reviews for: listing #88387 - Kanab, Utah House rental

Spectacular Redrock Canyon Resort Home - Zion, Grand Canyon,
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  La Estancia
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $298 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,575 /wk
    $3,800 - $5,200 /mth

sort by:

A nice stay in Kanab

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

My family stayed here for a week while exploring the outdoor activities around Kanab during the day. The house provided the perfect end of the day retreat. It is like new and was comfortable for the four of us. There is a close by club house with a nice outdoor and an indoor pool. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We warmly appreciate our guest's recommendation and review of the property and its location for exploring outdoor activities.

We welcome past and new guests to stay at the Spectacular Redrock Canyon Resort Home. We hope you will make it your home away from home choice. It is a peaceful retreat worth the experience.

Helpful votes: 24 / 26

 

Ideal location/Very Comfortable Home

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

I have stayed at many VRBO homes since when I travel I prefer the ability to cook many of my meals, wash clothing when necessary and be able to allow privacy for others still sleeping when I awaken early. This wonderful home is ideally located for adventures to the North Rim, Zion, Glen Canyon, The Escalante National Monument and Bryce. The kitchen was well-equipped and all of the necessary amenities are provided. There is an available indoor and outdoor pool at the Residential Property Community House, a garage and a fantastic view of the Red Canyon Walls. I highly recommend this home in Kenab as a base for all of the great sights southern Utah offers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of the West

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Spectacular Redrock Canyon was our home base for a week of hiking and exploring Southern Utah and Arizona. The owner's attention to detail was amazing from start to finish and the home's amenities surpassed what they described on paper. The town of Kanab proved to be a great starting point each day for day trips to Bryce, Zion, Lake Powell and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We enlisted the advice of a local guide the first day which helped us feel confident to venture onto "unimproved" area roads and "shortcuts!" Proprietor's of the Willow Canyon Outdoor Store make great coffee, can assist with any gear you may have left behind and really know the area, ask them to suggest a favorite hike! The Rocking V Cafe fed and entertained us one evening and we loved the barbeque at the Cowboy's Smokehouse Cafe in Panguitch another night. The rest of the nights we enjoyed the backyard grill and then a walk to the pool after a long day of hiking. Don't forget to go watch the sunset while standing on the Coral Pink Sand Dunes! Beautiful. Spectacular vacation. Wish we could have stayed another week! Lace up your hiking shoes and head to Kanab!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We found this lovely home to be a perfect location and most comfortable for our visit to the beautiful Utah and Arizona National Parks. The owner thoughtfully provided several nice touches such as a cooler and Ice packs for day trips and generous information about the area and parks. The home was in a very safe and quiet neighborhood which was also quite lovely for evening walks. The kitchen was well provided with all the necessary cooking equipment for our needs. Beds were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms very elegant.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Truly Spectacular!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very clean, modern and well kept home. The large master bedroom and walk in shower made for a pleasant way to start and end our day. We were traveling with another couple and liked the way the master bedroom was separate from the other two bedrooms. The surrounding canyon walls are gorgeous and could be seen from inside the house as well as the two patios. In the mornings and evenings we enjoyed walking around the quiet neighborhood, just soaking up the view. We also spent a few relaxing afternoons in the community pool that we had all to ourselves. Was a great way to rest up from all the sightseeing. Kanab is a good central locaion to visit Grand Canyon's North Rim, Byrce, Zion and Lake Powell. All were breathtaking in their own way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

This home is in a great location for those visiting Zion, Bryce & the North Rim. The house was very nice and clean and had all of the amenities listed. I would definitely recommend this home to adult visitors but perhaps not to those with active children. There were a lot of "rules" which made our children feel somewhat restricted. The home also had white carpets and white towels which were not easy to keep clean since the primary component of the outside atmosphere is red rock/dust. Also, children under the age of 18 were not allowed to be unsupervised either in or out of the house, including the pool area. Our primary reason for renting the house as opposed to a motel/hotel room was so that our children (ages 12 & 16) would have some space to spread their wings in a relatively safe location. Overall, it is a great vacation home conveniently located to a lot of attractions.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Home-base While Exploring with Kids

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our stay in Kanab was lovely. The owner was extremely attentive and detail-oriented. We had no questions that were not answered in advance. No details were not covered. The house was very functional and attractive. It was so great to be able to make breakfast and pack lunches each day for our outdoor adventures. Maybe some people would not want to do laundry during vacation but I really enjoyed being able to get our clothes scrubbed out from the red dust and sweat before packing to leave. We were the only ones in the pool and the gym at the adjacent clubhouse. The kids swam with my husband for hours each day. The town of Kanab is charming with a nice Main Street and good small-town restuarants. We watched a great local 4th of July parade and met many nice people in town. It was an excellent vacation rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seventieth Birthday Party

