reviews for: listing #88559 - Tampa, Florida House rental

The Cove- Waterfront Treasure on Canal to Bay
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Cove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,225 - $1,350 /wk
    $4,900 - $5,400 /mth

sort by:

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

My family of 4 adults and 3 young children all under 6 thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at this lovely property. The house was well stocked and very comfortable. The owners gave us a warm welcome and good instructions, and were very reasonable about responding to some accidental damage. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and we enjoyed fishing in the back yard. We found the location of the house handy for our sight seeing and shopping trips. All conversations related to renting the property were handled in a professional and courteous manner. We would definetly recommend this property and would rent again if the opportunity came up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

We stayed in this lovely home just last week. As a family of four with 2 teen boys we were looking for a place that had enough space for living, sleeping and enjoying family time. This home provided all of this and then some. There was more than enough room for the four of us and the 2 bathrooms made our mornings go smoothly so we could get our day started. Although the weather was too cool for the pool we did get to use the hot tub. On our first day we sat on the dock and watched 2 manatees floating and bobbing in the channel behind the house. The kitchen provided us with more than enough cutlery, cooking items and even spices and condiments. The house was located in a quiet subdivision and close to grocery stores and restaurants. It was clean and the owners were very helpful if we had any questions. There was a wet bar outside by the pool with a fridge to reduce traffic from the pool into the house however the bar itself could do with a little clean up/TLC. The grounds are very well kept up with small gardens which makes for a lovely view when sitting outside. There is a fire pit outside for your use. We did not have good weather and did not use this but were pleased that it was available. We did a lot of day trips to state parks, beaches and swimming with manatees. All of these excursions were about a 45 minute drive or more from the house. There were coolers available to us so we could pack lunches and have cool drinks. There are bicycles and fishing rods available as well. The garage was very convenient as was the washer and dryer, which also had soap supplied. Overall we had a lovely stay at this house and would stay there again if we eve revisited Tampa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A quiet, peaceful stay

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

My husband, toddler, mother, sister, and I all went to stay down at this home to get away for a bit while we had the time and before I officially launched my business and wouldn't have much time for traveling. Upon first coming to the home, we were pleasantly greeted and shown the home, which was well kept and tastefully decorated. The house has every amenity listed and has such a quaint view of the water behind the home. My only real complaint is that the cooking supplies could have been of better quality. Being an avid cook, I personally use better equipment in my own house, but truly it was a minor nuance during our stay and we very much enjoyed our quiet time. The landlords were very unobtrusive and quickly responded to our inquiries while we where there. It is convenient to most everything you need while there (store, gas station, eateries), which really helped us save on our gas usage while there. On behalf of my family, thank you very much for providing such a hospitable and quiet home for us to enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We love making our guests happy and didn't realize the cooking supplies might be an issue. We have made the home available for two years and this is the first time they were mentioned. Guess it's time to update.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable and welcoming holiday home

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

This delightful holiday home is conveniently placed for exploring lots of places around the Tampa Bay area. The house is well equipped and the owners are really welcoming and helpful. We really enjoyed the swimming pool and watching the beautiful sunsets. The house had everything we needed for our family of five and we appreciated being able to use the bicycles. The garden is very pretty and well maintained and it was good to stay in a real neighbourhood rather than a holiday resort. There are lots of conveniently placed food shops too.

Whilst staying here we visited Tropicana Fields to watch the Tampa Bay Rays and we were within easy reach of Clearwater, St Petersburg, Tarpon Springs, Tampa and Busch Gardens. We also had a longer day trip to Sarasota, which was well worth the drive.

We would certainly recommend this vacation rental to anyone looking for a home from home. Thank you so much Linda and Dave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are always happy when the guests are happy and hope they return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nice Vacation Rental in Tampa area

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Very nice place accurate desrciption of property and amenities. Clean and well kept, owners are next door if yo uhave questions. would definately recommend to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing Home

