reviews for: listing #88356 - Franklin, North Carolina House rental

Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous View, Gazebo, WiFi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $135 /nt
    $750 - $750 /wk
    $2,250 - $2,250 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic retreat!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

The pictures don't do justice to this beautiful mountain "home away from home." From the moment we arrived, my family enjoyed every minute spent at this wonderful place. Music was playing, candles were burning, and fresh flowers greeted us. We were really impressed with the cleanliness, roominess, and comfort of both the upstairs and downstairs accommodations. Stephanie had prepared a scrumptious breakfast casserole for our first morning so we didn't have to rush out to round up food. Also on hand were orange juice and delicious cookies. (Plus two bottles of wine!) A washer and dryer, with supplies, gave us the benefit of not having to get back home with a suitcase full of dirty laundry. The two main tv's kept our guys happy and I managed to watch a bit of tv on my own in the master bedroom. We also made good use of the dvd's and games provided. There are so many perks provided that I can't begin to list them all. The views from the gazebo and screened in porch are gorgeous. Flowers and greenery abound; we saw plenty of birds at the feeders.
The location is close to Franklin, where there is plenty to see and do. Other towns with activities are only a few miles further. We took a day trip to Gatlinburg; went antiquing in Dillard, and found some great flea market buys in Clayton. It was pleasant to be busy in the day and come back to sit on the porch relaxing with a book or playing games. There is wifi and cell service, how great is that!!
Stephanie visited us once early on to make sure all was well, instructed us to call her if we needed her, then left us to ourselves. A most excellent hostess!
I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our most recent review from a FlipKey guest....

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

"Comfortable, Well-appointed Guest House in a Fantastic Location"

My husband and I had a wonderful anniversary trip staying in the charming Guest House in Franklin, NC. We found the house so comfortable, and the trip so relaxing, that we didn't want to leave! Stephanie, the gracious hostess, provided delicious homemade macaroons and a breakfast casserole, along with wine, o.j., half & half, and fresh flowers. These personal touches made us feel right at home, and you won't find these amenities at many other places! We've stayed in several wonderful homes but none that provided so many little extras as The Guest House. The king bed was extremely comfortable (and the sheets amazingly soft!), as was the living room sofa- I found myself wishing I had such comfy furniture at our house, but I suppose I wouldn't get much work done if we did. :) I really loved the way the house was decorated- comfy mountain-style furnishings with a touch of mid-century modern. It seemed a perfect match. We took advantage of the wonderful gas fireplace every day of our week! The gazebo was a great outdoor amenity- I spent one blissful afternoon lying in the hammock with a book and watching the chickens "free-ranging" on the hillside. I wish I had done more of that! There is so much to see and do in the area, though, if you enjoy driving curvy mountain roads, breathtaking scenery (gorges, waterfalls, amazing views), antiquing & checking out local arts & crafts, visiting unique mountain towns, eating amazing food, and trying out new things (gem mining!). We hope to return to The Guest House again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view!

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We stayed here for several weeks while house hunting. This home was better than expected and the charming owners were absolutely wonderful. We were greeted with macaroon cookies, a breakfast strata, wine and freshly cut flowers from the property. The soothing music and pine scented candles were a nice touch as well. The views from the screened in porch were breathtaking-especially the sunrises and sunsets! The Proprietor, Stephanie, set out a basket that contained menus from area restaurants and much needed information about the area. She was extremely helpful and was quite a concierge during our stay. We appreciated Stephanie's recommendations and she was invaluable with our relocation. We felt "at home" instantly and were grateful she was immediately available. Stephanie maintained our privacy and the property was as described. It was clean, well-maintained, and we loved having so many places to wander outdoors. We had plenty of room for guests and they enjoyed the property also. The amenities were incredible and we were sad to leave. It was convenient to downtown Franklin, yet secluded making it the perfect place for us to stay. Whether you are staying a few days or a few months, we HIGHLY recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Franklin N.C is known for its gold mining, well, we found our diamond in the rough when we chose "The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge" to be our base to explore the many wonders of western N.C.

What a gorgous setting, nestled high atop the mountain, with views of all the splendors of nature. What a view to wake up to every morning. Had coffee on the porch every morning before we headed out.

We were able to take long walks on the property and to rest afterwards in the gazebo.

The house itself was tastefully decorated with all the comforts home. We can't
say enough about the hospitality. We arrived to soothing music, 2 bottles of wine,candles burning, fresh flowers, breakfast casserole (ready to heat)also everything needed for the next morning and delicious cookies.

The House is conveniently located. So we enjoyed all Franklin and nearby towns had to offer.

