reviews for: listing #88524 - Topsail Island, North Carolina Cottage rental

Tree Spirit: A Reiki Attuned Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beachwood
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $44 - $115 /nt
    $430 - $635 /wk
    $860 - $2,540 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Experience!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

Absolutely loved staying at Tree Spirit. It was so nice to get away from the world and enjoy the simplicity of life. Every detail of the cottage was lovely, and I would definitely recommend staying here. Chris is wonderful to work with as well. THANK YOU :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Unique and Charming Oasis

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Tree Spirit is a charming beach cottage with a zen attitude, perfect for an escape from the redundancy of everyday life. The pictures, while a selling point for me, don't quite do justice to the ambience of this place. When you walk into the screened-in porch and glance through the window, you can tell right away that this place is something special. It's obvious that a lot of care went into the plans for this home away from home. My wife, two dogs and I had a wonderful weekend. And Chris, Tree Spirit's owner, was a pleasure to deal with over the phone and by email.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Just be at the Beach

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Tree Spirit. We came down with friends, and discovered the house, while small, comfortably slept six. We slept two on the pull-out couch, and used a queen-sized air mattress in the tea room versus the two cots. Chris was super accommodating about our pets!

The beach was nice and quiet for peak season, and so close! The dock on the sound was a serene location for morning yoga and tea. The kitchen was big enough to cook great meals and we made all of our dinners in-house.

We will definitely be back! Thanks for such a restful vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Summer Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The description listing and all details were quite accurate. Although we had a minor issue (coffeemaker), the property owner was easy to contact and the issue was resolved very quickly. :) Everything that was offered was clearly outlined in the description. We wanted a family getaway to the beach with NO phones, internet, TV..to enjoy everything around us with no distractions, and that is exactly what we got. Our dogs enjoyed the spacious back yard, as well as the beach. Most of our time was spent on the beach and at the boat dock fishing in the waterway. The neighbors were all very friendly. The road crossing to the beach access was a little busy on the weekend, but that was to be expected with all the summer beach traffic. Our deposit was refunded rather promptly. I would recommend this place, as well as return. The only recommendation for the owner I would have is to maybe replace the charcoal grill with a new one. We would have enjoyed the back yard more in the evening if we were able to grill out. Thanks, and we hope to visit again soon!

Owners response: Thank you!
And thank you for the comment about the grill; we depend on our guests to notify us of such items and will replace it right away.
Namaste!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

lovely

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

all i can say is lovely. we had a great time and enjoyed everything. thank you soooooo much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A lovely, peaceful atmosphere.

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

A lovely peaceful atmosphere and a great location. Easy access to the beach and good food near by. We had a lovely time at Tree Spirit. Loved being able to have the dogs with us. We will go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved this charming cottage.

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My entire family loved this charming cottage. The natural wood interior, the incense, the tea lights were so comforting and cozy. The beach is not far on foot and there are plenty of beach toys and chairs stored behind the house for use. Our favorite time was sitting on the beach, half in the water, while the children played for hours. The only, and this is ONLY, recommendation I would make is maybe have a slightly larger bed in the extra room. I know this place is small and maybe not completely recommended for a family of four but I think with a small, full-size bed, instead of little futon, it might be a bit more accomodating. Don't get me wrong though, we loved every minute of our stay. The fact that we also got to bring our dog was a huge benefit for us. She enjoyed sleeping the day away in the house and beach trips in the late afternoon/evening. It was also quite a romantic place to be; I could envision spending some time there without children. The surprise music collection was wonderful. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! BTW - We had the same idea about the furniture and plan upgrades over next several months.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect retreat and respite spot

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

This was the perfect place for a two day stay. Very close to beach, comfortable setting, wonderful weather and relaxing. The property was clean and well maintainted. Owner provided excellent communication and quick refund of damage deposit. I would definately recommend this place to all my friends who want a low key, relaxing place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The stars aligned at Topsail

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

This was the best playcation I have had in possibly ten years. I've been to Tree Spirit two other times to great satisfaction. This trip however was superlative. The weather was perfect, the ocean was perfect, the house was perfect. IT just doesn't get better than my time at Topsail! Thank you for a true retreat.

Miriam Lieberman

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very Disappointed

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

I have nothing against the owner of the 'Tree Spirit' but her description of her house is very deceptive. I arrived after the check in time, the house was still being cleaned. After waiting (which I didn't mind) I was told that when cleaning the toilet the handle fell off & if it fell off again to call her. Not a good beginning. The house had a bad musty smell thru-out and you had to keep the drains closed when not in use (?). The shower did not look sanitary or clean and the tiles were chipped badly on the floor. I asked for the Master bedsheets but none were provided. I had to sleep rolled in a beach towel & a blanket I had brought. All the windows in the front of the house were see thru and the tranquility began around midnite when the partying stopped (I'm not a prude but the houses were thisclose & you couldn't help but hear everything). I did not feel safe in that house and left the next morning (9/3/12) forfieting the money I had spent but I refused to stay another minute in that despot of a house. It has now been three weeks and I still haven't received my 150.00 deposit that the owner is suppose to refund me. I would not recommend this place to anyone and no I wasn't expecting the Hylton, Holidy Inn but even Motel 6 would have been better to stay at than this place. Oh and the 'steps to the beach' include walking down a short lane, cross a 2 lane hwy and walk along side the hwy & dunes to get to the access to the beach & ocean. The inlet view? Stand in the back yard look between 2 houses (gotta get the right spot) and you can see it...... at a distance.