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Home is even larger and lovelier than it appears in the photos. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed the glorious trails around the home and Kanab. Spending two days at "Best Friends" and a day at Zion is unforgettable experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Wonderful house, clean, spacious, comfortable, many nice extras. Gorgeous red rock views. Perfect location for Zion, Bryce, North Rim, Marble Canyon. Hike, site see all day and come back to a inviting, comfortable, luxury home. Perfect Thanksgiving holiday. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful time in a tranquil and beautiful setting

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We stayed here in early fall and had a wonderful time. I especially enjoyed seeing dawn break over the red rocks of the canyon walls from the comfortable Master bedroom. The views from the kitchen and dining area are also glorious - we ending up cooking at the house every night since it was so pleasant to be there. It was a relaxing stay and a home fun to come back to after exploring Bryce Canyon and other local attractions. My son really liked the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, very near, and was proud of climbing to the top. I recommend going there on weekdays though since they permit ATVs on the dunes. Thanks to the owner for a lovely stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular View

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house was very well appointed, meticulously maintained, generously provisioned and the surrounding countryside beautiful. Plus it was centrally located for our hikes and adventures at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, Zion, and Bryce Canyon National Parks. We especially recommend visiting Bryce Wildlife Adventures. Their museum, just outside of Bryce, has an amazing, professional collection and is a good place to rent bicycles and ATVs. We also recommend Zion Adventure Company as an outfitter for anything you want to do in Zion. They made our hike in the Narrows possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We really appreciate our guest reviews and the information it provides for future guests. There are many scenic places to experience within the day at the national parks and state parks. I would like to share that there are three paved main paths to drive and enjoy in Zion. The most popular paved road is the one visited by many travelers going west to east along the southern part of Zion National Park - it includes a free shuttle service that goes south to north taking hikers along its canyon and river for hikes (ex., the Narrows hiking). Another road, south to north, but not too often traveled is the road from the city of Virgin to Kolob Reservoir and travels into and out of Zion along the way and provides different scenic views and communities -the sign for this is barely noticeable from the highway. There is also a small 5 mile paved road from Hwy 15 into Zion's Kolob Canyons (North Zion and near Cedar City) - very beautiful and worth the drive! The North Grand Canyon has wonderful large meadow areas with forest surrounding them and Bryce is also amazing - we really enjoy visiting these natural wonders and also sharing our lovely home for guests to experience a great vacation - it is a great way to relax and revitalize.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven's Gate

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We had such a wonderful time in Kanab. Your home is delightful, so peaceful and luxurious. It was well appointed and had so many thoughtful extras. There is so much to do near Kanab and your home made it so easy for us to see everything we had planned. It helped that the weather was beautiful, but I am sure we would have loved every minute--even if there were clouds in the sky! I would recommend going into the Ranger Station at Zion Park and signing up for the Ranger Guided Bus Tour up canyon. It was fantastic--and free! Look for it in the Zion paper they give you when you first come into the park. I could not think of a lovlier place to spend a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

We stayed in this lovely home with another family for a week and it was a great central location for the parks, Grand Canyon and Lake Powell. Just like staying in a movie set which in fact the area once was. The house was in very good condition and very generously stocked. Walkable into the town of Kanab, heat not withstanding! Pleasant to see that the photos of the property are exactly what it looks like.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional experience

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We stayed at this property for a week using the location as a home base as we travelled to our daily destinations around the Grand Canyon/ southern Utah area. We generally prefer to rent a condo rather than stay at hotels and this accomodation was perfect for our needs. It was emaculate, well appointed and very comfortable. We have stayed in similar properties in Yellowstone, Kauai and various other major destinations and this property was top notch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

The "crew" and I really enjoyed our stay in Kanab. The owner has is the house prepared for just about everything including the 7 of us. We enjoyed the time at the house and pool as well as it's central location to the many parks, national monuments and Best Friends Sanctuary. This was definitely the best way to see the sights in the area without having to worry about switching hotels multiple times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous home

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

I rent frequently from VRBO and this was by far the cleanest, most well stocked home that I have encountered. The owner has gone above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. I did not need to run to the store last minute to buy supplies because she thought of everything. The home itself is absolutely beautiful and was perfect for our family. This home is centrally located so that you can see many different places and come back to your "home" every night.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kanab Home

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We recently stayed at this beautiful home, and used it as a stepping stone to see some of Southern Utah's attractions.
The home is well appointed and well maintained, and the care of the owner was evident.