We are taking our family to greet the New Year in this beautiful home and maybe some snow will enhance our visit. We can't wait to return to this paradise.



Mike & Joyce Weeki Wachee, Fl

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Get Away

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We were looking for a place to relax with a great view and we definitely found it at the Guest House. The view was beautiful with the changing colors of the leaves. It was so peaceful and quiet! We were truly able to get some R&R which was so needed. The town of Franklin was cute and we enjoyed the pizza place and Amish deli. We took a drive to Bryson city which was a pretty drive with very windy roads. We also took a drive to the Highlands which was awesome with the water falls along the road. The Whistle Stop Antique store was such a nice store and very big; definitely worth the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best Rental Ever

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

This house was wonderful. Our stay was over Thanksgiving weekend with 7 of us ranging from my 83 year old mother down to my 5 year old granddaughter. Everyone felt comfortable and so much at home. We arrived to find coffee, 2 kinds of creamer, red and white wine, a breakfast casserole for the next day and the most awesome macaroons I have ever tasted. The house was immaculate and very tastefully decorated. Every detail was attended to right down to the table being set for us, candles and a tiny lit Christmas tree. High quality bedding and plenty of extra towels. We are from Florida so the extra throws, gas fireplace and central heat were lovely for the evenings and overnight. A large glass and screen sun porch allowed my mother to enjoy the view of mountains and valley below while staying comfortably warm in the afternoons. The laundry room is equipped with modern, easy to use machines. Renters are not expected to wash linens, strip beds or run the vacuum before leaving as we have found in other rentals. All soap, dishes and cookware are provided. Even basic spices for cooking and storage containers for leftovers (another first). The beds were comfortable and provided plenty of sleeping room for all of us. Downtown Franklin area is a 10-15 minute drive away. It was also a great central location to visit other small towns in the area, most only 15-30 minutes away. In response to an earlier review, the property manager does live next door but this did not detract from the enjoyment of the property whatsoever. In fact, we thought they were out of town the entire weekend we were there. Stephanie was very responsive to the emails I sent and would also have been available by phone. We roasted marshmallows at a small fire by the gazebo and walked all around the surrounding lanes and roads. The road to the house does become dirt and gravel, but was easily accessed by both of our cars that did not have 4 wheel drive. We did have a little trouble with our gps directions and if insecure with mountain driving, I suggest calling for directions when close. I would definitely return to this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing stay with fantastic views

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge was more than I expected. It was a home away from home with all the amenities. The breakfast casserole was delicious and the cookies were a wonderful treat. The porch was a favorite place to hang out. In the morning we could watch the mist in the valleys and in the evenings it was a place to unwind. There were five of us spanning three generations and we all had a wonderful time and would definitely return for another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fair

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

The guest house was nice, but I think they should say that the owners house is right beside the guest house. Also there really is'nt acres of land to walk because land is either straight up or straight down. Very rough road to get to guest house.Really need to have 4wheel drive.

Owners response: Thank you for your recent stay at The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge. We were unaware that you were so unhappy with your experience. We are glad that you liked the house but we regret that you did not find our property a suitable fit overall. We try to be informative and communicate the essentials. It is clearly stated in our listings and on our website that we do live next door in the main house on the property. We have received nothing but positive feedback from our guests to the fact that we live on site. Our guests are free to roam and explore anywhere on the property including the short walk to the gazebo and fire pit or our private road through the woods or the loop road that takes you to the top of the ridge and back around. We were unaware that you are in use of a cane and we regret that you couldn't experience and enjoy it fully. We also have plans in the works to add some additional features to the property including a meadow for deer grazing, a horseshoe pit and an 'outdoor pub'. Our access road is 7/10th mile hard packed dirt and gravel road (as pictured) with a moderate incline at the beginning before leveling off the rest of the way to The Guest House. The road is maintained and does not require 4WD (we, ourselves, do not own a 4WD vehicle). We have had a variety of cars, large and small, make the drive. Regardless, we do regret that the road intimidated this guest. We have a video of the road available for anyone who would like more information.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

A little bumpy getting there but well worth it

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We found the Guest House online and glad we did. The house up stairs and down was just like it said online. The house was very clean, neat and when you entered it was just like home. Everything you would need except your food, (except for the delicious breakfast casserole and the out of this world home made cookies)that is provided for you when you arrive. The beds were very comfortable and enough wash cloths to last you a week without doing laundry in the new washer and dryer that is provided on both levels. My brother and sister in law went with us so they stayed in the down stairs studio but had plenty of room and a connecting garage to use. The screened in porch with ceiling fans was wonderful to sit out on, no noise just cool mountain air even when it was 90* and a beautiful view. Both up and down stairs areas can get to the porch and screened in porch. The property owners live next door but you never hear or see them unless you need to. When we are back in the area of Franklin (WCU) we will do our best to stay there again. The only negitive thing we have to say is the road is a little bumpy going up, but you can make it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your compliments! We're so pleased that you had a great stay with us here at Dogwood Ridge! It is our goal to make you feel right at home and that you thoroughly enjoy your vacation. The road going up received it's regular maintenance grading a couple of days after your check-out. We'd love to have you return anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July in the mountains

