reviews for: listing #87823 - Big Sky, Montana House rental

Little Big Sky Guest Cabin
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $455 /nt
    $1,925 - $3,185 /wk

sort by:

Great Layout, Awesome Location

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 8, and we were totally comfortable. The proximity to both Big Sky Resort for skiing and the Gallatin River for fishing (bring thick waders in the winter!) makes this place perfect in the winter. The fact the house used to be two separate units adds convenience, with a kitchenette downstairs.

Despite being less than 2 minutes from the main road, you can't see it or hear it from the home, so you feel like you are very secluded. All in all, an excellent place to stay for a great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelor weekend in Montana

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

I spent my bachelor weekend getaway with 7 of my closest friends at this cabin in Big Sky. In short, it was one of the most memorable and rewarding trips of my life, in part because the cabin provided the perfect backdrop for a long weekend of comfort, camraderie, and adventure in Montana. I will definitely go back, hopefully every year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for Skiiing!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Snow skiing was very good and great location. About 7 miles to the lift. We had plenty of room for the kids downstairs and the adults took the two rooms up. We really enjoyed the the crackle of the wood fireplace and soaking in the hot tub after a long day of skiing. Only thing I could complain about was the water pressure in the upstairs showers was pretty weak.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Great location for all of the attractions in Big Sky. Quiet and peaceful with all of the amenities. Loved our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mesmerized by the beauty inside and outside

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

This is the first time I ever stayed at a vacation home and the experience could not be better than this. It is beautiful, secure, homely, comfortable, well furnished with amenities, built on the riverside bank of Gallatin river's west fork, beautiful view of the mountains, located close to all attractions nearby, perfect for a big family, perfect for vacation. It has an outdoor grill, hot tub, fire place inside and camp fire spot outside (please check local fire restrictions before lighting camp fires). We had great time on the river side. We could witness deer crossing the river.
The property is well maintained and very clean. The owner and management were very helpful with any questions and welcomed any requests we had. They made us comfortable in every way possible. The cabin was conveniently located near grocery store and restaurants.
Overall, the best vacation I had made possible by the Little Big Sky.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Views/Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We rented this vacation home as it is just about 1 and a 1/2 hours from West Entrance of Yellowstone Park. Overall, it has been a pleasure staying in the "Little Big Sky" vacation home. It is surrounded by mountains on all sides and view of those mountains from home were spectacular. We were 7 + 1 kid and the space was more than enough for our accommodation. It was a little difficult to find directions on the GPS but the management company (River Rock Lodge) were helpful in finding the address. The only sad part was we were not able to setup campfire as there was high alert because of recent fire in the area. Otherwise, perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Paradise Vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at Little Big Sky for an entire week and had the best Christmas vacation. The views from the cabin were tremendous, we saw wild life, took long walks in the snow and went sled riding. The local brewrey was great and we enjoyed the bison burgers at Choppers Restraunt. Everything was just minutes away. My children went skiing, it was aforadable and no lines. What a great place to vacation if you love outdoor activities. We went snow shoeing to the water falls one day which was just outside of town. I would recommend this Cabin and attend to stay there again. The owner was great to work with and very accomodating. Thanks Paul for a great Vacation Getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Stay at Little Big Sky - Winter Haven

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We just spent four nights in this excellent house. The location is far enough off the Lone Peak road to be quiet. There is a stream where you can fish immediately below the house (and yes we caught fish there) and all needed amenities are nearby.

The house has everything, full kitchen with many more plates and appropriate utensils than we are used to seeing. The hot tub was great after a day of hiking, fishing and playing golf. We will plan to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Wonderful Stay in Big Sky

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in "Little Big Sky"! The cabin was lovely, secluded, and very comfortable. It was well-stocked with everything we needed. We also really enjoyed the hot tub. I would highly recommend "Little Big Sky" to anyone. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place for a family vacation!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Little Big Sky was a fantastic place for our family vacation! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While the location is very private, the cabin is conveniently close to everything you need (i.e, grocery store, restaurants, movie theater, playground, etc.).

