reviews for: listing #88481 - Estes Park, Colorado Cabin rental

Enchanting 4-BR Cabin on 1-Acre Wooded Lot- Rockies-Wifi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $270 - $310 /nt
    $1,850 - $2,130 /wk
    $7,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

More than wonderful!!

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

The cabin is so cozy that you immediately feel at home. The location was perfect for our couples getaway, secluded but close to Estes Park for all the conveniences. We received over a foot of snow and it was lovely to watch from the wonderful living room views. Jessie made everything so easy and stress free. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Owners response: I'm so glad you had a good time on your winter weekend. We'd love to have you back!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 14, 2014

The most ideal Christmas cabin. Perfect size and layout.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing home!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

This review was written by a guest on Flipkey/TripAdvisor. It was left on 01/06/2014 for a stay in December 2013

We found this home to be everything we were looking for. The decorating made us feel like we were truly experiencing New Mexico.

The kitchen was fully equipped and the bedrooms were warm and comfy. The home was large with lots of seating to watch the large tv or serve a meal. The location could not have been better. It is close to several ski resorts and you can walk to town to shop and eat at all the good restaurants.

The home was very clean and the owner called us on the day of arrival to be sure we had everything we needed.

If you are looking to stay in a great home, this is the one! We are looking forward to next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional Cabin in the Mountains!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

We have an outstanding stay in this beautiful cabin in Allenspark. The spectacular view of the trees, snow and mountains from the den was phenomenal. The cabin was awesome and met our every need. Sitting in front of the fireplace and using the master bath every night took away the months of stress at work. Looking for a place to relax and unwind in the beautiful mountains--this is the place for you. We look forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you found the cabin relaxing. Good for you for using the hot air massage tub in front of the fireplace/TV! Can't wait for you to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place For A Family Gathering

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

This cabin is an amazing place for a family to gather near Estes Park. The warmth and ambiance is very hard to beat. We had 10 people all together and we fit comfortably. It is only about 15 minutes from Estes Park and the Rocky Mt. National Park. The luxury of the master bathroom's bathtub was incredible. We took turns enjoying it. The kids had fun sledding down a nearby hill and I enjoyed taking walks on the road. It provides a great combination of plenty to do within driving distance or just relaxing with a book in the cabin. A great find!

Owners response: So cool that a moose stopped by!, and it snowed for you too! The Rocky Mountains delivered its best!

We are looking forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Cabin

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this charming cabin. Very peaceful & cozy. Lots of room. Decorated nicely. Love the master bathroom & heated floors. Spent time on the porch viewing the beautiful scenery. This cabin had all the amenities you would need. The owner, Jessie is very nice & accomodating. We had a declicous breakfast at Allenspark, about 10 min from cabin. It is called Meadow Mt Cafe. I would recommend this cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful cabin in a great location.

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Have stayed in many cabins. This one is by far the best furnished and decorated. The master bath is equal to that of 3 star hotels that we have stayed at. Great for kids as there are boxes of toys and dress up clothes for them to play with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great escape near Rocky Mountain NP

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Our family of four (2 adults, 10 & 13 yr old kids) had a great 3-night visit to the cabin in July 2013. This was our first stop on a 17 day trip thru the Southwest and it turned out to be one of our favorite places. We ended up doing quite a lot of hiking at Rocky Mountain NP and it was very relaxing to return to the cabin afterwards to enjoy some peace and quiet. The kids enjoyed all the wildlife (including turkeys that wandered by one afternoon) and my wife and I enjoyed having coffee in the morning looking from the deck. My kids also really enjoyed the badminton too. The cabin is located in a secluded spot in Allenspark which is about a 30 min drive south of Estes Park (convenient enough to RMNP but far enough away to be peaceful). The cabin had all the amenities we needed including a full kitchen, plenty of beds, washer/dryer, outdoor patio with gas grill, and TVs. The master bath was updated and is extremely nice (even has a TV for the bathtub). The cabin was clean and well maintained and the owner definitely provided great customer service. If you stay here, I definitely recommend that you purchase groceries on your way since there isn't too much available in Allenspark. All in all, the cabin was everything we hoped it would be and more and we can’t think of anything that could have improved our experience. We would not hesitate one minute to stay here again when we return to RMNP (which I expect we will).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our third time back and we absolutely loved it!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Once again we were so very happy with our stay at the cabin/home. What a true treasure! And my goodness....the new master bath is gorgeous! I felt like I was at a spa! We are already talking about coming back again in 2014.

