reviews for: listing #87768 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Townhome rental

Affordable Large Upgraded Townhome
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Turtle Bay Kuilima
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $1,100 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,200 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Well equipped and peaceful, a good value

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This unit is everything it says it is,it's very quiet, next to a couple of pools and the golf course and a short walk to all of the resort-y Turtle Bay bars, restaurants and beaches. It's a good home base for expeditions around Oahu and very comfortable. It's got most of the kitchen stuff you need to cook, beach chairs and towels, and the cable and wireless work fine. It's not fancy but is comfortably laid out and a good price for what it is.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Jonahn.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Golfing

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Excellent place to get away and enjoy Hawaii culture. The place had everything, so much to offer.The golf is fabulous, the greens are always in great shape. To feel the breeze in your face while playing a tough shot and pulling it off...priceless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent, clean, quiet place to stay on the North Shore.

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I rented this townhome with my family and my brothers family. It suited us just right. There was plenty of room for everyone that was there. The full kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and storing food in the fridge. Everything worked great. The beds were very comfortable. There was plenty of towels for use at the beach and in the townhome. The Townhome is very quiet and you could not hear any neighbors. It backs the golf course and has plenty of room for kids to play without going onto the golf course. If you didn't want to swim in the Ocean there is a swimming pool within walking distance of the Townhome.

The Turtle Bay resort is a short walk away and has a great beach for lounging and for smaller kids to build sand castles. The west side of the resort has bigger waves for bigger kids and adults. There is something for everyone. There area 3 restaurants in the resort if you don't want to drive far and a farmers market a short drive away. Great fresh fruit and fried banana's at the farmers market. Also a short drive away is Foodtown and a Long's drug for all your shopping needs. One place you will want to go to is Giovanni's Famous Shrimp Truck. A must do on the North shore and a short drive from the Townhome.

Driving into Honolulu and Waikiki Beach area was not bad at all, just time the traffic right and its smooth sailing.

All in all the Townhome worked out great for our family and my Brother's. The quiet nights made it more enjoyable. A must for families that wish to relax and don't mind short drives to different areas of Oahu.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The condo was perfect. It was large, comfortable and completely stocked with everything we needed. The location was great and we really enjoyed our morning coffee on the lanai overlooking the golf course. JoJo was very nice and made sure everything was looked after. We would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

This town house was good for our family of four. It has all the amenities you need. The kitchen is a one person area but has everything you need minus the ants. Big bedrooms, the loft bed was fine but hot. Bathrooms were good. Nice views of the golf course. Easy walking distance to beach and restaurants. Nice to be away from the hustle & bustle of Honolulu. The place is good overall but could use a good cleaning and updating.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Time at the North Shore

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

We had a delightful time in this condo located in the Turtle Bay area.We have been to Oahu three different times and this trip was the best by far. We loved the experiences we had at the North Shore and could easily drive to what we wanted to do in the Waikiki area. The condo was very accommodating. We appreciated the washer/dryer and the ample supply of both bath and beach towels. The unit was accurately represented in the pictures. It was clean and well-maintained, except for a small problem in the master bathroom that we could take care of on our own. There were both window air-conditioning units and fans. We had two vehicles in our group of 8 and there was ample parking space available. We would definitely stay here again on another trip and recommend this property to a friend or relative? As far as activities, we went to the Polynesian Cultural Center, LDS Temple, snorkeling at Shark's Cove and Hanauma Bay, Hiking at Manoa Falls & Waimea Valley & Maunawili Falls. Swam and jumped off the rock at Waimea Bay ---- absolutely loved it. Be sure and eat at Kahuku Grill. Don't rent standup paddleboards for use at Waikiki areas ---- too choppy. We bought 3-day GoOahu Cards through Costco and they were worth every penny.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Upgrades

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

I can honestly say I had a fantastic time! This was my third time staying in this condo and I love the improvements! I've had an amazing time and it was nice to call this condo home. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

I thank you for the opportunity to stay in your condo. We Love it and enjoyed our stay!! This condo is spacious and everything we needed was provided for us. We thank you so much!!! Until We come back again.

