reviews for: listing #8855 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Private Cabin w/ Views,Game Room,Fenced Yard,Minutes to Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  In Lake Lure
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $155 /nt
    $695 - $825 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

2 Visit

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Hi Wayne,
Everything was great at the cabin! We had a wonderful time and hope to come back often. The extras you've added since our last visit in 2005 were really nice. Our visitors were very impressed and hope they have a chance to stay there in the future. Thank you for providing such a fantastic place with reasonable rates for a truly wonderful family vacation!
Lynn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lynn, I'm glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to your next visit.
W

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in beautiful Lake Lure, a stay that was enhanced by the rental of this lovely cabin. The owner was very responsive, promptly replying to emails and phone calls. The kitchen is very well stocked – the best we have seen with pots and pans of all sizes and a variety of food prep bowls and utensils and sharpened knives (we stayed in one place that didn’t have a single knife that was sharp enough to chop an onion). We cooked most of our meals and found pretty much everything we needed. Best of all, the cabin owner asked if there was anything the kitchen was lacking and when we mentioned a few minor items, he promised to be on the lookout for those items so that they will be there for future visits. The wrap-around porch (especially the deck at the back of the cabin) is one of the cabin’s greatest features. The view and the privacy at the back of the upper deck make it the perfect place to relax, eat meals, and watch the stars come out. The backyard is a little steep and our dog wasn’t that interested in it, but it didn’t matter because we all preferred the upper deck, including the dog. The cabin is also very well situated, just off the main highway in the area and very close to the downtown area of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Village, which has some great shops, and within easy driving distance of Asheville (great downtown area), Black Mountain (was a little disappointing with not as many shops as we expected), Brevard and Hendersonville (which we will have to check out next time). There is plenty of hiking close by, including a moderately challenging hike to the beautiful Hickory Nut Falls in Chimney Rock State Park – definitely worth the hike. There is even a little park behind the visitor’s center if you’re in the mood for a leisurely, scenic walk -- it has level paths like a city park but has fabulous views of the surrounding mountains. There is a golf course very close by and Lake Lure Adventure Tours (guided boat tours and rentals) is just down the highway, as is a large grocery store. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to return soon and often.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW! What a great description of the cabin AND the area. I couldn't have said it better myself. I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation at the cabin. I have already purchased the whisk and casserole we discussed. Thank you for the input, it really does help. Hope to hear from you soon and thanks again for choosing Silver Tree Cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Stay!

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

What a great weekend at this wonderful vacation home! All the amenities you could want and great location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin, come back SOON!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful experience!

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

This was my family's first time being in the mountains, and I am so glad we chose this cabin. The cabin was stocked with everything we needed and more. Everything was clean and comfortable. We sat on the rear deck for hours just enjoying the amazing view.
The ride up was not bad, paved roads all the way, just a lot of curves which is expected in the mountains. I could have stayed longer, but have to get back to work. Thanks Wayne!

Owners response: Thank you for the great review and I am thrilled you had a great stay, that is always my goal. I hope you will return SOON!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hoosiers visiting NC

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

Very comfortable, clean, and relaxing place. Everything you need is there and it all works very well. The cabin is set on top of a mountain, so the drive up is a mountain drive but the surface is great. The views are wonderful. The Lake Lure area is a very pretty place on earth and this cabin puts you close enough to see it all but far enough away to feel like you are on a getaway vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. I try to get to the cabin as often as possible to make sure everything is maintained, running well, and up date. Lake Lure is truly a special place for sure. Come back SOON!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 Week Stay - email received 3/20/14

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Hi Wayne,

Yes, sadly this is our last day here. We have loved your cabin. My wife and I have rented places such as this all over the South Eastern and South Western U.S. and we firmly believe that your cabin is the best we have rented. In terms of provisions, it is superb. No one has provided as much as you have.
Thanks very much for making your cabin available, we have had a very enjoyable time.

Regards,
Tom K.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email from guest 2/22/14

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We really enjoyed your cabin! The space was perfect for us: the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was very well stocked, and the view was terrific! We enjoyed playing games, watched Dirty Dancing, grilled out on the deck, relaxed in the hammock, and checked out a couple of the nearby vineyards and trails that we found in your stack of information. It was the perfect weekend, and I would recommend your cabin to anyone.