We also had the opportunity to meet an artisan glassblower that lives nearby. Our car got stuck in the snow and he was so kind to help us out. We did visit his glass shop in Estes Park. His name was Gerry and I can't remember the name of the shop but his work is absolutely beautiful and we plan on purchasing a larger piece of his art next time we come.

Thanks again!
The Robeys from Iowa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cabin. The seven of us had plenty of room, the cabin was clean and inviting, and the location was fabulous. We highly recommend this place to others looking for a secluded and comfortable space. Close to terrific hiking trails, a cute little breakfast place down the road, and within easy driving distance of more populated areas.

Owners response: Hi Julie,

I'm so glad you made note of the location of the cabin -- peaceful and wooded, yet near the rich variety of activities of the Rocky Mountains. I'm also glad you found the Meadow Mountain cafe, a treasure in the village. We welcome you back!.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect mix of quaint and modern!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had in this charming cabin! It is the perfect mix of quaint and modern! Everything you need for a marvelous mountain getaway is here. The kitchen is perfectly equipped & our kids loved the games, movies, toys & dress-up clothes. The recently added bathrooms and outstanding....just beautiful (loved the heated tile floors & the garden tub!)!

We loved the village of Allenspark & wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Owners response: Nicole, It makes us really happy that you enjoyed your experience at the cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, comfortable, charming and really clean!!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

This is an amazing property and a great place for a getaway. I would highly recommend it. I arrived with my sister, her husband and their children, ages 18, 16, and 9. The house is warm, charming and accommodated everyone, providing privacy for all of us. It was decorated in such a way to make it interesting and comfortable. It was clean (I'm a stickler for that.) and ready for us when we arrived and we were thoroughly entertained the entire time. We ate several meals there and the kitchen had everything you needed other than your food. My sister and I sat outside on the deck and enjoyed watching the birds coming to the feeders, visiting and observing God's handiwork around us. One morning 6 deer came right up to the house. Two of the three bathrooms are new and the master bath is extra special with the TV to watch as you are soaking in the jacuzzi tub. My 9-year old niece especially liked that and so enjoyed all the dress-up clothes. She played a long time with them, trying on all of them I think. My 18-year old nephew liked the games and movies that were in the house and had fun deciding what we were going to watch. We all enjoyed the volleyball court and played several times, along with badminton and horseshoes. There were hiking trails close to the property and we availed ourselves of that opportunity. We also enjoyed zip-lining and riding all-terrain vehicles up the mountain trails. The owner of the property had us prepared and sent us all the information we needed prior to our arrival. She made us feel welcome and wanted to ensure our visit was a good one. It is all and more than you would expect or want in a great vacation. This is a great rental property and I do highly recommend it.

Owners response: I'm so glad you took advantage of the beauties of the area. How nice that the deer came to meet you! Since the volleyball court is new, it is good to know your family enjoyed it. When you come back to the mountains, we're there for you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Aspen Mountain Cabin was the perfect location for our Rocky Mountain vacation with our teenagers. This particular trip was very important to us, since our children are launching and leaving and we may not get another big vacation together. The cabin itself was beautiful and secluded. We enjoyed looking out on our private aspen forest from windows on three sides of the "family room." Ours was an active vacation with volleyball games in our backyard when we were home, frequent hiking jaunts, and even a whitewater rafting trip through Rapid Transit in Estes. Back on the subject of the cabin location, we especially enjoyed being able to go hiking nearby (loved Lily Mountain Trail and the falls accessible at Wild Basin) without having to battle traffic and crowds. Of course we were still close enough to Estes to shop and dine when we wanted to, and even took the scenic drive into Boulder one day when the weather in higher elevations prohibited much outdoor activity. Staying for a week gave all of us ample time to adjust to the elevation; then again, no amount of time is enough time for us to explore the mountains and the abundant wildlife. It all ended too soon. Footnote: we really really really wanted to see a moose but snow prevented a trip to the Grand Lake area; so we took one last very slow drive through the Wild Basin area (park entrance to trail head) the night before our departure and God literally answered our prayer with a beautiful Mama moose moving gracefully through the trees. Well, it's back to work in Memphis...elevation 245 ft...I guess I'd rather be in Colorado!

