reviews for: listing #88482 - Marco Island, Florida House rental

1 1/2 blks(3min walk!) to Public Beach!/SoExpHtd Pool-WiFi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Marriott Spa/Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,150 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Marco Island

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Location Was Great. Very Close To The Beach. The House Had Everything You Needed. Nice Heated Pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay! This homes close location to the best beach on Marco is a great escape in March. We look forward to this Guests return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Home

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We traveled with 2 young children (ages 2 and 1) and this house was wonderful with them. It was childproofed in so many ways and had nice childrens amenities for the beach. We were very pleased and will be back. Plus the location of this was fantastic. Wonderful beach access and close to good restaurants.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: For families traveling with young children main priorities are a warm sunny pool and very close easy access to a sandy beach. This house offers both along with the beach toys to go along with it! The wagon provided makes transporting the young ones a breeze and a rolling cooler to pack the picnic lunch makes the package complete!
Thank-you for providing a helpful review for families looking for a great getaway that meets the needs of everyone in the family! Those little ones are only small for a short time - the smiles last forever!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It just keeps getting better!

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Our fifth year at this home and it just keeps getting better. The pool was warmer, weather was warmer, and the new items at the house were fantastic. Went to the beach like always, then usually came home and jumped in the pool before going to one of the many restaurants here. Great house. Hope alot more people get to enjoy this place and this Island. It's almost hard to say that. This place is so perfect we almost want it all to ourselves!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVED EVERYTHING!

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had a fantastic time-We loved everything about this house from the location, to the heated pool, to the bright open floor plan. We sincerely appreciated all of the added amenities which made us feel like we were at home (something that is hard to find). Thanks so much!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Illinois-to a quick trip to Paradise!

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Great Location! Loved the short walk to the spectacular beach - WOW! Walked South and enjoyed drinks and the crabcakes at the Sunset Grille - besides the view of the sunset! Great shells to the North, and enjoyed the wide beaches and firm sand. Ate at the Snook Inn - wonderful Grouper, seafood platters, etc. Got fresh stone crabs, and shrimp at Paradise Seafood Market - Excellent!
Spent the afternoons here at the pool between walks. Very comfortable house! Hope to return soon!
BTW-Weather was great!!- High in mid-70's-mostly sunny!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Suggestions for a great week on Marco Island

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had such a great time at this home(address omitted)! The pool was great! The beach was so close! Thank-you for letting your home be available to lease...we would definitely come back again!
Capt Ron's Jet Ski ---Excellent!
Sunset Cruise on Marco Princess --Excellent!
Tigertail Beach-- :(
Dolphin's Excursion - Excellent!! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 minutes to the beach!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

What a wonderful home to spend our 2 weeks here while attending our nieces wedding! We specifically sought out a home that was walking distance to the beach and this was it! 5 min!
The house is decorated beautifully!....the pool of course was wonderful and the grill cooked up some tasty salmon!
The Marco Island Sunset Dinner Cruise is a Must-do!
Finding shells with the family made for some priceless moments - (2large bags full)
All-in-all a wonderful trip and great accomodations! Now back to Chicago--but back next year!
Thanks for the memories!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Truly it is about a 5 minute walk to the beach. It was so easy to walk over for the sunset, or for a quick play on the beach. The house was spacious, and equipped with all we needed (we did have to go to the grocery store to get daily essentials and food). It was very clean and felt just like being home. The pool was amazing, we used it every single day. We loved watching the lizards play around in the rocks and on the trees.

For activities we did the 3 hour jet ski tour with Capt Ron - excellent. We did the Dolphin Excursion tour - excellent. We also rented jet ski's on our own for 2 hours from Splittin Waves - excellent. Dolphin Tiki Hut was a fun local place for dinner. We got pizza to go from Joey's - excellent. Ice cream from the Chocolate Strawberry for dessert - excellent. Nacho Mama's for lunch one day - it was average. Marco Island Princess Sunset Tour was fun, except we had a huge storm that evening so probably would have been better had it been dry. But the food was excellent.

We actually left the island a couple of days and went to Naples and Ft. Myers to shop, went to the Water Park in Ft. Myers, the Naples Zoo, went to the Naples Beach, also walked around the shops at Ft. Myers beach, hit the outlets, ate at The Dock in Naples - all very nice, easy and quick to get to.

