reviews for: listing #88596 - Amelia Island, Florida House rental

200 yds.to the BEACH via private path/Plantation/Omni Resort
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Amelia Island Plantation
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $400 /nt
    $2,625 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Far Exceed Expectations

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We have been vacationing on Amelia Island for over 25 years and have stayed at many condos. Mostly on The Plantation. This year we decided to venture out and rent a house. I can honestly say it was definitely the best decision we made! Even with a little rain we were able to enjoy ourselves with the spacious house. We have every age group - from adult children to grandchildren. We have several family members that stay at BeachWalker and the location was perfect for us to meet up with them on the beach and to visit. The owner was an absolute pleasure to work with. The house is exactly, if not more, than the description given. Extremely clean, spacious, wonderful location, very private, well-maintained, stocked beyond anything you can imagine! Owner has thought of everything and has taken a lot of time to provide a personal book with restaurant recommendations, things to do, etc. You cannot imagine how this house is such a relaxing place to be. Very nice but not stuffy - very open and comfortable! We loved the outdoor bar and grill area to relax in the evening. We will be back - actually have already booked for next year! Can't wait!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cindy for giving Beachside Paradise such a great 5 star review. Tina,Martha,James,Jay and I work very hard to make sure that everything is perfect and our guests have a wonderful, memorable vacation.
Thanks again and we'll see you next year!
Susan Jacobson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding Bliss

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

We rented this house over the Labor Day holiday during our son's wedding. Pictures and descriptions of the house are very accurate. The only thing they shortsell is the location. It is ideally situated within Amelia Island Plantation. We hosted the rehearsal dinner at Walkers Landing with its beautiful sunset--a special evening for us. Most of the out-of-town wedding guests stayed at The Inn, but our family of five stayed at this wonderful-true to its name-- Beachside Paradise. It had every amenity we needed plus was such a calm and serene aesthetic, which balanced the wedding frenzies perfectly. It was a lovely place to host family and friends who stopped by. The teens loved running off to the beach which was a short, fun hike away. Senior family members just enjoyed having a peaceful, yet beautiful place to park themselves. Our family would love to come back here to this house and resort as we were so caught up in our wedding agendas that we did not have time to do all the fun activities such as kayaking, golfing, nature hikes. We did go out on the beach in the mornings for the sunrise--breathtaking--and even got some full-moon night hikes on the beach. Such a great time! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

They Thought of Everything

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Just pack your clothes and a toothbrushes, they thought of everything. Our family stayed a week and had a wonderful time. Walking distance to the Omni Hotel and the beach. Even though this is in middle of a very large and popular resort, it had a very secluded feel. Very nice place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding vacation home!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

As may some times happen, the pictures of a location are always prettier than the real thing....definitely NOT the case here- the home was exactly as pictured and better as the pictures didn't show how well stocked/ supplied the place was - no need to being beach stuff- it was all there- as well as a well stocked spice cabinet, lovely towels in all the rooms- a real home away from home...loved its secluded location yet a short walk to an uncrowded beach...could say so much more but will close with- will rent again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review. We'll see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great relaxing stay

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

The house was in a beautiful gated community. Although it was almost unbearably hot this time of year the central air worked great.. The inside of the house was decorated beautifully and all of your needs were thought of by the home owner. Each morning waking up to the view of the woods made us feel like we were hidden from civilization. Each bedroom having a bathroom was very convenient. We will certainly be back.. Thanks Susan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing week at Amelia Island. There was plenty to do with activities and great restuarants close by. And then there was the beach, beautiful and relaxing. The owner was a joy to work with. The property was clean and totally stocked. It has a beautiful setting, the photos don't do it justice. A great place to visit!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

This home was EXACTLY as described! I have stayed in many beach rentals, and this was, hands down, the best. The house was immaculate and well-maintained. the layout of the house was exactly what I was looking for- every room had sliding doors that opened to a deck or porch. This home is located in a large resort community, but when you are in the house or the backyard you would never know it- it feels totally private. The beach was a two minute walk on a private path. My damage deposit was refunded immediately. I would definitely recommend this house.

Owners response: Thank you for letting others know that my resort rental was THE BEST. I appreciate you taking the time to write a five star review.

Tina, Martha,James, Jay and I all work very hard to make sure the house is immaculate and that nothing has been over looked. We want all of our guests to have the very best vacation possible.
Thank you Beverly, please come back again next year.

