reviews for: listing #88526 - St Martin/Maarten, Caribbean Condo rental

Beachfront Ocean View Condo On Orient Bay In Saint Martin
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Res. Mont Vernon
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $180 /nt
    $720 - $1,080 /wk

sort by:

Great place to get away.

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

The condo is exactly what is shown in the pictures. Allen was great at keeping me up to date with what was going on during the week. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beach getaway

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Can't go wrong with this choice. Allen was extremely professional and responsive to every need. The coffee, milk, beer and goodies were a nice touch! He provided all the information we could need and even gave us a cell phone to use while on the island!!

The efficiency is part of a greater complex which used to be the Mt. Vernon hotel. Units are now individually owned, and Allen's is one which has been remodeled and modernized. No complaints with the unit or amenities although the greater complex could use some more maintenance. Allen's unit has a great view of the beach and is off the ground floor for more privacy. He has everything from beach bags, to beach towels, to washer/dryer, and even a safe.

The location of the unit is conveniently located so you can choose to go to Gran Casse, the village, or Cul de Sac within 5 minutes. Of course the northern part of Orient Beach is a few short meters away. There's a boulangerie and pizza place nearby. A large supermarket with awesome French food not too far.

A definite recommendation--hope to return. Thanks for all your help! - Tony and Liana

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My wife and myself were extremely pleased with Allen's condo, great views from the balcony, very modern design, everything you need for a week or month long vacations. Orient Bay Beach was always enjoyable, lots of different outlets to select from for lounging or to eat. The Mont Vernon condo residence had a small convenient store and a pizza shop, very handy. The restaurants in Grand Case which is very close to drive was fantastic. We also enjoyed the local BBQ outlets in Grand Case during Tuesday's Mardi-Gras. The Simply Market grocery store nearby had everything anyone would need for all occasions. Allen's condo was top notch, very clean, quiet during the day and evenings, the pool area was beautiful and well maintained, areas to tan or completely covered. We highly recommend this vacation condo property, the weather was great and so enjoyable in the evenings while having a great meal. Cheers Allen, it was great to meet with you. Saint Martin exceeded all of expectations and this condo unit was the reason why !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Another wonderful time

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

I first rented from Allen last year for a week and before I left I booked 2 weeks for this year. Another wonderful time. A great place and a great owner. The location is perfect. Great pool right next to the beach only steps away from the condo. Grand Case restaurants minutes away. For me it is the perfect location on the island. I plan to be back again next year. Thanks Allen!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Time at Mont Vernon

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Our stay was great. We've stayed at Mont Vernon complex for the past 3 years and really love it there. It's quiet and so, so close to Orient Beach. What could be better!?!
On to the specifics. The unit was very well appointed. Furniture was really nice and comfortable. The TV was nice and had a few US channels. The full size fridge is definitely nice. All the dishes were clean and we did not need for anything.
The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I wish it were facing the water a little more to get a better breeze. We like to have the doors open at night and let the breeze in so it was a little disappointing but not terrible - we still sleep without the A/C and the doors open, just not as breezy. Also wish there were a ceiling fan. Other than that, it was perfect, perfect, perfect!
Don't hesitate, we've stayed in 2 other units and this one was the best so far.
Also, LOVED the large, soft bath towels and cotton bedding. Really, it was super.

Owners response: Thank you very much for the positive review. I'm sorry you were not completely satisfied with the angle of which the condo is situated in relationship to the wind. I do not encourage guests to keep the doors open especially at night because this is a tropical climate island and bugs will fly in which is not very pleasant for the next guest when they check in.

I really try to make my guest happy with every amenity I could think of such as very high quality freshly cleaned duvet covers for each guest, full size refrigerator, full size oven, dishwasher, washing machine, ipod doc, computer, 6 G dsl service, cd stereo, high quality beach towels, bath towels, and linens, beach chairs, beach umbrella, and a cell phone free of charge with free calls. I also provide an amenity basket with coffee, tea, snacks and beer, water, soda, and milk in the refrigerator as a welcome amenity.

I have over 25 years of hotel management experience and manage my rental in a very service oriented and professional manor. Unfortunately, there are some things that are out of my control.

Helpful votes: 5 / 12

 

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My husband and I are fortunate enough to vacation often and in many different parts of the world. We usually rent condos. This unit in Mount Vernon was much smaller than what we are used to but we found it to be absolutely perfect for our needs. The owner, Allan has thought of everything. He met us on our arrival day and helped us with our luggage (the condos are on a hillside and so it isn't ideal for people with mobility issues but we loved the extra exercise). He provided things that many owners don't such as a welcome basket, computer, wifi, cell phone, beach or grocery bags (you need these for taking your groceries home), beach chairs, umbrella, cooler and freezer packs. There was a washing machine and dishwasher. We cooked in the condo and had all the utensils that we needed. The pool area is huge, protected and has comfy cushions on the lounge chairs and there is always enough to go around.

The actually condo buildings are old but there is constant work being done to keep on top of the repairs. However Allen's unit has been very recently updated.