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

My husband and I had the priviledge of staying at this property for the entire month of July 2012, with visits from our kids/grandkids while we were there.
Everything that is posted in the description of this property is MORE than anticipated, from candles and soft music upon arrival, wine ready to enjoy, homemade maccroon cookies, fresh flowers and homecrafted soap in the bathrooms, a wonderful breakfast casserole ready to pop in the oven, and coffee and cream in the 'frig! This is truly a home away from home; whether you cook or grill, eat in local restaurants, play games or watch TV, explore the area or stay home and read, use the porch or gazebo for the wonderful views,it MORE than met our expectations! Some of our highlights included tubing down the river, hiking at Glen Falls, going to music and craft festivals, Sat. night "pickin'-on-the-square" in Franklin, shopping on Main St. in Waynesville, gem mining with our grandkids and swimming in the creeks! Don't miss this wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Our family absolutely loved the house and the view was fantastic! The owners provided a very comfortable place to relax after we tubed and zip lined and enjoyed the charm of Franklin, NC. The breakfast casserole and macaroons where a special touch! Highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The view from the house is breath taking. It is a beautiful place to stay and Stephanie is a wonderful hostess. Will recommend it to all my friends.

Dianna

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dogwood Ridge in Franklin, NC

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

My family and I spent a week at Dogwood Ridge in Franklin, NC and so enjoyed ourselves. We had all the comforts of home and had such a relaxed time. At Dogwood Ridge they go out of their way to make sure, that as guest, you have everything that is needed to make your visit warm and homey. You are welcomed with such goodies that is provided and any information that you need, they are there to provide that for you. I would highly recommend Dogwood Ridge for your next vacation or just a time to get away. At Dogwood Ridge you stay in the mountains and have the beauitful view of the mountains all around. It is an awesome experience that you do not want to miss.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peacocks - "A Ten!"

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Six of the nine Peacocks, who have been doing weekend trips together twice a year for 20 years, found The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge to be one of our all-time favorite locations. The house is beautifully situated and maintained, and the owners went out of their way to provide gracious, welcoming touches. Several of us have vowed to come back with family members or other groups of friends.

Some of us are outdoors types, who loved the easy access to hiking trails, and others are world class shoppers who loved the book store, yarn shop and kitchen store in town. All of us loved the restaurant the owner recommended.

Houses with spectacular views are sometimes a little challenging to approach, but the road to Dogwood Ridge is well maintained and not at all a problem. The beds were all excellent, with luxurious bedding, and the two kitchens are very well equipped. We're pretty picky cooks, and found everything we needed and more. And the screened porch - WOW!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Romantic Getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Thank you so much for all you did to help us plan our romantic weekend getaway!!! This weekend was very much desired since we are caretakers for my very ill father. We enjoyed the beauty of the Mtns., your guest home and your thoughtfulness. The Breakfast casserole was delicious, black and white macaroons - out ot this world! The special touch of candles, soft jazz music and the rose was priceless! Such a special welcoming touch!!! We will back...you have a true gift for hospitality and outstanding customer service too!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WHAT A WEEKEND!!!

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Thank you so much for all you did to help us plan our romantic weekend getaway!!! This weekend was very much desired since we are caretakers for my very ill father. We enjoyed the beauty of the Mtns., your guest home and your thoughtfulness. The Breakfast casserole was delicious, black and white macaroons - out ot this world! The special touch of candles, soft jazz music and the rose was priceless! Such a special welcoming touch!!! We will back...you have a true gift for hospitality and outstanding customer service too!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

This property was absolutely perfect for our visit home to the mountains. We had 3 adults, 2 children, and 2 teenagers. There was plenty of room for all of us. When we arrived, soft music was playing, candles were lit, homemade macaroons and a delicious breakfast casserole awaited us. The property was spotless! The owner checked on us a couple of times, and snuck down with a sled when it appeared we might get snow. She even had a game room set up! The customer service was perfect! We felt like a friend had just welcomed us to their home for the weekend! Every amenity we could think of needing was available. The location was gorgeous, plenty of hiking and exploring available. As we drove up the mountain, we felt like we were removed from the world, it was wonderful. Yet only 15-20 minutes to get to town for groceries. We will absolutely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book...

