reviews for: listing #88392 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Secret Garden Hideaway in Downtown-Large yard and privacy
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $349 - $525 /nt
    $1,900 - $2,595 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Above & Beyond a Typical Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

The house & surrounding gardens were above & beyond the typical vacation home we've rented previously. Every amenity was provided--including butterflies flitting among the many colorful flowers. It was such a pleasure to return to this peaceful & lovely oasis after a busy day of exploring the sights & attractions of the Santa Barbara area.
Glen & Shirley M., Oro Valley, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Accommodations

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Wonderful place to stay, great accommodations. Thank you for having us here--we had a great time. Came for a family wedding & had a good time site seeing. Great places to eat here in SB. Loved it here! The location was convenient to everything. We appreciate it & hope to return.
The R. Family, Ontario, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Old World Charm

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Your lovely home, in some ways, has a touch of "old world", with all the amenities of our current times. A very good mix I think! My son & one granddaughter were happy t call it "home" for two weeks. It was a convenient location for our many & varied activities.
You have been a pleasure in helping me make the arrangements along the way. Many thanks & good wishes to you & yours for continued success.
Suzanne L., Nashville, TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Garden & Yard

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Your house was an amazing home for us during my son's wedding week! It was absolutely beautiful, the gardens were glorious, the back yard secluded and magical. The children had a safe place to play and loved being there. We all enjoyed our stay and frankly had a hard time leaving. What a memorable time. Thanks for working with us!! My room upstairs was perfect to retreat to and filled with lovely light, and the balcony was stunning, what a view! Thanks again Wendy. I hope to rent "Secret Garden" again sometime.
Cindy H. D., Ann Arbor, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Location; Perfect Set-Up

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

The house was terrific for our family stay. It had everything we needed and was set up perfectly for our configuration - 3 groups of 2 adults and 2 young children who slept on the pullout couch. And the kitchen was a great place for us all to get together and nibble and talk. We even spent the evenings outside under the trellis around the table. Everything worked and there was enough hot water for us all to take showers before we went to my brother's wedding, something we all commented on. And the location was ideal, perfect for a quick trip to Hendry's for breakfast and a walk along the beach, a dinner on the wharf or up to State street for a stroll. Thanks again for the use of the house. Best regards.
David F., Albuquerque, NM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Private & Comfortable

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Wendy,
We had a marvelous time at the Secret Garden Hideaway. Loved that the bedrooms and bathrooms were so private. Very comfortable home with everything we needed.
Thank you again! We had a fabulous time.
Debra M., Los Gatos, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your property in Santa Barbara. We certainly would consider it if we ever returned to the area. I personally would not hesitate to recommend it to other friends and family. The property was very well maintained and like a home from home. Our privacy was respected and on the one opportunity we had to meet the gentleman owner, it was certainly a pleasant experience. Josephine N., UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Much Better than a Hotel!

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

What a wonderful, perfect spot for our Santa Barbara vacation weekend! We are a group of five friends who live all over the country who decided to come to Santa Barbara for a low-key girls' weekend/30th birthday celebration. The house was easy to find, spacious, and had everything and more than what we needed. We loved that we were able to cook in the kitchen, and with five women in the house, it was fantastic to have three bathrooms! We had considered booking a hotel for the weekend, but are now beyond glad we chose to stay at the rental house instead. I would highly recommend this house to others and would certainly stay there again on future trips to Santa Barbara.
Karoline N., Valencia, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming House, Nice Neighborhood

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Charming house. Nice neighborhood with classic bungalow houses, close to downtown. Fun walking! Great attention to all of the details to make our stay comfortable...even really nice amenities in the bathrooms!
Best feature was that all bedrooms are so private and designed so that there is no noise or disturbance.
Cynthia L., Newburyport, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Private & Peaceful

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

The 6 Wisconsinites had a wonderful week topped off with the Sunday Packer win (football on the big screen TV a plus)!!!
The garden area was a great extension for relaxation & visiting. The array of flowers, trees (avocado, lime, oak, mimosa) and birds (especially hummingbirds) was entertaining. It is an area packed with ambiance!
Location to the water, State Street (stores), mission, Highway 101, Botanical Gardens was perfect. Loved the residential feel--
Private & Peaceful!
The K Family, Madison, WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable & Spacious