Susan Jacobson

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding rehearsal dinner and stay

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

We had our large family stay here for my son's wedding and had the rehearsal dinner here. This is the perfect place for a party for adults with lots of space to sit inside and out and not be on top of each other. There is a outside bar and firepit. The house was spotless and the owner very nice.
The owner thought of everything to make our stay wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

The beachside paradise rental was exactly the way it was described and more. The home was beautifully kept and the owner thought of everything possible for the renters. It was conveniently located to the beach just a short walk through the trees to the dunes and the resort was wonderful. My family went to the beach everyday and I even utilized the tennis facilities at the Amelia Island Plantation tennis courts. They were very accommodating to us even letting me family use demo racquets for play.
We are looking forward to our next family vacation at Amelia Island and the Beachside Paradise rental property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reunion for the cousins

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our stay included 6 children ages 2-9 yrs old. We were a little concerned about the space but this house worked wonderfully...even during Tropical Storm Debbie where we had to spend a couple days indoors. The house looks even better in person - well maintained and clean. We were able to set up the five oldest children in the room with the twin beds and an aero bed the owner provided. We loved the location - it was the best of both worlds...beach was just a few hundred feet away and the property had a beautiful yard full of nature. The kids loved checking the garbage to "see the frog". We also enjoyed the shops, nature center, a birding tour, Drummond point and feeding turtles right on the Amelia Island Plantation. It was a wonderful place for every nature lover. In addition, this location provided convenient access to Amelia Island State Park, Fort Clinch and downtown Fernandina Beach. The owner is very attentive and provides everything needed for a great time at the beach! We think Amelia Island is one of the best kept secrets for beachcombers everywhere! We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Diane, for the 5star review. I'm glad the kids had a great time. Please come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peace be with you at Amelia Island

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days, immediately following Tropical Storm Beryl -- the house was in great shape and the Plantation clean up was in progress. The house is centered around a "secret garden" that backs up to a sand dune -- it's the perfect place to unwind and to seek mid-day cool from the beach heat.
The layout, kitchen and thoughtful amenities worked great for us. The Plantation Inn is undergoing major rennovations but we were not affected and enjoyed the beach everyday. I want to particularly comment on the many thoughtful details the owner provided -- basic toiletries, notations on cabinets about contents, a completely stocked spice rack ;-), etc. etc. I would definitely return for peace, quiet and the easy beach life.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Family Getaway! Awesome Accomodations!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Great vacation!!. We were very pleased at how well it accommodated our group of 7 adults and 2 tiny dachshunds. The owner(s) gave a lot of thought when setting up this property. Basically everything you need is there. It's a lot like having your own home next to the beach. The house is laid out in a way that it never seemed crowded at all. We cooked several meals and found the kitchen to be well provided for. Lots of extras that you just don't normally encounter in vacation rentals. The neighborhood is well maintained and quiet. Appears that quite a bit of recent renovation has taken place leaving the home feeling new and well cared for. We were very pleased with our stay!! Thanks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Secluded Beachside Paradise

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

The Beachside house was perfect for our family's birthday celebration. The backyard was like a private paradise. The birds, the beach, the bicycling kept all of us entertained from 60 to 2 and a half. The house layout was perfect for the family. The kitchen was amazing. We were able to have "family" dinners including grilling on the Weber on the deck. We were so sorry to see our time at the beachside house go by so fast. When it was time to go, everyone was thinking how it would be nice to stay at the beachside house again.

Owners response: Thank you Charles, for letting others know that Beachside Paradise truly lives up to it's name and for the 5 star review. Please come back soon, for another wonderful family vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous!!! Once again an amazing experience.

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This is my second time here...the first with family and children and the second with oldest dearest girlfriends. Both times the house and location were perfect and amazing. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lisa, and please return, for the 3rd time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful home for 4 nights with our 2 daughters, their husbands, and out 2 young granddaughters. Our 2 dachshunds also came with us. This home is absolutely lovely. The photographs in the listing are true to the unique beauty of the home. We especially loved the yard, and the surrounding nature paths and walkways to the beach.
The house was spotless and immaculate when we arrived. Not only that, but it is quite clear the owner has spent a great deal of time time thinking of the comfort and needs of her guests. I can not begin to list all the amenities and extras that are provided in the house, such as the kitchen gadgets (everything you could ever need), beach gear (sand toys, kites, chairs, umbrellas, etc.), and extra fun items i never exoected to find. Our granddaughter LOVED the red wagon and kiddie sprinkler in the back yard, and my son-in-law could not believe all the items provided for grilling. Anything we could think of needing - we found in the house. By the way, you can easily find everything, too, because all the cabinets, etc. are labelled with their contents.
I could go on and on. I would recommend this home to anyone. The owner was also very attentive prior to our stay. She provided us with directions, lists of extras she provides in the house, etc. She certainly made our packing and planning much easier with all the information she emailed to us. The owner definitely wants her guests to enjoy their stay, because she has taken utmost care with every detail imaginable.
Charlie and Cathy
Gainesville, FL