Owners response: A moose -- Yea!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, updated cabin!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

What a beautiful escape from the monotony of daily life! We rented this cabin to surprise my Dad for his 60th birthday and it was terrific!! It was remote enough to feel like a true getaway, but updated with beautiful bathrooms and decor that made us feel right at home. I would recommend this to anyone looking for relaxation and beauty in nature. The owner couldn't have been any more accommodating and friendly.

Owners response: I'm so glad your Dad had a happy 60th!! We love having anniversary and birthday celebrations at the cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best cabin!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We have stayed in vacation rentals in several cities but we have never been as pleased with the home or the owner as we have been here! The cabin is perfect and Jessie has been awesome to rent from. We loved it so much the first time, we came back within a month! We've brought another family each time and the cabin accomodated all of us easily. I've never stayed in a place I would recommend more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jeff,

We love having repeat guests. We're especially honored that you came back twice this Spring!! We want to always be worthy of that.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing time at your cabin. You have done a spectacular job in making it a special place to visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our visit was far too short!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Our family visit to your cabin was far too short. Our grandkids, ages 7, 7, and 5, were thrilled with all of the games, dress up clothes and beautiful surroundings. The setting of the cabin was so beautiful that it was hard to leave to go hiking in Rocky Mountain Natl Park. We will definitely keep this place on our list for future vacations. Thank you for all of your thoughtful touches.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Mountain Escape

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Our trip to the Aspen Mountain Cabin was absolutely wonderful! This was our first experience renting a vacation home, and we couldn't have asked for a better one. If you're thinking about staying at this cabin, stop thinking and book your stay! The cabin has just the right mix of modern and cozy. There were 5 of us during our visit, and we all had plenty of room. The cabin has so much natural light, great views (watching the sunrise over the mountain each morning was beautiful), and all the amenities you could ever need. Jessie was a wonderful host. She prepared us for our stay wonderfully, and gave us great information about the local places to eat and shop, etc. The Meadow Mountain Cafe in Allenspark has friendly people and a breakfast that is out of this world. We also really enjoyed the town of Lyons. It has so many neat restaurants and shops. The St. Vrain Market is also a great place for produce and out of this world sugar cookies and other baked goods. I know we'll be returning to the Aspen Mountain Cabin. I would love to experience each of the seasons from the inviting back deck. This cabin is also a great place for families with young children. The cabin is stocked with toys and games and movies both children and adults can appreciate and enjoy. I would suggest this listing to anyone considering a stay in the Lyons/Estes Park area. You won't regret it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extended Family with kids

