reviews for: listing #87676 - Lahaina, Hawaii Condo rental

Oceanside from $99 Per Night
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hale Ono Loa
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $119 /nt
    $763 - $763 /wk
    $2,970 - $2,970 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Anne & Jeff's Trip

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

What a wonderful time! There was some confusion when first arriving, we expected there would be a front desk for check in but there is not. A couple of quick phone calls solved that issue and we were off and running. The view from the unit was gorgeous, like being in a tropical greenhouse right down to bananas on the banana tree next to the lanai. We prefered the ground floor opening onto the grounds, it felt a lot more spacious than an upper floor with a small deck. Hale Ono Koa is only minutes from downtown Lahaina, where there is a selection of great restaurants, fun shops and fascinating high end art galeries. If I may pass on a restaurant suggestion that was made to us by a local; if you are interested in going to a luau but don't want tp pay $100 a plate for wait staff in Polynesian dress or a fixed menu go to Betty's By the Sea and reserve a front row deck table. There is a luau right in front of it on the beach front and the view of the show is wonderful, its like having 1st row balcony seats at the theater. We went 2 nights, saw the 1st half of the show one night, the second half the next and the food at Betty's is good with a reasonable price. And P.S. you get a beautiful ocean sunset view too. There is so much to do on Maui, my wife and I didn't actualy have time for a beach day until the last day we were there. My other suggestions are: Whale Watching on Maui Ocean Rafting (be prepared to get wet); Deep Sea fishing, Die Hard Sportfishing Charters (it gets rough wear a Transderm Patch or take Dramamine, we caught Yellowtail, Bigeye and Skipjack tuna); watch sunrise at the top of Mt. Haleakala a 2 - 2 1/2 hour drive to get there but worth it (dress warmly 30's degrees and windy at the summit) and take the road to Hanna an all day trip not for the driving faint of heart. 2 final notes: There is no wifi at the condo, we found a Starbucks in Lahaina with free access and a lot of the return flights to the mainland are redeye's, ours was at 11PM so be prepared for the gap between checkout from the condo and your flight time. Again, I highly reccomend this unit, I will try to stay there again on our next trip to Maui (not an if but a when). I have already reccomended it to a friend who will going on a trip to the tropics when her husband, a Marine, returns from deployment Thanks for your hospitality Mike.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful place, incredible community and home

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We stayed at the condo earlier this month and loved every minute of it. We especially liked meeting the Hale Ono Loa residents and watching the turtles in the reef in the morning right off the condo's lanai. I thought we were so lucky to see them the first day, then the next and the next....it was incredible, where else can you do that? We were within walking distance of the Cannery Mall and enjoyed the Road2Hana resources the owner left in the unit for us, that made all the difference as this was our first trip to the area. It was a great relaxing holiday, and the unit is beautiful, clean & very comfortable. We will be back again for sure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Christmas

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Dear Mike, My husband and I stayed at your condo over Christmas. It was the perfect place for two people to enjoy a quiet little holiday. The property was gorgeous, the unit was very nice and clean, and the weather was amazing. Hopefully we can come back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Quiet Place to Relax

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

Hale Ono Loa is a great place to relax and just enjoy. The lanai just below and to the right of the deck is perfect to while away the hours, with lovely views to Lanai and Molokai as well as turtle watching par excellence. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained; we loved the banana trees just off our lanai, where we had breakfast each morning.The dishwasher was broken and unfortunately there was no detergent to wash dishes by hand. There was no parking pass in the unit upon our arrival but when we contacted the resident manager he promised there would be no problem and there wasn't. The bed was extremely uncomfortable for us and the elastic in the sheets was "dead" so we fought the sheets every night. That being said, we had a wonderful stay and would probably book the unit again should we return to Maui. The price is right, the location is awesome and the owners are very pleasant to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well Worth the Price!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