Probably the only thing we didn't enjoy was Tigertail Beach. Walking through the muck to get to that beach wasn't enjoyable at all. It was plain nasty. And the beach itself, not our favorite. Too many shells, too hard to walk on and play on. Wouldn't do that beach again.

We had a great week in Marco Island. Saw lots of dolphin, pelicans, lizards....it was such a great place to visit. Thank you for providing this home for rent. It is just as described, no, even better!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: 1st time Vacation Home Renters will greatly appreciate this review as it is validation of the reliability of this property description. To be remembered as a GREAT Home Away From Home can only promote the warmest of comforts and ideal accomodations for your next vacation to Marco Island.
Along with that, a highly-rated list of suggestions for places to eat, places to go, and activities to experience while on Marco Island is a great asset for 1st time travelers to the area.
We look forward to your return to Marco Island!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice house!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

this is a very clean house located close to the beach. the pool was nice also. just big enough so my husband and i could float around on rafts and soak up the sun. we did have an issue with the tv not working for 2 days. after many phone calls to the rental office it did get resolved, but wasn't exactly how i wanted to be spending the 1st 2 days of vacation. Anyway, marco island is absolutely beautiful and i would definitely go back in a minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: While we make every effort to assure our Guests have everything in excellent working order upon arrival, unexpected issues sometimes occur that are beyond our control. This situation was the result of a programming error with the Cable Company and we encourage Guests to first contact the Cable company direct as they are able to send a reset signal through the phone lines which takes care of many issues. We appreciate the prompt attention given by our Rental Agency to remedy this situation for our Guests although we apologize for the inconvenience they experienced during their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This house is a great value. Very clean and comfortable (we had 4 adults and a 5 year old) with just about any amenity you can think of. We really appreciated having a cupboard of spices and coffee filters. Easy walk to the beach. It took us 6 minutes with a 5 year old. We would return to this house without hesitation.

Owners response: Thank-you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent stay! We look forward to your return trip to Marco Island and are happy to know you would stay with us again. Your confirmation of this homes ideal location is so helpful for other families traveling with children who truly want a close location to the beautiful Marco Island beach. 6 minutes is PERFECT for small children and adults too!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of our Favorite Returning Guests...

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

"We have always come back to this house because it is the best on the Island, perfect location, perfect pool, and perfect size. This year has been a great year like the previous 4 years. Sun has been shining and temperature has been perfect. We went to Stan's again on Sunday. Stan's is recommended for anyone who likes to have fun and meet new people. The pool was great, it was basically like a big hot tub. Don't miss home. But we have to go."

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Sweden to SUNSHINE...

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

WONDERFUL HOUSE - GREAT POOL - PERFECT LOCATION - FINE RESTAURANTS - DIRECT ACCESS TO THE BEACH
Only problem...Time went too fast!! We will come back to Marco.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Clean great location

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

great location, house was very clean, beach toys nice for kids, although the wagon was great to have could use some wd40 on the wheels. Only 1 soap and toilet paper provided you'll need to purchase paper towels etc. But nice to have so many soft fluffy towels esp w kids. Garage door opener remote didn't work which would have been good to have. Overall house was as advertised and we would rent again

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: A "great location" to the nicest public beach access on Marco Island is a rare "find" on Marco Island due to the fact that most "close to the beach" properties are in fact condos or hotel properties. Having all the amenities a Rental home provides, including your own private heated pool, adds to the appeal of a great vacation. Many boast a close location to the beach but this home is truly a 3 minute walk for most people - so important when families with small children may be "trekking back and forth". We provide a wagon and rolling cooler to tote the important beach essentials. Sand and salt water certainly can wear on wagon wheels and a little WD-40 no doubt is needed from time to time.
We have scheduled a replacement of the entire Garage Door opener and we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the remote not working for these Guests. We try to maintain this property as we would like to have it presented if we were the Guests ourselves. We appreciate this being brought to our attention so we could address it promptly.
It's always the best of compliments when a Guest indicates their desire to return to this home. We look forward to your return as well!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Thanksgiving Vacation

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

This was our first time in Marco Island so we didnt know what to expect especially with the location and beach access. Well, we couldnt have made a better choice! Your home was perfect for our family.
Walking to the beach was a breeze! The beach was absolutely beautiful and we cant wait to come again to search for more sand dollars. My boys (17, 14, 12) loved the pool. We definately would rent your home again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad your first trip to Marco Island was a memorable experience for your family! We hope you will be able to return again soon as there are so many things to enjoy on the Island. Along with the ideal location to the beach, this house provides a great opportunity for a fantastic vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

g

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

great house, good location, but, needs a safety kid's fence around the
pool, an extra couch in family room, more silverware and glasses, and
ceiling fans on guest's rooms, my family and I had a good time in this
house, I do recommended and we probably go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Loved It.