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Stephanie, we love love loved our visit! Thank you for your hospitality. I don't believe I have ever stayed anywhere that we were treated so well. We would love to return. I covet your home at the top of the mountain!!!

Sarah, Barbara and Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book....

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We had a great New Year's weekend! Your house is beautiful, you have thought of everything! We have stayed at plenty of rentals and none can measure up to this house. Thank you so much - it was a fantastic last minute trip!

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Above and beyond expectations

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

We looked for a place in Franklin because our sone was thru hiking the AT and did not want to be off the trail for long. We spent Christmas eve and Christmas day at Dogwood guest house and are delighted that we did.
Stephanie pays a LOT of attention to detail. Small and tasteful holiday decorations as well as scented candles were lit when we entered. Christmas music played from the entertainment center (complete with the NFL package that let my sone watch his 49ers win!). Fresh orange juice, coffee with cream, and a wonderful breakfast casserole for the next day meant that even if we had not brought groceries, our Christmas breakfast was covered. Fresh baked cookies (and a small package for my son to take on his hike) also awaited us.
The rooms were immaculate, the beds comfy (my wife and daughter both appreciated the full body pillows) linens and towels were of 5-star resort quality. An ample supply of excellent DVDs and board games meant that our family never had to worry about what to do next. The easy to use gas fireplace provided warmth and ambiance.
Our family was able to spend Christmas together with a great view, great meals (in a very well equipped kitchen with a good spice selection) in a wonderful house.
We could not have been more pleased!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book....

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Thanks for providing such a wonderful place for us to get away and become refreshed. It was perfect! You were so thoughtful to provide everything we needed, PLUS. The breakfast casserole was yummy and stocked cabinets gave us all necessitites. Loved the fireplace too. Hope to come back again and bring some friends!

Love and blessings!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book...

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

Thank you Stephanie and family! We had an awesome time doing nothing! It is so beautiful here at your home, we felt no reason to do anything but relax!! You really take passion in making it that way and it did not go unseen!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book....

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

I enjoyed the peace and quiet and relaxed the whole week. I was able to walk the length of the driveway twice between being a couch potato and playing games. My mind is clear and focused to go back to work. Thank you for providing such a peaceful place to enjoy time with my best friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Thanksgiving Ever

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We were all together here in the Smoky Mountains. The place was beautiful and well decorated. Neat and clean and thick fresh towells. It was a central place to meet my sister, niece and brother. They came from 3 states. The suprise breakfast was a treat and was made from scratch. Coffee was good too. We played board games, talked and slept late in the fresh mountain air. We will come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Accomodations & Hospitality

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Our company rented this home for 2 months while doing a project in Franklin. The house is very nice, clean and well furnished. the lay out was perfect for our situation, with the basement apartment ,our superintendent was able to have separate living arrangements. The owners have been exceptional and so thoughtful. We had a wonderful experience renting from this family and would reccomend this house to anyone visiting the Franklin, NC area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This house was very clean and offered a lot of amenities!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our four children (17, 16, 12, 5) and another couple (who used the downstairs bed/bath/kitchen area). The house is beautiful, well-decorated, and very clean. There were candles burning when we arrived and a breakfast casserole waiting in the fridge for our breakfast the following morning (they may not do that for everyone, depending on their schedules, so don't get your hopes up!) They came over later to welcome us and were so nice and friendly. After that, we didn't see them or hear anything of them even though their home is on the property! The home has everything you could need to cook your own meals--which we did for 8 people for 3 days. There are laundry facilities with detergent and softener. The beds were very comfortable. There are games and movies to enjoy. The porch is screened in with amazing views. The only (tiny) drawback is the long gravel driveway--but don't let that turn you away! We had no trouble finding the house and the daily drive in and out wasn't bad at all. We had a truly relaxing time and honestly felt right at home. We are already checking our calendars for another visit later this fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Absolutely the best vacation experience EVER!!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Myself and my wife and my two teenage sons recently had a vacation stay at Dogwood Ridge and it could not have been more perfect. The owners were extremely considerate and helpful. The location was fabulous and the accommodations were everything we could have hoped for and more. We highly recommend this rental to anyone looking to stay somewhere that is within a short driving distance of many beautiful sights and activities but is secluded and peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of total tourism. A+++++++++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Thanks so much for a lovely stay at your guest house. We really enjoyed the quiet nights and the fresh mountain air. The home was just perfect; very clean and well maintained and the property is just beautiful. We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review