reviews for: listing #87750 - Port St Joe, Florida House rental

Fabulous Gulf Views Beach House with Private Pool &Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,670 - $2,576 /wk

sort by:

great home

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Loved the house. Great for dogs. The screened in pool, porch, access to private beach was incredible. We would recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We had a great time in your beautiful home. It had all the amenities we needed for a pleasurable stay and was immaculately clean and inviting. We loved being so close to the ocean and went for several walks on the beach - our dog Sadie gave that experience four paws up! We enjoyed the quiet beauty of the area. It was lovely sitting on the porch and listening to the ocean waves. We liked being midway between Port St. Joe and Apalachicola and enjoyed visiting both areas. We hope to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Despite Tropical Storm Debby!!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Despite Tropical Storm Debby we really enjoyed this beautiful home.. The minute I walked in the door I was completely happy with the clean smell radiating from every room. The easy tile flooring throughout, open floor plan and great views made this house feel like home. Darlene (the owner) was great as she checked on us regularly throughout the storm. If you are wondering about a great vacation spot this is it, Cape San Blas area is definitely a gem. Quit, beautiful beaches, great local restaurants and fishing. So no need to look at any other homes as this is the one to pick!!! We brought the whole family, adult children to a grand baby and it was PERFECT!!! Thank you Darlene for such a pleasurable experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A gem of a vacation home near Cape San Blas

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our family of 5 and our dog had a wonderful time in Florida thanks to this lovely home--it was spacious, clean and quiet in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed being so close to the beach, without being too close-- with lots of folks wandering in front of the home:) The private swimming pool was a huge hit and we used it at least twice a day--having it screened in was a plus with the occasional evening bugs, too! All the amenities were an easy drive from the home, with some very good restaurants right in Port St Joe. We rented bikes from Happy Ours Bike and Kayak rental to explore Cape San Blas and found it to be an easy, scenic ride out to the State park at the tip of the cape. The photos of the home and pool do not do it justice--it's even better than it photographs! We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxation, seclusion, laid back vacation without commercialization yet close to conveniences

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This beautiful home provides a wonderfully relaxing vacation for the whole family, even the family poodle! Our days were spent riding the golf cart we rented along the beach picking up shells, playing in the water and sand. Then we'd enjoy lunch on the screend porch, a nap, a swim in the fantastic pool, followed by more fun at the beach, grilled dinner at the house, and taking in the sunset. (highly recommend the golf cart) The home is just a few yards to the beach, however, the golf cart allowed us to explore the entire stretch of beach! Must go all the way west past the gate for the most unique area & huge shells galore! Dolphins greeted us at the beach on our last morning and put on a show!
There are two groceries in town. One was much higher priced than the other. Being able to cook at the home was a nice option. The outdoor charcoal grill was nice to use!
Our toddler had a fantastic time on his first beach vacation! (even considering the 17+hr drive!)
Only downside-The water was not as clear and pretty as expected due to recent storms, but we were blessed with rainy nights and clear days!
Definitely nice to be on your own time! Not all the typical touristy stuff like parasailing, drunken crowds, etc... Just you and your OWN area on the beach and your OWN pool!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gulf Breeze

