reviews for: listing #88458 - Lahaina, Hawaii Townhome rental

Newer Construction Ocean View Puamana 3 Bedroom Townhome
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Puamana
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $320 - $510 /nt
    $2,240 - $3,570 /wk

sort by:

Great location

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

This is a delightful home in an established low density (for Hawai'i beachfront) condo development. We were here for a wedding so we visited several other condos north of Lahaina in the condo stacks. Returning to our condo was such a pleasure, we didn't feel crowded in the condo or outside. Several of the units are owner occupied so it felt like we were in a neighborhood instead of a development.
The beach across the road was calm enough in July for water play with enough surf for boogie boards & surfing. The children's pool is right behind the unit, but it has quiet hours and even with the windows open, it was not a nuisance. There is a privacy fence and a beautiful Plumeria tree which blocked the view and provided a lovely fragrance. The view from the "quiet pool" is very nice.
The condo is well supplied and everything was clean and in working order, and suited our family of 6 very well. The owners communicated with us every step of the way, before and after our stay. It was a pleasure to rent from them and I would be happy to recommend this unit to anyone.
For nearby activities, the Redline Rafting snorkel trip to Molokini is a don't miss. If you would like to try out SUP, call Hawaiian Paddle Sports. They did a private lesson for our family that was a perfect combination of learning about SUP's, Hawai'i and tips for local activities and restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute perfection - ALL the way

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Background: We had my family of 4, my parents and my brother all staying in this place. We never felt cramped, the space was very flexible and we all slept comfortably every night. There are 3 full bath rooms so competition for showers was minimal as well.
I really can't say enough about this place or the owners.
Owners first: Excellent communication, very thoughtful before during AND after our stay. Instructions were easy to understand for checking ourselves in and out at our leisure.
Property: Every VRBO that I have ever stayed at has something it could improve on. I honestly don't have 1 single suggestion for this property. The location is amazing, both being close to Lahaina and the proximity to the pools and such. The rental is immaculate with plenty of bedding, towels, kitchen items, etc. There are plenty of outdoor toys too with beach chairs, boogie board, snorkel gear...We used the charcoal grill a few times. Plenty of patio furniture for spending as much time as possible outside. Shade around back or sun on the side. There is nothing we needed that this rental didn't have. It was perfect for our large group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that our home was comfortable for your family and that it met/exceeded your expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above Expectations!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Mahalo, Guy! Your condo was not like a rental, but you care for it like a home. We had an amazing time in Puamana. A perfect place for our family and friends, a total of 4 kids and 4 adults. We enjoyed the local families that live in Puamana. It is truly the "hidden gem" of Lahaina.
The condo is beautifully decorated and SUPER clean and new! The home is spacious and very comfortable.
Everything is in excellent working order. The pool and beach supplies were plentifly! And the BBQ perfect for our fresh fish. We had everything we needed.
We enjoyed the location of your place. The pool was very close and our favorite beach to swim, paddleboard, and surf was a 30 second walk! Perfect with kids when you constantly need to go back and forth to the house for one thing or another :)
Thanks for everything! See you next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Rental Home on Maui!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

I traveled to Maui with my husband, my mother and father, 2 of my sisters, and my twin nephews. Not only was there plenty of room for our family at this beautiful home, but the accommodations exceeded our expectations of comfort and cleanliness.

You'll find the private beaches, property amenities, groundskeepers, and security guards are all top-notch. The property is conveniently located at the end of Front street - putting old town Lahaina within walking distance.

Miss Lisa, from the Puamana clubhouse, is an absolute sweetheart! She was very informative and friendly. She is the lady to see if you are seeking great local spots. Be sure to ask her about picking fresh mangoes from trees on the property. They are out of this world!

And I have saved the best for last! Guy and Lisa, the homeowners, are fabulous to deal with. They took a genuine interest in our Maui experience. They always made themselves available to me and had plenty of recommendations for activities, attractions, shopping, and restaurants.

We loved our time in Maui. We are looking forward to our return trip to Puamana.

Aloha ;]

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Going to Maui? This is THE place to stay!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

We have rented a lot of vacation homes in the past few years and we have always had such great luck. That being said, this house TOPS THEM ALL! Truly! The location, the pool, the beach – these just simply added to how impressed we are with this wonderful, spotless home. The listing and photos are great but the real-thing is even better.

Our daughter loved the fact that she had the pool at her disposal right outside her own back door. My husband and I loved that we could take a morning run into Lahaina right from the front door. The in-laws loved that they didn`t have to climb stairs (they took the main floor bedroom) and that they could sit out and watch the world go by – so peaceful!

The property is spotless and meticulously well-maintained. The owner of the home was quick to answer any and all questions we had prior to arrival. We even got an email just before arriving with some last-minute details we hadn't even considered. Very helpful!!

