reviews for: listing #88355 - Charleston, South Carolina House rental

Creekfront Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Ashley
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

A Fantastic Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our family recently spent a week at this beautiful "Marsh Cabin." It provided the perfect relaxing place to unwind after the "busyness" of our days spent seeing the sights in Charleston. The cabin was clean, updated and cozy. We began our mornings on the porch with a cup of coffee and ended the day watching lovely sunsets (and an amazing thunderstorm) with a glass of wine. Our little terrier enjoyed roaming around the grounds and felt right at home in the cabin. She loved the big dog pillow! The cabin is away from everything and yet we were able to get to Charleston within 20 mins. Don't miss the Angel Oak Tree on Johns Island (a short drive) and the Angel Oak Restaurant was divine (you will want to get there early for dinner)! Loved Magnolia Plantation (again- a short drive) and highly recommend the tram ride for wildlife and property viewing. The cabin was perfect for our family of four and Kim and Rob were so accomodating and easy to work with. If we ever find ourselves in the Charleston area again, we will be sure to stay here! We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Looking for Peace and Tranquility . . . This is the Place

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Spent one week in this heavenly cabin. The pictures do not do this place justice. It is absolutely amazing, serene and breathtaking. Spent a lot of hours on the deck, drinking coffee and wine. The drive into Charleston is easy and coming home to this place is just what you need after a long day.

They owners did not forget anything and the cabin is sparkling clean. It was so nice to bring our dog with us and he felt right at home.

We did not want to leave and will likely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had a fantastic time here. Big yard for the dogs, very nice hosts in Rob and Kim, and beautiful cabin. Many thoughtful amenities not usually found in rentals. Peaceful and quite at night, but right off Hwy. 17 and less than 30 minutes to downtown. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pet home away from home.

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

What a delightful three days on the marsh. We wish that we had booked earlier in order to have stayed for a longer period of time. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities, and that Pam and Rob had provided not only the basic needs, but they had provided many extras. Pam's willingness to check on our two little pets while we attended a wedding was extra special. We highly recommend this property and plan to return here in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful spot!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We two couples chose to stay at the Marsh Cabin for 3 nights this spring in order to have a change from the normal city hotel experience, and we were not disappointed. The views of the marsh and the waterway were outstanding, and it was so quiet during the day and night. Kim and Rob have created a cozy and comfortable spot, complete with lovely decor and the pictures on this site accurately reflect the location and amenities. It's an easy and interesting run into Charleston, but there are also some interesting spots nearby to visit, such as the Paw Paw County Reserve, the Angel Oak Restaurant, and the Firehall . The only amenity that was missing was access to wi-fi, which has become an important part of our daily travel planning. We would highly recommend this location as a viable option to visitors who want to tour both Charleston and the local area. Rob and Kim have created a little piece of heaven here for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great little gem not too far away to feel away from it all!

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

My family of four and our dog Bailey had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful cabin on the water. We enjoyed watching sunsets over the creek, along with coffee in the morning on the porch. We even sat out on the porch one evening with all of the lights shut off and watched a thunderstorm over the water.
Kim was very welcoming and has thought of everything from soup to nuts as far as provisions for us. These owners have really brought together every small detail that would make a vacation complete for any family.
The cottage was clean, comfortable and pretty, the surroundings were beautiful. Also being 20 minutes from downtown Charleston made it so easy for our daughter - a student at College of Charleston - to join us as well as enjoying the fabulous restaurants that the city has to offer.
Be sure to check out the close by Angel Oak Restaurant on Savannah Hwy for a great yummy meal.
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Getaway Home!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this beautiful place.

Gracie (Our 6 yr old Lab), Jim and I Just spent the most relaxing week we have ever had at Kim and Rob's vacation home.
It was so clean and comfortable - they really thought of everything.

Just let my friends and family know about this exceptionally nice place.

There is so many things to see in the area. Gracie had such a nice time - she really liked Kim.

Would like to thank Kim and Rob again for the great experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House was described exactly as it appears - pictures do not do it justice !!

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a month in Jan and found Rob and Kim's marsh cabin to be a welcome respite for our winter vacation. The house was clean, comfortable and has an unbelievable setting. We saw many birds, including a bald eagle !! Kim, and Rob, made Dolce,our 8 year old dog, feel at home also ! They were more than accomodating and made our visit feel like we were at home. The house was perfect for us and was convenient ( within 10 or 20 min ) to everything in the Charleston area.
Charleston has to be one of the best cities to visit in this country - go and stay with Rob and Kim in Ravenal !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peysers' Marsh Cottage

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a pet friendly rental near Charleston in order to visit our new granddaughter. We could not have been happier with the cottage. The amenities were wonderful, and the Peysers are most gracious hosts. We rent at the New Jersey shore 4-6 weeks a year, and this had the advantage of not having to provide our own sheets, towels, etc. For anyone who likes to bird, this place was great. We had 45 species on the property, including 6 different warblers and a common redpoll. It is also only a few minutes from the CawCaw Interpretive Center, which has numerous walking trails and wonderful birding opportunities. We will definitely be visiting the Peysers again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marsh Charmer

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marsh Cottage for two weeks with our three dogs. We picked this cottage at the last minute and are very thankful we did. The setting was so lovely and Kim and Rob were so gracious. We can safely say that this was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had traveling with our pets. This takes “pet friendly” to a new level. We felt that if our dogs were dogs, i.e. barking, no one would be upset, which was such a relief. At one point during our stay we actually questioned if we were in a pet resort that allowed humans.