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We stayed over the 4th of July week. Absolutely loved the home, location, and the inground pool. If we were not at the ocean we were in the pool (kids ages 15, 10 and 8). The fireworks on the ocean were spectacular and we only had one day that was completely washed out...so we went shopping and to a movie. We would rent this property again without hesitation. Marco Island is beautiful, clean and safe.

The only thing I would say that turned us off was that the cleaning person left a lot of long hairs all over the floors (probably from the previous renter). So, for the first few days when we walked around it got on our feet. I noticed in the garage that the mop that may have been used was covered with this same type of hair. Pretty yucky.

Overall, this is an excellent place to stay on Marco Island. Very easy and short access to one of the most beautiful beaches.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: "We would rent this property again without hesitation"...As Owners, this is the best compliment we could receive! A wonderful summer vacation filled with "fun in the sun and water" along with a spectacular oceanview fireworks display on the 4th of July was nicely described by this family in their review.

We utilize a reputable and hardworking cleaning team to thoroughly clean and prepare this home for each new guests' arrival. Although peak reservation times could at times pose a challenge, we appreciate our guests notifying us if any situation deemed undesireable occurs so that we may address it appropriately and as quickly as possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My family of 4 stayed here the week of June 4th, 2011. The house was easy to find and the instructions to pick up the key well defined. We really liked having a garage door opener, as well! The location of the house was exceptional. The description of the distance to the beach was not exaggerated......it truly is a 2-3 minute walk. The beach is beautiful with fine, soft, white sand. We appreciated having the rolling cooler to bring our belongings and also appreciated the beach chairs and umbrella! The layout of the house was nice and adequate in space. It would be nice to have a bit more seating in the T.V room, though. The pool was nice and clean. We paid to heat it which was a very comfortable temp. Our kids (10 and 15) loved the ability to just walk outside and enjoy the pool. We were a bit surprised that we were left with one roll of toilet paper in each bathroom, no paper towels, garbage bags or laundry soap. We have stayed in numerous vacation homes and these items were provided for our stay. It would be nice if a broom was provided as sand builds up in the house. The bed in the master bedroom felt like it had seen better days. It was like sleeping in a hammock. I do realize that this can be subjective, though. The house had nice updates,but seemed to need a deep cleaning. I wonder if some of the floors were even vacuumed before our stay as we saw food on the carpet. I am not sure if the house has a routine exterminator schedule, but, that would be a suggestion, as well. We had wonderful weather and found Marco Island beautiful and easy to get around. We are very happy that we were able to experience the beautiful island!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Experiencing Marco Island in June can be a wonderful vacation as this family has related. Warm sunny weather along with validating the description of the easy 2-3 minute walk to the beach provides the “best of both worlds” for families looking for ocean fun coupled with a private home with a great pool to also enjoy!
It is helpful for us to also receive suggestions from past guests so that we can continually strive to provide a vacation home future guests will enjoy experiencing.
This home has recently been completely renovated and new beds including mattresses, box springs and frames were purchased for all bedrooms. The Master suite has a luxurious pillow top set which although is only a couple years old is going to be replaced in June (2011) since we are discovering the pillow top style does not seem to hold up well as this guest has expressed.
We have a professional exterminating company routinely treat our home and landscape on a regular scheduled basis, however in the warm tropical areas, like Florida, especially in the summertime, we may need to increase our regular treatments. We are addressing this issue immediately.
We utilize a professional cleaning crew to make the accommodations “just right” for our guests’ arrival and we have addressed the concerns from this review with our rental agency. It is our ultimate desire to provide an inviting home ready for your arrival and anything less than 100% is not acceptable.
Supplies that will be provided to guests are provided on a list ahead of time so that guests will know what to expect when they arrive. Our rental agency cares for a number of properties on Marco Island and provides the same paper products/supplies for each property.
We appreciate all reviews submitted by previous guests as reviews such as this are so helpful for future travelers to the area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great beach location