Thanks,
Rachel

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

email received 9/16/13

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Hi Wayne,

The cabin is fantastic. Your cabin was the best one we have ever visited. It had everything anyone could or would want. What a wonderful view. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us.

Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Recvd from guest after 10 day stay Aug 2013

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Wayne,
Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your mountain cabin. What a wonderful retreat - and all the touches of home! We reluctantly returned to Charlotte yesterday. The time spent unwinding at Silver Tree Cabin, with its convenient location to the Lake Lure area and the great views from the deck, made for a wonderful, thoroughly relaxing vacation. Patsy is already talking about a return visit, maybe next spring. Thank you for your hospitality.

Best,

Jeff

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My family loved this cabin

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Wonderful cabin located with more decks than I knew what to do with. Very clean and pet friendly. Kitchen is stocked with all kinds of items that you might not have brought. Nice selection of movies and a three ring binder with all the information you need. Close to Ingles a really nice grocery store. Lake lure itself was beautiful and not over crowded. Lake lure is situated close to Chimney Rock, Asheville, Black Mountain and Dupont State Forest.

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to think of everything just in case you don't. Come back SOON! Thank you, Wayne

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

awesome stay

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

My family loved the house. It had a great view and it had a well stock kitchen. Love that it was close to the grocery store. I will make plans for going that there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

And from the Bride

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

Wayne, your cabin is just lovely and very cozy. Because of my back and spine issues; we mainly used the main floor. One evening we played games in the game room. The location was perfect and very relaxing which we desperately needed & enjoyed. Its secluded w beautiful views and Michael even found a beautiful waterfall coming down a mountain w the telescope. The hammock was a nice touch for my back w a gorgeous view. The great thing is even though it is secluded; we were close to everything which was terrific. We did have lunch on Bayfront Grill and it was a great recommendations we sat outside, nice weather enjoying the lake view. I missed your reference to the local information which was very helpful & a nice touch. Since Michael lived there 10-12 years ago, he was a great tour guide. I know Michael sent you a note but I too wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed it. Lovely and perfect for our honeymoon.
So yes; my husband picked the perfect cabin for our honeymoon! He owns his on business (Hine Repairs) so this was our first real vacation fir our honeymoon. Absolutely beautiful area and the perfect cabin; my husband did a great job picking your lovely cabin. I also appreciate the fact you were easily reachable and very helpful. Thats a very nice touch!
Again from a woman's perspective, I just wanted you to know Silver Creek Cabin was a great choice and our visit couldnt have been better. Many thanks for your kindness before and during our stay. The fact you followed up also shows you truly care about your guests. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wife Approved

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves, when the lady tells you I did good on finding a place we can enjoy, that's impressive.Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Getaway

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The cabin is AMAZING. It has such a beautiful view from the porches. Inside everything you could possibly need. The game room was so much fun. I would recommend this to any and everyone and can not wait for my next trip there!

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the cabin, come back SOON!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email recieved 3/4/13

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Mr Tobola,

Thank you so much for such an amazing weekend in Lake Lure. Your cabin is absolutely incredible. My boyfriend and I stayed inside most of the weekend due to the frigid temperatures. We had so much fun watching movies and playing in the game room. The Foosball table had us laughing so hard, since neither of us can play. Everything anyone could need is there, it really felt so homey. I just had to show my thanks, it was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay and the owner, Wayne, was extremely nice and helpful. The cabin has everything you could possibly need. I even found a flat iron for my hair. :-) He decorated it for Christmas, including a tree. It was beautiful. The views from the porches were awesome. I just wish it would have snowed. I highly recommend this cabin and if we ever go to Lake Lure again, I will definitely stay here again,

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin and thank you for the great review. Please come back anytime and have a wonderful new year. Wayne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feels like home!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I cannot say enough about how great this cabin was! To put it simply, the experience was even better than we could have imagined. The cabin was incredibly clean and had everything we could possibly need for our stay. The pictures on the website do not do the cabin justice. Even though the pics are nice, the real thing is really beautiful...and did I mention clean?