If you want to experience Maui without hassle of staying in an expensive hotel and spend your money on the things you really want to do, then this is the place. Clean, comfortable and great location! Close to great beaches and snorkeling. Turtles right in the water next to the condos. Beautiful view! The small community in the area is charming. We found a small Farmers market health-food store and BAD ASS coffee walking distance from the condo. Yes I said BAD ASS! The name of the coffee shop chain on the island. Great breakfast locations nearby too! We were charmed by the place! Started to feel like home and then we had to...go home. Awesome!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location, great value, great experience!!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

I think renting from VRBO is the only way to go!! This condo is super clean, quiet and comfortable. The onsite manager is so hospitable! The owners have it set up with everything needed for vacation, including boogie boards, an ice chest and some snorkel gear for days at the beach. This community does not have a beach right in front. However a beach is within walking distance. We rented a car for the week rather than taking a shuttle from/to the airport since the cost of a weekly car rental was only $40 more! It is possible to stay at this condo without a vehicle as there are restaurants, a farmers market and a few grocery stores within walking distance. We rented bikes from Boss Frogs (within walking distance from condo) and rode up and down Lower Honoapiilani Road with our snorkel gear in the bike basket, stopping at each beach to check out the underwater scene! Turtles swam daily right in front of the complex. Boss Frogs has a camera for rent in a waterproof case, $60 for the week which was the best money we spent! They burn a cd for you when you are finished! We got the best pictures of us in the water snorkeling and all the sea life underwater! We took a ferry over to Lanai one day, by far the most beautiful and colorful snorkeling and well worth the money to check out that island. Boss frogs gave us an island secret about 4 waterfalls to hike to, which was the most adventure we have had in a long time. We hiked through a bamboo forest, climbed up ropes and ladders to get to the next falls. We took pictures of us in front of each waterfall with the rented waterproof camera! AWESOME adventure!!! Our trip was so relaxing and we didn't spend a lot of money. We bought our groceries at costco and made most of our meals in the condo and took the ice chest daily on our beach outings. We saved money by carrying on our luggage on the airplane and buying our toiletries and sunscreens at walmart near the airport. We will recommend this condo to friends and family. Great value for your money to stay where the locals live and not have the hustle and bustle of all the tourists at a hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the turtles!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

For the cost this was a good rental and in a great location. Easy to walk for groceries and coffee in the morning. The condo was clean and in good condition for an older building. We appreciated the use of the beach chairs, cooler and boogie boards. Parking was close, loved the quick access to the car. We really missed having a phone or Internet wifi as it was very difficult to book reservations for dinner or excursions. For us this is now a must have. We hoped there was direct access to the pool from the lanai however there wasn't. We also missed having some kind of water view from the lanai. We saw many many huge turtles in the water in front of the condo, a real treat ! For the price you can't really ask for too much more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo, Mike

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Mike,

I wanted to take a moment and say thank you! My wife and I surely enjoyed our time staying at your condo in Maui. We were impressed with the location, the space, and the extra items we were able to use during our stay. Greg was a pleasure! Super friendly and very helpful! We can't wait to come back again.


Thanks for helping make our experience in Maui one we will never forget!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent experience in Maui!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

What a wonderful little condo! Hale Ono Loa was a great place to RELAX, RELAX, RELAX. The owners, Mike and Heidi, were very welcoming and easy to work with. Their information packet was superb! They furnished Tommy Hilfiger beach towels, a cooler, an umbrella, beach chairs, and snorkeling equipment for free! The snorkel equipment alone saved our family the $100 to rent. There also was a nice collection of board games to enjoy on the lanai and oceanfront deck. For $99 per night, you can't beat it anywhere on Maui!

PS: thanks, Mike and Heidi, for the tip of doing the "backloop" on the Road to Hana. We absolutely loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful condo & wonderful owners!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this condo over Christmas 2011 and I must say, it is beautiful! Hale Ono Loa, the property where the condo is located, is stunning. You can sit on the private lanai and watch the sun set every single night. And the sea turtles! They were everywhere! Just right off the deck! Mike, the owner, was extremely easy to work with. His documentation was superb and he even furnished us with a complimentary activities guide from the folks at road2hana. Perfect unit!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We spent five nights at this condo and loved it! Everything was perfect!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Price Point!