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Our stay was great. The location near the beach was wonderful. You supplying the wagon,cooler, and umbrella was a great help. We had a barbecue while the kids played in the pool. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Along with an ideal location - truly a 3 minute walk to the beach, we have included the necessary items to make your day at the beach a breeze! Don't worry about bringing anything more than your swimsuit, sunscreen and camera; Oh, and a beverage to quench your thirst!
Come back to your vacation home to relax poolside with the bbq ready for your use....and call it a "day well spent"!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Marco Island Home

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This property was perfect for our vacation. My wife and I used this home with 2 college age and 2 high school girls. The house was clean, in a great location and a perfect size. The house is located about 2 blocks from a great beach and the owners provided beach chairs, umbrellas and a rolling cooler. The pool was a nice size. We chose to heat it for a reasonable cost. The master bedroom was on the opposite side of the house from the girls and the family room, so they could stay up late without disturbing us. Nearby hotels offered parasailing and jet ski rentals.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Family vacations are a priceless opportunity for cherished memories. However, as this recent guest highlights, the layout of this home also provides valuable areas for private time - also important for a great vacation. A perfect layout for families with children, or 2 families traveling together, this home allows for ample opportunity to "gather together" at the pool or Entertainment Room and Kitchen, along with providing places to just enjoy quiet time with a book, or catch up on some well needed rest.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Another fantastic time.

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

It's Bobby P. from Chicago again. You thought I was kidding on my last review? This is the house for us. It really does feel like we're coming home when we cross the Jolley bridge, enter Marco Island and walk into the front door of this house. Another great time in Marco, this time with our 2 year old daughter and Mom too! We had a wonderful time in the pool and walking to the beach every single day - at lunch time and sunset. This house is so close to the beach that my 70 year old mom (with a bad back) couldn't help but walk with us everytime. It's really that close to the beach path and so beautiful of a place. I was really happy to see everything as we left it! Now I know others have stayed in the house since the last time we were there, but it doesn't feel like that. There was even a bike in the garage this time. You can tell the people that stay here really do take on a little bit of "ownership" themselves and leave things behind to enjoy on future trips (as well as for others to enjoy) - because like us, they know they'll be back.
Walk down to the the Hilton or Marriot for lunch and have a drink with your honey - you can eat, look at the ocean and beach, have a nice drink. It's paradise. And, again, you couldn't ask for a more accomodating and helpful owner, who's ready to help in any way. Thanks Sherry - We'll be back at our house (oops, your house) very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: A great family vacation is one that leaves all travelers with wonderful memories and ideally the thought, "we can't wait to go back!" As Owners, that is the greatest compliment when previous guests come back to a place that they feel they can call "home".

We greatly appreciate our Guests who have enjoyed their stay and also left items for future guests to enjoy such as the bicycle given by another return family. Our thanks to all who have stayed with us in the past and share the desire in creating that 'Home Away From Home' feel!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding weekend in Marco Island

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

This property was adorable. The listing description and pictures were completely reflective of how nice this property is. It was clean, well maintained, nicely decorated and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The pool was crystal clean. It is walking distance to just about anything you need..beaches, stores, restaurants. Marco Island is beautiful...safe...clean...friendly. This was our first trip to Marco Island and we would definitely go back and I would rent this property again. Thank you so much for making this very important week so memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As weddings and other special occasions can be filled with an overload of "not-to-be-forgotten" things to do and remember, it's wonderful that the accomodations were one of the "stress-free" parts of the occassion! This home is ideally located within walking distance to the Marriott Spa/Resort which can make it the perfect alternative to a hotel stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect slice of Paradise!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

"Our week was a perfect slice of paradise! Thanks for the wonderful accomadations!"

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

"We truly enjoyed this beautiful house and the girls had a wonderful time in the pool.
I wished we could have stayed longer!
Love the cleanliness, and the comfort of this house. The beds felt like we were sleeping on top of a cloud!
We'll be back."

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th of July on Marco Island!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

"Love the location of this house to the Gulf. The beach is beautiful and we espcially enjoyed the fireworks onthe 4th on the beach.
We spent a lot of time in the pool and ate all of our meals outside on the lanai.
Wonderful house and wonderful 1st experience on Marco Island!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Mom and the Girls -

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

"A mother and her 3 married daughters spent a wonderful time here. We truly enjoyed this place. The wagon with all its very useful content of chairs, lounges and cooler was greatly appreciated. also the spices and and other cooking stuff came quite handy".