We have told so many people about this home. We are already planning to make another journey to Maui and when we do, this will definitely be the place we stay!

Mahalo for an absolutely fantastic vacation home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Back again - Puamana Pardaise!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

Thank you Guy! We had a wonderful time - it was the perfect spot for usagain this year especially with our 7 month old grandson. The proximity ofboth pool and beach and convenience of living in a real home made for acomfortable and stress free holiday. We are already talking about returningagain next year if we can coordinate everyone's schedules. Thank you againfor making your home in paradise available. Mahalo Val

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location - Great value in Puamana

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

This property in Puamana on Maui exceeded our expectations. Before we arrived and even after we returned home, the owner was in constant contact with us providing information and expressing gratitude that we rented from him. The home is in a condomnium-style gated community that has seasonal and full-time residents. The location, while not directly on the beach has access to the beach and a nice pool virtually in the backyard. The beach is visible from the property and a short walk to watch the sunsets and surfers. The owners have done a wonderful job providing the amenities and extras that guests will enjoy including beach chairs and snorkle gear (we added a boogie board to the collection). The TVs and WiFi worked great along with all kitchen amenities, washer and dryer, and air conditioning in each room. We read that the unit was recently remodeled and it shows! We were never in a neighboring unit but cannot imagine that you will find a nicer interior anywhere else in the Puamana complex. Our group included six of us ranging in age from 12 to 69 and we were all comfortable and satisfied. Lahaina is a short walk from this home, but we would recommend a rental car to explore all corners of the island as we did. With the many choices to rent at Puamana, I would have no hesitation returning to this property based on unit location, offerings, and value. A wonderful place where we made great memories. Happy travels!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

No complaints

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

I can highly recommend this condo to anyone. We stayed here with 4 adults and 3 children and were more than satisfied. I really think the description here does not do it justice. The condo has a Hawaii meets Pottery Barn feel to it and is beautifully decorated. All rooms have AC and fans so we never felt the house was too hot to sleep in. It also has all essential equipment as well as some addition items such as beach towels, chairs and some sand and pool toys which were thoroughly enjoyed by us. The kitchen has all essential utensils, although not much beyond that. But it was sufficient for the level of cooking we were doing. The condo is located right by one of the pools, which we enjoyed since our children spent most afternoons in the pool. The ocean is very very close, closer than it appears from the map even, it's unsuitable for young children (which we were aware of prior to booking), but the adults enjoyed swimming there.

The complex is quiet and relaxed, but yet family friendly and feels save. Security was always around and cars drive slowly and carefully. We will definitely try and rent this condo again if/when we return to Maui.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation - group of 7 - 22 - 60 years of age!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We could not have asked for a more perfect place!!! Thanks to our daughter Chelsea for finding this holiday gem. The townhouse comfortably accommodated our group (7 adults).Staying in Puamana you can enjoy the life style of the locals - no tourist traffic, hotel elevators, waiting in restaurants etc. The Puamana beach - is just a hop, skip and a jump from the front door was perfect - quiet and peaceful - we spent many leisurely days there. Having the beach chairs and umbrellas and beach towels was an added bonus. My daughter-in-law is expecting and she really appreciated the convenience of these items. Enjoyed having the 3 TV's with 7 people and men who always had to tune in to catch the sports lol. Air conditioning in every room made life comfortable - everyone could adjust temperatures to their own preference (I like it cold). Bathrooms were great, spacious with blow dryers. Beds were comfortable (well except the pullout couch where my youngest daughter slept - typical of pull out couches - could use a memory foam to soften it - but we were a large group and probably most don't use it). Kitchen was great - we ate in a fair bit and found a few items missing. Would have liked a large tefal frypan for eggs but we managed quite nicely without it. The town of Lahaina is charming. We rented bikes and its just a few minutes to peddle in. We rented 2 vehicles and there was no problem parking a 2nd vehicle. All in all, the accommodation was fantastic! We would recommend this property to friends and family, in fact we already have. We would definately come back. Our stay was memorable and we will look back on our time there with fondness and smiles :).

Thanks to the owners for providing such a beautiful holiday santuary and answering the numerous questions we had.
Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Puamana Vacation Home

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Excellent community for a family vacation! Safe, secure with all the
fun in the sun activities right outside our front door! Stayed 2 glorious
weeks and never left the property week 1. Townhome was comfortable, good layout, great TV and docking station. Kitchen could
be better equiped in regards to cooking utensils, but we got along just
fine. Oh I could have used an iron and board but again got along great without it. Highly reccomond to all as being a wonderful destination for a family vacation.

Melanie Hipszer, Anchorage, Alaska

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying in our new home.

We will take your suggestion to add a couple of utensils and a knife sharpener. Also, the home is equipped with a full size ironing board and iron stored in the master bedroom closet.