I want to stress that it was clean, because I know that that is the most important thing to me when I stay somewhere. Especially somewhere new.

Booking the cabin was simple and painless. Wayne and the rental company he uses for his property are both very professional. There was not one thing that was overlooked. The place truly felt like home from the moment we arrived. From the decorative touches to the crispy clean linens, this place will really impress you! You will not want to leave:)

We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed the cabin and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best rental I've ever stayed in

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

This cabin was perfect in every way and exactly as advertized. The location with the lovely view, the amenities, the great movie selection and books too! I love to cook and the kitchen had absolutely everything I needed. The area had a lot to offer as well with the lake and Chimney Rock Park. I highly recommend this cabin.
Thank you! Denise

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin Denise, We look forward to your next visit.Thank you, Wayne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Been meaning to write and tell you we had an amazing time at the cabin. I think we did pretty much everything two people could do in a week. Saw everything we had the energy to see and hiked everything within reach. Never did get to down to Brown Mountain, though. Really enjoyed fishing in the Broad River, too. Caught some Sun Fish and some really small trout but still had a blast. Also got to see some of the wildlife in the area to include a large Blue Heron while we were fishing. Also ran across some wild turkey and deer on the road up to the cabin. The cabin itself was perfect to relax in after long days of hiking and sightseeing. Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay there. I think we may definitely be paying the place a visit in the future and will recommend it to friends and family. Thanks again!!

Sincerely,
Kevin and Betty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint. Nicely furnished and decorated

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Wonderful, quiet area and only a short distance to a fabulous Ingles grocery,gas and lake activities. The owner was quite attentive and cabin seemed well cared for. My only thing I could add would be some updated games such as Scrabble or Apples to Apples,etc. Kitchen is more well stocked than most cabins. Beds and linens appeared fresh and clean in good shape. Would recommend to a couple or a small family. Easy drive up to cabin with paved roads. No smells or mildew was noted.

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin. We go to great pains to keep things clean (not always easy in a log cabin) and current. Unfortunatly the board games are a little harder to keep up with as pieces get lost quickly making them useless. After owning the cabin for 5 years you are my first 4 star rating, that makes me sad :( but I'm glad you will recommend us to others. Hope you come back soon. Thanks Wayne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway location

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Great escape from the city, quiet beautiful views. Owner is very accommodating. We will be returning in the fall.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to hearing from you again SOON! Thanks-Wayne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Silver Tree Lane Cabin

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The property was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen was fully stocked and everything we needed was there. Heat and fireplace was easy to turn on and worked great!!. The owner was very helpful and answered all my questions promptly. Lake Lure is absolutely beautiful and Chimney Rock was very close by. I look forward to staying at the Silver Tree Cabin again. Hopefully, we can spend a summer week there!! Thank you Wayne for sharing your cabin with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed the cabin and the area, come back SOON!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Vacation!

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

We had an amazing time, the cabin was perfect for us! We were only 5 minutes from town, but you feel like you are on top of the mountain at the cabin.
We had all the amenities of home, with a gorgeous view. We will definitely be going back.

Owners response: Thank you Renee, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Wayne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

This cabin is serenity at its best!! I've never seen a place like it and it was wonderful! The fireplace and wrap around porch with the scenic views were my favorite. Game room was a nice touch, and we had to watch dirty dancing! Lake lure is a great town, and the hike to visit chimney rock was great. The cabin was extremely clean, easy to access and find. Ryan and Shelly were amazingly nice and helpful. I HIGHLY recommend this cabin - I hope to stay there again sometime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great cabin for a great vacation

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2008

I have stayed in this cabin a couple of times. It is a great cabin for a wonderful vacation. It is in a nice quiet location with a beautiful view. I loved my stay when it was just my husband and I. It was so relaxing sitting on the porch swings with him relaxing, and playing some games in the game room. I also loved how it had everything I was used to having at home unlike a cramped hotel room. It was also very fun filled when we took our two children with us. There was something for us to do everyday. It is convenient to Lake Lure and also asheville. I loved how there was a basket full of flyers at the cabin telling us of everything there was to do around there. We find something new to do everytime we go.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Wayne