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week in the Sun & Sand

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

"Arrived in the rain but it was short lived. We had a great week in the sun & sand. a typical Marco trip for us (year 7). The house was beautiful - my son loved the pool. (We appreciated that it was heated!) It's always hard to go but we will be back.
Thanks for letting us stay in your home. :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

What a slice of heaven! We all enjoyed our Spring Breaks here! Some a break from work, some a break from school, all a break from the cold.
The beach is perfect, the dolphins a joy to watch, and the sunsets are unbelievable.
We will stay again someday!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything You Need For a Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Great house and location. The heated pool and lanai were heaven! When not at the beach we were there. Used the grill almost every night! Have been to Marco many times and this home was the best that we have rented. Marco is a special place for me and my family, great beach, beautiful sunsets and great local restaurants. Would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Our efforts to accurately describe features of this home along with its ideal location to the beach are confirmed by this Guest on a recent stay at our home.
Vacation time for families should leave everyone feeling relaxed, happy and full of wonderful memories. To know this family would "definitely rent this home again" and considers this home "the best we have rented" is the greatest compliment we could receive!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Fantastic home for our family vacation

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

Our family stayed here for Spring Break and found this home to be everything we hoped for. The two biggest features we chose the home for were the pool and the ability to walk to the beach and both exceeded our expectations. The walk could not have been easier plus we were able to enjoy walking around the neighborhoods. Being bird watchers we were thrilled to find Burrowing Owls just a few blocks away from the house. The pool was clean and more than warm enough. We had plenty of chairs for the pool deck and appreciated the table giving us the chance to eat many meals outdoors.

Upon leaving we discovered we had left something behind. We called and were graciously allowed to go back and pick up the item.

We would definitely recommend this home and hope to return another year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: When making a decision on a vacation rental home for the first time vs. a hotel stay, this Guest review can be of great assistance since it clearly highlights the advantages offered by this home.
Family vacations are a special opportunity to enjoy time together - meals al fresco - on your own private lanai, warm and sunny pool for swim time, and the beautiful Marco Island public beach access - oh so close!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Minnesota to Marco Island in March 2010

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2010

from our Guestbook...
"We really enjoyed our stay here. Very comfortable and nice. It was nice to be so close to the beach. Had some rain, but otherwise, wonderful. Highlights were...fishing...Golfing...Twins Game...
Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You Need to Rent this Marco Island House

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Where shall I start? My wife and I usually stay at a hotel on the beach when we travel to Marco, but this year we had our brand new beautiful baby girl with us, so we rented a house for the first time.

We contacted the owner directly through the HomeAway website - and let me say what a pleasure it was to talk to this person. He answered every question I had about the property and then some! It put me at complete ease on renting a house via the web. The graciousness of this owner is what ultimately sealed the deal for me.

One of the most important things to me when renting a house for the first time (besides the location) was the decor. I know that may sound a little strange to some, but I saw so many other listings that had, well... just nasty, old beat down looking furniture, bedding, etc. Maybe it's just me, but if I'm going to spend any length of time on a beautiful island, in a beautiful property, I want to be surrounded by new, clean, beautiful decor. This house stood out online in the photos. Not to mention that the rest of the house (paint, flooring, pool deck, etc) had also be redone in the past year. This house was basically brand new.

Location. Location. Did I say location? I don't really know how it can get much better than this. Literally a few minutes walk to the beach. I think we walked past 4 or 5 other houses, crossed Collier Blvd, and the beach path was right there. It's so close, we walked to the beach after breakfast, at lunch time, and of course for sunset. Everyday. You can also take a walk in either direction down Collier Blvd and check out the scenery there. Absolute perfect location.

And of course there's other things like the awesome pool area, barbecuing, tropical landscaping, big tv, .... you get the idea.

Now that we have the little one, this house is the one for us. We've been going to Marco multiple times per year for the past 5 or 6 years. This is our new home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our intention as Vacation Home Owners is to provide an ideal setting for a "home away from home" that Vacationers will enjoy coming back to year after year. An effort to detail accurately highlights of the home through word and photo is validated by this recent Guests stay. Email replies allow us to provide the quickest response to rental inquiries. However, please feel free to include your phone# and request a call back if you prefer to speak with the Owners directly. We enjoy the opportunity to provide any information needed to help with your vacation concerns.

