reviews for: listing #88557 - Lafayette, California Villa rental

Villa Toscana
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $700 /nt
    $3,400 - $3,700 /wk
    $11,000 - $11,500 /mth

sort by:

Amazing House!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

This home is the perfect getway. We had a fun girls weekend. The house was the most perfect venue for my friends bridial shower. I would highly recommend this Villa to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way - location and luxury!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

I was having the most difficult time trying to plan a getaway for the Labor Day Weekend and a celebration for my husband's 40th birthday. After tirelessly searching online for a quick vacation, I decided to try to find a location that was local, but that would be large enough to throw a get together for friends and family. Then I found this luxury villa in Lafayette, only 20 minutes from home, but secluded enough to feel to far from home. The grounds were fantastic - the sun room, the cabana in the backyard, the hot tub, the pool made for the most impressive party I have thrown to date - and I throw many a party. My friends and family commented that I took it to a whole new level with this venue. The bedrooms are laid out like a bed and breakfast. We stayed upstairs while the kids each had their own bedrooms downstairs. The layout provided a lot of privacy. Dan met us to hand over keys and went over all the details and was just so friendly. Carole was always available via email to answer my questions before, during and after the stay. We will definitely be back here and we plan to make it a summer destination every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House & Location

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We stayed in Villa Toscana in July 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, nicely decorated and spacious. The pool and hot tub are lovely with good sun/shade balance providing a very relaxing environment. In addition, the location in Lafayette provides for a perfect living environment. Life around Villa Toscana was for us one of the highlights of our stay in the Bay area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

George, Yamanashi, Japan.
Reviewed on: 06/23/2013 for their stay in 02/2013
435992 - Tuscan Villa retreat 20 minutes from San Francisco
Our groups have stayed here twice, and I cannot say enough good things about this fabulous property and gracious owners. It is located very close to a quaint and charming old town ( Lafayette ) and a nice college town ( Moraga ), Bart service is nearby, and major freeways are within 5 minutes, but one is in a nice, private and secluded area. The house is great, the sunroom is great, the bedrooms are immaculate. It is like a huge Bed & Breakfast Inn, but with a fantastic hot tub and pool. Absolute highest recommendation! Advice: The driveway, of course, is private, so try to arrive here during daylight. Coming from Lafayette requires a very sharp right turn.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, Absolutely Wonderful Home

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

A repeat experience. The house seems large, but it is even bigger when one enters. The kitchen is quite functional, with a center counter to prepare vegetables and such. The living room also feels bigger than it is, nice and spacious, and opens out into a solarium which is also quite spacious and which is the gateway to the really nice pool and fantastic hot tub. The rooms are most quaint, with luxurious beds, and the extra-cushy towels made it a joy to come out of the showers.

Lafayette is a most charming town, well worth walking around in, and only a few minutes by car from the home. The Pizza Antica had the best pizza and calzone that I have had since the early years of Chez Panisse, and with Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, Mt. Diablo Market, and Safeway all within a mile of each other downtown, shopping is a joy. On the back side, the college town of Moraga is about 3 minutes away, with the old theater and the incomparable pies at Nation's Hamburgers.

Less than 30 minutes away west is Oakland's Chinatown, not anywhere as touristy nor Americanized as the versions in the City. Oakland is also famous for the abundance of what is referred to as "Black BBQ", and standouts such as Phat Matt's and Everett & Jones among many are easy to get to. The Rockridge Market Hall is sort of a mini-Ferry Building, with gourmet items from all over the world.

Going east about 30 minutes away, the newly-opened Paragon Outlets of Livermore offers the only Prada outlet store in the USA and is probably the most exclusive outlet around. The nearby Ranch 99 Asian Market is a nice alternative.

Southwards about an hour away is the immense Great Mall of the Bay Area, and all the attractions of the South Bay and Silicon Valley. A little further is Santa Cruz and still further is Monterrey and Carmel.

The huge Vacaville Outlets are about 45 minutes northeast, Napa Valley is about the same due north, and the Sonoma coast and valley are northwest.