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Review Submitted: April 16, 2010 Date of Stay: April 2010
Thanks Wayne,
The cabin was perfect for our family! The kitchen was well equipped making meal prep easy. And the extras for entertainment (fooshball, telescope, games) were used and appreciated. Personally, I liked the hammock!
Early mornings we could hear several wild turkeys gobbling in the forest. So nice to sit outside and enjoy with a cup of coffee.
Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

"Your SilverTree Cabin was perfect for our yearly get-together with a couple of our family members. We cooked delicious meals every night and afterward, played darts and foosball downstairs until well into the night! Thank you for remembering the 'little things,' like shampoo, detergent, and an ample supply of paper towels and hand soap. The beds and linens were also very cozy and comfortable. Your cabin was our sanctuary from the horrendous city-life of Washington, D.C. We look forward to making a stay here a yearly tradition!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

Review Submitted: April 27, 2010 Date of Stay: November 2009
"The cabin was wonderful! Great view, beautifully furnished and equipped, and exceptionally clean!

"We had a great time and will definitely be back!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Review Submitted: April 27, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010
"Thanks! We had a very nice couple of days. You have a great location and a very comfortable cabin. We enjoyed a nice walk to the end of Justice Rd. before the rain started on Friday morning. Thursday afternoon we took the dog to the park by the lake and got a little frisbee in. Much appreciated the well appointed kitchen, as we made use of the grill and cooked-in for dinner on Thursday. I have discovered that I am a lousy foosball player...but did much better playing darts! Thanks again for sharing your cabin!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice!!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We just returned from Lake Lure and a very nice stay at Silver Tree. Everything was exactly as advertised. The town of Lake Lure is lovely, very friendly people and nice restaurants. We had dinner at the Lake Lure Inn on our last night, which was very enjoyable. The cabin was great, plenty of space, amazing views from the decks. I am returning in mid-July with my husband and can't wait to show it off. There's always a brief moment of hestitation when making arrangements like these over the internet but I can assure you that there were no unpleasant surprises. The owner was easily accessible for a couple of quick questions that popped up. He returned phone calls quickly and made certain that everything was as it should be. The only factor that he couldn't control was the cold weather but the gas fireplace made it more than bearable. I would highly recommend this location for a family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT Stay!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Review Submitted: August 22, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010
Wayne,

When our prior plans were canceled, we were desperately trying to salvage our vacation. We just happened upon your website, and what a find -- although short and a little wet, it was clearly my favorite vacation. Thanks for your hospitality and thoughtful features included in your cabin. Please let us know how soon we should plan if we want to visit next August.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are on our way home from Lake Lure right now

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Hi Wayne! We are on our way home from Lake Lure right now, and I wanted to let you know how impressed we were with your cabin! We travel quite a bit and have had our share of rental experience. From the pre-trip customer service to the immaculate condition of the property, we could not have been more pleased! Traveling with two babies, it was a lifesaver to discover how fully stocked and organized the cabin was. Having the high chair and gates available was so convenient.
Thanks for doing all the little things around that cabin that made it a top notch experience. We look forward to coming up for a longer stay sometime soon.

Sincerely,

The Davis Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

White Christmas

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Review Submitted: December 27, 2010 Date of Stay: December 2010

The cabin was everything we could have hoped for. It worked perfectly for us. It was very warm and cozy. The white Christmas was an absolute bonus. I apologize as we did break a drinking glass. The kitchen was well stocked and we cooked on the barbecue several nights. The basement was the 12 year old's cave - she loved it and we loved that she had a place to call her own and she could stay up as late as she wanted without affecting anyone else. We didn't want to leave. The only good part about coming home is that it is cold here - high in the 50's. Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of visiting the area in such comfortable accommodations. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesomely Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Awesomely Wonderful!!!
Review Submitted: February 1, 2011