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jessie checked into to make sure everything was great. The space was terrific for lots of kids and adults. The outside space was terrific. It was quite, remote and scenic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just a little bit of Heaven!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Aspen Mountain cabin was even more beautiful than I expected it to be! It was perfect in every way. It was clean, roomy, peaceful with a beautiful view. Everything you could possibly need is there for you. The owner has done everything and more possible to make it very comfortable for guests to enjoy.The master bathroom was newly renovated and oh so beautiful! I honestly could have stayed there forever! If you're looking for a little bit of heaven Aspen Mountain is the place to go.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Memorable Time!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Hi Jessie!
I had a computer glitch when I tried to put this review in last June.. So I'm trying again! Thanks again for arranging the stay at the cabin for me and my family.
We had such a great time, once again! The addition you had put on is fantastic! That master bath is decadent - I love it! The weather was great. We grilled steaks one night,, we sat out and stargazed,, saw 3 shooting stars,, There was a wren couple building a nest in one of the bird houses and a chipmunk that entertained us in the morning as we had coffee on the deck. My sister (and I) love your taste in decorating,,, interesting pieces of furniture.. artwork, lighting,, it all just works! You have available just about anything a person would need or want - I saw the dress up clothes for the kids!! How fun! We went into Estes Park and Rocky Mtn. Nat'l Park - so easy to get to.. saw some great scenery and wildlife there. Thanks again,,, I hope your travels have been safe and fun... Until we cross paths again.. Best regards, Jean P.S. Got your great card with the enclosure,, would love to hear about the trip!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another Memorable Time!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Hi!
Just a quick note to say thanks again for arranging the stay at the cabin for me and my family.
We had such a great time, once again! The addition is fantastic! That master bath is decadent - I love it! The weather was great. We grilled steaks one night,, we sat out and star
gazed,, saw 3 shooting stars,, There was a wren couple building a nest in one of the many bird houses and a chipmunk that entertained us,, My sister (and I) love your taste in decorating,,, interesting pieces of furniture.. artwork, lighting,, it all just works! You have available just about anything a person would need or want - I saw the dress-up clothes for the kids!! How fun! We went into Estes Park & Rocky Mtn. Nat'l Park.. easy to get to to and great scenery.
Thanks again,,, Until we cross paths again.. Best regards, Jean

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Well appointed mountain retreat

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Excellent base to relax or explore the many hiking trails in the area. The master bath is extremely luxurious and the sleeping configuration worked well for our group of 6. Wonderful views of the wooded lot and frequent visits from Elk. Would stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sister's weekend at the Aspen Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Can't begin to describe what an absolutely perfect place this is. The cabin is the perfect mix of rustic and modern. The host has thought of everything for your comfort. The views are breathtaking, we were there just as the aspen were changing-unbelievably beautiful. If you're looking for a place to find your inner "anything" this is it! You will love it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

40 Mile Mike

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

The Cabin was awesomb, quaint, homey, and the cleanest I have ever been in. Location is great and close to Estes Park. The description of the bedrooms is confusing as 2 rooms are accessable by going through another bedroom. We did inquire about the road in, as we were on motorcycles and told there would be no problem - the road is not motorcycle friendly, rutted, steep, loose gravel, 2 bikes hit the ground. Owner was great, just did not realize the road if very difficult for cycles. We would come back again and recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cabin is more wonderful than you can imagine!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

This review was posted on Flipkey.com by a recent guest: The cabin was absolutely beautiful and was better than we could have imagined. The pictures just don't do it justice. The 2 new bathrooms are amazing and the jacuzzi tub was a lifesaver after we returned battered and bruised from whitewater rafting. After being gone all day, it was such a joy "coming home" at night to the warmth and comfort of the cabin. There were 8 of us and we were looking for peace and quiet and seclusion and we found it. The cabin was only 15 miles from Estes Park, so it was close enough for all the activities that Estes provides. We can not say enough great things about the cabin and Jessie was so easy to deal with. To stay anywhere else on your Rocky Mountain visit would be denying yourself the best accomodations in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it!!!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We just wanted to thank you again for the opportunity to stay at your cabin. It was the best vacation any of us have ever been on. The cabin was great and the area is absolutely beautiful. We hope we get the opportunity to come back again. I think a fall trip would be amazing sometime. We loved it!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful month in the mountains

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

My husband and I returned to Aspen Mountain Cabin for a month's stay. We found the new additions perfect for our extended family. We loved the peace and quiet the location affords, as well as the beauty of the surroundings. Our grandchildren, ages 16 months to 8 years, were always entertained: multiple outdoor activities, indoor puzzles and games, walks up Rock Creek or to town for breakfast at the Meadow Mountain Cafe, hikes in the RMP, and in Estes -- miniature golf, the rodeo and ice cream! There were fewer deer visiting this year, but we saw a mother turkey with her five babies snacking in the meadow, and of course, the birds and chipmunks were daily visitors!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three great days in the mountains with our children and grandchildren

