reviews for: listing #88365 - Wells, New York House rental

1800's Lakeside Farmhouse - Views - Kayaks
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Cozy winter perfection!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Everything about our weekend at the farmhouse was idyllic and perfect. The house is beautiful, exquisitely decorated, spotless, and perfectly functional. Everything was clearly labeled, in perfect working order, and was of the upmost quality. We relaxed all weekend long by reading by fire, cooking delicious meals, cozying up to watch movies, walking around the lake, and just enjoying the beautiful snowy winter view. Maura was prompt, clear, and courteous in all of our correspondence. It felt like we were visiting a gracious friend's home--nothing about it felt like a rental property. We would definitely like to come back again and experience different seasons in this charming and peaceful setting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From The Guestbook: "Lot's of Cooking"

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your lovely Farmhouse. We cooked up a storm in the great kitchen next to the fire. Some much desired snowfall came along so we snowshoed up Mt. Sawyer to some awesome views. Thanks for providing them!

We would love to come back to see the area in different seasons.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

This beautiful old farmhouse was my absolute favorite vacation rental ever! It was quiet and serene, the perfect spot to relax and unwind for the week. The house has been beautifully restored, it felt like we were staying in a friend's home rather than a cold hotel room or outdated rental. I look forward to returning next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We're from Virginia and perhaps the best part of our stay was the cool nights (in the 50's) and the chance to sleep with the windows open in August like it was October. Waking up in the master bedroom to a beautiful and peaceful view of the lake is priceless. The only surprise (which can be a plus or minus depending on your perspective) is that the house is not as "remote" as you might assume from the photos. There are close neighbors on both sides of the house and the lake itself has very little undeveloped waterfront property. If you love to hike, this is your place. Every mile or so in both directions offer signs with trails to remote ponds and smaller lakes. We took day trips to Saratoga (for the horse races- 1 hour), Cooperstown (1 hour 45 minutes) and Lake George (less than 1 hour). There is a very cool used bookstore nearby where we stocked up on reading material. Nice relaxing stay-

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

One of the best house we've ever rented. The house is extremely neat, with every single detail carefully though through. Everything about the house is as described. The owners are very responsive and pleasant. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

David and Maura's house is in a beautiful quiet spot. We arrived quite late at night and woke to a very snowy day, spending that day walking through the woods in the snow. The house is lovely - it's spacious, well maintained, warm, everything works and it is very clean. We felt very comfortable in the house and it was a pleasure to be there. We had great fun X country skiing at Lapland nearby, which is a fantastic venue. We also spent some time in the snow at both Gore and Oak Mountains - we were lucky with lots of snow and nice weather. We are sure that the house would be lovely to stay in during the summer and imagine that the area is would not be quite as busy as some other areas. David and Maura were very easy to deal with and we would heartily recommend their house to those who appreciate a lovely place to holiday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One Word: Perfect

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

My parents and I stayed at the Farmhouse for 6 days. We had a terrific time and regretted we did not rent the house longer. It was tough to say goodbye.

While I live in the US, my parents are from France. They made the whole trip from Paris to stay there. Needless to say that the pressure was on for me to find "the perfect place" for their trip. The Farmhouse did not disappoint! It is magnificent, extremely well located, clean (my god!! we loved that), incredibly peaceful and comfortable.

I am a serious cook, so can be pretty demanding when it comes to cooking spaces, but I thoroughly enjoyed cooking there. The views from the counter are beyond magical, especially in the evening as the sun sets.

All amenities were beyond superb. The owners have thought of literally everything one might need: from a great DVD collection, free access to Netflix, excellent internet connection, to a well stocked kitchen, bikes, kayaks, a wonderful gas fireplace, numerous tips on the region, etc. We could not have been happier.

I have rented many houses on HomeAway.com, and am a picky chooser, but must say this was one of my favorites, if not my favorite.

It is an ideal place if you like to contemplate, read, hike/ walk, kayak, enjoy beautiful landscapes and it is easily accessible from Boston/ NYC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

First reaction after a traffic-filled Friday afternoon drive from New York City: wow! Very nice decor, generously-sized kitchen, and ample space in the house. Maura and David are extremely friendly and helpful (for example when the Netflix had a hiccup).

Wells is a great place for a week-long stay with friends or family. My friends and I spent a lot of time swimming, kayaking, reading outside, cooking, and drinking. The town is very small, so the farmhouse would suit visitors who can make their own entertainment. (Saratoga Springs is a nice day trip, about 45mins-1hr drive away; Lake George is a similar distance but less classy!) A great place to chill out and enjoy the calming effects of the great American outdoors.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We loved this house from the pictures and seeing it in person did not disappoint. The upgrades inside the home are great. The beds and living room furniture were very comfortable. The house is located a stone's throw from the lake and the view is amazing.

We had unusually hot weather when we stayed and with the house had AC or more ceiling fans. We have stayed in wells for years and have never had weather that hot so this was unusual and should not deter anyone from renting here.

The owners of the home and quick to respond to questions and phone calls. We highly recommend renting this house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guestbook....