My husband and I wanted a beautiful place to "reconnect" after his return home from service in Iraq. He found this beautiful cabin and I could not have been more pleased nor satisfied with our stay. The cabin is so invitingly warm, cozy, very well maintained, neat and clean. Our travel experience was pleasant...stress free due to the accuracy and very detailed directions given by the cabin owners. When I first stepped inside...the surroundings and atmosphere took me back in time when I lived with my grandmother as a child. Very nice indeed!! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and at night the moon was full and so bright...even the stars twinkled brighter. We visited Chimney Rock and Lake Lure which was very exciting. As we watched the movie "The Last of the Mohicans" which was filmed at Chimney Rock...we were able to actually appreciate the view even more. Our time together meant a great deal and the cabin's accommodations made that time special. Everything very convenient...even our grocery shopping...we could rent low cost movies (the latest arrivals included), nearby dining facilities are very good and the neighbors are very kind. We met them as we strolled up the hill and walked around to take in the mountain air and view. We recommend anyone to indulge in this cabin experience also. We plan to return with our children so they can experience this natural beauty and excitement. Our hearts are very grateful to the cabin owners for making this available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Visit

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

Hi Wayne,
Everything was great at the cabin! We had a wonderful time and hope to come back often. The extras you've added since our last visit in 2005 were really nice. Our visitors were very impressed and hope they have a chance to stay there in the future. Thank you for providing such a fantastic place with reasonable rates for a truly wonderful family vacation!
Lynn
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Hello Wayne !
we had a fabulous time at your cabin. We absolutely LOVED IT. It's the perfect location close to the lake, and Chimney Rock but not to close to the hussle and bussle of the tourist traps. The Cabin is very well stocked. I really appreciated the wireless internet (I'm using it right now). I was actually able to sit on the deck and get some work done while I was here.

We ran the dishwasher so all the dishes are clean. All the used bedding is piled up by the basement stairs and we emptyed all the trash can. There was only 2 of us staying here so we didn't even get a chance to enjoy the game room down stairs....but, maybe next time !
It's about 9:15 right now and we are already packing up. We are heading to Ashville to spend the day at the Biltmore.

Again............thanks for the wonderful experience !

Vicky L
Austin, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Five Stars

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Thank you Wayne,
We had the best time, it was wonderful.
The cabin is stocked well, the washer and dryer was useful. The dogs did not utilize the fenced in area, But enjoyed the porch and front lawn and meeting, Titan, He's adorable.
We spent alot of time walking around, and went into Lake Lure on Saturday to hike Chimney Rock (the big rock was closed) but we had excellent weather for hiking and just relaxing.
We watched Dirty Dancing one night and tried to figure out the hotel that they used.
It was awesome, that's all I can say, and I do hope we can return again soon.

Thank you,
D.Ward
Little River, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Log home in NC

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

Wondeful place to stay. Had many things to do in area. The home itself was clean, relaxing and secluded. Would go again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: I'm glad you enjpyed your stay and hope you will return soon!
Thanks
Wayne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesomely Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

JC and CC Matthews, NC, USA
Review Submitted: January 29, 2008 Date of Stay: January 2008
My husband and I wanted a beautiful place to "reconnect" after his return home from service in Iraq. He found this beautiful cabin and I could not have been more pleased nor satisfied with our stay. The cabin is so invitingly warm, cozy, very well maintained, neat and clean. Our travel experience was pleasant...stress free due to the accuracy and very detailed directions given by the cabin owners. When I first stepped inside...the surroundings and atmosphere took me back in time when I lived with my grandmother as a child. Very nice indeed!! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and at night the moon was full and so bright...even the stars twinkled brighter. We visited Chimney Rock and Lake Lure which was very exciting. As we watched the movie "The Last of the Mohicans" which was filmed at Chimney Rock...we were able to actually appreciate the view even more. Our time together meant a great deal and the cabin's accommodations made that time special. Everything very convenient...even our grocery shopping...we could rent low cost movies (the latest arrivals included), nearby dining facilities are very good and the neighbors are very kind. We met them as we strolled up the hill and walked around to take in the mountain air and view. We recommend anyone to indulge in this cabin experience also. We plan to return with our children so they can experience this natural beauty and excitement. Our hearts are very grateful to the cabin owners for making this available.
JC & CC Matthews, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

Your SilverTree Cabin was perfect for our yearly get-together with a couple of our family members. We cooked delicious meals every night and afterward, played darts and foosball downstairs until well into the night! Thank you for remembering the 'little things,' like shampoo, detergent, and an ample supply of paper towels and hand soap. The beds and linens were also very cozy and comfortable. Your cabin was our sanctuary from the horrendous city-life of Washington, D.C. We look forward to making a stay here a yearly tradition!"


