reviews for: listing #87778 - Show Low, Arizona Cabin rental

Torreon Cabin with Huge Private Deck, Sleeps 7, Free Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Torreon
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,299 - $1,499 /wk

sort by:

Perfection

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

We have stayed at many nice cabins in the White Mountains, but this one was perfection. We arrived Thanksgiving afternoon, and it was snowing. We fired up the wonderful fireplace immediately. Warmed right up! Very easy to operate. The TV and stereo system were the nicest of any places we have stayed. There is a nice garage. The beds are very cozy. The view of the woods behind the cabin is so peaceful; the deck the best. You would never know you are in a gated community; it feels like you are out in the forrest. We felt very safe here. The stay was not long enough. We can hardly wait to return. Jane P. and Marge L.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxing time in the pines

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

The bedrooms were clean and the showers were hot. The view from the back porch afforded us views of pine trees, jackrabbits, and golden eagles. During the week, I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Torreon cabin, and managed to read four books. My wife and daughter went to Sedona for a day of Pink Jeep Tours which they enjoyed tremendously. Another day trip to the Petrified Forest brought a unique experience. We enjoyed walking our puppies along the golf course paths. The gas regulator on the grill did not work, even with a new gas tank, it just would not get hot. So we opted for a small charcoal grill purchased at the nearby K-mart. Once we did not feel like cooking, so we grabbed a quick dinner at Panda Express next to the Super Walmart.

I had never used a pilot light in the gas fireplace before, but found a youtube video to explain that you have to depress the knob in the pilot position to make it feed gas to be lit. And you have to hold it for 30 seconds, before turning to "on" position. Usually, the switch is fully automatic for a gas fireplace, so that was novel and unexpected. Glad to have the wifi cable internet connection available in the cabin. The dining area was nice, and the table was surrounded by sturdy chairs. The sofa sat 3, while the armchair sat one. So not all seven sleepers can sit in the living room at the same time. There were four chairs and one swing on the patio, but obviously someone previously had used wood in the firepit, since some wayward embers had burned holes in the chairs. We followed the instructions and just used a firelog, so had no issues with the firepit. If you run out of firelogs or other supplies, there is a nearby Safeway which also has gas, a K-Mart, and a Walmart. Both the heat and AC worked great in the unit.

The cabin had a high up picture window which needed cleaning, so I cleaned it and improved the view of the pines. The sliding doors and easy to reach windows were all clean when we arrived. We left a full gas tank, and there was an empty next to the grill. Both were amerigas, which can just be exchanged at circle K on the corner down the road.

We were thankful that both the front and back porches had latched gates, and this prevented our eager-to-walk puppies from getting loose when a door opened, before we could attach the leashes. The washer and dryer in the unit allowed us to pack lightly and wash clothes midweek during our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property, the location was very private.

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We absolutely loved this cabin, it was beautiful, very clean and felt like home! Even though it is in a neighborhood we felt as though it was very private especially when we were on the gorgeous deck. The torreon amenities were also great, we were able to enjoy the fishing pond and the game room while we were there! We would highly recommend this cabin to everyone especially those with children!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous getaway

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

I would say the property actually exceeds the pictures if anything. We stayed at the cabin for 4 nights over Fall Break and it was nothing but delightful. Sitting on the deck and enjoying the firepit was an every night event! It was so great as it offers more privacy than other cabins in Torreon. The cabin is well appointed, nicely decorated and gave us a true getaway over the break. The only complaint would be that the den seating was not particularly comfortable for our family of 4. But everything else was phenomenal. We grilled outside, walked Torreon grounds, rode bikes and just vacationed. My kids kept saying it was the best vacation ever! That is the largest of complements as my kids have been all over this country, from San Diego to Maine. The beds were very comfortable and the cabin was very clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. My daughter and I enjoyed our meal at the Clubhouse very much while the boys went fishing. Nick was extremely quick to respond to my questions, and extremely helpful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't miss this awesome mountain retreat!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

'Pristine, well-appointed and furnished. Sitting on the porch was tranquil and calming… Perfect for pre and post triathlon event. Thanks for a piece of paradise!'

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved Torreon Cabin!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Torreon cabin. The cabin was clean, well-appointed, and perfectly suited for our family of 4. Heavily-treed lot afforded privacy. Convenient to skiing, and a pleasure to come home to at the end of the day. Looking forward to our stay in January.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas stay

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Thank you! It was wonderful! Very beautiful and we definitely would stay in your cabin again. Such a beautiful area and having a white christmas was amazing ! Thank you again .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Torreon Weekend

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Torreon. We got there close to 9pm, pity, and left short of 11am on Sunday. The cabin had everything we needed and it was very clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the home was nicely decorated. The back porch was great to relax and have a view of the pines. We'll check out the winter weather next time we we have a chance...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity In Show Low

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This Show Low cabin was everything we'd hoped for; spacious, airy, bright, and peaceful. Many days, we began with breakfast on the huge deck (no other people or houses in sight!) and found ourselves still sitting there when lunchtime arrived. After a few more hours of relaxing at the pool, hiking or working out, we were...back on the deck again. Sara and Nick were extremely helpful prior to our arrival, and during our stay when we called upon. Over the years, we've rented many places in a variety of climates and geographical locations. Simply said, this home was among the best we've ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with GreatAZcabins

