reviews for: listing #88432 - Elk Mountain, Pennsylvania Cottage rental

Abby's Lake House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome weekend!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

We we were looking for a place close to Elk Mountain so we could ski and then have a nice place to come back to hang out with family. We had 8 adults and the Lake House accommodated us all with room to spare. It is purely as advertised in all of the other reviews. You really just need to bring food and clothes because Lori and Clay have provided everything else. The kitchen was my favorite room, and not because I cook. It was just sooo cool with the high table and chairs, the thick rustic wooden beams, and the neat assortment of hanging baskets. We ate at the table, I worked from the table and at night we played games at the table. And from the table you had a great view of the lake from two different windows. I could see the summer toys they have in the garage, the kayaks, the sailboat, canoes, and rowboats, and read about the fabulous fishing and would love to bring the family back for some summer fun as well. Oh yeah, and they welcomed our dog to come. BONUS!! Great job Lori and Clay. Thanks so much!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

This rental was fantastic! My family and I were looking for a way to celebrate the end of the school year and this provided the perfect opportunity to do so. The home was rustic and charming. We made full use of the private dock swimming, floating in tubes, using rowboat. It was fantastic. The rental has all the amenities one could ask for. It is fully stocked which made the trip even easier. Lori was more than accomodating as we could not check in until 11PM. We even got lost and she came to meet us and ensure we found way to the rental. She then proceeded to give us full tour of the property even at this late hour. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. We hope to return for longer stay.

John Illingworth

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Abby's Lake House

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We found this property online after looking for homes for rent on a lake.
We made our reservations with Lori and Clay and arrived on May 16, 2011. We were very surprised about how clean and well kept the house was. There was everything imaginable there in the way of household items. We brought some of our own things such as paper towels and kitchen things but never needed them. The Martin's absolutely thought of everything including firewood. When we ran out of firewood we called the Martin's and they brought more firewood over very promptly. The beds were comfortable and the TV's and DVD were also a nice touch. The garage had fishing equipment and things for going out on the lake. I recommend this house for anyone that wants to get away to relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Memorable Memorial Day Weekend...

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Our family had a fantastic stay over the Memorial Day holiday at Abby's Lake House - kudos to Lori and Clay for providing such a collection of amenities and conveniences to make our getaway as seamless and fun-ready as possible. The house is beautifully decorated and has a great rustic feel, but still outfitted with a load of modern life items, like wifi, widescreen HDTV and plenty of distractions for young ones on rainy days (games, toys, puzzles, etc.). Along with the distractions from Mother Nature - we loved watching the birds and occasional squirrel at the feeder, easily visible from the kitchen table window. And not that we had to contend with any miserable weather either - a gorgeous sunny weekend had us fishing from the dock and even taking a couple dips in the lake (some planned and some unplanned!). My youngest is 5 and he was aglow with catching fish right off the dock for at least half of each day; nighttime was spent relaxing and listening to the crickets and bullfrogs and lilt of waterfront harmonies. We truly had a fantastic time, and we are anxious to plan a return soon. We were especially glad to be able to bring our dog, Beau, along with us on a vacation this time. These days, relaxation is harder and harder to come by. Abby's Lake House, with all the space and convenience and gorgeous accommodations, makes it easy as pie. Speaking of pie, while you are staying, head up to the recently reopened Bingham's family restaurant, just a hop up the road, for a yummy slice or two! Perfect vacation time at Abby's and recommend highly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just as advertised

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We rented Abby's Lake House for a ski weekend at Elk. Lori Martin was responsive to my inquiry and was extremely helpful in the week leading up to the rental (she sent e-mails about things to do and weather updates as the forecast called for very cold weather that weekend).

She met us as promised at check-in and went over all the stuff we needed to know. She was very friendly and knowledgable about the area.

The house was perfect for my family of five (Mom, Dad and three young boys). The kitchen is well stocked, lots of workspace, it felt like home. The boys enjoyed playing the Play Station upstairs while we cooked. At night we all played board games which were at the house and then Mom and I watched a movie on the large flat-screen with surround sound (also has an I-Pod docking station which was great). Wi-Fi worked as advertsied.

Beds were good, sheets and linens were clean, lots of clean towels. All great.

The house is on a small country road so you will hear the louder cars as they pass in front of the house. However the volume of cars was something like four an hour, so you are not talking about a lot of traffic.

All-in-All, we loved Abby's Lakehouse and felt that it was exactly as advertised.

