reviews for: listing #88437 - Camano Island, Washington House rental

Private, Elegant Oasis of Full Ocean Views At State Park
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Camano State Park
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $235 - $295 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,950 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Stunning View, Beautiful Home

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

This home is nicely laid out with bedrooms on opposite ends of the house. Spacious living room/dining room with an unforgettable, magical, panoramic view. Beautiful furniture. Very clean. Within walking distance to Camano Island State Park. Nice quiet location. Owner is very good with communication and easy to get a hold of. We would rent again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate having genuine, honorable and respectful people like you in our home and welcome you back any time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: August 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

As I read the previous review about this excellent home, location and owner, all I could think to say is a heartfelt ditto! We would rent again when we are in the area.

Owners response: Thank you again so much for all of your most helpfull communication!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

clean, well-maintained sanctuary

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

We had the best relaxing vacation recently at Randi's property on Camano. What a great location!

My wife and I spent a couple days exploring the beautiful state parks to which we were able to just walk. We had forgotten to bring our Discovery Pass (left it in our smaller car) and by walking there, we saved ourselves the day pass fee...a mere $10. But hey, every bit helps, right?

This very lovely house is quiet and private with a great deck where we were able to watch bunnies play, eagles soar, and fireworks across the water on Whidbey Island without the loud booms that freak out our dog. Our days there were spent exploring the island, the state parks, local farmers markets, and some of the interesting stuff up by Chuckanut. We polished off a flat of amazingly tiny, tender strawberries (from Schuh Farms) in 3 days between the two of us. Our evenings were spent cooking, catching up on reading, playing music, and enjoying the views in the evening light. But most importantly, this was a great place for us to relax and feel restored before heading home. Being surrounded by all the natural beauty helped me remember how incredible the Northwest really is. It was hard to leave.

Thanks, Randi, for making your home available for folks like us!

PS. It was cool to be able to see that tiny island that looks like a surfaced submarine from a different perspective. I'm pretty sure thats the one I've always been looking at from Rosario State Park.

Owners response: Well out of a seemingly endless stream of inquiries for the 4th of July weekend from people who were not the ideal match for me, I was even more thrilled to have found you! You and your 4 legged son were a dream come true, perfect fit for me and my sacred space! By the way, yes....that amazing little island I believe is called "Baby Island"...but don't quote me on it!
Hope to have you all back,
Randi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Randi's Camano Island Paradise

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Randi's place on Camano Island. When you open the front door and walk in, you are immediately faced with a breath-taking, panoramic view. The house is very comfortable, and there is a beautiful view from every window. We enjoyed reading the inspirational quotes Randi has placed around the house, and the decorations, especially the leprechaun, delighted us.

The description regarding the layout,location and amenities is accurate. The property is clean and well-maintained. Randi, the owner, is very courteous and supplied us with great customer service and a list of things to do around the area and places to dine.

This is a perfect place to unwind. The furniture is fabulous and very comfortable. The kitchen is well supplied, and it is easy to make your own meals. The first time we went out onto the wrap-around deck to use the BBQ, we were thrilled to observe a pair of eagles near the house. The tranquil sound of birds, the view of wild-life and the gorgeous setting will put anyone into a relaxed mood.

Randi is very professional, accommodating, and punctual at replying to any inquiry you may have. It was a pleasure getting to know Randi, and we all hope to be able to stay at her home again.

We highly recommend Randi's beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure having such wonderful people staying at my home. From our first conversation I could tell how respectful and appreciative you were and I was hoping your vacation would fulfill all your expectations.
I look forward to someday meeting you at our paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place -- quiet, private, very clean, and fantastic water views

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay and had no complaints. VERY clean, spacious, QUIET, private, and with great water views. The home is wheelchair accessible (my brother, who uses a power chair, had no problems maneuvering around the house and onto the deck). The kitchen is nicely furnished for cooking most meals. The owner was great to work with and easy to communicate with -- very enthusiastic about us staying at her home. The house is only a short walk to the trails of the state park, and not much further to the beach. The pictures of the property were very accurate and not misleading at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Such a pleasure to deal with too and I appreciate your superior communication. Am so thrilled all worked out for your family!
Randi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever !

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful property for 10 days in July. We would have stayed longer if it wasn't already rented!! We had our dog with us and had the perfect vacation here. The owner, Randi, is delightful and so easy to work with. The house is gorgeous and has a spectacular view. It is so quiet and peaceful, you will feel like you are the only people around.

There are tons of things to do close by. Camano State Park is unbelievably beautiful and offers many beautiful hikes and water recreation. We rented a boat close by the house and had a great day on the water. Fresh crab!!!!!! It's also easy to get to Whidbey Island and Seattle from here.

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation, look no further. You will love this property. It's very clean and well maintained. Super if you are traveling with a four-legged friend. You will enjoy endless hours sitting on the huge deck and watching the boats pass by. Great for bird watching also.

We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The home was so blessed to have amazing people like you to love it and even enhance it! Thank you for all you did and for being so honorable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Home, View & Owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We have rented many cabins in the past and this one by far was one of the best.. This vacation, we rented this home for half of our vacation week and rented another home at Mt Baker for the last half. I so regretted not staying at this home the entire week. The home is exceptionally kept up, very clean, and the view is breathtaking. The peace & quiet as well as the cool dry breeze coming off of Puget Sound was just what we needed. The owner, Randi, was the best I have ever dealt with. I really feel she and I have began a long-lasting friendship. She was so receptive to our emails and phone calls during the reservation process and our stay. We will be going back to Washington and I will look no further than this home as long as Randi is the owner. I will plan our trips around the availability of this home. I don't normally give a 5 Star rating because usually there is some room for improvement, but not this one. It is indeed 5 STAR!!!