Owners response: Thank you Cathy for taking the time to write a review for my resort rental and for the 5 stars!
I truly appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Everything you need and more

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in Susan's lovely home in early April. The owner is gracious and a pleasure to work with. Beachside Paradise was immaculate, beautifully decorated and had everything we needed for a peaceful retreat. Beds, bathrooms, kitchen were perfect and loved the time we spent here.
Would highly recommend this property and we rent in several states. Can't wait to return to this paradise,so close to the beach and lovely walking paths. Tranquility and peace. Don't hesitate renting this.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Carol for the wonderful review. I hope you and your sisters return sometime soon.
Elena, Katie, Jim and I do our very best to make sure Beachside Paradise exceeds our guests expectations....and that's a great feeling when you walk into a rental house.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

"Diamond of the Island'

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We vacationed there last spring.Several of our party flew in from Maine,we drove from the midwest. It was so easy for all of us to get there.It truely was a paradise,you felt like there were no neighbors, the backyard was very private,Each bedroom has its own sitting area surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers .The house was gorgeous,and everything we might need was there.There were all kinds of literature on things to do on the island.We went to a different golf course every morning,and of course the beach was within our walking distance-we went there acouple of times a day-there is nothing like a sunrise on the ocean .We walked on the beach forever and there were more seashells than I've ever seen.I would like to come back here every year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Sandie and Larry for the 5 star review and for making another reservation for this spring. I'm so glad you are returning to Beachside Paradise.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

GreatGirlsWeekend Getaway!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

I stayed at Beachside Paradise for a long weekend in Oct.with my 4 sisters, teenage daughter and niece-we had a wonderful time! The house is perfect, has everything you'd need, right down to beach totes and bikes! Beautiful location, wooded backyard/patio with fire pit (nights spent around the fire full of memories!) and bar, very secluded, beautiful short walk to the beach. Beds are super comfortable, beautiful kitchen, beautiful showers! Great location-close to beach, shops and restaurants all at Amelia Island Plantation. Definitely the perfect vacation spot to unwind-

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hola' Chris,
Thank you for your 5 star review and for already booking your reservation for 2011. I'm so glad you've chosen Beachside Paradise as your new destination, for your annual "New, Old Grey Day, Girls Party." It sounds like you had a lot of fun!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Beachside Paradise. The owner was very attentive during the whole process- answering my questions before we decided on this house, addressing my concerns and paying attention to details relevant to my family. We had a family vacation at this house (parents, children and grandchildren) and there was plenty for the grandchildren provided by the owner: outdoor furniture for children, beach toys, children's beach chairs, toys and a sprinkler for the children to play in. In addition, before arriving I asked the owner about a cart for the beach and she purchased a beach cart, which was ready for us when we got there. This owner understands customer service!

The home's description and pictures were very accurate. It is clean and well decorated. With 6 adults and 3 young children we always had plenty of room. We enjoyed the outdoor shower every time we returned from the beach. The bedrooms were comfortable and the aero bed worked well for our guest. The windows and sliding doors are breathtaking. The home’s furniture, floors and kitchen were very nice. The home is well stocked with cooking appliances and tools. It is a retreat.

The path to the beach is a small hike. It is 200 yards, but the wooded part of the path has a few inclines. It is pretty and it is well maintained, and even my three-year-old hiked to the beach and back every day, but it is a hike with stone steps leading from the house to the path.

I recommend this home and Amelia Island. If you’re not sure what to do when you get to this home, don’t worry, the owner has one binder with Amelia Island Plantation information and another with Amelia Island/Fernandina things to do. The drive from the home to the Fernandina Beach historic area is short and that area has delicious eateries and fun boutique shopping. Fort Clinch was a good learning experience and an appreciated change of pace for one day. The men enjoyed renting kayaks and we all enjoyed the beach. We saw dolphins several times.

We enjoyed our week at Beachside Paradise.

