reviews for: listing #88389 - Lake Oconee, Georgia House rental

Lakefront Getaway-Dock,Jacuzzi,52" Hd TV,Firepit, UGA, Wi Fi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $199 /nt
    $949 - $1,250 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

G. Grimes, Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church Men's Fishing Trip

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

This was the perfect fishing getaway for our Men's Group. Only a few of us (6) stayed overnight. We prepared the meals and used the house as our gathering and check-in place for about 20 men from our church to host a day of fishing and fellowship. We left to look for a bigger, deeper part of the lake and found that the best catches were right off the dock in the back of the house.

The house was pleasingly decorated and the kitchen had everything that we needed. I plan to take my family next time and the men want to return next year.

Thanks again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hay Gary,
We are happy you and your friends enjoyed your trip. Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back soon. There will be a discount for return renters. Thank you for choosing our home.
John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at the lake

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

Had a great time during memorial day weekend. The house was very comfortable. Wide open living room/kitchen area. Had difficulties with the WiFi, but shared the next door neighbors connection. Be aware that the dock is shared with the next door neighbor and if more than one boat is tied up it can become an issue. The lake is great and we had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Ben and thanks for the great review. I am glad you and your family had a great time. Thanks for the heads up on the Wi Fi situation. Unfortunately our router went out on us and I had to order a new one. It will be installed June 8th so we should be ready to go. The dock is shared with my neighbor which is on the contract but he does not own a boat. Hope to see you back soon and thank you for choosing our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Spring Break Destination

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at this home. Very easy to find and easily accessible. Great location near our favorite fishing spots on Lake Oconee and the dock was great. House was very clean and furnished with kitchen necessities. Very comfortable and relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Peggy and thank you for your review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed our house. We look forward to having you come back again this summer. Regards, John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lake Oconee Masters Trip

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Hi there, we had a fantastic stay at the lake house. The home is very open and lot's of windows facing the lake. All of the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The kitchen offers all the comforts of home. A nice outdoor grill was put to good use grilling excellent steaks from the nearby Publix market. Plenty of towels and sample size toiletries were very welcome. All in all I would recommend this home to any families or golfers looking for a nice home in the Lake Oconee area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Heinz and thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay for the "Masters" and thank you for choosing our home. We hope to see you and your party again next year. There is a 10% discount on repeat visitors so pass the word.
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

If you need a place to unwind and take in nature and quietness then this is the place to be. The drive leading up to this location is windy and hilly and the roads in great condition. The driveway is lit up at night and it has a side turnabout. Once you approach the front door and enter the house that is when you feel right at home. It has all of the amenities of home with the serenity of mother nature. Go and enjoy relaxing in the hot tub or sit out on the expanded back deck for a beautiful view of Lake Oconee. This place is the perfect get-a-way for a night, weekend or however long you wish to stay. There are not enough stars for me to rate this beautiful home on Lake Oconee!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Bob for the great review. We look forward to you and your family coming back soon. All repeat renters get a 10% discount.
Thanks again, John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Needed to Relax

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

I was looking for a peaceful place to unwind from my hectic life. I am a business owner, so I was really hoping this vacation rental was going to be just what I needed. Indeed it was. It was very clean and very quiet. It was a beautiful property with a beautiful view of the lake. My meals were spent sitting on the deck which overlooked the lake. It was great to get a glass of wine and sit in the hot tub and again, enjoy the view. There were trails through the woods located within 10 min. of the property. Since I am a runner, this was perfect. Although I didn't partake in any of the dining located nearby, there were several places available. The Ritz Carlton is also located very close and if you wanted a spa day, that would have been the perfect place to go. I would definitely recommend this rental. I totally enjoyed my stay. I dealt with both the owner and his daughter, and they were always very helpful. I hope to be able to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sheila for the great review. We do look forward to you coming back for a longer stay. All return renters recieve a 10% discount on there rental fee. Thanks again, John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Labor Day 2013

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Very nice home with beautiful view of the lake. Great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Carolyn, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back at a discounted rate.
John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place on Oconee, owner is friendly, however, does not have Wifi as advertised.

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

My wife and I had a nice getaway at this house. It had ample space for us and had pretty much everything we needed. The only glitch was the internet. The house advertises as having wifi but it truly did not. The house itself does not have wifi, a neighbor has a wireless router that you have to piggyback off of. I could only get a minimal signal by hanging my laptop out of a window. That made doing the little bit of work I had planned to do, such as running my payroll, a problem. Other than that I would recommend the property but I would not continue advertising the wifi until you have your own connection for guests of the house. Lake Oconee is a great place to relax for a few days and we would recommend it to anyone needing some R&R. Recommendations: rent bikes from Typoon Tommys in Cuscowilla and ride the cart path 18 holes around the course/lake. Its a great workout and great way to see some awesome properties on the lake. Rent a boat from Young Harris Watersports at the Waterfront Marina at it was worth it as well. Eat at Bone Island Grill and Gabys at the Ritz.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Mark,Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home. We take great pride to make sure the house is clean, neat and that all our renters have an enjoyable experience.Yes we do advertise Wi-Fi. My neighbor and I decided to share the Wi-Fi and the dock electricity and light. The router is in his house and the electricity for the dock comes from my house. We find this beneficial for both parties. I also explained to you not to put any personal information on the computer because it is shared. Most people use the Wi-Fi to surf the web and play the games. The signal I usually get is pretty good when I use it so we will continue to advertise the Wi-Fi on our site. We look forward to you coming back when you can leave that work at home. Just kick back and relax.Thanks again John.------Just a follow up on this review. As of February 23, 2014 we have our own designated Wi Fi. We had to "Bite The Bullet" purchased and installed a new "Verizon" router so we are good to go. You are always invited back Mark and now you can bring your work!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Excellent Home

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

John,
Thank you so much for the last minute booking of the house. We had a great time playing golf and enjoying the peaceful atmosphere that your home provided. Total relaxation to say the least. We look forward to coming back in the next couple of months to once again take full advantage of what your home and lake Oconee have to offer!