We rented a car and explored the island and we are so glad that we picked this location. We prefer the quiet and quaintness of the french side compared to the dutch side. We loved walking from our condo down to Orient Bay beach. When it was windy, we would just drive to Grand Anse beach or Grand Case. There was a super market close by and great dining in Grand Case and Orient Bay village.

The only problem about making such a great recommendation for this condo, is that it might not be available for our next vacation.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Stay at Mont Vernon was Fantastic

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

We stayed in this condo at Mont Vernon for a week the end of October.
This was ideal for two people.Nice pool,close proximity to Orient Beach.
Had to rent a car which was not expensive either.
The condo itself was bright,clean,had a king size bed,nice kitchen and
bathroom,and all the amenities one would require right down to beach chairs,
towels,beach bags and cooler.Even candles for a nice candle light dinner.
When we arrived we were surprised to find a nice welcome basket with
coffee,sweets,etc,and the fridge had coffee cream,and also several
cans of beer,pop and water for our use.
Allen thought of everything,more than we ever expected.Even a cell phone
to use locally during our stay.We never had to contact him for any reason,
however,the day after we arrived,Allen called us to ask us if everything
was okay and to our liking.
All week we kept commenting on how we had the nicest condo,the nicest pool,
and the best beach.Thanks for a wonderful week.
Our rating: 5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Island Vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Clean, well appointed and maintained efficiency for a relaxing vacation on the beach. Beautiful view of the pool and ocean from the balcony. Amazingly, Allen provided a phone and laptop which allowed us to make reservations for excursions and restaurants as well as keep in touch with family back home. Allen welcomed us when we arrived and graciously escorted us to our unit. Our stay exceeded our expectations. When we return to St Martin we will definitely book with Allen again. Thank you Allen!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Amazing Stay at Orient Bay !

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

What a wonderful place; there really aren't enough platitudes I can provide as far as my positive experience goes. I stayed here for a week with my fiancee last week, and we knew things were going to be positive when we met Allan. Like the other reviews have mentioned, Allen is an all-around great guy who has taken the utmost care to make your stay comfortable. He's extremely informative and has provided everything you could need in the apartment. Local cell phone, towels, beach bags, chairs and umbrella, along with a fully stacked kitchen and complimentary beverages and gift basket. The unit itself was very spacious for our needs; no complaints from us about the king size bed or the spacious bathroom. The balcony was great for morning coffees while overlooking Orient Bay. Bottom line: if you are looking to stay on the French side of the island and are looking to have a more local experience, look no further than this unit. You can not go wrong !

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great week

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Everything about this trip was just perfect. . .the weather, the condo, the location. Allen was an absolute pleasure to deal with, he was extremely accomadating to any and all of our needs. He gave wonderful suggestion and recommendations on sites to see and restaurants to visit on the island. The condo was very clean, well equipped and was located on one of the nicest beaches on the island. I would definitely recommed this location to anyone interested in a relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

We rented this unit for 1 week and we loved everything! The unit is very clean, very beautiful and very confortable! Allen was super atencious and explained everythings to do in St. Martin. Absolutely, WE RECOMEND! Thanks Allen!

Rogerio

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FABULOUS!!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Ok, so where do I even begin? Fabulous, fabulous, FABULOUS!! First
of all Allen is amazing, completely accommodating and friendly and
helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The condo itself is clean and
comfortable, has a great view from the balcony, and is a 90-second
walk from the door to the North end of Orient Bay. Allen supplied
beach chairs and an umbrella and big, comfy beach towels and a beach
bag and a cooler. AND a cellphone. AND a laptop. AND some basic
essential edibles on our arrival-- coffee, tea, milk etc. We have
stayed in apartment rentals in many parts of the world and this was
hands down the best one we have had the pleasure to stay in. We
would absolutely not hesitate to book this property again in the
future. Thank you Allen!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best island vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We rented this unit with nothing but a relaxing beach vacation in mind. Our stay not only met our expectation, but far exceeded it. It was our first trip to St. Martin, but won't be the last. The condo, and its owner Allen, made the whole experience first rate. Everything you can think of to make a stay easy & comfortable was there. The setting was great and Allen is the perfect host.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Simply Awesome

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

This condo is really fantastic. Very clean unit, gorgeous view from the balcony, high speed wifi, comfortable king-size bed, plus all the amenities of home like a fridge, stove, oven, washing machine, iPod docking station, etc. It's perfect for the more independent traveler looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway. It's a bit tricky to find the place, but everything is a bit tricky in St. Martin. Allen, the owner, even gives you a cell phone to use, although we made only a couple locals the entire time. If you are an older traveler or have knee problems, this might not be the place for you because there are no elevators and lots of stairs.

The condo is on the French side, and the neighborhood is so laid back. The beach is a 3 minute walk from the unit, up and down some stairs, and the pool is right next to the beach, very clean and refreshing. There are a few good restaurants close by, less than 5 minute walk up the beach, also you can get a great massage too at Palm Beach. For a little night life and shopping and tons of great restaurants, you can drive to Grand Case in under 10 minutes. Also, on the way, there is a big super market called US Market which has everything you need.