Kim was so giving of her time and knowledge regarding dog agility and behavior. We were so excited about seeing our dogs take to agility that we have already contacted a local club.

The distance into Charleston was not in the least problematic. We went into town almost daily to dine and shop. The quiet and beautiful surroundings were an attraction in themselves. The house was extremely comfortable and well furnished with all the comforts of home.

We look forward to returning in the future and intend to recommend Marsh Cottage to our friends and family, especially if they have pets.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a hidden gem this cottage is as are the hosts

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

From our first contact with the owners to the day we left the property we were amazed by the helpfulness of our hosts. This cottage sits in a quiet secluded setting on the creek where you can watch the tides rise and fall along with the accompanying wildlife. The cottage is spotless and Kim and Rob have seen to every detail of your stay. The accommodations are comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked and has great appliances. There is a washer and dryer on site. The yard is completely fenced in and safe for your dog. Kim is most generous with her knowledge of dog training and agility. Our dog longs to go back and we just left this morning. Kayaks are available as is helpful information both printed and verbal to assist you in navigating restaurants or sight seeing. We look forward to the opportunity to return to visit soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time on the water, near Charleston

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

What a great place to stay if you don't mind a 20 minute drive to downtown Charleston. We had no trouble finding it all, and really couldn't believe how pretty the place was. The pictures don't do it justice. The house and amenities are very nice and the hosts couldn't be nicer people. We went when it was really hot outside (near 100 degrees) but quickly acclimated to the temperature. We brought our dog who was very happy to have such a yard to run around in. Great seafood is minutes away. We hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoy all the charms of Charleston from this hidden waterfront gem

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Just got back from a girls' getaway weekend spent at this beautiful vacation home. This secluded creekside cottage offer the best of both worlds: A serene lowcountry setting within 20 minutes of Charleston's many charms. The neighboring owners are perfect hosts who provide all the comforts of home, especially for those with canine kiddies. Dog-friendly extras include a HUGE and completely fenced-in yard, on-site dog agility course and therapy pool (yes, I'd never heard of these things--Google them & you'll learn) available dog-sitting, dog crates...even a handy supply of lint-removing rollers in each bedroom.

Plenty of human luxuries, too--the master bedroom/bathroom suite features a whirlpool jetted tub; the well-stocked kitchen offers spices, cookbooks and a blender for margarita-lovers; the grill comes stocked with charcoal and tending tools, and more. My friends and I were amazed at all the extras we'd never before encountered in vacation rental properties. It felt much more like home than a hotel, an immaculate and nicely-appointed home we (and our dogs) hated to leave.

As hosts, Kim and Robert couldn't be better. They helped us get situated, recommended local eateries, and even urged us where to park under safe cover our last evening as a tropical storm threatened. They make their guests feel well taken care of without being overbearing.

Snap this listing up--you won't regret it. Bring your dogs, a camera, and some wine...good times await you on the creek!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We had an absolutley lovely, relaxing stay with our two large dogs. We all had the best time and Rob and Kim were so thoughtful and just wonderful people! We cannot wait to go back!

If you love your dogs, this is the place to stay!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This was the most reaxing vacation my husband and I have had since our honeymoon! And we got to bring our dogs!
Kim and Rob are amazing hosts. They though of everything for their human and their nonhuman guests!
We simply cannot wait to go back!!
I think our dogs loved it as much or more then we did! Next time we will try our girls out as agility dogs!
Seriously, if you are a dog lover-this is heaven!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Gena and Rich and "Girls", we thoroughly enjoyed having you at the "cabin" and look forward to your return (and to playing some dog agility games!).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Gettaway

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Creekfront Home for a long weekend in February and really enjoyed ourselves. The owners were more than gracious and made sure every hospitality was taken care of. The house is outfitted for pet owners so if you have dogs things are ideal. Proximity to Charleston is perfect too. We ran into town to pick up Thai food at the Basil Thai Restaurant and enjoyed the meal back at the house with a setting sun over the waters. Really a fantastic place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Property - Great Location

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Perfect place to enjoy the outdoors along with quick, easy access to Charleston. We enjoyed the dock access and kayaking as well as downtown Charleston and local antiquing. VERY pet friendly. The property is split into 2 - the rental on one side and the owners' home on the other, w/ separate driveways to each, and the property is large enough that we didn't feel as though we were intruded on or intruding on them. Dock access is actually on the owners half of the property, but they were very friendly and welcoming and this wasn't an issue, just something we were not aware of. House is comfortable and well appointed. Only regret is that we didn't schedule enough days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review