Owners response: We believe this guest mistook advertising for the beach rental posted just below for Tree Spirit’s. Tree Spirit’s view includes only trees. The sound is about 100 yards from the cottage and the beach about 200; the speed limit on the main road is 35mph. A rustic cottage built in 1964, Tree Spirit is cleaned and touched up regularly. We clear with incense between guests' visits and sometimes must make small repairs. We now put the location of sheets on the receipt rather than trusting voice mail. Tree Spirit is generally very peaceful; it is a family neighborhood with the occasional reunion. Guests fulfill a simple checklist upon departure for security deposit refund.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great 'treehouse'!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This was such a great vacation spot (the pictures on the website do not do this property justice!) and the location is amazing. The beach is steps away and not crowded at all. The neighbors are friendly and the street is quiet and has live oaks that make a canopy over it. The small town of Topsail is a bike ride away and Surf City is a few miles the other way. Soutside Park has family friendly concerts that are free and close by. My daughter dubbed Tree Spirit her 'treehouse' and we loved the set up and simplicity of everything. Thank you for taking pets! We had a quiet, restful, serene vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful Stay

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

What a wonderful and funky (in a good way) home. Loved the beach cottage vibe. Great location, short walk to beach or sound, plus all the trees give a feeling of secluded privacy.. Positive energy is very palpable. Had alot of fun finding all the "hidden" treasures. Our fur baby "Martini" thought the screen porch was the greatest thing in the world. Everything you need plus plenty of extras. Hope to return soon :) Thank you for sharing your home. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful stay on Topsail Island

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Tree Spirit. We found the cottage to be clean, quiet, and full of personality. Every seat in the house is comfortable, and meant for curling up in to read a good book. The street is lined with beautiful trees that create a canopy overhead. Even our dog was more relaxed here!

The kitchen was well stocked with pots,pans, and utensils. There was a charcoal grill in the backyard. We saved money by eating our meals at the cottage (fresh fish is plentiful here), and the kitchen was a pleasure to cook in. The back yard and wrap-around porch are also very nice to relax in.

The cottage is very close to the sound, which you can access to put a boat in, but not really to walk along (you would be walking through people's backyards). A very short walk across the street gets you to the beach, which is just beautiful. You can hear the ocean from the cottage.

The cottage owner is also very easy to work with, and easily accessible for any questions. She returned our deposit promptly after we left. All in all, the cottage was a wonderful value and we hope to return.

Owners response: A note to returning cooks: Tree Spirit's kitchen now features a new old-fashioned coil burner stove.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

Tree Spirit Retreat was the perfect place for my husband and I (and our 2 dogs) to get away at the end of summer. The Cottage could not have felt more inviting and comfortable, the energy really was palpable. Christine provided anything we could have needed, and neighbors were also welcoming and friendly. The dogs loved their lazy days, as did we. We hope to return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

peace and serenity

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We really enjoyed the beautiful cottage. IT was a perfect getaway. Everything that we needed was there, and it was peaceful and quiet between the two waters. THere will definately be a next time, and we will recommend to anyone. It was a home away from home. THe owner of the cottage was very friendly and was also able to accomidate our puppies!!!! It was awesome having the whole family there. The beach this time of the year was perfect, because we saw a lot of dolphins, and found many unique sand dollars and sharks teeth, and the beach was empty! THanks again Chris for your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Soulful Retreat

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

In looking for the ideal spot for my private 40th birthday getaway from my hectic, chaotic life as a mother & legal professional, I browsed countless listings. I wanted a place that was safe, private, affordable, & something a little off-beat, something with personality... a place to relax, reflect, meditate, recharge, be alone with self, and reconnect with life... I knew I had found the perfect place when I happened upon Tree Spirit.

Eclectic, warm, & cozy was the feeling I got from the moment I walked in the door. I'm not well versed in the art of Reiki, but I can attest that Tree Spirit was filled with a wonderful energy & the charming memories so many must have made there. Situated a convenient walk between surf & sound, my days were spent combing the beach for shells & perches on the dock writing; the nights were quiet & peaceful with the vibrations of the lapping waves lulling me to sleep after hours spent in the comfy "Tea Room.

The owner, Chris, was prompt, personable, & thorough in her responses to my queries. Though my 4 nights passed so quickly that I didn't get the opportunity to meet her in person, she struck me as a kind & dear soul from our conversations, so it's on my list for the next trip!

Thank you Christine for affording me the opportunity to share Tree Spirit. This escape was perfect & the best thing I've ever done for myself. Forty feels pretty good! =)

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect for the price

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

Great price, near beach (across the street) and pet friendly. This beach house is exactly as advertised, very rustic. If you're looking for a relaxing abode without all the bells and whistles of a modern beach condo, this is the pad for you. Thank you for taking pets!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review