage is clean and well supplied and has a convenient set up
- we rented SUPs and toured around the area; the location is amazing! We had dolphins around us a lot of the time!
- new years was nice-- many people doing fireworks right on the beach!
The iffy:
- if you like neighors and don't mind not being directly on the beach (mind you, you can hear the ocean waves and see a bit of ocean from the porch)as there are homes in front and around the cottage, then this place is great. If you really want seclusion, then this is not it. Sure, it's better than being in a condo or hotel room, but it's not a private island getaway.
- Once you're on the island (if you don't have your own boat) it's expensive ($15 each eay during business hours and double after dark; SUPs cost $30 in addition to people) and somewhat annoying to have to book the water taxi to take you off and then back on
The problematic:
- the shower needs fixing; I notified the owner and she said it would be fixed (I'm certain, given her personality that she's on it already) -- the handle was loose and pressure was low and not enough hot water

Overall? Pretty awesome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Little Gasparilla is a wonderful, relaxing Island! Over the holiday weeks you may see more people around as many owners take that time to relax and celebrate on the Island. Many other times I have been the only person in eyesight on the beach all day.
It is always best to arrange water taxi pick-up times in advance to assure they are not on another run and will be available when needed. The fact that you need to get to the Island by boat or water taxi is one of the reasons it remains an unspoiled "paradise".
I have wonderful guests, and depend on them to share any mechanical issues or problems during their stay so I can address them immediately and appreciate all feedback!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Erholung

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Die Schlafzimmer sind super und beide gleichwertig,die Betten sind bequem.In der Küche ist grösstenteils alles vorhanden,wenn auch das Geschirr aus Plastik ist,alles sehr sauber. Zur Zeit waren wenige Menschen vor Ort und wir genossen die Ruhe auch wenn es nur 4 Tage waren.Vom Haus zum schönen Strand sind es nur ein paar Schritte.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Our stay at Paradise found was wonderful. We are missing it already, and just got back!
The cottage was perfect for our family of 3. It is nicely decorated and has everything you need. There were even lots of family board games and kids cards, and lots of new womens magazines.
The island is beautiful, we had awesome weather as well.
This is a perfect place for resting, walking, swimming, shelling, fishing... Just spending time together in a beautiful island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Little Gasparilla is definitely a Family Friendly Island. A great place for exploration and adventure or rest and relaxation. We were happy to share our cottage with you, and help create your family vacation memories!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enchanting Cottage By The Sea

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

So let me start by saying I could not have had a better vacation rental experience from start to finish! Patti, the owner, made the whole prcess smooth from the start and answered all questions quickly and honestly.When we arrived the cottage was exactly as advertised and even more than we expected. The location is perfect, literally steps from a soft white sand beach directly on the Gulf Of Mexico with stunning turquois water and the bluest skies I have ever seen. The cottage was super clean, neat, and well furnished with everything you could possibly need for your stay and other items that you might have forgotten. The cottage was easy access from both the dock and the Gulf side. I loved the large screened in porches, there were 2,one on the back of the house and one on the front of the house. No matter what bedroom you choose you can walk out on your porch and sit to enjoy the great views. The exterior of the cottage and the whole property is very neat and clean, not to mention BEAUTIFUL! Oh did I mention all the water and sand toys, portable beach chairs, and even a beach umbrella for your use on the beach at the house? I found the island very enchanting, it is it's own community and there is no stress! On our stay we saw pelicans, armadillo's, squirrels, lizards, many different types of birds, sea turtles, land turtles, crabs, stingrays, sharks, manatees, and the most stunning sunsets I have ever seen. We rented a golf cart on the island and the cost was $225.00 for the week. We were able to drive all over the island and take in the most beautiful scenery you could imagine. If you are looking to unwind and loose the stress you have come to the right place. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. The fishing was great! We fished off the dock and on the Gulf. We also hired Willie to take us deep sea fishing and he picked us up on our dock. The price was great, the fishing was good, and Willie our captian was fun to be with making our trip awesome! If you ever get the chance to stay at this cottage you will LOVE IT! DO NOT FORGET your cameras and plenty of batteries because your going to need them to capture the most beautiful sunsets, oceans, and wildlife the United States has to offer!I just can't say enough about the cottage, the island, and the owners. It truely was paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy you enjoyed your stay at "Paradise Found" - Hope you can make it an annual retreat!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Truly was..."Paradise Found"

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

This trip included my wife and kids for Spring Break vacation and Patti was amazing to work with. The house was perfect for the setting and the accomodations were perfect. If we had a question, Patti made herself available to communicate promptly and was patient as well...especially when a bad storm on Sunday evening knocked out power to the island for most of the day on Monday!

Thank you for a wonderful experience and thank you for letting us stay in your home away from home. We will be calling you back in the future for another stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy to hear you enjoyed our "Piece of Paradise" - Thank you for your patience with the storm - Would love to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved It!

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Sitting down and trying to get back in touch with real life after a great week in your quiet corner o the world. Just what we had in mind and made great by your careful, clear instructions and your attention to providing for every day-to-day need at the house. The house was spotless when we got there and everything from the grill to a flashlight (which I forgot) worked, no small thing to produce from a distance.
Thank you. We loved it.
Peter

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

If you are looking for a place to decompress, this is it! My husband Michael and I have been to Patti's house for the past two spring's. We are going down again for Christmas. The house has every accomodation you could possibly need. The front and back lanai's are fantastic! You can literally open the house wide open to the balmy breeze! Of course there is also A/C! The proximity to the beach is amazing! Just a stone throws away! The beach itself is beautiful. Great for swimming, walking, fishing and boating. Patti has been an absolute fantastic host! Our children have rented the home also. We highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review