-David S. and Rachel M.
Arlington, VA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are on our way home from Lake Lure right now

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Hi Wayne! We are on our way home from Lake Lure right now, and I wanted to let you know how impressed we were with your cabin! We travel quite a bit and have had our share of rental experience. From the pre-trip customer service to the immaculate condition of the property, we could not have been more pleased! Traveling with two babies, it was a lifesaver to discover how fully stocked and organized the cabin was. Having the high chair and gates available was so convenient.
Thanks for doing all the little things around that cabin that made it a top notch experience. We look forward to coming up for a longer stay sometime soon.

Sincerely,

The Davis Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT Stay!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Wayne,

When our prior plans were canceled, we were desperately trying to salvage our vacation. We just happened upon your website, and what a find -- although short and a little wet, it was clearly my favorite vacation. Thanks for your hospitality and thoughtful features included in your cabin. Please let us know how soon we should plan if we want to visit next August.

Sincerely,

Craig King

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

Had a very nice time!
midwesternerforever CT.
Review Submitted: February 24, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010
We just returned from Lake Lure and a very nice stay at Silver Tree. Everything was exactly as advertised. The town of Lake Lure is lovely, very friendly people and nice restaurants. We had dinner at the Lake Lure Inn on our last night, which was very enjoyable. The cabin was great, plenty of space, amazing views from the decks. I am returning in mid-July with my husband and can't wait to show it off. There's always a brief moment of hestitation when making arrangements like these over the internet but I can assure you that there were no unpleasant surprises. The owner was easily accessible for a couple of quick questions that popped up. He returned phone calls quickly and made certain that everything was as it should be. The only factor that he couldn't control was the cold weather but the gas fireplace made it more than bearable. I would highly recommend this location for a family vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

"Thanks! We had a very nice couple of days. You have a great location and a very comfortable cabin. We enjoyed a nice walk to the end of Justice Rd. before the rain started on Friday morning. Thursday afternoon we took the dog to the park by the lake and got a little frisbee in. Much appreciated the well appointed kitchen, as we made use of the grill and cooked-in for dinner on Thursday. I have discovered that I am a lousy foosball player...but did much better playing darts! Thanks again for sharing your cabin!"

-Suzanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

"We had an incredible time during our stay at your beautiful cabin. We had all the comforts of home and so much more! Like the awesome views, the perfect weather, the cozy fireplace to come back to at the end of the day.

"And hey, you guys are even great decorators! We loved the fishing lodge decor! Can't wait to come back again!"


-The Chapmans
Byron, Vanessa, Lauren, Meghan, and Grace
Kissimmee, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

"The cabin was wonderful! Great view, beautifully furnished and equipped, and exceptionally clean!

"We had a great time and will definitely be back!"


-Patti, Jerry, Caroline, and Victoria Peebles
Savannah, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

"Your SilverTree Cabin was perfect for our yearly get-together with a couple of our family members. We cooked delicious meals every night and afterward, played darts and foosball downstairs until well into the night! Thank you for remembering the 'little things,' like shampoo, detergent, and an ample supply of paper towels and hand soap. The beds and linens were also very cozy and comfortable. Your cabin was our sanctuary from the horrendous city-life of Washington, D.C. We look forward to making a stay here a yearly tradition!"


-David S. and Rachel M.
Arlington, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Wayne

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Thanks Wayne,
The cabin was perfect for our family! The kitchen was well equipped making meal prep easy. And the extras for entertainment (fooshball, telescope, games) were used and appreciated. Personally, I liked the hammock!
Early mornings we could hear several wild turkeys gobbling in the forest. So nice to sit outside and enjoy with a cup of coffee.
Thanks again,
Margaret L

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a very nice time!