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Our family was in need of a place to stay for our son's wedding. We were looking for something other than a hotel. We were so glad that a coworker mentioned looking online at vacation rentals. We arrived at the home and found it just like it was in the pictures and description. It had everything we needed in the kitchen, all the bath and beach towels, bikes, fishing gear, etc all the way down to laundry detergent. How thoughtful! We were very busy most of the week; however, we were able to enjoy the pool, sitting on the dock, and the walking path down the street. It was a very quite neighborhood, which we enjoyed and appreciated. The night we arrived, we received a phone call from the owner letting us know that there was a manatee swimming in the back. While we were there, we got to see them put on a "show" several times.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone. It is very clean, comfortable, and the owners are very cordial.
Thank You So Much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We work hard at trying to make our guests vacation a pleasant experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This was our family's first stay in a rental home instead of a high-end hotel so we weren't sure what to expect, especially with a 2 year old. The house far exceeded our expectations. It has every amenity for sleeping, relaxing, playing, cooking, eating, etc and is centrally located to all of the kid-friendly attractions (beach, zoo, aquarium, etc) in the Tampa area. Everything is super clean and in great condition. Linda and Dave are great and made sure we had what we needed for our toddler. We would not hesitate to recommend this house or to stay here again. The extra space and private pool meant we all got to relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent choice!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

Came across this place on vacation rentals when planning our hockey trip, best decision we made. Place had every amenity, very clean, private and close to pretty much everything you needed (grocery stores, golfing, shopping etc). Couldn't have asked for a better place in Tampa. Weather was amazing, even seen a manatee the last day there. Would highly recommend this as a vacation home choice. Thanks again,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to hear that our guests had a great time and had everything they needed for a pleasant stay. We hope they come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation dream come true!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

This is our second year using Vacationrentals.com for our family's FL vacation and yet again everything was beyond our expectations! We opted to stay in the Tampa area this year and found this house early on and fell in love with the pictures as we knew we wanted a screened in pool and hot tub. This place was terrific! Everything it stated was there and then some! The owners were great---responsive, helpful and gave us privacy. The canal in back offered an added bonus we didn't have last year, and we loved it, and were happy to see a manatee our last day there! The kids had a blast and there were plenty of pool toys, fishing gear, bikes and other things to do right there at the home. The bedrooms were clean and nice and everything was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have our family vacation and are certain we will return!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to hear our guests had a great vacation and that they got to see a Manatee. We saw them the day they left and were hoping that they did as well. We would love to have them back!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved the Cove!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation! The house was perfect for our needs. My son and his wife had the master with their own bath. My daughter, husband and twin 2 year olds had 2 bedrooms and a large, kid friendly den on the opposite end of the house. The heated pool was a huge plus for the kids and I. The gazebo and dock on the canal were so relaxing. We saw dolphins right in our backyard the first day! The location was perfect- close to stores and attractions, but tucked away in a quiet residential area.
Linda and Dave, the homeowners, were so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this home and these owners to anyone looking for a great place in the Tampa area. Thank you for making our vacation so amazing!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Florida Holiday

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The whole family had a fantastic stay at the lovely holiday villa. Linda & Dave the owners were so helpful and did everything to ensure we have a great holiday. The villa was the best we have ever stayed in, perfect location, presented to a very high standard. It had everything you could possibly need to make your stay perfect.
We would highly recommend it to anyone, young or old

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We were happy to have you and your family and would love to have you back again in the future.
Sincerely
L & D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

My family and I spent a week at this home and it was totally awesome. This home has everything you will ever need and more. It is extremely clean; in a quiet and safe neighborhood; and is very close to everything you will ever want to do in Tampa. If you are planning on visiting the Tampa area and are looking for a home-type environment for you and your entire family, look no further; this place is it. You will wish you lived there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having your family in our home. Hope to see you again sometime.
Sincerely
L & D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I had rented this house for my parents (60+) who came for a two week visit from Germany. They loved EVERYTHING about their stay, and are already planning their return. The house is spacious, very clean and well maintained. Linda and her family were extremely helpful, and always open to our (many) questions.

The view from the house is beautiful to wake up to every morning. We saw dolphins and manatees in the canal, as well as other wild life. The pool and jaccuzi were great. My parents also very much enjoyed biking on the trail along the canal. The house is conveniently close to downtown Tampa, about 20 minutes from the airport and International Mall, but also only a short drive from the beach. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but it's only a five minute drive to Wallmart, Publix, Bank of America and other usefull shops and stores.