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This was an absolutely beautiful home just across a private, residential road from the beach--almost NO traffic. You could see and hear the ocean from the comfortable screened porch and see it easily from the dining room as well. The furnishings were tasteful and comfortable, especially the recliners in the living room. Everything was just sparkling clean and fresh and it was by far the best vacation in years for us. With three bedrooms and three full baths, there was plenty of room for a large family to stay comfortably even though this trip it was just my husband and I. The icing on the cake was the huge, screen enclosed pool! It was so beautiful and with the screen enclosure the mosquitoes and other biting inscets were kept at bay. NIce washer and dryer came in handy with all the trips in and out of the pool and to the beach. The owner is very friendly and responds very quickly to any queries. We hope to visit here again and would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a restful, laid back vacation. It is a short drive into the city of Port St. Joe which has several very good restaraunts and scores of antique shops and interesting boutiques. There is a nice marina and fishing piers and jetties if you enjoy fishing for your own fresh seafood. It is about a 45 minute drive to Panama City if that interests you but we liked being away from the crowds and bustle!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Location, location, location! Our family of 5, including our four-legged family member, stayed here in mid-March. What a great place to explore, relax, view the stars and walk on the beach. Fantastic location -- Cape San Blas <2 miles away, Port St. Joe 8 miles away, and another 10 miles up the road from Port St. Joe is Mexico Beach. I've never seen such beautiful beaches as there are in Cape San Blas. The neighborhood is wonderfully quiet (many of the houses appear to be vacation homes, so this time of year was very quiet), we never had a lack of things to do -- kayaking in the bay, beach play, hiking in state park, fishing, shelling, horseback riding on the beach. A very relaxing, get away from it all kind of vacation. Oh, yes -- the house is just as described and pictured, spacious, all linens/dishes provided, TV/DVD player in the kids room, all the amenities you would need. Darlene was professional and fantastic about communicating with us and our deposit was returned within a week of our return! Our family gives this rental and its owner all thumbs up and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great review. Soooo glad you love our home and the town of Port St. Joe.
Please come agan
Darlene

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peace and Quiet!!!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This property is perfect for the family that wants to get away from the crowds, strip malls, and traffic. it was our first visit to the Port St Joe, Cape San Blas area, and we loved it!! The beach is just a short stroll from the house, via boardwalk or sandy path. The beach was practically deserted every day!!! It is a dog friendly beach, and it was great to walk our little dog on the beach. the sand is packed so it is easy to walk or run close to the water. The private pool was great, all screened in and very clean! The house was very clean and our party of 5 with 2 small dogs had plenty of space. The only time thing I would have wished for is more drawers in the master bedroom. It does have a huge walk in closet though. We drove to Apalachicola or Port St Joe every evening for great oysters and seafood! It is about a 10-15 minute drive to get to town, but we didn't mind. There is a nice grocery store in port St Joe and also a smaller one in Apalachicola for groceries. Thank you Darlene for your hospitality, and introducing us to this beautiful area!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Sooooooooo happy you guys enjoyed our home and Port St. Joe.
Hope you come back in 2012. Already getting calls for next year, yeaaaaa.
Thank you for the great review
Darlene :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Delightful Home

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

Our family had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home. Everything was clean and well maintained- the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. We loved the fact that it was just a short walk to the beach where we could leave our chairs and tent up without any worries. Our grandkids visited and were thrilled to swim and fish to their heart's content. The pool was great day and night- we all loved the waterfalls! Our little dog felt right at home too! It was a great house for scallop season! Thanks so much for accommodating our last minute plans!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is the rental home you are looking for!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Really beautiful, comfortable home that has everything you need. The highlight for our group, which included 5 small children, was the pool! Just perfect. The nicest surprise for us was on the first night out on the front deck, when we looked up and could see a billion stars, which the city and even the suburban lights can really wash out. They were fabulous. Darlene is the easiest person to work with and it's quite obvious that she wants her renters to have a great experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You Sooooooooooo much Angie. Hope you can visit our home again soon.
Now you see why we love Port St. Joe so much.
d

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Vacation Rental Property

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had a super vacation at this wonderful home rental property in Port St. Joe!!! We are a family of five with 1 dog and had plenty of room in this spacious, well maintained home. We loved the large pool with waterfalls and jaccuzi. The beautiful beach is just a short walk away and very private. There were many fantastic restaurants just a short drive away including Peppers (Mexican), Joe Mama's (Pizza) and Indian Pass Raw Bar (Seafood). The kitchen is well equiped for making your own meals, which we did on occasion and also barbecued on the outdoor grill. We have many cherished memories at this location and would love to come back. The only mistake we made on this vacation rental property was not booking it sooner!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable and well maintained