Helpful votes: 38 / 38

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from First Time Vacation Home Renters...WOW!

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

Gorgeous! Better than expected....
This is our first time renting a home so we really weren't sure what to expect. But WOW! Perfect place for a family - clean, quiet, well kept...Thank-you - We will come again - already hoping for next year! Best wishes to you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relax Relax Relax!

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

What a perfectly relaxing stay here on Marco Island! Your home is beautiful and definitely made our stay more comfortable. I believe we achieved our goal for this trip - sit in the sun and Relax Relax Relax! Thank-you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a slice of heaven!

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

What a slice of heaven!

We all enjoyed our Spring Break here. Some a break from work, some a break from school, all a break from the cold.

The beach is perfect, the dolphins a joy to watch, and the sunsets are unbelievable.
We will stay again someday!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for 8!

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Great! We all (8) LOVE sun and beach and this was just perfect! Coming back to this wonderful house after beach or Everglades, shopping also was awesome. Relax at the poolside and have a wonderful time together

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Good time was had by all!

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

The house was very comfortable for our family, with plenty of room and in a great neighbourhood. We meet some of the friendly neighbours, too. We had out of town friends visit us for the day and there were plenty of plates, dishes, glasses & cutlery to go round.,something that we appreciated as we have not always encountered this on our travels. The description of the property is pretty accurate - it was nice not to have to bring a lot of things with us, as most everything we needed was provided. Having the wagon was great for transporting our things to and from the beach - which was very close, and an easy walk for even the visiting three year old. This part of Marco Island beach is super - we went to Tigertail beach one day and felt it wasn't nearly as nice as the one closes to this house. It was also great to have the pool available when we'd had enough of the beach, and some shade in the lanai for those more fairer skinned.! We did encounter a minor glitch with the bath tap not working in the guest bathroom, but this was quickly remedied. Sadly, the bikes mentioned in the description were not at the house. There were some unwelcome guests (ants) in a couple of the kitchen cabinets when we arrived. As the rental agent's office was closed, we went to the store to get some "Raid" and kept our food in ziplock bags for the duration of our stay. We did report the problem to the rental agent who said they would send an exterminator, but we didnt actually see anyone come by. I would say the pluses with this home far outweighed the minus' for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do plan on having bikes available this fall and when they are actually on the property, we will let potential guests know by posting it on the website. (Earlier efforts to obtain the bikes was unsuccessful)
Our intention is to provide a clear straightforward description of what the home does and does not include so that there are no surprises.
Any unforeseen problems that may occur are quickly resolved by our Rental Agent and a phone #/contact is always made available for guests for situations that may occur "after office hours." We have an Exterminator visit the home regularly throughout the year as a preventative measure and an ideal cleaning crew to assure our guests a comfortable stay.
The close location to the beach is certainly ideal for those who love beautiful Marco Island, and also having a private oasis to return home to at the end of the day is most
enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Happy memories

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We really appreciated that the description of the property was accurate like location, amenities etc. And that everything was clean and perfectly maintained, made us feel comfortable from the first minute we stepped in to the house. With 6 young ones in ages 17 – 23 with us( 3 of them visiting from Sweden ) it was the perfect location. It was easy to do different things, some wanted to lay at the beach, some wanted to go to Everglades, others wanted to go shopping. No problem because we were close to everything of that. Coming back to the house was relaxing, big pool, quiet neighborhood ,and a short walk back to beach to see the beautiful sunset before having a bbq at the poolside made us sleep like babies in our nice beds. Thank you for thinking of “everything” a guest would need. We will definitely recommend your property to our friends in US and Sweden.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Our goal as Vacation Home Owners is to provide a home that feels like your own - one to come back to, relax, feel refreshed, and be able to enjoy with the comforts you'd expect to find. The review submitted by our recent guests is a description we feel beautifully describes our own sentiments when we're able to enjoy our Marco Island home. We hope that you'll feel the same way when you choose our home as your next Marco Island retreat!

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

Our Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

We had such a wonderful time because this house was perfect! Good size and everything we needed was at the house. Easy to find. Close to the beach and all the stores we needed. Will return!

Helpful votes: 44 / 44

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review