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

For our daughter's wedding celebration we needed a place for 9 family members plus friends from Seattle. My web search took me to your site, Wendy, and it was very fortuitous. We all had comfortable, spacious places in the house so that we were not tripping over each other and yet we could all congregate in the kitchen comfortably.
We found the lawn furniture and expanded our presence out to the backyard for a lovely outdoor dinner after the wedding rehearsal. Everyone admired the mimosa tree, the avocado tree, and the lime tree--we have none of these in Seattle!
The fans kept us cool--we're glad they were in most of the rooms. We loved your decor and attention to detail. It was a grand weekend!
Pam M., Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Secret Garden Getaway For a Wedding

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the house and property for our stay. With enough room to cook and host the wedding party and used as a jump-off point for the wedding itself. There was more than enough room for Jane and I, our daughter, Madeline, my in-laws and on the night of the wedding, my cousin and his wife. It was a nice location, close to the Mission, downtown and all points in SB. The yard was nice for people to gather and relax and with the adjacent property rented by my sister, we had a nice spot for a family reunion. Once again, Wendy provided us with a great place for a vacation in beautiful Santa Barbara! Thanks from Mick and Jane, North Dakota

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious and Delightful

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This house is spacious and delightful for a vacation. The three separate bed and bath areas worked so well for me and my adult kids. The bedroom at the rear of the house is sheltered and quiet, making it perfect for my grand baby's nap. Good location, quiet neighborhood, well-furnished and well-stocked house. Perfect for us. Would definitely rent this house again.
Roberta H., Sutter Creek, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfortable

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

The house was perfect for a ladies weekend away! It was the perfect size for us, and we all loved how there was shampoo and conditioner for the shower - that usually doesn't happen when you rent a house. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, silverware, etc, and everything seemed really clean. It was very comfortable and cozy, and we had a great time!!!! Thank you!!
Julie G., San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything We Could Ask For

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We had a great time in Santa Barbara and Lily Haven was perfect.
The house was cute, comfortable and clean. Everything we could
ask for.
Kerry W., Liberty, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Like Home

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Santa Barbara. The house has felt just like home and is a perfect location--quiet, near the children's park, within walking distance to downtown Santa Barbara--terrific!
The C Family, Wiltshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Return Again!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

As always, we had a great time in Santa Barbara with the comfort and conveniences that Wendy's properties offer. We have stayed in three of her properties and they have everything you need to make your stay perfect. We will return again.

Many thanks to Wendy and Chuck.

Alejandro and Noemi-Chicago, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful and Comfortable

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

What a wonderful and comfortable home base for our beautiful Santa Barbara adventures. We appreciated the amenities-all so carefully provided. We spent 5 weeks exploring all the beaches and many mountain trails. The location was convenient to everything. Thank you, Wendy and Chuck!
Joyce & Bob H., Rochester, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ten Out of Ten!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

We had such a wonderful week in Santa Barbara and we are sad to leave. Lily Haven is in the perfect spot for a walk to State St., but also really handy to access the freeway. Lily Haven is more of a "Home" than a holiday rental, with the peace and privacy that couldn't be matched in the best hotels that money could buy. I must say we saw more wildlife in the garden of Lily Haven than some of the state parks we have visited, and it is so relaxing.
Many thanks Wendy and Chuck for allowing us to share your wonderful home. TEN OUT OF TEN!!
Jason & Ros J., Hampshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Location & Comfy Beds

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

We had a very enjoyable Christmas vacation. The beds are superb, the rooms nicely appointed, and the location is terrific. We would like to return some day.
The M Family, Arlington, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Thank you for sharing your lovely home! Santa Barbara is so beautiful and we spent hours walking--to the Mission (wonderful!), exploring downtown State Street...Our son and friends are experiencing their first 'sunny' Christmas holidays in 5 years (east coast) and love it!
Susan & Family D, Altadena, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better Than Staying in a Hotel

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Secret Garden HideAway was a fabulous place. The owner Wendy was very helpful and friendly . The house is beautiful both inside and out. I would recommend this place and hopefully in the future stay there again. Location of house near restaurants, downtown Santa Barbara and near highway 101.
Mike W., Chicago, Ill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

"Home away from Home (the way you wish your own home was)"

We spent a week with our young kids (ages 6 and 8) at Lily Haven in October and can't say enough good things about it. It was a great location (a healthy walk to downtown's State Street), a beautiful and relaxing garden setting and a quick drive to a fantastic local beach. The house has a great layout with 3 separate private room/bathrooms. We were sad to leave but are looking forward to visiting again.

Laura M., Scottsdale, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review