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

It is really tough to maintain a FL property, and you can tell the owners really work hard at it on this property! They have managed to create a welcoming home away from home. We rented this place because of the large screened in front porch, and we ended up spending most of our time at the house on the porch, ok and maybe at the pool. We now have pool envy and are dreaming about how to put a similar pool in at home! We look forward to returning as soon as possible! Great house! Well maintained!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review; We also love the screen porch area, so relaxing and of course the pool is awesome with the water falls. Hope you can come back soon. Thank You Darlene :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

I have 3 boys, 2 dogs, and a very busy husband who works 3rd shift. I wanted an ideal place to stay to accommodate a peaceful and relaxing vacation. This was just that! The house was very clean and beautiful. The beach was right there! Safe area for the boys. Ideal for our dogs. This was a very comforting vacation. We spent a long time watching the dolphins that were close by and the many beautiful different types of birds hanging around the beach. Words cannot explain the precious memories that we will take from this vacation. The owner really cares about the property and it's the little things she thinks of, for example, one day it rained and she had UNO, so we all played 15 rounds of UNO! It was great. The beach was beautiful, the neighborhood beautiful, and at the Dockside Cafe, the boys had their favorite waitress!! It was awesome. Thanks so much for such a beautiful, well kept up place :) The Thomsons

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful talking to you. Glad you had a great vacation and I hope you come visit our house again. Thanks d

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach House in a Perfect Location

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

This is our second winter staying at this beach house and we absolutely love it. The house is exactly as shown in the pictures and is very comfortable. It is located very close to the beach on which you and your dog can walk for miles. It is also ideally situated between Port St. Joe and Apalachicola both of which are very quaint for sightseeing and have very good restaurants. Our favourites are Peppers, a Mexican restaurant, the Fish House in Mexico Beach and the Bayou in Wewa.
The pool and the hot tub are additional bonuses - we, being "crazy Canucks, were swimming in the pool the third week of February and used the hot tub almost every evening.
We would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great having you guys this past winter and looking forward to you staying at our house in 2012. Thank you so much for taking care of our home during your stay.

Have a great Summer
Darlene :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GET AWAY FROM IT ALL AND REJEUVENATE IN THIS GREAT BEACH HOUSE THAT HAS IT ALL!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Beautifully decorated home with all the extras and a great owner to help make your stay perfect! This was our home away from home at the beach…including the dog! Imagine starting your day by sipping your coffee on the great screened in porch to watch the sunrise and then have mimosas in your own private hot tub. Head to the very private beach for the whole family (including the dog) to enjoy. When you’ve had enough of the beach, enjoy the wonderful screened in pool where you can still hear the waves and have lunch! Back to the great screened in porch to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening and close the day with a beautiful sunset. After the sun has gone down build a fire on the beach to roast marshmallows – there’s nothing like the crackling of fire and sound of the waves crashing in! Just a short drive to quaint Apalachicola for a massage and some oysters or head the other way to the cape and catch scallops for dinner! I hesitate to tell everyone what a wonderful place this is for fear that it will not remain such a great ‘secret’ and become like Panama City Beach. For those who like to just relax or those who like to explore this is a wonderful place to be! Thanks Darlene for sharing your beautiful home and making our vacation so memorable! We look forward to coming back and making many more memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The best of the best

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We have spent two wonderful summer vacations at this house. I can say without a doubt that it is the best vacation rental in FL. I can't wait to bring my family back again next summer. We are super excited about the addition of a hot tub.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Beach House

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

This is by far one of (if not the best) houses in the area. It is furnished beautifully with dynamite views and the pool is one you don't generally get at a rental house. It is a very nice size and has the screen cover. I've spent many trips at this home and treasure every chance I have to visit and stay there. It was built by one of the premier builders in the area. It's like having your very own beach --- and just soo fun to walk along the beach and watch the dolphins at play. Beautiful home and great location!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review