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We love this house! Never want to leave...we've had a great Thanksgiving weekend by the lake, the snowy weather made it magical. Can't wait to come back and explore more soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guestbook....

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

It's not a far drive from New York City, but it's a far cry from New York City!

We really had an incredibly relaxed weekend. Thank you so much for the care you've taken to make the house so special. We did a lot of eating - even BBQ'd on the grill when it was 10 degrees outside. Good food and good friends in the most beautiful farmhouse get-away - couldn't ask for a nicer weekend. Couldn't stop admiring the floors and counter tops. Thank you for creating such an amazing spot :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Farmhous

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

This is the most wonderful house we ever rented. Everything was very clean. We stepped inside and felt home. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and every room was beautifuly furnished. Even the rooms without a photo in the description were very nice. Large Bathrooms, great towels and beddings.
We were here with our 4 year old twins. We hiked every day after having many suggestions from Maura.
Hope to come back soon
Barbara, Germany

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a vacation!

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This farmhouse is a fantastic getaway in the beautiful Adirondacks. The house has been meticulously restored and the grounds are beautiful. The view of the mountain across the lake made me feel like I was looking at a Bob Ross (PBS) painting - it was absolutely stunning. We loved the expansive, clean kitchen and the house felt plenty large enough. We had a great time roasting Smores and grilling out every night. It was a perfect setting for our family of four. The only small drawback was the fact that the house sits on a road that circles the lake that was busier than we expected (not a busy road, just busier than I would have preferred), which made the house feel less remote. Regardless, we would have no reservations about staying here the next time we visit the Adirondacks! Thanks Maura & David for sharing your lovely home with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved It!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Dear Maura and David,

We loved it! I loved going to the Catskills when I was young, my Dad always told me to go to the Adirondacks some day. I am so glad that your place was where I started (and would love to visit again).

The house is stunning. We really felt as if we had lived there for a long time--it felt so "homey". The boys loved fishing in the streams around--and your list of things to do was great. We took a ride out to the cable bridge and then biked the last mile or so, stopping to fish along the way. We caught native brook trout and they were beautiful. We used barbless hooks and returned them unharmed to the streams.

We also tubed down the river. The little ice cream store in town was good, too. We would ride around the lake at night and then stop there for dessert. It is amazing how quiet it is there. In NJ, the cars makes such noise. I didn't realize how much background noise we experience in our NJ towns until we went riding at night in the Adirondacks. My one son, Colin, is a baseball player and he loved hitting balls at the town field.

My oldest one, Connor, kept remarking about the renovation. He just couldn't get over how great a job you guys did (meticulous). We loved it there and are so grateful to have a place like that to rent. We hope that you keep renting to people for lots more years!

Incidentally, you left good advice about closing those lakeside windows during storms. We had one storm and it pelted the front of the house with wind and rain. We were glad we had read your directions about keeping the windows shut on that side. It was fun to watch the rain start on the mountain and then move across the lake!

Thank you again for sharing this with me--but especially my kids. We had such fun!

Sincerely,

Kerri, Colin, Connor from NJ

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

What a fantastic home away from home! David and Maura's farmhouse exceeded my expectations on all levels. I would say that I'm particular and attentive to detail, and never expected to find a rental as nice as this one. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed my time and recommend this to anyone. I could go on and on...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Home with Amazing Views!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

My husband and I rent in the Adirondacks every year, this is by far our favorite home and view! House is immaculate and very charming, lots of little extra household amenities that we much appreciated.

But what had us at Hello was the View the View the View! Just stunning. The master bedroom, kitchen and front yard all have sweeping views of Lake Algonquin and the mountains on the other side.....like in a picture book.

Loved biking down Griffin Road to the river and going for a dip, had a nice hike up Hadley mountain - another really amazing view from there. Kayaking the lake was fun, and lots of reading done in those adirondack chairs. When weather permitted, meals enjoyed on the picnic table overlooking the lake.

We hope to visit this winter as we understand there is great snowshoeing and x country skiing in this area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible and Charming Home....

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

Thank you Maura and David for use of your killer home! This farmhouse is by far the most luxurious accommodations we have experienced in our many trips to the Adirondack mountains. To have a queen bed, nice soft sheets, views everywhere, lots of room in an immaculate "old" and very charming house was a treat.

We spent lots time by the fire drinking in the lake views and watching the ice fisherman, cooked some hearty meals in that amazing kitchen, and chilled at night with lots of NetFlix movies.

The list of hikes was very helpful, we put the snowshoes to good use. The waterfall hike off Rt 30 was easy and quite a dramatic sight with the ice and snow and rushing river. Next year we want to rent snowmobiles to take across the lake....we will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovingly Restored Farm House and What a View!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a long weekend at this stunning house with some friends. We did a lot of snow shoeing across the lake and through the woods and ran into some wild turkeys and deer...FUN! There were car races on the lake and we were able to watch them while drinking our coffee in the kitchen. The views were breathtaking and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations! The owner was a pleasure to work with and we are already making plans to come back this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review