reviews for: listing #87743 - Asheville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Adorable Cabin Close to EVERYTHING
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $130 /nt
    $780 - $780 /wk
    $1,200 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Just Perfect

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Could not have asked for a more perfect setting and a more perfect cabin!!!! Outfitted with everything you would need.....only had to buy the food :). Very clean, with no odors or pet smells...no deodorizers, no outlet scents, virtually allergen free. The front porch was perfect to sit on and enjoy the birds, the butterflies and the very friendly neighbors walking by. All appliances were in excellent condition, and very clean. The furniture was in excellent condition. There is central AC, but we hardly used it as the nights (August) were cool enough to have the windows open.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little cabin, great price, great location

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

We came for the Asheville Celtic Festival and decided to rent this cabin for the long weekend. Mary was so easy to work with, welcoming, and accomodating. The cabin was clean and very cute and in a nice neighborhood. We had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone visiting the area. Thanks, Mary!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hoot, hoot!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our family of three (mom, dad, and 8 year old daughter) adored our stay at Hooty's Roost. Blanket sheets on beds were wonderful to sleep in when it was super cold and windy outside! The cabin was well-maintained, well-appointed, and absolutely immaculate. I was impressed with the attention to detail that the owners paid in documenting how everything works and where everything was. Would stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best trip ever!

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

You have thought of EVERYTHING! We cannot imagine a more perfect way to have celebrated our 40th birthdays. The cabin was better than we could have imagined. The fresh mums on the porch, the remote controlled fireplace, the helpful notes, the "Asheville Bible" of directions and tips for good places to go made this the best trip ever!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mrs

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This is a cute, small cabin that the owner has put alot of thought into. She has everything neatly placed in this immaculate cabin. It is quaintly decorated in Asheville style with nice fluffy towels and rugs,comfy bedding and good quality furniture. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch and the little table set in the backyard. It was just a short distance to all we saw in Asheville. We enjoyed our visit and stay in Hooty's Roost.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply perfect!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

This is the perfect Asheville cabin. Super clean and everything well taken care of! The community is so cute, and you can just imagine how it was when it was originally built. The beds sleep excellent and the showers have plenty of hot water! VERY close to everything you care to do in downtown and if you don't care to be downtown still plenty to do directly around you! A very nice Ingles grocery is less than a mile. The parkway is very close, just around the curve! Interstate is very close. Owner is very nice and responds quickly. You are not going to an abandon cabin in the middle of the woods with an owner in another state. Owner is local and very knowledgable about the area and super nice! Love the cozy front porch and back private patio. You will be planning your next visit before you leave! (THANKS FOR SHARING SUCH A NICE PLACE!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and Convenient

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I rented this cabin with my parents. It was perfect for 3 people. I was impressed with little touches that made it feel welcoming and warm. I was also very happy with the convenient location.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Visit Was Excellent

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The cabin was extremely clean and comfortable and everything worked perfectly. All appliances were as advertised and the furniture and beds were very comfortable. The neighborhood is quaint and fun to be staying in and is very centrally located to downtown, the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Biltmore and various attractions. A large and modern supermarket is within walking distance. Our visit was excellent...thanks Mary.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Asheville Get-away with a 14 month old

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We had a great time at Hooty's Roost! Mary was a joy to work with and everything was just perfect. We used one bedroom and set up a pack n play in the other for our 14 month old. It worked just perfect for 3 people. The cabin was spotless and close to downtown Asheville. It also had an Ingles store close by and a few restaurants. We will definitely stay again when we visit Asheville.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hooty's Roost - 640 Square Feet of Hospitality!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

What a great place to spend a vacation! Deb and I loved every minute. The cabin is cozy but well designed. Who knew so much comfort could be packed into 640 square feet! The owner was there to meet us and made sure everything was in place the first day. Mary does a great job of ensuring that all of your basio needs - and them some - are met. She even had fresh coffee beans that we ground every morning. The front porch and its rocking chairs is not only a fitting end to the day but a great way to meet others who are vacationing or living there. It is only ten minutes to the restaurants and galleries of Asheville. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Hooty's Roost was perfect for my sister and me since it has two spacious bedrooms, each with a full, private bathroom. It was completely spotless and had all of the amenities we needed. After a long day of hiking or sightseeing, it was so nice to come "home" and relax on the back patio. The neighborhood felt very safe and it's close to downtown. This little cabin immediately felt like home. If I'm in the Asheville area again, I will stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded our Expectations

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hooty's Roost for a Mother's Day get away and the cabin exceeded our expectations. It is quaint, cozy and comfortable! Mary has thought of everything to make sure her guests are comfortable. We'll be coming back soon! Thank you Mary for sharing your lovely cabin with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a delightful cabin!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

The minute we walked into our cabin, we instantly fell in love with it, and the past six days has not had us feel any differently. Our only regret is that we have to leave tomorrow.