Mahalo

Margarita

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a great stay!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We had a great time here, it is a great place to use as a home base to travel around the island. Myself I love the north shore I used to live there in the early 70's. The description was accurate as far as the location, the pictures are what is there. The owner was available for any needs by phone and there is a local person to see that your needs are met. I would for sure recommend this to friends and relatives. While there is lots to do at Turtle Bay and the condo's go out and explore the island in my opinion the best foods are outside the complex cheaper too. For breakfast I would recommend Papa Ole's in Hauula. There are lots of places to eat in Haleiwa. Or try out Giovanni's Shrimp Truck in Kahuku. All in all we had a super time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good location

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

The place is worn out and would need an update but clean and very good location. Good comuniction with Steve the owner. Lots of place to sleep. Close to fruit stand and pretty good driving distance to Halewa and Waimea (the closest towns to buy groceries and stuff). Overall good experience

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for staying Pavlina. Since your stay we have done many upgrades. Hope to see you again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years 2013

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Overall great experience....
Refrigerator problems, air cond not working both we were able to deal with.
Other reviews mentioned roaches, I saw not a one!
Stocked with beach essentials including towels which was awesome.
Owner great or work with.
I was quite sad to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great stay Collen. We did send a refrigerator repairman out during the stay and He said there was some food blocking the cold air exhaust. He moved the food over and problem solved. Air Conditioning being repaired now.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

Just stayed at this condo for two full weeks in November and I'm so glad I did. My guests loved the condo just as much as I did. We always had clean clothes with the washer and dryer and enjoyed great meals with the fully-loaded kitchen which saved us big dollars from not going out to eat all the time. The place was very clean and comfortable. So many extras for guests as well; lots of clean bath towels, beach towels and bed sheets, etc. Also enjoyed the tropical decor theme around the condo. Very spacious, especially in the living room area where we entertained in the evenings. It was nice to be able to rent DVD's and watch them on the large-screen TV on the wall. We all hated leaving this great condo but will definately be back! You cannot find a nicer or cleaner place to stay in the North Shore area that sleeps 8 for this great price. I highly recommend this place to everyone. A big thanks to the owners for making this condo the best place to stay .... MAHALO!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pat!!
Come back and see us again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Utah ladies

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

This property was fantastic. It was very clean and comfortable. The owner was very helpful and had everything we needed. He was so prompt at getting back to us if we had a question or needed something. The beaches nearby are the best on the island. You can't go wrong with property and the North Shore. We keep coming back because it is the best buy and the best location. Ted's bakery is a great place to eat. Shave ice at Matsumotos in Haleiwa is awesome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hope to see you next year!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay for Families!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Our stay here was great! It was in a perfect location, close to all of the spots on the North Shore we wanted to see. The condo was better than expected. The place was clean and ready for our arrival. The caretaker was extremely helpful with answering any questions we had. We had a party of 9 and there was plenty of room...5 adults, 2 teenage girls and two children under 12. The two teenagers slept on the sleeper sofa and all of the adults had a bed with one of the children on the futon cushions on the floor upstairs. The only suggestion we have to the owners is to update the shower curtains and towels...with all the humidity in the air, things like that tend to get moldy pretty fast. The upstairs A/C unit was not working but there was a great breeze every night, so we were able to open the sliding doors both downstairs and up and it cooled off nicely. There are also several ceiling fans and floor fans throughout, so we were never uncomfortable. The back of the condo is right on the golf course, beautiful views and the kids were able to run around in the back playing soccer and with the resident kittens that came around. Overall, it was the perfect place to come home to each night!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us Andria. Hope to see You again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXTREMELY SATISFIED AND RETURNING TENANTS (WASHINGTON)

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I have rented this condo several times in the past couple years and already have it booked for two more vacations this year. We would not think about staying anywhere else. Condo is very clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Steve (owner) always responds to my inquiries immediately and always makes sure accomodations are top-notch for anyone that stays here. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. You cannot find a place in the North Shore area that sleeps eight comfortably at such a great rate. We have had friends join us during each visit and they love this place just as much as my boyfriend and I do. It is not only a place to sleep, but a place to enjoy your meals and great evenings while watching television in comfort.

