reviews for: listing #88358 - Centerville, Massachusetts House rental

Spectacular Ocean and River Views from every room!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,500 - $6,800 /wk
    $16,000 - $26,000 /mth

sort by:

Nature Preserve atmosphere and views

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

Pictures of this property do not do it justice as it sits on a winding river with beautiful trees, marshes, and bird sanctuary. The large wrap around deck on three sides gives you full ap-
preciation for morning sunrises and evening sunsets with each level (3) providing more and
higher visibility. The owner is a native Cape man, full of stories and love of the area.
We liked so many things with its proximity to Hyannis restaurants and boat rentals, picnics on Craigville Beach right across the street. We loved the fish and produce markets, the large kitchen and living areas are conducive for lively dinners.
We even jumped off the bridge at high tide! Great for kayaking standing or sitting!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words! You are always welcome at our home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place on the Cape

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We love the Centerville area and this home is located in the best area of Centerville.
Walk to the beach!! The house is better than described. Well maintained and beautiful in every way. Bringing a large family is not a problem here. There is plenty of room for everyone. Our Brother came over for diner with his 5 kids and there was plenty of room to entertain. Our favorite room is the 3 season room with it's blue ceiling. Morning coffee on the deck before the active day was a joy. Can't say enough about this place. David offers a great place for our enjoyment. Thank you David

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is wonderful to share our home with such great families. You guys are always welcome! Come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A mix between paradise and serenity by the sea

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

My family of 4 usually rents a time share in Falmouth each year. We love to kayak, bike, visit the beach, and explore. This year we decided to try something new and invite the whole family. Since mom was diagnosed with cancer last year, we realized how important it was to all be together in one house. Surrounded by her husband, three children and spouses, and 6 grandchildren, my mom was able to relax for the first time. The house is immaculate, but even more important is the serenity it offered. We were able to kayak from the yard, bike to town, walk to the beach, and take car trips to nearby towns. Despite my mother's illness and the stress that we encounter in our daily lives, we were all able to let go. I encourage you to rent this home if you are looking for a place where you can embrace the beauty of nature, enjoy the peacefulness the home offers, and reconnect with your family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Susan!
Wow we are so happy for you and your family and glad you enjoyed our home! You are welcome back any time you like. Enjoy the remainder of your summer and call us as soon as you are ready.
All the best,
David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous place to stay!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay! We planned our reunion of our family when our son returned home from his second tour in Afghanistan. We had family come in from Florida, Kentucky and Massachusetts. The panoramic views of the Centerville River and Craigville Beach were incredible! There is a beautiful view from every window in the house! The close access to night life and restaurants in Hyannis was perfect for the twenty year old crowd, while the beach access and walking distance to Four Seas Ice Cream and the 1856 Old Country Store for the young ones gave something to do for everyone! Having direct access to the river for kayaking or fishing was really convenient. You could get lost inside this house with all the well designed staircases and spare rooms of this beautifully kept home. This was the perfect size home for all 10 of us. The music you can play with speakers throughout the house (including out on the huge deck that wraps around most of the house), made it ideal for beanbag toss on the deck. Our son had been thinking of this visit for months while serving our country in Afghanistan and his welcome home reunion was a perfect Cape Cod Getaway exceeding his expectations! We have told others about this place and would definitely come back again! Thank you Dave and Jackie for a wonderful memory!

Owners response: Hey Guys
We are glad to have you and thank you for your service!
God Bless

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family and I rented this house in early June and although we had less than ideal weather (actually a week of mostly rain and chills) we had a great time. From the moment we started speaking to David the owner, we knew we were in for a treat. This house was built with love and large families in mind. It spite of our weather we enjoyed our time taking walks, cooking great meals and relaxing in this beautiful home. It's is in a great location and just a short stroll to the beach. Can't wait to rent again! May be next time we will enjoy some sun on that great deck!!

