reviews for: listing #88386 - Kanab, Utah Cottage rental

Blueberry Ribbon Cottage - Zion, Bryce, North Grand Canyon
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $98 /nt
    $525 - $574 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Familyof4

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The location was central and we enjoyed the national parks and southern Utah. The house was presentable and Martha was pleasant. But there were quite a few things I didn't like. We found notes all over the house telling us: when to take the garbage out and exactly how to face it at the curb, which towels to use and not to use for our feet and which towels are only for drying dishes, instructions for the washer and drier asking to leave washer door open after using and make sure dryer is completely closed when using or else bulb will remain on (we will be charged for repair). We had trouble finding the place. There was a dilapidated shack at the address when entered at GPS. Thank goodness there was an email telling us the description of the house and it was across Luo's restaurant. The code given to us to unlock the door was wrong. I had to call to get the correct code. We turned on the tv and direct tv subscription was not activated. We had to call again to ask her to activate. Later when we tried to use the tv in the bedroom, same thing. We had to call again. And when we tried to use the wifi. We asked for the code. Took her half a day to respond. Only to find out there was no internet connection. Had to wait until Monday when the provider's office opens. There was a very nice grill at the backyard so we bought some meat for BBQ. We turned on all the burners to high but it never got hot enough. The flame were very weak even at high. We ended up baking our BBQ.

Owners response: We appreciate the feedback. We do provide details for frequently asked questions for guests prior to arrival, with arrival information, and at the property.

There was interruption to services prior to guest arrival due to city street work. The work is complete and all services are working fine.

We will add a charcoal grill as an alternative and guests may select either the gas BBQ or charcoal grill to use.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nice Cottage!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cottage for four days in September and it is indeed a really lovely place. The listing description / photos accurately reflect the rental’s appearance. Equipped with everything you could possibly need. Clean, well maintained property. Well, within walking distance to most anywhere in Kanab (highly recommend Rockin’ V’s for a nice lunch or dinner!). As mentioned in previous reviews it is centrally located to Bryce, Zion and the North Rim. Great communication with the owner and would definitely consider it again if vacationing in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Immaculate, well-equipped, nicely decorated cottage. We enjoyed our week-long stay. The private patio/garden area was a nice addition and gave us the option of outdoor grilling. Would heartily recommend this nice property so conveniently located between Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

perfect experience

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I went to this lovely cottage at July 9 with my family. It is near Zion National Park and North Grand Canyon. After a long driving from Salt Lake City, seeing so much beautiful rocks and mountains, suddenly making a turn along fantastic red mountains, we arrived the Kanab town. The cottage is by the road, easy to be found. It is nice and peacful, having full facilitied kitchen and furniture etc. My mom love its backyard especially. The owner are very helpful and put notes to explain how to use the kitchen, washing machine and dryer, etc, in detail. They asked us what kind of air mattresses we want before we came. They provided convenience for tenant as much as possible, even kindly prepared gift , candies and cookies for us.
My family really enjoy those days we spent in this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved the hammocks!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Blue ribbon for 4 days and we loved that all the attractions were so close bye.(like Zion,Bryce National park)
The house was very clean and had everything on it. Loved especially the hammocks, after a long day, it is so relaxing the lounge in it.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

well-appointed cottage in an odd setting

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a full week (since the rate was so good that way!), to use the cottage as a base for seeing Bryce, Zion, North Rim of the Grand Canyon, and Lake Powell. Each of these places is a 1.5-2 hour drive from Kanab. It is a well-appointed little place in a rather odd setting! (It's located right on the main road, near businesses and an empty lot where locals try to sell used cars!) It's also unclear what the rest of the building is used for, but -other than those oddities- we really liked the cottage itself. Everything works well and seems very new and clean. Martha gave us excellent customer service and was very accessible on the phone. We especially enjoyed walking around Kanab in the mornings and evenings, getting ice cream from "The Three Bears", and having a dinner at Nedra's. We recommend that others take the time to visit Pipe Springs National Monument, a nearby attraction. After the vastness and grandeur of the other national parks, we enjoyed the small-scale, more human focus of Pipe Springs. It is an excellent museum about real life among the Mormon settlers and the Paiute Indians who lived here. We weren't very impressed with the "Little Hollywood" museum in Kanab, but it was interesting to read the markers along the streets, telling about the many movies made there, and the many movie stars who actually spent time in Kanab. I advise other travelers to be prepared for the extreme dryness and heat in southern Utah. This took me by surprise and caused me many unpleasant physical reactions. Make sure you have plenty of water in your car when you're traveling, because there are very few gas stations, homes, or rest stops of any kind for many miles, and if your car breaks down, you'll be in trouble without water on hand! While we were in awe in Zion and Bryce, we really enjoyed Lake Powell and the Grand Canyon. Make sure you take a tour of the Glen Canyon Dam at Lake Powell. It's fascinating and well-done! When we visited Lake Powell, we ate our picnic lunch in a city park in the town of Page, AZ. It was shady and green, and a relief from the stark, rocky landscape we'd come from. We toured the Heritage House in Kanab, and it was another example of a small-scale, informative museum. We were the only tourists there, and we spent a lot of time talking with the docent who knew a lot about the local history. We attended a special Folk-Life Concert which was part of "The Amazing Earthfest", and the local musicians were excellent.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay in Kanab