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at the cabin. It was exactly as described and the setting was very nice. Our grandchildren wanted to take baths often so that they could enjoy the TV while bathing. We loved the homey atmosphere and even though there were twelve of us, we never felt crowded. Our grandkids really enjoyed the dress-up clothes and we had a great time playing some of the games provided. I and my working children really appreciated the WiFI signal. It allowed them to have a vacation, but still take care of necessary business. We drove the short distance to Estes Park and around Rocky Mountain Park and enjoyed walking around Bear Lake. We would certainly recommend the cabin to anyone and would enjoy coming back. The kitchen was well equipped and we loved the "leave and share policy". Jessie was very helpful and answered all of our questions quickly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, Beautiful, Peaceful - everything we wanted

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Our family stayed at Aspen Mountain Cabin in early June and found it to be exactly what we were looking for. The homey cabin is tucked away in a little stand of aspens with mountain views in the distance; there are numerous places to sit outside and take in the natural setting, and the views from inside the cabin are also nice. Everything is neat, clean, and well-maintained; there is room for everyone to gather together or have their own space. We found the cabin to be charming and comfortable.

Located in tiny Allenspark, with its own historic charm, and just minutes from the eclectic town of Lyons, with great little shops, restaurants, and a market, Aspen Mountain Cabin is well located for both solitude and adventure. It's close to Estes Park which is a major tourist area and has an entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park, bustling Boulder and the University of Colorado, and about an hour away from Denver - a must-see is the Denver Botanic Garden.

The owner is easy to work with and extends a genuine welcome to her guests. She seems to have thought of everything to make the stay enjoyable and comfortable. We especially loved the trail notes that she shared from a guest last summer; we relied on it for our own hiking treks (and the hiking was fantastic). Some of the trailheads are even walkable distance from the cabin, and many others are just a few miles away.

We have already recommended this vacation rental to others and will continue to do so. It was a great experience and we look forward to going again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and cozy!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

This was our second time staying here. There is lots of room for everyone, we enjoyed every part of the house, from our morning coffee in the warm sun room to the relaxing evening by the fireplace. The location is great for lots of activities. The newly added bathrooms are wonderful! Will be back!

Owners response: It's so good to have you back. I'm very happy the ladies' retreat was fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Women's Weekend

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

I just returned from a wonderful weekend at this beautiful Mountain Cabin. It was charming, cozy, comfortable, relaxing and inviting. It was all that was promised and more. It was warm and sunny and the perfect place to be on cold windy winter days. We enjoyed some beautiful snow shoes and some cozy fires. The kitchen was well equipped and comfortable to create and enjoy meals for our group of 8. The beds were comfortable and plenty and the space was perfect to gather or to spread out and find quiet moments. We enjoyed the beautiful landscape and woods around the cabin and ate breakfast at the local Mountain Meadow Cafe which was terrific. The owner was delightful, so helpful, kind and responsive to any questions or requests. We couldn't have been happier and hope to gather again very soon at this beautiful mountain home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It makes me so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas in the Mountains...

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We have just returned from spending a picture perfect Christmas at this beautiful, comfortable, simply perfect cabin. The cabin offered us everything we could possibly need from a cozy gathering, to a family celebration. From the games, books and dress up clothes for the kids to the fully stocked kitchen that had everything you could need to cook for a crowd! We enjoyed a fire every night, and slept soundly in the comfy beds..

It was everything we hoped for and more! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy that your Florida Family had a picture perfect Christmas at our cabin in the mountains! It's so nice when plans come together!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cabin In The Rockies!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

We loved the Aspen Mountain Cabin! Needed a few days AWAY and in the Rockies for some peace and quiet and we found it here. Very comfortable cabin with a well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed cooking meals there and using the propane grill. Saw a coyote, deer and even elk in the yard. Allenspark was a quaint little place! Close enough though to the Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park to go explore and shop and dine in good restaurants. The cabin had a wood burning fireplace, but we did not use it since it was not in the TV area. We seemed to sit in the sunroom more and watch football, etc. if we were there. Thank you for the use of the garage for our Jeep. The caretakers said bears had been spotted in the area. We would stay here again when we return to the area. Colorado holds a special place in our hearts. Thank you Jessie for everything including your kindness and hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Our family visit to your cabin was far too short. Our grandkids, ages 7, 7, and 5, were thrilled with all of the games, dress up clothes and beautiful surroundings. The setting of the cabin was so beautiful that it was hard to leave to go hiking in Rocky Mountain Natl Park. We will definitely keep this place on our list for future vacations. Thank you for all of your thoughtful touches. Micki Ferguson=