Owners response: Thanks Leslie, for all of your nice comments and for taking the time to write a review.
Also, thanks for the beach cart idea. I'm sure my future guests will appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Secluded Beachside Paradise

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Beautiful, clean,spacious and very well appointed home. The decor and maritime forest setting created a very calming and restful atmosphere. The owner provided many nice extras such as toys and furniture for children, interesting dvds, great audio set up with great cds, bicycles, sand toys, beach towels and on. One could truly have a vacation. The only things that could have made it a bit easier for me would have been some empty shelf space in the kitchen for the dry goods I bought and a shelf or two in one of the bathrooms for toiletries. The owner was quite pleasant to deal with and really aimed at pleasing her guests. It was a wonderful experience, a true 'get away' for a few wonderful days. The ocean was inspiringly beautiful, too. Nearby Fernandina Beach was a quaint, lovely walkable town.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Tom, for the 5 star review. The 3 other staff members and myself, try very hard to make sure we have thought of every detail, to make vacations perfect for our guests. At your suggestion, we moved the ice cream maker, and now have an empty shelf in the kitchen for guests dry goods. Thanks again for taking the time to let others know it was a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing, fun beach vacation

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

We rented for 10 days in April 2010 for a beach vacation with college friends and to celebrate a family wedding. The house was wonderful and the location is ideally situated on the Plantation. We walked to the shops and spa, took the private backyard path to the beach, and took the paved paths to the beach club. It was a little difficult carrying the kids and gear up the steps in the back yard and down the path to the beach, but it was a fun adventure and the kids loved it. We also loved the cul-de-sac location, which made it safe for the kids to play in the front drive. The neighbors were very friendly and offered their extra bikes. The house was stocked with everything we needed. The pictures accurately represented the home. Everyone had a great time-especially our black lab!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for my beach house and for the 5 stars !

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A very special place

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

This home in Amelia Island Plantation was a wonderful choice for us. If you're nature lovers like us you'll love it. Lots of glass, foliage, trees and privacy. Garden path to the beach( that was fun), lots of places to relax in, and amenities galore. Very roomy and fun decor ! There was nothing we needed to bring other than our clothes, it was like being in a hotel !! Thanks so much Susan for all the little extras !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I truly appreciate the wonderful guests I've been able to share my beach house with. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Good for 4 people, but not 6

Review submitted: September 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

House was fairly decent (some things were falling apart, like the chairs around the outside bar). Most importantly, the sleeper bed in the bedroom was really uncomfortable! There were e 6 of us there, so one couple got stuck with this bed (and bad backs). They should replace it with a proper bed.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: The bed in the 3rd bedroom has a permanent custom made Queensize mattress that has a pillowtop . I've had many guests at my home and they all love this very comfortable bed but not everyone has the same preference to mattress firmness.
I am so sorry that one of the bar stools had a loose seat but am certain from the large number of empty beer bottles left in the recycling bin at your departure, that the bar was used frequently during your stay. I also have property management phone numbers posted and had you notified me of a problem with a bar stool, I would have gladly sent someone over to repair your loose screw.

Beachside Paradise is a beautiful home. Thanks for your review and come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 15

 

Perfect in all respects

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

This home and garden setting were well represented in the property details. We loved the nature walk to the beach and with the house being right around the corner from the hotel---everything else was also an easy walk. The garden made it very private and peaceful, and we loved the Weber grill. . .bought one when we got home. The home was spotless as if we were the first to use Beachside Paradise. From the library of games and movies to kitchen cookware and appliances, you could tell that care had been given to making visitors feel comfortable. The communications by owner/manager prior to our arrival were personal and made us feel very welcome. Just wish the weather could have been as accommodating!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

best vacation EVER

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 10, 2008

we have traveled all over the world and found this vacation spot to be the most restful and FUN. The location is fantastic - long stretches of beach, privacy, secluded, very comfortable. We had teenagers with us and they had a blast on the beach. The house is beautiful and truly first class in every way. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

teriffic house, beautiful view

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

This turned out to be a hidden gem - we had so much fun between the beach during the day and the evenings at this house, it was so much better than a hotel - very high quality, kids and adults were happy with yard, easy to relax - love the bar outside and the screen porch - better than the Ritz or the Plantation rentals - clean, neat, like new and high end everything - I could sleep there everynight! Thanks for the opportunity, everyone wants to go back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Beachside Paradise is a hidden gem ! Spend your vacation at our beautiful home . You'll love it here.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review