Highly recommend this unit. Happy travels!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Vacation - Allen is the Best!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

I’ve been renting condos when traveling on work or vacation since the start of the Internet. Allen did a fantastic job. The condo is spotless, has virtually EVERYTHING one could need. The internet connection is exceptional allowing watching Netflix etc., the location is perfect, very short walk to pool/beach (note use the accessory parking lot, it is actually much closer to the unit). The resort is at the north end of Orient Beach, easy drive to the more southern beaches or Grand Case. Grocery store is nearby. My arrival was significantly delayed due to rental car issues (note – use the major chains – NOT U-Save), yet Allen stayed around and waited for me – much to my relief. He is VERY helpful in suggesting restaurants (incredible!). About the best thing I can stay is that even before I left I booked 2 more weeks for next year. Allen checked up on me a couple of times to be sure all was fine. One problem with the TV he fixed immediately. He lives close by so is available for any issues. Having a cell phone in the unit was a very nice touch. There is a dishwasher, washing machine, nice flat screen, iPod dock…heck he even had a cable to connect a computer to the flat screen. Allen is a pro and a great host. I’ll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place in a great location

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights here. The posted pictures were completely accurate. The condo was nice, extremely clean and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable, including a comfortable king size bed. Allen was a great host and we'd definitely recommend the place to friends and family. The condo was super close to the ocean with a wonderful little terrace and great view. The pool was also really nice and not too crowded. Orient Bay was a nice location - there are a few casual restaurant/bars on the beach within walking distance from the condo. We were glad we rented a car to go to Grand Case, which was an easy 5 minute drive. Thanks for a nice stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful place, a FUN time & great experience!

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

LOVED IT! We enjoyed staying in this beautiful condo. This place is exactly as promised in the description. It's tastefully decorated and everything is in great working order. Allen made us feel more welcome than almost any place we've been - he even called us on the cell phone he provides during our stay to see if we needed anything and to make sure the condo was perfect...which it was. He was so friendly, met us at the reception area and even helped us with our luggage - which we needed because it is a LONG walk to the condo from the parking lot (but a SHORT walk to the pool and beach which IS what we came for). Allen was great - he recommended several fun things to do like eat lunch at The Palms on the beach and you can use their nice beach chairs and umbrellas for free as opposed to $15 rentals all over the beach. He also told us about the Tuesday (Mardis) street fair in Grand Case which ended up being one of the highlights of our entire trip...we've been to the island several times and never knew about this...it's helpful to have a local's help in planning activities. If you go to Grand Case please eat at the Rib Shack: it's on the water with great views (most of the other BBQ places have views of the street this place has yachts and sail boats you can look at while dining on some of the best food on the island). Stay away from Lolo's the food was bland and the wait staff was horrible. The waitress came by after 30 minutes and asked us if we were done and we said we still hadn't got the food!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas came early this year!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Allen's Mt. Vernon condo, which is minutes from Orient Beach, and we had a wonderful time the week before Christmas. Allen's condo is very well updated and has every amenity that one could need for a get away week. But more to the point, Allen really understands hospitality. There is nothing more comforting to weary travelers, than finding a few necessities in the fridge on a Sunday afternoon, when all stores are closed. This combined with internet access, a laptop, satellite TV and a local phone made our experience all the better, because when you look out of the balcony in the morning and see Orient Bay, you realize how wonderful it is to be only a few steps away from the best beach on St. Martin.

Yes, Mt Vernon has an issue with parking and getting around the complex does remind you why it's called "Mount" Vernon; but Orient beach is beautiful, Gran Case is close by with excellent restaurants and Allen is a very attentive owner, should any problems arise within the condo. Thank you Allen, Christmas came early for us this year in St. Martin, we had a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Spot

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

This was a great place to stay. The condo had everything we needed and so close to all the five star orient beaches. The pool area is so relaxing and quiet.
We would stay at this unit again in a heart beat. The owner was very helpful and accomodating.
A great view and nice and quiet.... We don't want to leave....

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

The pictures do not do this well appointed condo justice. The place is extremely clean, modern and has everything you could want or need, even a cell phone to use while on the island. The bathroom is large and the king size bed is incredible, never slept so well away from home. Plenty of room and the balcony is amazing with views of the ocean. And it's less than 100 steps to the very large, very clean and refreshing pool which sits overlooking the beach and ocean. The owner was extremely pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. This is definitely a GEM and I'll be staying here again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Value

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Great Condo! Everything you have at home, beach towels, washing machine, computer, even a cell phone. Yes, the owner left us a cell phone to use, but please don't take advantage. There was also a plate of treats left for us, and water and beer in the fridge, which is very nice when you first check in. The one thing we did not like was the walk from the parking lot to the condo, but it's great excersie.
Overall, this is a great place and we would stay here again. The owner was very helpful, and even called a few times to make sure we had everything we needed.
Tom & Wanda
Augusta, GA

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review