Owners response: Thanks Barbara!
We are glad you enjoyed yourself even if the sunshine was scarce.... I love how relaxing the house is in a spring rain but come back and you are sure to have sun every day I guarantee it! (Well almost). Seriously, you left our home so clean you are welcome back any time you want!
Have a great year - Hope to see you soon.
David

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect Beach House For Extended Family

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The Centerville house is the only vacation rental that exceeded our expectations (in a positive way). It is a beautiful house in great condition, furnished comfortably for families, and had plenty of room for three generations of children and grandchildren. It is about a block to a great beach and sits up and back from the beach road. My favorite spot was in the back on the wrap around deck, which overlooks a pristinely beautiful tidal estuary. Everyone in the family loved the house and we hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Marie,
We are always glad to hear that you had a great time at the house. And thanks for leaving our home so clean. Please come back next year. We'd love to have you!
Best Regards,
David Jackie Jake & Samantha

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

1112 Craigville Beach Rd MANSION

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I have a family of 10 including 3 children that recently stayed at this beautiful house. There is more than enough room for all of us to stay without feeling cramped. The living room/porch area is a great area to hang out for evening activities and dinner. There are also so many bathrooms, no one is ever in need to find an empty one. It is nice and clean. All basic neccessities are provided, which is nice when you are getting in from a long flight or drive. The views are breathtaking! It is a short walk to Craigville Beach, so we didn't have to pay for parking. We enjoyed several local restaurants in the area, which are a short drive from the house. We also took a ferry to Martha's Vineyard, drove up to see Plymouth Rock and Provincetown, and took a train ride. The location of the house is perfect for beaching it up or traveling! David was very helpful and made sure we didn't have any issues before the stay and during the stay. We definitely plan on staying again next summer and recommend this house for your Cape Cod vacation!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words Brenda. You and your family were a joy to have in or home and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves... But there's so much more to do on Cape Cod! You sure are welcome to return anytime and be sure to tell your friends the Cape is just magnificent in the Fall - Clear crisp sea air and sparkling ocean views! We appreciate you staying with us and hope we see you again real soon!
All the Best,
David

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Heaven on earth

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

These accommodations were to die for. Close to the beach, comfortable, clean, extra large, great kitchen, incredible views. I can't say enough

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Mary,
Thanks for the kind words. You are welcome at our home any time!
Best Regards,
David Jackie, Jake & Samantha

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Big Thank You!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Hi David,

A great big thank you for welcoming us into your beautiful home. It was a spectacular vacation and many great memories were made. I know we have a wonderful group shot and I will make sure we send you a copy of it.

I hope we make our way back to your home again!!

Gail

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best Vacation Ever!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I can't say enough wonderful things about this amazing home and our incredible vacation experience. David (the owner) made us feel like family from the our first email contact. We shared this wonderful home with 3 other families and felt like we still had room for more! A private retreat for everyone including a place for the kids. Meals were a snap in this state of the art kitchen and plenty of tables and chairs for eating and playing games. Our best area was the beautiful sun room and wrap around deck. We left with the best vacation memories ever. Thank you so much for sharing this home; I know we will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderful Cape Escape

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The house, the views and the amenities were fantastic. The owners were easy to deal with and helped make sure our stay was excellent.

I highly recommend this house if you are looking for an upscale vacation on Cape Cod.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Gail
Come back and see us anytime!
David Jake & Jackie

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

David,

I'd like to thank you and your family for the wonderful time we had last week. We were one of the families that vacation together with Gail Nickerson. We all went on houseboat vacations the last 2 years (and several years up at Lake Ossipee, NH before that) but decided to stay local this year. We couldn't have had a better time!

Thanks,
Barry, Maureen (and kids)

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Amazing Space, Perfect Location!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We just finished a week at this home and it was fabulous! The construction feels new and it is well maintained. It has 3 levels and a ground floor bedroom that was perfect for my mom who is elderly. The bedrooms were spacious and the 7 bathrooms were very convenient for our group of 5. The third floor library and living room is more like a comfortable social hall with a huge flat screen t.v. The views of the ocean from the 2nd and 3rd floors were gorgeous and the deck space was a lot of fun and the kitchen was quite serviceable. The house-wide sound system piped music throughout the house. When the weather turned unpleasant we had plenty to do and space to do it in. Of course, the proximity to Craigville Beach was wonderful and the worlds greatest ice cream -- 4 Seas -- was just a short walk away. We are thinking of doing a family reunion here sometime since it would be perfect for that.