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

Im feeling a bit guilty because part of me wishes that this place was always available, thus writing a good review might jeopardize my odds, but they truly deserve a great review. Stayed here for 4 nights. The place was very clean, and very accessible to all West Maui. I was worried, that there was no air conditioning, but I honestly didn't miss it. The ceiling fans, and the trade winds provided a nice environment. We cooked a lot of our meals. The stove has electric burners...not my favorite, but we managed. The kitchen was decently stocked with all the essential cooking tools. ( make sure to bring your own spices and cooking ingredients) They provided a new cleaning sponge, napkins, and nice hand and dish soap. This made me fell that the owners really care about their place, and actually encouraged me to make sure that it was well maintained during our stay. If you stay here, you should visit the Maui fish store ( walking distance from the condo) and the taco truck near by. They were both excellent walking choices. If you have a car, have breakfast at The Plantation, Lunch at the Flatbread Company in Paia, and dinner at Mama's Fish House in Paia as well. If you are a bunch of young kids that want to party, this is NOT the place for you, but if you want to just relax and take it easy in an affordable place in the middle of paradise, then you have found the right place, just don't go when we are planning to go.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place at a Great Value!

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

This place has everything you need for a great stay in Maui! My husband and I went there for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed the condo. It's in a great location, just minutes away from gorgeous Kaanapali Beach, with a wonderful view of the ocean right from the deck. We are the type that likes to spend our days out doing/seeing things, but we like a cozy "home" to come back to at the end of the day, and a decent kitchen to cook meals in. This place had all that, and fit our needs perfectly! The condo is just as it looks in the pictures, and provides a nice, quiet retreat away from the bustle of Lahaina. The property owner was very easy to work with, and answered all our questions before we got there. There was plenty of room to park, and plenty room in the condo to move about. Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Clean & Fresh

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2008

This unit was clean and fresh and tastefully decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cleaning service does an excellent job!

Cassie, Debbie & Madolyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just What We Were Looking For

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2007

The unit was just what we were looking for: clean and free of crowds. We had all the amenities we needed, and if you open the little window beside the front door, there is a fabulous ocean breeze at night. The location of the unit is perfect for either going north to snorkel with the turtles or south to relax on the beach (just a few footsteps in either direction by the way). You can be downtown in the middle of it all in under 10 minutes.

Andra & Johnes
Mexico

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Time in Two Years

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2007

This was our second time in this unit in two years. Our family had a great time. Plan to come back again and again and again.

Steve, Janine, Makena & Adam
Laguna Niguel, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hale Ono Loa Atmosphere

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2007

We loved Maui and we loved the atmosphere at Hale Ono Loa! So friendly!

Gordon & Family
Stanwood, WA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Great Weeks

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2006

Greatly enjoyed the unit. The setting is beautiful, the unit complete, and a great value. Will not hesitate to recommend or return.

Dave & Carol
British Columbia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fresh Stay

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2006

We spent 8 days here arriving on November 21, 2006. The room is well appointed and very fresh. Lanai and pool are great. Wide array of appliances.

Linda & George
Germantown, TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than the Westin

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2006

We spent our first week on Maui at the new Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We arrived at this condo on 9/11/2006. We both enjoyed our stay at the condo better than the Westin. It is much more relaxing. We will be back. Mahalo.

Linda & Dylan
El Dorado Hills, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2006

We were here to celebrate our 25th anniversary. It is our first trip to Hawaii, but we will be back! :)

The condo is very comfortable--loved the lush landscape view. The people were friendly and we enjoyed the evening swims. Maui is beautiful and we hate to leave. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time, Wonderful Place

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2006

I had such a wonderful time! Your condo is just lovely. I enjoyed the setting with the pool and the plants and the banana trees framing the patio. Maui is so beautiful. One of my favorite parts was the whales. What awesome creatures!

Thank you for the use of your condo. I will recommend it to friends and family. The tile floors are a nice touch. Mahalo! :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Condo!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2005

Lovely condo on the ocean! Will stay again soon!

Steve & Janine
Niguel, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review