Overall, our stay could not have been more comfortable. We were able to sit outside at the pool every night, and my parents absolutely loved it. Linda and Dave are very friendly, and everything worked great, from the first contact to returning the keys. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were so happy to have them in our vacation home and can hardly wait for their return visit! 5 Star Guests!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

excellent rental choice

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

Jackie, This was our third time renting a home in Florida, The Cove was the best so far. It was clean, had everything you would need and more. The location was suberb, handy to grocery stores, shopping,resturants and the beaches. The teenagers loved it, they liked having their own bathroom and den away from Mom and Dad. The owners really respect your need for privicy, but are available when you need them ( like to give you a shout out when the manetees our out front!!). We highly recomend this rental property for your family vaction.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you and your family.
Sincerely
L & D

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March Break with the kids!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This was our first visit to Tampa and the area was great! We stayed for a week in the house with a family of four and another family of three (one being an infant). The property was very clean upon arrival and had nearly everything you would need for a comfortable stay (dishes and cutlery, towels and linen, garbage bags, soap in dispensers, fishing rods and tackle, golf clubs, bicycles and helmets, and many more). The pool area, lanai, and spectacular view (including sunsets) were the key highlights to this property. We saw many waterfowl and a few manatees in the canal one afternoon!

A few areas of improvement that we felt were needed was improved access to the WiFi network and an upgrade to cable or satellite for the television; however this was only a minor annoyance as we spent most of our time outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

I would definitely recommend this property to stay at, and would not hesitate to visit again for any future stay in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were happy to have you:-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Home!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

First off the home is as beautiful as the pictures show. We really enjoyed the the house. The property is clean and spacious. There is plenty to keep you entertained. The pool and the heated Jacuzzi were wonderful. The view of the channel is absolutely beautiful throughout the house. The beds are comfortable; it’s tastefully furnished and decorated. The amenities are plenty, bikes, fishing pools, washer & dryer, wet bar, BBQ grill just to name a few. The home is centrally located and there are alot of restaurants and shopping nearby. There is a walking trail located right at the end of the street which my husband and I enjoyed walking on everyday. The owners were most accommodating and gave us our privacy. They made themselves available to us for anything we needed. I couldn't have stayed at a more amazing place and I recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We would love to have this family back again! We were lucky to have them as our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Home!

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

First off the home is as beautiful as the pictures show. We really enjoyed the the house. The property is clean and spacious. There is plenty to keep you entertained. The pool and the heated Jacuzzi were wonderful. The view of the channel is absolutely beautiful throughout the house. The beds are comfortable; it’s tastefully furnished and decorated. The amenities are plenty, bikes, fishing pools, washer & dryer, wet bar, BBQ grill just to name a few. The home is centrally located and there are alot of restaurants and shopping nearby. There is a walking trail located right at the end of the street which my husband and I enjoyed walking on everyday. The owners were most accommodating and gave us our privacy. They made themselves available to us for anything we needed. I couldn't have stayed at a more amazing place and I recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A location for the whole family... Litterally!

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

This house comfortably fit three generations! Two grandparents (60+), two parents (30+) and two kids (2 and 4 months). It had everything we needed to feel right at home. We turned the day bed around which worked out great for a toddler bed and they had a crib which was so convenient. The first thing we all noticed was how clean the house and pool was which was comforting to see. The beds were super comfortable and the sheets were luxurious! The backyard area was beautiful! Drinking morning coffee by the poolwhich was lined with pretty Spanish tile, watching the canal and the jumping fish - lovely! The location was good for us in terms of being close to shopping and resturants.
Our only complaint would be with the television channel selection which was mostly Spanish or Christian so not much to watch if those options are not to your taste. Also we didn't have Internet access the majority of the time we were there which was challenging, however it was apparently the fault of the network provider and the owners were kind enough to offer us an alternative should we need it which we appreciated.
Overall we recommend this house for your Tampa vacation!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were happy to have them as our guests and will have to look into the television situation. It is my understanding the home has all the regular broadcast stations plus those mentioned. Our internet services was down from Saturday until Monday which was the soonest I could get them to fix it. We try very hard to make our guests stay a pleasant one but sometimes things happen beyond our control.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pictures do not do this home justice!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My husband, 3 teenagers (16, 17, 18) and myself stayed in this beautiful home from December 23, 2011 to January 3, 2012. The home is well furnished, exceptionally clean and very inviting. There are plenty of grocery and other stores very close by. The pool and hot tub are very clean and we enjoyed using them everyday. Being on the waterway was a treat and my husband saw a dolphin on Christmas morning. We enjoyed many beautiful sunsets. Everything listed under the amenities is in great working order and readily available. Our 3 teenagers loved the place. Having a swimming pool and hot tub right outside the door was a treat. The owners are a very friendly couple who were aware of giving privacy but were readily available with assistance or suggestions when asked. We would highly recommend this home and we hope to head back there in the next couple of years. It was a welcome escape from the Canadian winter. Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very fortunate to have such a nice family in our home & would love to have them back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pictures do not do this home justice!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My husband, 3 teenagers (16, 17, 18) and myself stayed in this beautiful home from December 23, 2011 to January 3, 2012. The home is well furnished, exceptionally clean and very inviting. There are plenty of grocery and other stores very close by. The pool and hot tub are very clean and we enjoyed using them everyday. Being on the waterway was a treat and my husband saw a dolphin on Christmas morning. We enjoyed many beautiful sunsets. Everything listed under the amenities is in great working order and readily available. Our 3 teenagers loved the place. Having a swimming pool and hot tub right outside the door was a treat. The owners are a very friendly couple who were aware of giving privacy but were readily available with assistance or suggestions when asked. We would highly recommend this home and we hope to head back there in the next couple of years. It was a welcome escape from the Canadian winter.
Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you in our home. We hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely
L & D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love This Place!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Let me begin by saying how wonderful this place is. Enough words cannot describe how much we love this place and the amount of fun we had staying there. We planned a family reunion for Thanksgiving and it couldn't have been more perfect. The pictures on this site are nice but it's much nicer in person. The property is huge, clean, and spacious. There is plenty to keep you and the kids entertained. The pool was a definite hit with the kids and the heated Jacuzzi was a hit with the adults. We barbequed, fished, watched the sunset and wildlife from the dock. The view of the lake is absolutely beautiful throughout the house.The beds are comfortable; it’s tastefully furnished and decorated. The amenities are plenty, bikes, fishing pools, washer dryer, wet bar, BBQ grill just to name a few. The home is centrally located and getting around town was a breeze. The owners are very nice people and lived next door. They were most accommodating and gave us our privacy. They made themselves available to us for anything we needed and it worked out completely. I couldn't have stayed at a more amazing place and I recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful family trip