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Allenspark Treasure

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We decided on short notice to visit Colorado and found this cabin. What a treasure! This place is far enough off the beaten path to feel like you are having an adventure but close to everything. It is charming, cheery and cozy and has all you need for a great time. It is very well-maintained.

We used some of the information provided with the cabin to take a (real) hike in Rocky Mountain National Park and also spent other time driving through the park. One evening we drove into Estes Park for dinner and wondered why traffic had halted. An elk herd was walking through the cars to reach a park where they dined on flowers. We also had fun watching the ground squirrels by the front patio. They like roasted almonds!

I would recommend if you are coming to hike for your first time that you get hiking shoes. I was concerned that perhaps I wasted some money but I was happy to have them and they made the hike easier than wearing gym shoes. Also wear lots of sunscreen. If you are from sea level like us the elevation makes a difference.

I really enjoyed this place where we could enjoy the out of doors and yet have restaurants and shopping nearby. This is a vacation we will remember for all the fun we had. We will definitely return to this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Aspen Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

The cabin was wonderful! We absolutely loved it. Every morning my husband and I had our coffee on the deck and watched the squirrels and chipmunks play... There also was a momma and baby elk that would eat in front of the cabin in the evening and if you got up early enough a large male elk would eat outside the master bedroom.

We definitely will want to come back to your cabin next time we visit the Rockies.



Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful Retreat near Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

We were immediately charmed by the setting -- a log cabin set among numerous aspen trees with a view of the Iron Clad Mountains. The deck and terrace are situated to enjoy the views of the wildflower-strewn meadows and the wildlife that meander there: hummingbirds, deer, elk, woodpeckers. Large windows look out in all directions, so even on days too cool to sit outside, we are "in the woods" in the coziness of the cabin. The interior is furnished in a delightful rustic cabin style, with handmade quilts, looped rugs and baskets as accents. This retreat is perfect for people who want to head out on the numerous nearby hiking trails that lead to glacial lakes, waterfalls, ridges and high points that give way to spectacular views. The accommodations are simple but very comfortable. Although there is no dishwasher, and currently only one bathroom, there is a full size washer and dryer as well as TV and WiFi. The town is low-key with a lot of history. We found the people to be warm and forth-coming with colorful stories and assistance. Walking to the Meadow Mountain Cafe and eating big breakfasts on their front porch is a must. The cabin is 25 minutes from Estes Park (to the north) and 20 minutes from Lyons (east). We often planned grocery shopping in one of those towns to coordinate with our hikes. The two of us rented the cabin, but had our children and grandchildren visit on the weekends. They found much to delight them from indoor activities (numerous puzzles and games provided at the cabin) to the outdoor attractions. The separate bedrooms with dormers allowed for privacy as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Aspen Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Anyone looking for a comfortable, peaceful, and truly beautiful place in which to spend a week or two in the Colorado mountains need look no further. Aspen Mountain Cabin meets all these criteria and more. My family and I have spent a week there in three consecutive years, and we are eagerly anticipating the fourth.