A. LeBlanc
from SW Louisiana
July, 2013

Owners response: I am the one who was blessed to have had such beautiful and appreciative people cross my path! Look forward to continuing this new friendship!
Randi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Such a wonderful place to stay, and Randi was a joy to work with. We spent Thanksgiving weekend here with our two small kids and another couple, plus our dog (who was in heaven the whole time). The view is stunning, and the open floor plan worked very well for our group. Location near hiking trails is ideal for outdoorsy types, while homebodies will enjoy an afternoon swinging in the hanging basket seats. There's a great playground in the nearby town that our daughter loved, and an excellent coffee house and gift shop.

Although there's plenty of room for parties larger than 4 people, I'd recommend packing sleeping bags, etc. for any additional sleepers. Also, the kitchen is stocked, but missing a few key items for people planning to do a lot of cooking at home (at least, we couldn't find a few of the utensils and such that we needed).

Overall, very happy with our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

camano island

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

A well maintained and beautifully furnished house with breathtaking view of Puget Sound awaited our arrival to Camano Island. Walking trails was easily reached in the surrounding Camano Island State Park, where my daughter enjoyed her boating experience.

An enchanting place to vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Camano Island home near state parks

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We recently enjoyed Christmas weekend at this home with our adult children. Everything was just as advertised....clean and roomy with beautiful ocean views. We especially enjoyed being so close to the state parks for walking and launching our small fishing boat (caught enough crab for dinner and for the freezer!). The owner was accessible and helpful. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet get-away in a beautiful part of the northwest.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate, nicely decorated and gorgeous views of Puget Sound

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Very pleased with this home, compared to others we have rented on Puget Sound in the past 10 years. Owner was very personable with excellent phone and email communication before, during and after our stay. Looking forward to returning in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House near Camano Is. St. Park

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

The owner of this rental for some reason chooses to believe the word of her housekeeper over that of her guests who had no reason to lie about the cleanliness of the house they found on arrival. We phoned the owner soon after we arrived and told her about the sticky kitchen cabinets; the dirty refrigerator (with nail polish in the butter dish); a plugged toilet; the trash left inside in the garage trash can. A list of instructions would have been helpful explaining what certain things were or how to use them. Overall, not a very professionally run rental in our opinion. In spite of this we had a good time for the weather was fantastic.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Property managers beware. The woman who has been cleaning and caring for this home, also has owned her own cleaning business for approximately 20 years and has a stellar reputation. In the opinion of the neighbors (who also check on the home) and the woman who cleans, these renters used this home for more than the amount of people they booked and left it in the worst condition that it has ever been left in. A $500 water filtration system was taken out of the kitchen and left outside on the deck. After they left, they complained that the stereo wasn't working when in fact, it was simply unplugged. They complained that the TV wasn't working when in fact the directions to it were visible and just in the cabinet under it. They complained that there were not enough towels for them , but failed to open the drawers to see there were plenty...unless of course they were having a party and extra people staying. Had they communicated these "issues" with us when they were there, we would have immediately responded to resolve them.
In addition, they were hoping to attempt to get money back, stating they spent most of their time cleaning, when again, the woman who cleans it, had to spend more time cleaning it after these people left, than she ever has! There was an excess of toilet paper found in one of the toilets, that had clogged it. Yes the owner does keep a few SEALED bottles of nail polish in the fridge to preserve them and no one else has ever had a problem with that.
Fortunately, the amount of positive people we have encountered, makes up for one like this!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Like a Symphony for my soul

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

I felt like I was in a fairy tale when I was in this home. There were shooting stars, a rainbow appeared, deer came right up to us and the wild bunnies were more tame than some pets. It was so private, quiet and no houses in site that it was hard to believe the State Park was right down the street. I didn't want to return to reality.
Tim and Jan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Coming from Beverly Hills, we weren't sure if this home would suit us, but we were pleasantly suprised when we discovered that it is actually nicer than the photos made it appear. This touching spot took us away from our hectic lives more than any cruise can compare!
Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to discover another level of relaxation and beauty.
Ester and Al

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

We just stayed at this beautiful home for an extended weekend. The views were amazing. This is a very quiet serene place with abundant wildlife. The owner was very accomodating and we enjoyed our time with our two children and two little dogs. We took many walks into the state park right from this home, enjoyed the tranquil beach and all that Camano Island has to offer. The home was immaculate and comfortable.
Eileen Franz and family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at this gorgeous property enjoying every minute of our stay. The home is beautiful, comfortable, peaceful and very private. The views of Saratoga Passage are amazing from the deck as well as inside the home. We love wildlife and have seen deer, bunnies, bald eagles, squirrels and raccoons. The home is just minutes from Camano Island's State Park where we have enjoyed romantic walks on the beach. For the adventurous, there are many places to enjoy on Camano Island, but most of all, our very special moments of pleasure have been at this wonderful vacation home. The Albee's recommend highly this vacation home away from home, if you are looking for a special place of ecstasy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We were the first people to book this beautiful rental and hope to return soon. We booked it at the last minute over memorial day weekend, even though it wasn't ready, but the owner was very accomodating. The pictures don't do it justice compared to how it feels when you're actually there. It's quiet, private and felt like a second honeymoon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review