reviews for: listing #87942 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica House rental

Casa Exotica $700 OFF NOW! + 8th NIght FREE!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  DelPacifio Esterill
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $700 /nt
    $2,300 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

superb home Felt like

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

My Husband and I and 8 other couples stayed at both Casa Exotica and Villa Oceana, (the home next to it-same owners). We had a fabulous time. We had seen pictures beforehand, but the homes were much grander in reality. They are impressively beautiful both inside and out. The decor is elegant and casual, a perfect mix for a vacation home. We loved the Pool, the Palapa, the terraces, and the spectacular views. There's everything you need in the home, and more. We played Ping Pong, Volleyball, swam, rested and explored a lot too. There are so many fun things to do all around: horses right there by the house, Zip lines, beaches..etc. We spend a wonderful day in Manuel Antonio, also shopped in Jaco, but whatever we did, it was always so nice to go back to an absolutely beautiful, spacious home. The soft breezes at the top of the Hill kept the homes much cooler and we hardly ever had to use the AC. Casa Exotica and Villa Oceana are very unique in style and both are perfectly suited for a fabulous Costa Rica vacation. We had such a great time, we sent our son there too for his honeymoon and hope to go back ourselves some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Rick and Lynne. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves so much at our home. We've had large "couples" retreat there ourselves with friends, it is a blast.

Do come back!

Katrina & George

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family reunion vacation

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

What a wonderful vacation. A chance for cousins to spend quality time together while having the perfect balance of relaxation and adventure. Chloe is the perfect host. She organized all of our excursions and meals and driver and made us feel like family. We were two families staying together and the two master suites made it easy to coordinate the rooms. The large room for multiple children was fun for all of the cousins and the extra bedroom was perfect for the teenager that needed some time to herself.
The house is roomy, clean and well appointed. The kids had a great time playing ping pong every day along with some fun games of basketball and soccer.
Chloe helped us organize a perfect vacation before we even arrrived. She arranged for a daily driver for us, booked our daily excursions and prepared our breakfasts each day and many of our dinners. The meals were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing at home.
The beach is just a quick drive away and is perfect. It is very quiet and doesn't attract the tourist traffic that we so often encounter Christmas week. And the kids as well as some of the adults even learned to surf under Dan's attentive instruction.
We would highly recommend the all-inclusive approach as having a driver was very helpful and the meal preparation and housekeeping was terrific!
Each and every one of the excursions were terrific; from Manuel Antonio to the waterfall rappelling, zip lining, white water rafting and horseback riding. We enjoyed our stop in Jaco for dinner and loved the special appetizers and drinks to watch the sunset at Villa Calletas (spelling?)
Chloe's attention to details and follow up cannot be beat. She is a gem!
Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A VACATION IN ITSELF- Relaxing setting

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

This home was great for our large family. The house and the grounds are beautiful, and the location is absolutely fabulous. We felt like the king of the hill... very exclusive property. If you are looking for a truly relaxing experience, away from the crowds, this is the place! (would not recommend it if you are looking for the party scene)
The setting with all around vistas and the pool is beautiful and so peaceful... Some days we didn't even want to leave. Just being there was heaven. The beach is about 1 mile away, we walked to it a couple times, but best to drive- only 3 minutes.
Eventhough it is in a remote location, we did do a lot of things (Zip lines, Monkey tours, Manuel Antonio, Tortuga Island, kayaking, Jaco, horses, massages, restaurants). The owners' are from California. Their son Daniel lives nearby, and runs everything. He was very friendly and resourceful and understood our needs. He helped us with all the activities.... even gave us surf lessons and took us to hidden waterfalls.
Super fun, super relaxing vacation. Perfect home for families and nature lovers. Would love to make this a regular destination.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas 2011 at Casa Exotica

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

The house was very nice and exactly as described, was clean, and the house and grounds were well maintained. It is a little too far from the ocean to walk there, but is a very easy drive. We had six people staying there and all were very comfortable. The property manager was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of and to address any problems we had (mostly minor issues with getting internet and phone to work). The only negative thing about the propery is that the Del Pacifico development itself is about 80% unfinished and vacant, so there is no on-site retail or other amenities, and the drive to the house is over a long gravel road past a numbe of unfinished houses. But otherwise a very nice place to stay and we enjoyed it very much.

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed the house and the surroundings and that the manager was able to assist you as well. We are looking forward to the day Del Pacifico finishes the Golf course and development, unfornutately the economy crashed just after they started, still it is such a beautiful location with extraordinary views and peaceful feeling. The nearest grocery store as just minutes away (4 miles). I am glad you got to relax and enjoy Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Exotica a unforgetable house!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Casa Exotica what a perfect name for Casa Exotica!
Our family of 3 and our friends spend 9 days at Casa Exotica this August and will keep such good memories of our staying there!
The house is by it self a vacation from the rest of the world. weather you are looking for quietness, beauty, extravagance or simply a enchanting get away , Casa Exotica will definitely charm you and stimulate sense of wellness and dream. The harmony and festival of colors will put you at ease in no time. From the different balconies ,the majestic views will embrace your curiosity and the richness of the fabulous landscaping is purely a enchantment for the pleasure of the eyes. A fabulous sense of wellness and serenity will relax you and make you feel like you are on vacation. After a swim in the beautiful blue bottom pool, it is a delight to relax or read a book in the hammock under the palapas or just let your self go for a nap gently rocked by the sounds of the cicadas or the roaring of the ocean.. Start or finish your day at the spectacular nearby black sand beach will set you up at the utmost well being joy of life.
Casa Exotica is spacious ,elegant, and beautiful. The kitchen is fit for a Chef and the Bathroom will satisfied any one who needs to be pampered.
Everyone could be happy at Casa Exotica. Thank you for sharing your house with us, it is truely a peace of Paradise!