We loved sitting on the deck or the front porch listening to the sound of the river and the enjoying the beautiful views! The cabin is clean, spacious, comfortable and updated with newer appliances and plumbing, The management company was very helpful as well.

Since our children are young (age 5 & 3), we chose to stick to shorter hikes around the area (Ousel Falls, Porcupine Creek and Beehive Basin) and rode the sky lift up the mountain one day to explore and enjoy the view. We also headed down to Yellowstone at the end of our trip, but you could do a day trip. We would love to come back someday when our boys are older to do some rafting and horseback riding. Big Sky offers plenty of options for enjoying the mountains and the wildlife. It's truly a gorgeous and peaceful location, and everyone we met were welcoming and friendly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Big Sky Cabin

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This was a great bang for buck location. It had all the requirements, not missing anything as far as kitchen. Rooms were adequate and as described. Managers were helpful and available. Price was reasonable, and the place provided a great location with a combination of convenience and privacy! I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

South Dakota

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Our vacation stay at Little Big Sky exceed our expectations! We were 4 married couples, and the accomodations were outstanding. This was a family reunion, and we visited Yellowstone, hiked, golfed, etc. Nice golf course less than 1 mile away. We were able to cook our own meals at the spacious cabin, we enjoyed the sound of the flowing stream next to cabin, as well as enjoying our morning coffee in the rocking chairs on the covered front porch. Everything we needed was at the cabin. We cannot wait to go back again. I would highly recommend...you will not be dissatisfied!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July in the Mountains

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a great time at Little Big Sky! The cabin was perfect and the scenery in the area was spectacular. Yellowstone was an easy day trip and well worth seeing. We're already trying to figure out a time to return.

Fishing turned out to be quite good. We spent our first day with a guide who got us started on locations and fly patterns. The patterns the guide showed us worked for us all week. The water in the Gallatin was still a bit high and cloudy, but fishable. Trout were holding tight to the banks 1-4 feet out. Most fish were in the 10-12 inch range with a few rainbows at 14 inches and two 19 inch browns.

The West Fork behind your cabin dropped about a foot while we were there and was clear by the time we left. The last day one of the guys in our party caught a dozen trout in two hours of fishing the section from your cabin upstream to the bridge.

Gallatin Guides was a good recommendation--we left a little money at their store!

Thanks for all your help and advice pulling this trip together. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Montana.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Getaway in Big Sky

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The owner's are accomodating and hospitable and the house was beautiful. It is private and great for children to play outside but very close to the ski lifts at Big Sky. It was quiet and peaceful and the house is well supplied. There is plenty of room for seperate areas for a group. The basement has a kitchen, tv and family room. the fireplace was wonderful. We would stay again anytime!
Doug and Nita Chabala

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Times and Great Memories at Little Big Sky

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Little Big Sky - the price was reasonable, the location was even better than I expected and the accomodations were perfectly suited for our large, diverse group (of couples and singles). The house was in great condition, beautifully decorated and felt like a home almost immediately after placing our bags in the rooms.

We spent our days on the mountain getting dumped on by about 6-9" of powder, our apres-skiing time was spent enjoying live music at Whiskey Jack's and then cozied up at Little Big Sky for our "family" dinner, relaxing in the hot tub and playing games by the fire.

We all really appreciate you accommodating all of our requests - being dog friendly, late check-in, dates, etc. as well as having all of the necessities available for us to use; it really made our stay fantastic! If and/or when we return to Montana, we'll definitely check LBS's availability.

Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski Heaven!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

My family of four and my friend's family of four just stayed at Little Big Sky 2/24-2/282011 and we had a fantastic time! The cabin was warm, friendly, well-kept, and so so comfortable! The teenage boys made themselves at home downstairs, with the separate living area and TV while we stayed upstairs chatting and cooking! The fireplace was a real hit as was the hot tub! The cabin was beautiful and looked exactly as the pictures - clean, comfortable, and peaceful! We were so close to Big Sky - 10 minute drive - and the local grocery and shops were within 5 minutes! We fell in love with Big Sky, and hope to get back to Little Big Sky again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great ski house

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Little Big Sky is a great place to stay for a winter ski vacation. It is minutes from the town center and from the slopes at Big Sky. The snow is great in Montana -- we had 10 inches of fresh powder -- best skiing of our lives! We had three families in the house (10 people) and there was ample space for all. There is a great hot tub in the back for apres ski relaxation. The house is spacious yet cozy and is beautifully decorated. The house is an easy drive to Yellowstone -- just make sure you arrange a tour ahead of time as you must be accompanied by a guide into the park in the winter. All in all, two thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Fun!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Most excellent accommodations. Our family get-together over the holidays was very nicely hosted at Little Big Sky. The second kitchen and refrigerator is great. The setting fantastic. Far enough away from Meadow Village to enjoy the night skies, close enough to get to the ski slopes in 15 minutes. Enjoyed watching 50 elk walk through the property at sunrise. Who doesn't like that hot tub on the back deck after a day playing in the snow.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

My family and I just spent five days at Little Big sky. We loved every minute. The house itself was beautifully appointed and very clean. The rooms were big and the kids (3-6) slept great. Plenty of hot water and everything we needed in the kitchen. We were steps away from the river and the kids had a blast throwing rocks and looking for trout.

Location wise we were close to the town of Big Sky where we bought groceries, got coffee (they make a great latte) and had lunch a few times. We were minutes away from great hiking (a cool waterfall down by Ousel Falls Park) spectacular views at Beehive basin, and only 45 minutes from Yellowstone.
We didn't plan on going to the park, but it was so close and we are so glad we did. We saw moose, elk, buffalo, coyotes and Old Faithful! It doesn't get better than that!

We look forward to coming back in the summer to do some white water rafting and some fishing (which we didn't get around to this trip).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little Big Sky truly a piece of heaven

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2008

We visited Little Big Sky for our honeymoon. We were there during the "off season" in mid-October and everything was still amazing! This property is central to going north to Bozeman, south to Yellowstone or just a little further west for skiing at Big Sky. We loved the town, had a fantastic time on the trails close by and lived in the hot tub every night. The property was private and quiet, yet so close to the Big Sky town center. The cabin can sleep seemingly a ton of people, but even for just two, we stayed upstairs and enjoyed the fireplace and the view out the bedroom window. Waking up to a few inches of snow and walking out the door and hearing the river was an amazing reprieve from the city life in Chicago. The cabin had all of the amenities that we could need and we wish we could have stayed for more than a week!
We will certainly be back and regardless of the size of your group or your plans for your stay, the location of this property and the amenities in the cabin will fit the bill for anyone.

Thanks Katie and Paul!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

spacious, remote but close to everything, and perfect for little ones

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2008

We stay in Mar with another 2 couples and our two kids ( 3 and 1 ). The location was perfect in that you were secluded and felt like you were in a cabin in the wild but were not far from anything -- this is the perfect world for us. The cabin is ver authentic and charming. It is spacious and segmented to put the loud crying kids in th every nice lower level as to knot bother anyone. All the amenities were up to date and the place was in great shape.

We will go back soon so I highly recommend this cabin.

LoveDsnow

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

absolutely loved little big sky!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

we absolutely loved the little big sky cabin! it's very comfortable, clean, and spacious, with lots of natural light. the cabin has every modern convenience and there's ample room for friends and family. it was an excellent respite from our travels in yellowstone, and we definitely felt relaxed and refreshed. we would definitely return for a longer stay and to take advantage of the outdoor activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

If you're looking for a peaceful, nature retreat...

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2006

this is the place! This is a truly unique property, near the river and surrounded by stunning views. We frequently saw wildlife (on the enarby hillsides). Yet, the cabin is also close enough to town and the ski resorts, so you can enjoy the best of both worlds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review