Thank you for the review and we are so happy your family had an amazing vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great 3 Bedroom Condo

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Great condo, wonderful location. Easy walk to Lahania to get an "Ono gelato". Lots of nice beaches fairly close, including 2 beaches great for kids. The grounds are well maintained, its great to sit and watch the sunset. The pool is just outside the back door. The condo is very well equipped with body boards, beach chairs, towels, sand toys, everything a family would need. I would recommend this property to everyone. If you go to Maui during whaling season make sure you go whale watching. Maui is a beautiful island with lots to do and staying at this Puamana property just made the vacation perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Destination…Paradise

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Our stay can be described as pure bliss & relaxation, where the feeling of being a local, and not a tourist was the theme. Upon our arrival to the gated community, we simply pulled into our car port and walked to our door. The sound of the waves crashing on the private beach greeted us, as did a lit up house, graciously prepared by the maid service with a note welcoming us to our accommodations.
The decor was luxuriously tropical with a feel of home. The kitchen was full of everyday necessities and the outdoor patio had table and chairs as well as a BBQ. We were able to relax in the living room, listen to waves crash on the beach and watch a slide show of our daily photos on the 50” flat screen TV.
The upstairs rooms were both very large and each had wonderful picturesque views. Each room had individual air conditioning units as well as ceiling fans, which made the rooms very comfortable. Both rooms upstairs had private large bathrooms. The room we stayed in had a walk-in closet with ironing board, which came in handy after unpacking. Another life saver was the new high efficiency stacked washer dryer unit downstairs. Although we did not travel with kids, the downstairs bedroom had two twin beds and a TV…thinking this would be the perfect room for them.
The views throughout the house seemed planned or staged, as if the architect had built the house around them. Although my wife loved the view to the beach, I found myself enjoying the back of the house views, where the stair landing provided an impressive picturesque view of the high country. The giant 8 ft. window framed a stunning view of mountains that seemed to paint itself differently upon every pass.
The community came with all the amenities of a resort, but without the hustle and bustle that the tourist traps bring. Tennis & volley-ball courts, a pool just outside the back door and anther pool ocean side. The club house had a nicely stocked library for the guests, as well as beautiful garden walk-ways.
As for the Beach, a short walk across the grass was all it took to get to the private beach. If it took more than a minute from the front door to water, then you stopped to say hello to someone. (By the way, a few of the local surfers say it has the best break in town) the beach provided an outdoor shower, making for a quick easy clean up before heading back to the house.
Our stay in the town house gave us the feeling of a privileged local, and not just a tourist on an island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect family getaway!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

I got so much praises from my family when everyone was running around checking out their rooms, and even days after that. Everyone agrees that it was such perfect and comfortable home away from home.
The location was perfect because it has the privacy of a home but the luxury of a hotel. What I mean by that is that we rarely see people around. Everyone seemed very relaxed and low-keyed, not at all like what most people think of touristy Lahaina, and yet the town is only about 15 minutes walk away when we want to go. On top of that the accommodation was awesome, everything was meticulously clean and new. Although most of us wish that we'd had wi fi. We didn't mind too much that there was no flat screen in the bedrooms upstairs, because this way we can hear the wave crashing on the beach. We have the lawn to the left of the house that my little infant son enjoyed chasing around the bubbles and it's such safe distance from the water that we didn't have to worry about. The staff was very sweet and warm, everything was perfect.
I can't sing enough praises about this place, and it's only the first time we're using VRBO. The owner was very nice and accommodating to us. Thank you Guy for having us, we love everything about the place and wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have just installed Wi-Fi for the interent and a new flat screen TV in one of the upstairs bedrooms. Thank you for your wonderful review of our home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two weeks in Paradise!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Our family enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing and memorable vacation in this beautifully, newly renovated home in Puamana. It is extremely comfortable and very close to the beach where we swam, surfed and enjoyed magnificent sunsets every evening. Everything in this house is new and it has been decorated in a casual, inviting manner. The patio at the back has an outdoor shower and hose allowing us to rinse off ourselves and our boards with lots of room to leave everything to dry. The owners have thought of everything inside including a very well equipped kitchen and they even supplied laundry detergent, dishwasher liquid and guest soaps. Puamana itself is very private with a gorgeous club house and is very close to Lahaina with lots of restaurants and shopping but is also convenient for traveling to anywhere on the island. The owners were very helpful and prompt in answering all our questions and provided detailed instructions for the property prior to our arrival as well as ensuring that their agent in Maui contacted us and was available throughout our stay. I would highly recommend this property to friends and family and would love to return there on our next trip to Maui!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

We were one of the first guests to stay here and it is spectacular! We figured we couldn't go wrong with a newly constructed home and it was everything we expected and more. The decor is beautiful, views are fantastic and overall a wonderful place to vacation. We've been vacationing at Puamana for several years now so it has become quite a tradition for our family. This particular home however, is the best we've stayed in and we plan to stay here again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay in our home again next year.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review