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

We just returned from Lake Lure and a very nice stay at Silver Tree. Everything was exactly as advertised. The town of Lake Lure is lovely, very friendly people and nice restaurants. We had dinner at the Lake Lure Inn on our last night, which was very enjoyable. The cabin was more than adequate for two people, plenty of space, amazing views from the decks. I am returning in mid-July with my husband and can't wait to show it off. There's always a brief moment of hestitation when making arrangements like these over the internet but I can assure you that there were no unpleasant surprises. The owner was easily accessible for a couple of quick questions that popped up. He returned phone calls quickly and made certain that everything was as it should be. The only factor that he couldn't control was the cold weather but the gas fireplace made it more than bearable. I would highly recommend this location for a family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joanne,
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your July visit. Thanks for the great review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2008

Wayne, we can't think of any improvements. Your kitchen is very well equipped, all the appliances work well, we used the wireless and appreciated the DISH TV and unlimited phone calling. We felt very comfortable in your home during our stay.

Thanks again for all your tips and help with activities in the area. We did golf at the Lake Lure municipal course twice and at the Rumbling Bald course twice. It was a challenge for us after playing on all those flat courses in Florida!! We also took a tour of Lake Lure (over at the municipal park) and then rented a pontoon boat one day when Bill's daughter and husband were visiting. We kept busy.

Thanks again
Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love it!

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

Thanks for a great weekend. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views, and even rented a boat at the lake. What a great place!!!
The house was VERY comfortable.
Will be back.
Thanks
Tom

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great cabin for a great vacation

Review submitted: February 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

I have stayed in this cabin a couple of times. It is a great cabin for a wonderful vacation. It is in a nice quiet location with a beautiful view. I loved my stay when it was just my husband and I. It was so relaxing sitting on the porch swings with him relaxing, and playing some games in the game room. I also loved how it had everything I was used to having at home unlike a cramped hotel room. It was also very fun filled when we took our two children with us. There was something for us to do everyday. It is convenient to Lake Lure and also asheville. I loved how there was a basket full of flyers at the cabin telling us of everything there was to do around there. We find something new to do everytime we go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesomely Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My husband and I wanted a beautiful place to "reconnect" after his return home from service in Iraq. He found this beautiful cabin and I could not have been more pleased nor satisfied with our stay. The cabin is so invitingly warm, cozy, very well maintained, neat and clean. Our travel experience was pleasant...stress free due to the accuracy and very detailed directions given by the cabin owners. When I first stepped inside...the surroundings and atmosphere took me back in time when I lived with my grandmother as a child. Very nice indeed!! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and at night the moon was full and so bright...even the stars twinkled brighter. We visited Chimney Rock and Lake Lure which was very exciting. As we watched the movie "The Last of the Mohicans" which was filmed at Chimney Rock...we were able to actually appreciate the view even more. Our time together meant a great deal and the cabin's accommodations made that time special. Everything very convenient...even our grocery shopping...we could rent low cost movies (the latest arrivals included), nearby dining facilities are very good and the neighbors are very kind. We met them as we strolled up the hill and walked around to take in the mountain air and view. We recommend anyone to indulge in this cabin experience also. We plan to return with our children so they can experience this natural beauty and excitement. Our hearts are very grateful to the cabin owners for making this available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

This cabin is serenity at its best!! I've never seen a place like it and it was wonderful! The fireplace and wrap around porch with the scenic views were my favorite. Game room was a nice touch, and we had to watch dirty dancing! Lake lure is a great town, and the hike to visit chimney rock was great. The cabin was extremely clean, easy to access and find. Ryan and Shelly were amazingly nice and helpful. I HIGHLY recommend this cabin - I hope to stay there again sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Untitled

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We visited this property for the first time in the fall of 2006. It was beautiful. The leaves were changing colors on the trees and it was so peaceful and quiet. The cabin has wonderful swings on the porch where you can sit and enjoy the view. It was cozy and beautiful inside the cabin as well. The cabin had everything we needed to be comfortable and enjoy our stay. We enjoyed it so much we returned again in the spring. Lake Lure is beautiful! The kids enjoyed the park and feeding the ducks. We even found time to visit Chimney Rock Park which was a wonderful experience. I would recommend this cabin to anyone who is interested in a true vacation. These two visits were the most relaxing vacations we have ever taken, and I look forward to returning in the fall.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review