In short, this house is smack in the middle of anything that one can possibly want to do, and this centralized location along with the inherent charms will entice you to lengthen your stay, and come back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxurious and Comfortable

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

My mom and some close family stayed in this gorgeous home during my wedding weekend in October 2012. The house was truly immaculate and spectacular. We were able to host a well-sized rehearsal dinner BBQ and were able to conduct the rehearsal on the beautiful grassy area above the backyard. Carole was extremely accommodating, helping us make sure we had all of the logistics and information we needed covered. We would definitely recommend this house to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All I can say is FABULOUS!!!! *****

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

After looking at several venues - restaurants, wineries, etc, this was our choice for the firm's holiday party and it was over the top great!! The parking situation was the biggest challenge, but one easily solved - thanks to Carole's connection with a shuttle service - no problem. Carole and Dan made us feel so welcome to transform the villa in any way to suit our needs and we did! We had approximately 65 people, a band, a photo booth, and amazing food stations throughout the villa. The best comment I heard during the party was someone asking "how can we top THIS next year?" Well, that will be difficult........
This is a gem of a place not to be overlooked!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A most WONDERFUL house, an ENCHANTING stay!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Please just look at the photos, and then multiply by a hundredfold: That is how wonderful this house is! The house, clean and spacious but with a comforting warmth, is a grand marriage between old-world charm and modern convenience, set in a nice, private area but just minutes away from great shops and transportation systems. The gracious owner, Carole, was most generous with help, and made the stay a really nice one!

Those who wish to stay in Lafayette and nearby can shop at the Whole Foods and Trader Joe's just a few minutes down the road as well as other shops ( and a nice Farmer's Market ), and spend their days just relaxing in the great pool and soothing hot tub.

Those who wish to head for the San Francisco Bay Area can simply hop on the BART and be in the downtown area in about 30 minutes, and avoid the traffic jams.

In a nutshell: Absolutely recommended with highest recommendations with NO reservations whatsoever. Anyone and everyone will thoroughly enjoy all that this property has to offer, and will yearn to return again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for our family's pre-wedding!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful home the week prior to our son's wedding which was absolutely perfect! Everything about the house was top shelf!! All rooms are decorated so beautifully, the kitchen is nice and big which helped with having our family of 9 there! So spacious and functional! Not to mention the beautiful gardens and pool with waterfall, hot tub, and gazebo!! We loved everything about the Tuscan Villa. Dan the owner was very nice and explained all about the house and gave us a tour before he left. The only thing bad, if you're planning on renting this home, is you will never want to leave!! :) we all wished we could stay another week!! The memories we made there will surely be cherished! Thanks Dan and Carole

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Toscana

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Perfect, all as expected, 25-30 mins from SF centre, a real home from home. Carole was great and told us all we needed to know, house was clean and fitted with everything you need to have a great holiday. We will be booking again soon. Many thanks Scott & Family New Zealand

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Backyard Wedding of Our Dreams!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

This house is incredible; second only to the exceptional hospitality of Carole and Dan. They were so accommodating with planning our wedding here. They showed the property to us, our parents, and to different members of our bridal party prior to the event. They returned all phone calls/ e-mails promptly and answered any questions we had.

We rented the house for 3 days/2nights so we could decorate for the big day. We ended up having the rehearsal BBQ here the evening before the wedding. The house served as a truly memorable setting for an intimate wedding full of memories. We served hot and cold appetizers in the dining room on the beautiful wood table. We used the backyard and canopy as a perfect setting for our ceremony. The setting could not have been more romantic.

After the ceremony we invited our guests into the house where they enjoyed desserts on a table in the living room and cocktails outside on the patio near the pool. Strings of lights, lanterns and colorful poms hung delicately around the pool. It was like a magical wedding wonderland that played off of the earth tones of the house and the beautiful stone floors.

The kitchen was large enough for our helper to work effectively and still have friends around the eating bar playing bartender to our guests.

We removed furniture from the sun room to dance the night away and at 2am baked Costco pizzas for the leftover party animals. At around 4am the remaining bunch of us went for a relaxing dip in the hot tub and shared stories from that evening.

The house served as a perfect place to invite my bridesmaids to stay and help decorate, AND get ready with me in the morning. The house is so beautiful. We will have an amazing backdrop in our photos for the rest of our lives. Memories come to life here. We are so grateful to Dan and Carole for the thoughtful wedding gift, and for providing us with the perfect, romantic, and intimate wedding venue.