The kitchen is fully loaded with everything you need to cook. The BBQ grill on the patio helps out tremendously for fabulous meals. The washer and dryer inside this unit makes it great to be able to travel light since you can wash and dry your clothes during your stay. We have never ran out of hot water while getting ready in the mornings. On top of all these wonderful reasons to stay here, the view is absolutely gorgeous. To be able to sit on the patio and enjoy a wonderful "home-cooked" meal while watching the golfers on the beautiful golf course is simply amazing and relaxing. And if you want to play tennis, swim in the pool at the condo, take a memorable and scenic walk .... it's all there for your pleasure which makes the price to stay here even more amazing. I can't say enough about this place. My boyfriend and I look forward to not only vacationing in the North Shore area, but even moreso look forward to staying at this condo where we feel very welcomed and comfortable. It's our "home away from home".

The grocery store is only minutes away to help keep your food cost down which can really put a dent in your budget if you had to eat at restaurants for every meal. The best beaches on Oahu are only minutes away from the condo, as well as stores to purchase souveniers, restaurants to enjoy great Hawaiian dishes and refreshing cocktails, and you can also experience the luau of your lifetime at the nearby Polynesian Cultural Center. As you can see, we highly recommend this place to everyone. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay just as much as we do every single time. We can't wait for our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us Kat. I see we already have you booked for another stay!! Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lots of room for families!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

This townhome was exactly as advertised, affordable, plenty of room, with an awesome view of the golf course. Our overall experience was good, almost excellent, with just a few comments. The biggest thing we felt was missing was a dining table. There are 3 stools at the kitchen counter which worked when we ate in shifts, but with children, it would have been nice to have a table so that it was easier to clean up after eating. We have young children, and they we bothered by the fact that the vertical blinds we not intact in all the rooms, meaning there were a few missing. At night, they were a bit "scared" that people could see inside. The TV, though big in size, did not have good picture quality, so if you plan on watching TV or movies, just keep that in mind. The high speed internet was great, and the kitchen was well stocked. It was a little strange that there were open bags of chips in the kitchen cabinets, but we just left any open packages alone. We liked that fact that there were not many bugs (it is the "country" after all) but we did have to deal with some cockaroaches. The carpets could use some steam cleaning (I only notice because we have kids that spend a lot of time on the ground), but were vaccumed clean when we arrived. Chailoh was very helpful and friendly. The facilities were great, we used the nearby pools and the tennis courts. The Turtle Bay location was awesome, within 5 to 15 minutes of many places we wanted to go. We got garlic shrimp from Giovannis, a yummy pie from Ted's Bakery, Matsumoto's shaved ice, to name a few. So many beaches are close by and the Turtle Bay beach by the hotel is walkable from here. If you are traveling with older children or just with adults, this place really can sleep 8, and the issues I commented on will probably not be a problem. We decided at the last minute to rent this place during the busiest time of the year, and Steve responded quickly, which was very appreciated. A big thank you to the owners and Chailoh for making our the start of our New Year a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: There are 2 tables on the patio and bar stools at the kitchen counter.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice, Plenty of Space

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Very nice and tidy! The condo was well maintained and kept up. The kitchen was very efficient and clean as well. The sliding glass door adds a really nice cross breeze to the room. Decor was really nice and added a sense of life to the place. Big screen tv let me wind down at night before bedtime. Bathrooms on both floors (awww yeah)! Having a golf course really close was also a MAJOR plus for me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bring the whole family!!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Came for a family wedding...the rest of the clan wanted to stay here because of the size and openness!
The family kept comparing their rentals with ours and we won!

Seriously, this place is excellent for old and young alike.

The entry into the condo is on the first floor not second. NO STAIRS TO CLIMB.

My parents (80's) held the bottom floor bedroom (a/c) and the lower bathroom which for them was very accommodating, I had the masterbed (a/c) upstairs with the adjoining bath and plenty of room for the futon for my daughter... for us to sleep, dress, etc. quite comfortably. My sis and her youngster held the loft (double bed) and fans to keep them air cooled as the a/c from the living room was drawn up towards them. O(zero) complaints from them either.

The kitchen is tiny but does the job....15 people for a breakfast before an active day of golf, deep sea fishing, and boogie boarding. Put it all in the dishwater after and we were on our way! We all fit in and out (patio overlooking golf course has 2 tables).

We did have a visit from the roach family in the first floor shower but just washed them down the drain...they always love bath tubs for some reason! But this is Oahu and they were here first!

This place was VERY good for all reasons and I WILL recommend it to any of my visiting friends.

By the way, you have a parking space and plenty of guest parking as well.

This place was worth every penny...which was very economical.

Thank you Steve and Tammy for a GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a good stay. Remember to look us up next time!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review