Thanks Again,

Bobby

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Bobby and thank you so much for choosing our home. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward on you coming back and taking advantage of the return renters discount.John

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Collins Family

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We had an excellant time at John's place. We had plenty of room for our party. The weather cooperated excellent, don't know how the owner did that. Hope to come againin in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Stan and thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed the house but I can't take credit for the weather. We hope you and your family come back soon.
John

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My girls and I stayed here and found it to have amazing views very spacious and in a perfect location-

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great review. Please come again, we will leave the light on for you.
John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Masters Home Base

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Property was extremely clean and well maintained. Owner was most helpful in providing information about the area. Neighborhood was quite safe and quiet and peaceful. Property was economically priced and a very good value for what was charged. Hope to return to the area in the future for a longer duration. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice, clean, comfortable vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the great review guys. Please come back soon.
John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home.

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This home is well maintained. Upon entering I felt the warmth and serenity. This place is close to shopping. I would recommend this home to all of my friends. An excellent getaway.
.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Angela for the great review. Please keep us in mind for your next vacation.
John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for...

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had a great time at your lake house! It was very clean and well maintained. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone!

Owners response: Hi Adrian and thanks for the great review. We look forward to you coming back. Please tell your friends.
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Get-away

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Our family needed a place for the weekend on short notice. The Lakefront Property we choose was excatly what we wanted. I don't think we could have found a better place if we had weeks to look.

We were by a dock which was great for fishing. The grocery stores, clothes shopping and movie theatre was a few minutes away~the best of both worlds.

I would recommend this property for anyone with a family.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Please come back soon. Thanks for your great review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Gathering - Wedding To Attend

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

My family came from different parts of the country. Washington state, Arkansas and Flordia. My youngest daughter was getting married. The house and property were beautiful and provided an opportunity for us to spend true quality time together. We used the Jacuzzi, fire pit and played in the yard. Everything was maintained beautifully. I would highly recommend this property and would come again myself!

Owners response: Thanks Donna for the great review. We enjoyed having you and your family stay at our home. Please keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Regards,
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Women's Retreat

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

This is an emaculate & well-kept home. The owner made certain everything was in top-notch condition before our arrival. All questions prior to our arrival were answered promptly. You will love your stay at this beautiful home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Ladies. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are happy that you had a great time. Please come back again soon.
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Lake Weekend

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

John,
I wanted to let you know that we all really enjoyed the weekend at your lake house. The house was just as described and VERY clean. We especially liked the fact that the home offered an open floorplan where we could all be together while cooking, eating or watching television. We enjoyed the back deck and the grill (It was great having a nice grill to cook on!).
On Saturday we rented a pontoon boat from a local Marina and had a blast exploring the lake with the whole family. Just as described the home was close to shopping (Publix Supermarket, Tons of restaurants, etc), it was nice to be able to run out and get anything we needed without being away for too long.
I look forward to coming back again and will happily recommend your home to my family and friends.
Thanks,
Scott

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Scott, Thanks for your review. I am glade you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon.
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Masters getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We are very happy with our stay at this lakefront guesthouse. It was exactly as described on this site. Additionally, it is very clean and the owners could not have been better to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Jeff,
We are glade you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words. If you ever come to the Masters again please keep us in mind.
John and Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

John, Thanks for letting us stay at your home. The listing was accurate. Great house and large deck on back for partying. The house was clean and neat. The owners were very easy to work with and very professional. We would recommend this rental to our friends. Thanks again. Sandy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Sandy,
I'm glade you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come back again and please tell your friends.
Thanks,
John

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the deck and backyard lake access.

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My family and friends enjoyed the stay imensely. The size of house was sufficient and the privacy was most appreciated. The large deck with access to the lake created a nice priviliged ambience. I would definitely return as well as recommend to others. The booking was easy and professional and the contact with owner was comforting and gracious just knowing you were staying in a place that the owners loved.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Marolyn,
We loved having you and your family stay at our home. Keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Regards, John

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My husband and I who live in Atlanta wanted to spend the Christmas holidays with family whom live in Augusta. We picked this house because of the location, amenities and price. We were very happy with our choice. The owners were super nice and easy to work with. The house has a huge back yard and a large deck on the back to view the sunset on the lake. The body spray in the master shower was great and the men loved the big screen T.V. with football and basketball. The house was clean and neat. I would recommend this house for weekly or weekend vacations. Thanks John for allowing us to use your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The overall experience was great!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

The overall experience was great! The listing description was accurate. A beautiful house with great amenities. The Lake view was not deep water (which would have made this an excellent experience), but one could certainly enjoy looking at the inlet that leads out to an angled view of deep water. The owners are wonderful people, and the rental price is appropriate for what you get. Everything was clean, neat and luxurious. I loved the new and modern house with a superb deck for family gatherings, enjoying nature and Lake Oconee. Yes, we will return...my husband and brother (who lives on a bay) were impressed. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Gloria,
My wife and I are happy you enjoyed your stay. The depth of the water at the dock is 5 to 6ft depending on the time of the day. This makes it good for swimming, fishing and boat safety. I look forward having you come back and please tell your friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review