Costa Rica, a wonderful tropical country, perfect for sight seeing and vacationing, and what better place to stay in than a vacation house like Casa Exotica!
When I first stepped into this house, I knew my stay was going to be an enjoyable one. It had everything I could hope for, with wide open spaces, lovely furnishings, comfortable beds, balconies over looking beautiful views. The backyard is a swell place framed by the rainforest, including a tiled pool, beautiful plants, and sports facilities. Friendly animals visitors are often spotted, with colorful birds, gorgeous butterflies and neat lizards. The sounds of cicadas, birds, the roar of the not too distant ocean through out the day are comforting. I truly enjoyed my stay there. ~ Nathalie Aiello

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Green Parrots and Tasteful Tropical Living

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

My family spent a week at Villa Oceana. The home is gorgeous and well stocked - the kitchen has everything you need to cook. The decorations are good quality and so are building materials - hard wood floors, nice stucco, tiles, etc. You can tell the owners spend time here themselves; they didn't use cheap throw away furniture.

The outdoor areas are all pristine. Wonderful landscaping and a stylish pool. The outdoor table is covered by a thatched roof and is perfect for drinks and meals. Nearly all the bedrooms have great decks. We also loved the two roof decks. Perfect for my morning yoga practice and viewing the green parrots!

We were a group of 8 and there was plenty of room. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious. We felt very secure. All the keys and lock pads worked well as did the safe. There was an on duty security guard on our road at all times.

The Del Pacifico property (development Villa Oceana is located within) is very much "under construction". The welcome center and front gate with guard are very nice and well staffed. They have good computers with fast internet connections.

There are about 4 completed estates/villas on the top of the hill, one of them being Villa Oceana. That's it. The rest of the property is in various stages of construction. We didn't mind this at all, but you definitely need rental cars and to be independent. There are no facilities, shops, restaurants, or entertainment on site. I recommend renting a cell phone with the rental cars.

We had help from the maintenance and cleaning staff. They were great, efficient. The property owners were easy to work with as well, in terms of setting up the rental contract and payment.

The beaches closest to Villa Oceana are black sand and undeveloped. Absolutely spectacular and never crowded. There were very strong rip currents and waves the whole week (late December). We spent time in Jaco, Queopos & Manual Antonio Park. Tons of adventure activities - zip lines, rafting, ATVs, horseback riding, surfing.

Amazing property for independent travellers who don't rely on a resort for the amenities and convenience. You'll have way more fun creating your own Pura Vida experience here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing home in an amazing location

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

The home itself is outstanding! It is in a great location with wonderful views and ambiance. While the location, construction, design and maintenance are as expected in a home of this classification and price range many of the details fall bellow the standard.

Not having a phone or high speed internet is a serious drawback and would probably keep us from returning to an otherwise nice house.

The living room furniture looks nice and shows well but is in fact very uncomfortable. The synthetic fabric and sequins do not feel good. The straight back metal sofa is not made for lounging. The dining room table and outdoor facilities are excellent.

My son has food restrictions so we had to use the kitchen. It is fairly well equipped. The knives are all dull however and there is no tools to sharpen them making food preparation very dificult. Gary & Kelly

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

We felt we Had HIT THE JACKPOT!

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

When we first set eyes on Casa Exotica, we felp we had hit the Jackpot! The Casa is SO BEAUTIFUL, inside and out! The Ocean views are breathtaking... the location is excellent, right between Jaco and Manuel Antonio which are both busy places... so we loved coming back to a quiet, magical setting at the end of the day... in fact, a few times, we didn't even want to go anywhere, just staying at the house was such a treat! Ping pong under the Palapa, Pool, great kitchen! We did go places (Zip lining Kayaking, River tours!..) our favorite: horseriding right there a Del Pacifico.... The manager was so helpful with arranging activities and getting us great rates... I could go on and on, this is the way to see Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great family vacation!

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 27, 2007

Excellent, wonderful, fun-I could go on and on. We took the whole family, adult children and grandchildren. We laughed, talked, watched movies, swam in the pool, slept in, cooked great meals, STARED at the beautiful scenery, played ping pong, got up early to hear all the lovely birds, swam in the pool, visited the beach, did zip lines, went to great restaurants, swam in the pool-well you get the idea. When our family would rather be back at the vacation home together, than out doing something else, then we consider it to be a perfect vacation. And that is what happened. We had a GREAT time and the whole family would go back again in a minute. The home is beautiful and contained everything we needed. We loved the decor,and the property is beautifully landscaped. Everyone at Del Pacifico was kind and helpful. They helped us with activity ideas, directions to great beaches, internet service, and restaurant reservations. Pura Vida, as they say in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review