It was easy to venture off to see Bryce Canyon, Zion, and Grand Canyon.
Would have no reservations about staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home!! Centrally located.

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

My family and I just returned from a week in this beautiful and spotless property. It is centrally located to all the National Parks, National Monuments and incredible scenery that dominates this area. Kanab is a friendly city and we thoroughly enjoyed our viist. This home is comfortable, clean, and well equipped. It is in a very quiet, peaceful neighborhood of beautiful homes. We would, without a doubt, return to this home for a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying in this beautiful home. It's in a great location, close to downtown Kanab and a great base for day trips to Zion, Bryce, Lake Powell, the North Rim, and Turaweap. The house is beautiful, and the owner has included many lovely, thoughtful little touches. We had absolutely no problem with our deposit as another reviewer wrote; our deposit was refunded promptly, in full.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

Property is very clean and well maintained, near pool and specticular National Parks. Kanab is an interesting community with lots of interesting local history. The views from this property are breath taking. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank-you for the great review and the recommendation.
We are so happy to offer our guests a nice home to enjoy their vacation to visit the spectacular National Parks, Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, Kanab, and surrounding areas. The Canyon & Redrock Cliffs views are beautiful from our vacation home location and offer serenity that we welcome others to experience.

Some popular summer Kanab Events for July/August to visit while staying at our vacation home:
August -- a wonderful 3 day event called Western Legends Roundup that features Kanab's western movie history, crafts, art, food, and other activities. Our own development has a movie set building that was used in the Gunsmoke TV series, and our clubhouse has featured some of the classic western movies and/or dancing.
July -- town parades & activities for Independence Day - 4th of July, and Pioneer Day – July 24th (an Utah state holiday remembering the first Mormon pioneers and other pioneers).

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

GREAT VISIT

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: March 23, 2008

We stayed here for a week in March of '08. The house is beautiful, nicely appointed, and the owner was very helpful in helping us plan our stay. Unlike another reviewer who would not recommend the house for a family with children, we have 2 children and received our deposit back in full. Great location for day trips to Zion and Bryce Canyon and working at Best Friends. We hope to return very soon!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We would like to thank-you for the review and appreciate your nice comments. We do enjoy sharing the vacation home with visitors --it is a central location to major national parks and is the gateway travel location for Southern Utah and Northern Arizona. Our spacious modern day vacation home is located in the northeast area of Kanab, and features amenities like indoor and outdoor pools, clubhouse with weight room, Satellite HDTV, and wireless internet access. It is a few minutes drive to downtown and about 10 minutes (5 miles north) to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary.

In addition to Zion and Bryce Canyon, here are some other examples of wonderful day trips: the Beautiful North Grand Canyon with its scenic meadows leading to the magnificent canyon views; Lake Powell which offers recreational activities like kayaking guides, and boat rentals/tours; and Arizona’s Glen Canyon National Recreation area and vast Navajo Nation; or visits to nearby small towns and cities.

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Positive experience

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

While working in Kanab, I stayed at this house and had a positive experience. The house is completely furnished and is in excellent condition. I used all of the appliances, cooked meals and lived in the house for 3 months, and received my deposit in full. Since this was a new house, I took care to keep it clean, consequently, I found the owner to be very reasonable.
I also used the fitness center/ pool (only 2 houses away) and found the neighbors to be friendly.Kanab is a beautiful place to explore and this house worked well as a home base.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank-you for the review and for selecting our home for your business/work situtation. We enjoy sharing our Spectular Redrock Cliffs vacation home with others visiting Kanab. It is a peaceful and relaxing location with nearby small town features and centrally located to major National Parks and cities/towns.

Please note that we added this past summer some new features which include a new kitchen nook round table and chairs.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Beautiful house, disappointing experience

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The house is as beautiful and comfortable as described. The location was great, both within the town of Kanab and the greater tourist area. However, I felt the owner expected too much and I would not suggest someone stay there with children. Do not leave without having a final inspection with the owner present so you can sign off on her checklist.

I have a well-behaved 11-year-old and was very strict about him being careful of the property. We spent a minimum of time at the house, did not even cook one meal, yet the owner kept part of our deposit to do some painting, said something was broke in the refrigerator and accused us of smoking in one of the bathroom. We absolutely did not smoke and this accusation will keep up from returning as we had planned.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you for the review, we appreciate all feedback. It is a beautiful new house with redrock canyon views that we enjoy sharing with guests from around the world. Excellent central location for visiting the surrounding national parks (ex., Zion, North Grand Canyon, Bryce). We do have a strict no smoking and no pet policy for our property.

Helpful votes: 10 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review