Mary has this cabin so nicely modernized (and yet still with the charm of an old cabin), warmly decorated, and so...like home away from home. The beds are comfy, the loveseat is comfy, the showers are nice, and most of all, I fell in love with the rocking chairs on the front porch. And if you want more outdoor privacy, the backyard deck makes for a great place to view the stars.

And while close to the center of Asheville's activity, it's removed from the majority of the city's noise. It's like being in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood, while having the best of both worlds at one's doorstep: downtown is a ten minute drive, the Blue Ridge Parkway is a three minute drive. And within walking distance, or a very short drive, there are groceries, drug stores, restaurants, homemade ice cream, a coffee shop or two, etc. And speaking of restaurants, we found the food and service at East Village Grill to be particularly exceptional, in every way. Mary has a full guide to many of the areas eating establishments, as well as some of the menus. In addition, she has a guide with suggestions on things to do in the Asheville area, as well as pamphlets and books that contain useful information.

We are simply delighted with our experience at Hooty's Roost.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charmingly Comfortable

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Charmingly comfortable...answered all of our needs! Central to everywhere and walking distance to major supermarket. Great neighborhood! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed Hooty's Roost

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying in Hooty's Roost! The cabin is so cozy and it had everything we needed. The central location to downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the numerous mountain towns was an added bonus. We enjoyed the private sitting area off of the kitchen, especially at night for star gazing. The gas fireplace made the dining and living room area extra cozy! If you ever consider selling one of your cabins please let me know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very romantic cabin

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

This is a very romantic cabin that has been lovingly put together with snuggly quilts and mountain decor to make you feel right at home. It is so nice to have a woodsy cabin tucked away in the city near all the sights and restaurants. The hostess provides a big basket of pamphlets and guidebooks to help you pick and plan an adventure, a shopping trip, a nature outing or a great meal. We enjoyed the NC Arboretum, the Blue Ridge Parkway, climbing up to the Craggy Gardens, shopping in Blue Mountain, the Folk Art Center and the funky downtown. There is a great Italian restaurant and an ice cream parlor with homemade ice cream within walking distance of the cabin and a grocery store is very nearby. If you want to stay in and just relax, you can enjoy the rockers on the porch or get cozy by the rock fireplace and cook your own meal in the kitchen or on the charming private patio grill. Such a relaxing,worry free place to stay. We had a real retreat and can't wait to come back. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is a Gem

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We found Hooty's Roost at the last minute, and it is a gem. The beds are so comfortable, the decor quaint and cozy, the kitchen nicely stocked with dishes and coffee, the large shower AMAZING, and the whole place spotless. Mary, the owner, is a pleasure to work with. The location, the space, the patio, the price--no complaints about this adorable getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Hooty's Roost!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Cozy, clean and comfortable with everything we needed--even decorated for Christmas! Made out holiday perfect for our family of 3! A total pleasure--and Mary, you were wonderful! Will definitely return--and thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved this Place

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We loved this place..it was the coziest! The vintage aspect was really neat. We will absolutely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved Hooty's Roost!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We loved Hooty's Roost! We will definitely be back for another stay. The cabin was very comfortable, great location, loved the neighborhood! Thank you Mary and Melissa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed it all!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Very convenient location to stores, Blue Ridge Parkway and downtown. Lovely cabin, cozy, comfortable and very clean. Enjoyed having many meals in the cabin. Enjoyed it all!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Get-A-Way

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

This is an altogether great little get-a-way cabin for some bonding, quiet time. Quiet neighborhood with nice neighbors. We really enjoyed our short stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Loved the location. We were 2 minutes to Blue Ridge Parkway, which we used extensively for visiting Craggy Gardens, Mt. Mitchell, and even drove all the way to Grandfather Mountain. We were also about 5 minutes to downtown and less than 10 minutes to Biltmore Village. We liked the design of the cabin. The styling was intentional yet not overly-dramatic. We really appreciated the multi-setting showerheads in both bathrooms, and one of the showers is large enough to fit 2 average size adults. The water pressure was good and the hot water capacity was wonderful. AC worked extremely well...the cabin cools off very quickly. The thing that mattered most is that we felt like we were coming to our very own vacation log cabin at the end of the day. The convenience and coziness would be extremely hard to beat.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review