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Torreon. The house was the perfect size for the three of us. It would also be great for a family with the bunk beds in the third bedroom. The back patio was fantastic and it felt like you were in the woods alone (you could not see any of the neighbors houses from the patio). Clean, comfortable house with everything we needed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Weekend

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the cabin which provided all the comforts of home. The back deck is a perfect place for your coffee in the morning and a glass of wine before dinner. The kids loved exploring the wooded area behind the cabin. A perfect escape from the heat of Phoenix!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Sara -

This is a belated note to tell you again how much we enjoyed your Show Low cabin. It's a wonderful house on one of the best lots we saw there. Just about everything we could have wanted was there - nice furnishings, comfortable beds, plenty of dishes, enough cooking gear to prepare whatever we wanted to fix AND a fabulous patio with firebox and gas grill. So many extra touches, including really nice linens, lots of hangers in the closets, pretty wine glasses and on and on. Our kids came up with their 11 month old and they had a huge carload of her stuff - there was enough room for everything they brought. Also, thanks for arranging for the spectacular lightning displays almost every evening.

This is the first rental cabin we've ever used (or seen) that was truly fully equipped for cooking and comfort. We did buy some coasters for the cabin and left them in the living room. :o) We look forward to staying there again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

We loved our long week-end here. This is the fist vacation rental that we've ever rented that more than lived up to its website photos. Great views, exquisite decor, top-of-the-line construction and attention to detail. Private! Great Safeway nearby. See you again. The Robertsons

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the porch at night! We were able to adjust the A/C so that it would cool down the house. The cabin was wonderful and the toys were a nice addition for the children.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

We had a great time at the cabin. Everything was clean and well laid out. The time we where there the area was experiencing some very high temperatures. The A/C thermostat would reset on its own to a higher temperature which at times made it uncomfortable especially at night. Other than that we had a great time and we will stay again. Thank You

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

We stayed at the lovely cabin in the pines, and it was one of the most relaxing trips we have had in a long time.The cabin was immaculate and it had everything you need, and the view from the back was so beautiful. I will definitely go back for another relaxing visit to the cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

We stayed at the Show Low cabin over the 4th of July long weekend and just loved it. The house is well appointed, comfortable, and in a beautiful setting. We settled in right away and didn't want to leave come Sunday! I would highly recommend this as a rental and I am already planning my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We stayed at the Show Low cabin over the 4th of July long weekend and just loved it. The house is well appointed, comfortable, and in a beautiful setting. We settled in right away and didn't want to leave come Sunday! I would highly recommend this as a rental and I am already planning my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We spent a week in your lovely cabin and enjoyed it immensely. The cabin was neat, clean and very nicely furnished. We have rented numerous homes while vacationing and would rank this as one of the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

We loved the little log cabin in Show Low! What a great place to stay - everything was perfect! Thanks for making sure that everything we could have needed was
on site - even especially down to the iron & ironing board... my wife really appreciated that.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We just returned from spending Memorial Day weekend at the Torreon Cabin and had an amazing time! The pictures are accurate-the property is beautiful. The cabin is cozy, but roomy enough for everyone, clean, and in the perfect location. We really appreciated how well-stocked it was with all the basics-even toys for the kids, bicycles and fishing poles! We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We would highly recommend this cabin. It is in a perfect location (close to the lakes and town yet very priviate). The back deck is amazing and overlooks the huge pine trees. Sara was great to work with and very responsive to what we were looking for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Nick and Sara's Torreon cabin was exactly as pictured and described. It was beautiful, comfortable and well furnished. The lot and view were incredible. Peaceful doesn't describe our stay there. We plan on going back in the near future and highly recommend this property. The entire process was fast, simple and went exactly as planned and directions were perfect. Thanks for sharing your wonderful cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed in the cabin in Show Low for 2 nights at the end of January 09. The cabin was beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and in a great location. My favorite part was the view looking out the back of the cabin. There are no other cabins in sight so it feels very private. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We have stayed at many nice cabins in the White Mountains, but this one was perfection. We arrived Thanksgiving afternoon, and it was snowing. We fired up the wonderful fireplace immediately, and it warmed right up. We found it very easy to operate. The TV and stereo system were the nicest of any of the places we have stayed. There is a nice garage. The beds are very cozy. The view of the woods behind the cabin is so peaceful; you would never know you are in a gated community. Sit and relax on the deck, and it feels like no one else is around. We also felt very safe here. If you are looking for peace and quiet, and some serenity, this is the place for you. Our stay was not long enough, and we can hardly wait to return. Jane P. and Marge L.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This was our second trip to Show Low and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The house was just perfect! It was very nicely decorated, located in a great area, and it was extremely cozy! David & I actually got engaged during our trip! ;)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 10, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The house in Show Low was fantastic and a great romantic get-away for my husband and I. We look forward to booking future weekends there AND at the great Pinetop house too (where we stayed last year for the holiday)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

This home is beautiful! We hope to stay again sometime. The decor is fabulous, the lot location is woodsy and private and Sara is a joy to work with. Would highly recommend this lovely rental property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time. I bragged to my extended family and now they all want to get together and rent your cabin! The cabin is BEAUTIFUL! The back porch is wonderfully peaceful and is a terrific place to sip coffee in the am and wine in the pm!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review