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We stayed at Blueberry Ribbon Cottage for an entire week in June 2011. Our party consisted of two adults and one baby. We really enjoyed our time in Kanab. After spending several nights in other accommodations (cabins, motels, hotels) before arriving in Kanab it was really great to have the space and privacy the cottage provides. Kanab is an ideal spot for visiting Grand Canyon NP (north rim), Zion NP, the Coyote Buttes (permit needed) or other interesting sites that this area offers.

The Cottage is well equipped with a washing machine and a dryer, which are great if you are travelling with a baby. The kitchen also provided everything we needed to cook our meals.

Everything was also clean and tidy.

We would definitely recommend staying at the Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Blueberry Cottage Kanab, Utah

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

My daughter and I stayed a this cottage while we were volunteering at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary and it worked out perfectly. We had a short drive each morning to the Sanctuary from town into the canyon--beautiful. Our evenings were enjoyed at the cottage, cooking dinner (kitchen was well equiped) playing scrabble and watching an occasional movie. We would definitely stay again and without a doubt recommend it to anyone who is in the area.

Thank You for lots of wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Little Cottage

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

This little cottage is right in the heart of Kanab, walking distance to most places in the town. Quick access, about 2 hours , to most national parks in area.
Cottage is perfect for smaller groups, we were a couple travelling, so it worked out perfectly for us. Clean, well maintained & well stocked cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We greatly appreciate the review and confirmation of website information -- centrally located for visiting the national parks, walking distance to stroll around town or to visit nearby grocery stores and restaurants, and the cottage offers an enjoyable comfortable private place to rest. Town sign posts include the following information on miles to popular destinations (our aproximate nonstop driving time to park entrances): Grand Canyon 80 miles South (1 hr 20 min), Zion 30 miles North West (40 min), Bryce Canyon 77 miles North (1hr 20 min), and Lake Powell area East (1 hr).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Location!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

This is an excellent home base for exploring. Easy access to the Grand Canyon, Zion, Bryce and much more. It's a wonderful, easy place to return to after a day of exploring. Well furnished and comfortable mornings preparing for the day and evenings to relax. The town is friendly walkable and full of any needs that would present during travel. We had a safe, quiet and relaxing experience. The house is furnished for all home needs while traveling. Our agent communicated promptly identifying all requirements and expectations during our stay. I'd highly recommend the property and would love to use it once again as a base sight for further explorations of this wonderful Southwest!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and clean, great value for money!

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

This was our third rental in Kanab and, although the smaller one, it has everything you would want for a couple. The place is neat, well maintained and very clean. Nice kitchen and patio with a lot of privacy. We definitely would rent this one again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blueberry Ribbon Cottage

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

My sister-in-law and I stayed several nights at Blueberry RIbbon Cottage after a last-minute decision to visit Best Friends Animal Sanctuary and of course see Zion and Bryce Canyon. Most people plan their trips well in advance; me, not so much. Blueberry Ribbon Cottage management was extremely helpful in expediting last-minute arrangements and all went very well. I slept on the air mattress and was quite comfortable. The cottage is very clean. In addition to a well-outfitted kitchen and the convenient washer/dryer, there were even some kitchen staples on hand. The cottage is small but cute, well-appointed, and comfortable. Some VRBOs are too large and thereby too expensive for two singles traveling together. I hope to return to volunteer again at Best Friends and definitely will stay at Blueberry Ribbon Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you as a guest again. Family and friends are also welcomed. Blueberry Ribbon Cottage enjoys offering guests from around the world a lovely central place to stay while visiting the scenic wonders of Southern Utah such as Zion, Bryce, and North Grand Canyon National Parks; Best Friends Animal Sanctuary; and other popular areas or events. The cottage is larger than a studio with separate and private rooms (e.g., master bedroom with dual closets, full size kitchen, dining, living, bath & laundry room areas); it has a fully enclosed and spacious patio area for outdoor enjoyment; private parking to accommodate RV and/or Trailer; and is located in the town of Kanab for easy access to grocery stores and restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review