Tom Bolinger

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's wonderful to have you back each year. We try very hard to live up to your confidence in us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

My family of 7 and I stayed at this beautiful cabin for one week in late May of 2011. We all had a wonderful time. The process of securing the house was made easy. We were given written instructions with directions and how to enter the home with phone numbers of a caretaker who lived nearby. The house is just outside of Allenspark on what I would consider a "county" road. The setting of the home was beautiful. It sits on a hillside surrounded by nature in every direction. There are distant neighbors, but not too close to feel intrusive. The extra's in the house made it fun for the kids (dress up clothes, toys, games and movies). The grownups loved the sitting on the deck surrounded by Aspen trees and enjoying the morning and evening visits from the deer. The Mountain Jays visited the bird feeders frequently. We loved spending time in the evenings playing a game while all sitting by the fire making smores. Wood was provided and plentiful. I will seek this house out again when returning to the Estes area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. What you described - s'mores by the fireplace, evenings on the deck viewing wildlife, family fun, peace and seclusion-- That's what we believe our cabin is all about.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular Getaway!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

A beautiful, well-kept cabin in a perfectly picturesque setting. The cabin was stocked with everything one might need and more. Charming and functional, easy to stay in and incredibly hard to leave. We stayed for two nights and quickly became aware that two nights was not nearly long enough. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Rockies, and cannot wait to return ourselves!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear that you had a happy time at the cabin. We think the cabin exists for people to build happy memories. Please do come back so you can enjoy even more

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Really Enjoyed Our Stay.

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We stayed at this beautiful cabin last September. I would have to say the place was a perfect fit: the views, the peacefulness, the accessibility to go horseback riding, fishing, hiking, etc. We had a 5 X 5 bull elk about 40 yards outside the kitchen one morning and heard his bugle last night.
Illinois Dan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Cabin EVER!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

January: "Thanks so much for the opportunity to stay at your awesome cabin! We left Texas hoping for lots of rest, relaxation and fun, but most of all snow! We got it all – what a blessing! Your home played such a big part of our week long stay . . . games, warm cozy fires, peaceful rest, and lots of family laughter and memories. We will cherish the wonderful times we spent here in your cabin and Colorado!
Rocky Mountain National Park was such an awesome experience for all of us – especially the younger kids. The views were breathtaking – bear lake, etc. and what a hidden treasure we found in Hidden Valley—our kids never had so much fun sledding!"
Texas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Making new memories

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

December: Our Christmas was absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed skiing, sledding, and taking our little ones out in the snow. The warm fires at night made for a cozy gathering. We couldn’t have had a better Christmas!

This cabin is very charming. Everything was as advertised. We would definitely recommend this cabin to friends.

Although it is great to explore new places, we will be returning to make more great memories there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the cabin in December. Every season here is beautiful.. I hope you can come back in September when the Aspen trees are shimmering gold.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Thank you so much for the cozy cabin! We kids had a fun time with all the games and movies. During our stay we drove up Trail Ridge Road. Being from Illinois, the mountains amazed us. We hiked around Bear Lake and took a million pictures of Alberta Falls. We loved coming home to a warm fire and making s’mores! We appreciate your hospitality and greatly enjoyed our 1st (but not last) trip to majestic Colorado.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for writing, Matt! I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our cabin.

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of some of the extraordinary beauty of the Rocky Mountain National Park. Come back to enjoy Bierstadt Lake where you will see astounding views of majestic Longs Peak. Or see the Loch which some people say is the prettiest lake in RMNP, and that's just the beginning of picturesque trails.

And, of course, there will always be a hearth for s'mores at the Aspen Mountain Cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

What a delightful place! We were all pleasantly surprised by the coziness of the cabin. It is very comfortably furnished. I had 2 wishes when we came – see animals and a beautiful view. My wishes came true. First morning 5 mule deer grazed just into the trees at the first break of dawn. The next morning four were back and came right up to the back steps. Wow! What a sight! Thank you for thinking of everything. Games, (my, how our girls love the little loft area, rooms, bedding, washer/dryer, comfortable furniture, etc.
Thank you for wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best-est Mountain Cabin Ever!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the cabin last Christmas. The whole family got together! We've been to this cabin before and will come again! We've seen lots of wildlife. Elk, a bobcat (!), an ermine (which looks like a white ferret-googled it!) It's great to have wireless access up here. We had a great time playing games by the fireplace. (great game selection!) Kids loved roasting marshmallows. We laughed and laughed, then tucked ourselves into a warm toasty bed. We used the white and blue room , while our kiddos used the loft beds outside of our room. It was so nice and warm up in the loft after a wonderful crackling fire. Perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review