Thanks for the great space, David!

David B. and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Memories for a lifetime!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

There are times when you want to pass on memories to your children that will be filled with joy and laughter for a lifetime and finding that location is hard to describe.

But we now have those memories, and it's from staying at this gorgeous Drake home in Centreville!! The kids loved all the recommended spots from the Penny Candy Store, to the beaches, and Four Seas ice cream store. They fished the river, walked the beaches, and skipped rocks in the sound for hours on end.

If you ever get to the Cape, this is the home from which great memories begin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We're from Colorado but came to the Cape as kidsmany years ago - Now we are back with our own children.
Your home was perfect for our families - lots of room, beautiful views and so convenient.
Thank you for sharing it with us and helping us to make memories before our daughter moves off to college in August!
Sincerely,
Nick & Debbie

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing home with us David and family.
Truly amazing slice of the Cape!
Best
The Fishers
Washington, D C

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

1112 Craigville Beach Road will hold a place in our hearts forever. What wonderful multi-generational gatherings we had here. This was the perfect setting for all ages.
Thank you so much. We would love to return some day. You can tell this home was built with love and care!
Fondly,
The Doherety's :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Mr. Drake
Thank you for such a wonderful week! We love your house - Everything is perfect!

We celebrated a 55th Wedding Anniversary. A 50th Birthday and my son's 1st Birthday. All were true celebrations - and your home was the perfect venue!
We can't wait to come back.
Many many thanks
The Keane family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

Dear Mr. Drake
We had an incredible time. Your house is beautiful. Thank you for your kindness - Our stay here has been unforgettable. Count on our prayers!
Sincerely,
Consecrated Ladies of RC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Dear David
Your house is a treasure! We had a spectacular week - 7 adults and 4 kids. If it's available in two years we'd love to reserve a week!
Cheers
Arthur & Tina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a great vacation!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Thanks David our vacation and our celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary were lovely. We loved the views and the house had everything we needed to enjoy a great visit together

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect of our families

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Dear Mr. Drake
We're from Colorado but came to the Cape as kids many years ago. Now we are back with our own children. You home was perfect for our families- lots of room, beautiful views and so convenient to everything.
Thank you for sharing it with us and helping us to make memories before our daughter moves on to college in August!
Sincerely,
Nick & Debbie Bachus

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Amaizing!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Thanks you so much for sharing your home with us David & Family. It is a truly amazing slice of Cape Cod!
Best,
The Fishers
Washington D.C.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

1112 Craigville Beach Road will hold a spot in our hearts forever! What wonderful multi-generational gatherings we had here. This was the perfect setting for all ages.
Thank you so much. We would love to return some day. You can tell this home was built with love and care. :)
Fondly,
The Doherty's

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Mr. Drake.
Thank you for such a wonderful week! We love your house - Everything is perfect!!!

We celebrated our 55th wedding anniversary, a 50th birthday and my son's 1 year birthday! All were true celebrations - and your home was the perfect venue!
We can't wait to come back.
Many Many Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Count on our prayers

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

Dear Mr. Drake.
We had an incredible time. Your home is beautiful. Thanks you for your kindness. Our stay here has been unforgettable.
Count on our prayers!
Sincerely
Consecrated Ladies of RC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House is a Treasure!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Dear David
Your house is a treasure! We had a spectacular week. 7 Adults and 4 kids. What a treat Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well - the Gang is all here!