Oh, almost forgot, the ski area at Elk is only a 10-12 minute drive. We'll be back for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome family getaway

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We had a great time at Abby's Lake House. Our small family wanted to find a place close to Elk for some post holiday skiing..But everyplace we looked at was too large. The house was a perfect size for family of 4. The cozy county cottage theme is really nice and fits the environment. The house was very clean and had all the needed amenities. We are looking foward to a summer visit. Highly recommend. Unforutnately, I have past along this house recommendation to 3 other families...So our "secret gem" is now unveiled.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place, relaxing time!

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

My family stayed the weekend and had a great time. The kids caught their first fish there without much effort from the dock. The house itself is very nicely country decorated and provides a welcoming "homey" atmosphere. You can tell a lot of thought was put into ensuring guest have a good time...There is something for almost everyone. Games for the kids, canoe, fishing equipment provided, flat screen tv with surround sound, blueray player and a good sampling of movies on hand. We look forward to getting back there again in the future. Nice relaxing getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

We had soo much fun at Abby’s Lake House! We went fishing, canoeing, swimming and so much more. My brother and my mom caught tons of fish. I didn’t fish all that much so I caught zero fish. My dad tipped in the canoe twice. We made a fire and roasted marshmallows 3 times. No matter what we were doing at Abby’s Lake House, we were always having fun! Bye! - Philadelphia, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

This week was very fun to stay at Abby’s Lake House. I enjoyed fishing, kayaking, going on fun trips, lazing around, and just having fun. Will, dad and I did not catch anything when fishing but we still had fun. We went to Steamtown one day. We got a ride on the train. We walked around the museum and went to the Steamtown Mall. Then we walked to the Cooper’s (a fish place) for dinner. We also tried to go to Salt Springs State park but it rained. We also went to Rails-to-Trails by the viaduct. It was so bumpy and hard to ride. Will fell off his bike, so we went back to the car. We went to Lackawanna State Park. It was sunny and a good day to take a hike. We decided to take the Orchard Trail. We took our dog, Porter. He had a lot of fun. The whole family did. On our last day we wanted to do something really fun. The family decided to do the coal mine tour. We got there just in time. We got the last tour of the day. Our guide was named Kyle. He told us all about the mine and its workers. On our way out of our tour we got front row seats. Going out we walked over to the gift shop. I picked out a big blue geode. Will picked out a bunch of rocks. We drove to Mazar’s Bridgeview Restaurant. We had fun out at dinner. But no trains went by on the viaduct. The rest of the week we did stuff around the house. One thing we learned was how to play Racko. So over all, as you can see we had a good week at Abby’s Lake House. I am 9 years old. - Morrisville, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

We were looking for a relaxing place to get away from it all for a few days. We made an excellent choice! The house is beautiful and very clean. The house is stocked with a lot of extras - so no need to panic if you forget anything. We had a great time taking the canoe out on the lake and the fishing was incredible. We were catching fish left and right. Sunnies, blue gill, rock bass, small mouth bass and even a few catfish! Even had a great time watching the birds and squirrels at the feeder right outside the window. If you like wings, you must order from the small general store right up the road from the house! Yum! The owners bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect. It was exactly what we were looking for and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing stay in beautiful lake setting

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

My family recently stayed at the Martin's lake house and it was a wonderful experience. The boys and my husband fished around the clock off the deck and caught sunny's, small mouth bass and even a muskee. They took the canoe out into the lake often and even gave me and the baby to be a ride! I would highly recommend their beautiful cozy, country house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NICE lakehouse on a great fishing lake!

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We come from Arizona every summer to enjoy a few weeks with our extended family in Pennsylvania. Abby's lakehouse was by far the cleanest, nicely upgraded lakehouse we have stayed in nepa. Thoughtfully decorated throughout, flatscreen tvs, garbage bags, spices and even marshmellow forks. All of the beds were comfortable which is very important to our family. There's even a roomy backyard! I would recommend this place to anyone but keep a close watch on younger children around the lake and the cars go a bit fast on the road nearby. Lori was very nice to deal with, and the fishing on acre lake is awesome! My 8 year old son caught more fish then his daddy did. Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our summer vacation at the lakehouse

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

I must say we absolutely loved staying here. The lake and all the ammenities were perfect. The home was just lovely and more than enough space for everyone. I loved the fact that all we really needed was our food. The home is fully equipped with everything needed to enjoy a week or weekend of fun on the water or a bbq. It's a quiet neighborhood with lots of things to do in and around town or just a week of rest. It truly is the perfect little getaway.

The kids and I loved canoeing and kayaking from dawn to dusk. A morning walk and a fresh picked bouquet of wildflowers for the table, I truly felt at home. We will defintely come back and stay not only in the summer, but the winter too.

I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family for summer and winter activities

Thank you so much for your hospitality


Tammy & Nicky

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review