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

This was a very nice trip for our family. My husband and I have five children and it was the perfect place for us to stay. I had a conference in town, so my husband was home with the kids during the day. There was plenty for them to do. They all loved swimming in the pool. Also, they fished in the canal and rode bikes while they were there. We also played games one evening. It was almost like being home (away from home). This house has many things to do nearby, so it is an ideal place to stay. There are plenty of grocery stores and shopping nearby. My teens wanted to go to the mall and it was only about 15 minutes to get there and had tons of stores. The house was everything that is shown in the pictures and more. Aside from being a very beautiful place to stay, it was well-furnished and very clean. I was worried about the smaller children and staying somewhere with a pool, but there were child locks on the doors. The owners were nextdoor and were very nice. We only spoke with them on a few occasions, but no one could ask for nicer people. They were very attentive and available for anything that we might need. I would definately recommend this property to anyone. If you book this place, you will not regret it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were happy to have them :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Trip

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This is going to be long because I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed this home. I was sick part of my trip so I had to stay behind for excursions and if I had to be stuck somewhere I couldn't have asked for a better place. I have stayed in many rental homes and condos and this home is now at the top of my list. The home has the benefit of being in a central location so you can go and do whatever it is you do, but you can also walk out the back door and feel as if you are in your own little world. The house is very well maintained. The pool is much larger than it appears, as is the home itself. There was plenty of room to spread out and do your own thing. One of the first things I do when I walk into a rental is lay on the bed to see how much rest I will be able to get. There is nothing worse than arriving at your location only to realize that you will not be getting a good nights sleep until you go home (that has happened to me several times, twice this summer alone). I am happy to report that if you stay in this home you will be sleeping like a baby. The canal/channel that the home sits on is much larger than the side canals and makes you feel as if you are on the river. We saw the manatee on more than one occasion. My husband enjoyed fishing on the dock. We have family nearby so we had a family gathering, there was plenty of room and everyone had a wonderful time. To top it all off, we had the most accomodating hosts. I will be the first to say that I was not sure how it would be to have the owners so close by but I can honestly say that it could not have worked out any better. They were more than gracious and honestly just wonderful people. We are very laid back and I could tell right off that they were the same. If I lived in their neighborhood, they would be the ones I would be inviting over to cook out or watch a game. If we had a question, they were there for us, to be honest, they went above and beyond (and it was very much appreciated) but at the same time they completely respected our privacy. In summary, this house has everything you need. Would I rent here again or recommend it to my friends and family? ABSOLUTELY! If I could just stay here for another week or even a month, would I? WITHOUT A DOUBT!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very happy to have such wonderful guests.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review