The location could not be beat, Whole Foods catering delivered to the house. Shopping, restaurants, etc. all just down the road. Everything is just a short cab ride away and easy access to San Francisco or Napa too.

Also, since almost all of the floors are stone (except bedrooms) the cleanup after a big event was SOOOO EASY! 3 hours in the morning and the place was spotless.

Stop thinking about it and just do it. You will not regret a vacation or wedding in this beautiful house.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Wonderful house, great location

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Not a thing we could criticize.
Property was beautifully clean, everything perfect.
Hint - want to visit SF ? get a cab to the BART station , parking lot fills up by 7:15, but cab only around $8, BART every 15 mins staright to centre of Town, also direct BART to SFO - perfect.
BBQ great, Pool/Jacuzzi wonderful, Lafayette nearby for shopping, Walnut Creek - great Resataurants.
I could go on !!!!!!
Try it, you won't regret it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Retreat close to town

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

The amazing, and unique house offers so many comforts and amenities, perfect when wanting a home away from home. The kitchen is wonderful, modern, large and comfortable. Each of the bedrooms has its own full bath, such a treat. We had access to the washer/dryer (much needed when traveling with young kids). We all enjoyed the hot tub (too cold for pool use), and exploring the surrounding yard. I can't say enough great things about our stay, not to mention Carol and Dan were available to us if we needed them (though never so much that it felt intrusive). The only thing I would add is bring slippers to wear in the house, the floors are beautiful tile/marble in the main house, and I was constantly worried one of my kids would slip and fall, so they just wore their shoes in the house, I wished i would have packed their slippers.
Overall a great house, a great stay and a wonderful choice in Lafayette.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This beautiful Villa was the perfect setting for our girls getaway. With Carole's help I arranged to have a masseuse, esthetician, nail tech, make-up artist, spray tanner and chef on site. We really treated ourselves to an amazing time! The house was very clean and beds were all very comfortable. I can't wait for our next trip to the Villa. Parking at the Villa was the only thing that became a bit of a bother. Since no more than 8 cars can be parked at a time, we had to shuttle people back and forth. However there was a school and shopping center down the street that provided plenty of parking. Also just as an FYI, we rented a limo and the driver couldn't make it up the driveway because it is so steep. All this meant was we had to walk down the driveway to the main street but for those with handicaps this might pose a problem as it is a bit steep and not well lit at night.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hosted an anniversary party at this house!

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

We rented this beautiful house in Dec 2011 to host our 10 year anniversary party/dinner and we and our guests had a wonderful time. Some of the guests stayed over fo rthe night and we got to use th ehot tub next morning. The entire house is beautifully furnished, in particular the master bedroom suite. I imagine, it would be even more wonderful to stay here in summer to take advantage of the pool and the beautiful landscaped grounds and deck. Its a lovely spot for family re-union or hosting small dinner parties. Owners are nice and accomodating.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it! Can't wait to go back

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

We just returned home from our trip and our stay at this magnificent villa was everything as described and more. It was just gorgeous. Four bedrooms, each having it's own full bath, beautiful kitchen, living room, large indoor dining room, an outdoor dining room, a glassed-in living room room protects you from the elements while feeling like you are outside, pool and jacuzzi with waterfalls and ample room for an outdoor party. Lots of fireplaces. Master suite is beautiful with a terrace, and jacuzzi tub as well as its own fireplace. (Master suite is very private, being separated from the other bedrooms.) Lots of marble throughout. Backyard has a dual BBQ (gas and charcoal). Every comfort has been thought of. There is even a terraced area behind the house which is large and you can go to for some privacy. We went to meet family and ended up having them over for quite a few meals as it's the perfect home to entertain in. Town is close by with a lot of shopping available. Easy drives to wine country and town. Lots to do and see in this area. But we were happy to stay home it was so beautiful!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

rohackett@bresnan.net

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Family stayed at the Villa during my son's graduation from medical school. Very nice large home with all the facilities we needed for a wonderful few days. Lots of shopping in nearby Walnut Creek. Unfortunately, too cold and rainy to enjoy the pool but the hot tub was wonderful. Would stay here again if in this area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review