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Well - the Gang is all here!
Mom and Dad got here with Hays,

Mom cried as soon as she walked in the door, and I think that my Dad and
Puppa George, his brother, are still walking in circles not able to get through how great the house is.
Everyone got settled very quickly and we all had a good laugh when your nephew came by and
Bethany told him to take his shoes off before he came into the house....he had sand on his shoes. The pictures are already too funny, but more so, the pictures of everyone with the vacuum and cleaning are just too funny even for us!
Today we are a bit tired....a little
over served and danced out after the wedding last night, but we are still laughing. We cleaned from top to bottom today, at Bethany's direction, and boy does this house clean up pretty easily!
We are all hanging and watching a movie right now after a big family dinner, compliments of the chef, me! We are all so at home here, even Jay has claimed his own shower and is giving Ray and Rich
alot of shit if they mess it up....he too is a neat freak!
The kids are constantly asking me "Auntie Heather, can you buy this house because it is AWESOME! They love the 3rd floor and for all the adults sake, we love them on the 3rd floor too! My niece and nephew take a run with me on the beach every morning, so peaceful that early, while the rest of the crew slowly awake and we start with cooking, laughing and the memories from the night before!
Attached are some nice shots of the family, immediate family, before we headed out to the wedding. I figured I would share who we are before I send the shots of us being nuts.....
Bethany and I singing with your kitchen utensils welcoming everyone! Puppa George and Puppa Joe obviously give the thumbs up and as you can see.
So just checking in for now. I also attached some pictures of the house I just built in Long Island as I came across them in
Puppa Joe's camera as I was downloading the others....thought you may be interested. Anyway, a ton of pictures already and I am sure many more to come! Lots of laughs and funny moments. Cousin George did a dump run, as well as, Puppa George and Puppa Joe today, so if you speak with your nephew, we

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

David,

Thanks again for everything. I will give you a brief outline of what we did, and will send you the best pics in the next few days.

Arrived Sat around 6pm, explored the house for a couple of hours, put baby and grandma to sleep, and we went to Party in Main Street Hyannis.
Started in Schooners, and moved over to Embargo. Returned home around midnight.

Sunday was a day of rest. Walked to the beach, had great clam chowder soup at the restaurant around the corner and waited for my friend and his family to arrive which was around 7pm. We went shopping for the whole families and were shocked to discover that you can't buy alcohol in Cape Cod in a supermarket; moreover, the package stores were closed (had to consume the corona's that were left in your fridge).

Monday morning we went to Cape Cod Potato Chip tour and then we left to P-town, climbed the Pilgrim's tower, walked a golf course and scenic walking, and climbed a couple of lighthouses. Went back to the house and had a long family dinner.

Tuesday we went to Martha's Vineyard. Though we missed the bus, which caused us to miss the ferry which caused us to miss the tour, we still had a good time. We rented a car and explored the island for about five hours. Then we returned home.

Wednesday was a beach day with perfect weather. We tried fishing, but we were unsuccessful. The beer made up for it; we almost jumped the bridge like the locals but were persuaded by the wives not to.

Thursday we went whale watching. For touring purposes, the whale watching was the highlight of the trip. We embarked in Hyannis port and got to see about 30 whales on a feeding frenzy. The touring guide said it was incredible lucky for us to have seen everything we saw...

Friday we went to the Aquazoo with the kids. Thereafter, we went to the Barnstable Fair. Ate a lot and rode most of the rides. The kids enjoyed these sites tremendously. We even saw a concert by a famous 70s gu y that my friend knew (I forgot his name).

Sat was packing day. On our way back to Boston, we went to Plimoth Plantation and the Mayflower. Quite an enjoyable activity.

In between, we enjoyed the house a lot. We BBQ almost every night and mixed it with ethnic foods from both of our families culture). Marina loved the fireplace in the room and we used it almost every night. The trip allowed us to calmly enjoy our families and nature. It was really a treat to do things on a less hectic schedule.

Thanks again,

- Maurice

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

My stay at this new and beautiful house by the sea on the Centerville river was spectacular. Inside was amazingly comfortable, gorgious, and modern with eveything you need at you fingertips. Out each window was a spectacular view with so much to look at, the river, gulls, egrets, boats, the ocean, as well as beautiful shorelines and homes. I never got bored just taking in the scenes, and it was November !! It takes less than 3 minutes to walk to the beech. I can only imagine how amazing it will be in the warmer seasons. I can't wait to come back to this paradise on the Nantucket Sound. Mark Ryan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

A wonderful Cape Cod experience merely to be in this wonderful house with its magnificent views from every angle Everything provided for a joyful and comfortable lifestyle...a true taste of the essence of theCape

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review