reviews for: listing #88745 - Puerto Penasco, Northern Mexico Condo rental

Palacio Del Mar
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palacio del Mar
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $900 /wk
    $1,600 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Memorial Day 2014

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

This is a beautiful Condo on the ground floor as it states. That's very important to my husband and I. We felt very lucky to find this available and at such a reasonable rent. It is a rocky shoreline and the Hot Tub wasn't working. Didn't bother us too much. We enjoyed the pool and did get down into the Sea one day. We enjoyed our time there and the leisurely pace. You have to remember this is Mexico and things happen slowly. Just be prepared to lay back, relax and enjoy. We bought some beautiful large shrimp, the size of lobster tails and great fresh fish to bring home. Since it's only a 4 hour drive for us, this was a no brainer and one of the items on our agenda. I would recommend Rocky Point for a nice vacation and this condo to give you the feeling of being home. That's how we felt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Zenna! I hope that you and your husband come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for Peaceful Family Getaway!

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Having never traveled to Mexico, our family of five did not know quite what to expect. However, from the moment we booked this condo with Brenda, we were extremely pleased from start to finish. From the pictures, we knew that the condo would be very nice and that our views of the Sea of Cortez would be good. We didn't realize just how nice the condo is and how spectacular the views are until we stepped into the condo and out onto the patio. If you want to be near the water -- both the pool and the sea -- then this is the place.

We practically had the pool/hot tub to ourselves for about 90% of the time. Although there were a few other families staying there during our week, we rarely ran into them. The lack of people might be a negative for some, but for us, it was very peaceful and serene. We never had any issues with noisy neighbors or with loud partiers. We may have stayed during a quiet week, but quiet was just what we needed. At no time during our stay in the condo or in Puerto Penasco did we feel unsafe. The guards and condo managers were nice and very helpful and tried to answer any questions that we had.

Although the beach is rocky and not sandy, our three boys (especially our 8 year-old) loved exploring the tide pools and trying some metal detecting. We were even able to do some snorkeling in front of the condo and see some very colorful fish. One of the great things about this condo is its location. Only minutes from the Malecon and the main part of Puerto Penasco, we were able to get around very easily. This contributed to a much more culturally diverse experience as opposed to what you might get at Sandy Beach.

All in all, my family had one of the best vacations that we have ever had! We hated to leave after just seven days. We will definitely return to Puerto Penasco and will definitely stay at Brenda's condo again. I would highly recommend this condo and this location. Brenda was a delight to work with and we look forward to our next family vacation to Rocky Point and Palacio del Mar!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Howell and Brenda, I hope that you come back again soon! I'll leave the light on for you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I really wanted my experience to be better

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

THE GOOD: Awesome views. Reasonably well appointed, safe property. Appliances worked. Owner responsive. Property was clean by RP standards. Ample parking.

THE BAD: Weak Wi-Fi coverage; not to be confused with slow speeds. iPhones & iPads croaked, but computers did better.

Brenda had set my expectations that the area right in front of the condo was quite rocky, but the “miles of usable beach just east of the condo” is a stretch. Yes, it’ less rocky 150 yards to the left, but “usable” is a matter of opinion. The further east you go, the better it gets. Suggestion: Owner should post photos that clearly show the “usable beach” and the condo in the same frame vs. the ones taken at a low angle of the water alone that are currently posted.

In the instruction sheet I received 5 days prior to departure Brenda says that “I do not list a hot tub or heated pool” as properties are reducing heating expenses. However, at the time of my booking “Shared Hot Tub” was mentioned in the listing; by the time you read this review, Brenda will have removed this mention. The hot tub was a deciding factor for us in choosing this property. I could have asked for a refund upon seeing this 5 days prior to leaving, but didn’t, because there was very little inventory left to choose from.

I was prepared that the bar across the street would be loud. But I didn’t expect that for 3 out 4 nights, a bunch of drunk people would party just 40 yards from my patio, blast their stereo at full volume, break bottles and laugh like hyenas from 2:30 am to 5:30 am. What about the guards on the property? Well, the property border ends right where the crowd starts partying – yep, you guessed it, 40 yards! This factor, although not in the owner’s control, had a major impact on my rating.

THE UGLY: Spare bed sheets and all pillow covers kept for the sofa bed had hair all over them. They weren’t washed. Saw brownish-red stains on sleep sofa mattress cover. Removed the cover to flip it inside out and saw similar stains on mattress. That did it for my wife. We had one of the kids sleep in our bed for 4 nights. Housekeeper needs to do a better job keeping owner informed.

Brenda, I have revised this review based on the objections you raised in email, and this is the best I can do to objectively assess my experience. I’m aware that most reviewers love your property, but I just didn’t have the same experience they did. I trust you will be open to my feedback and take it constructively.

Owners response: First of all, I want to say that I have many return renters who come back time and time again. This was a family of 5 and most families and everyone else loves my property. I have no control over other renters or the locals being noisy, although I haven't experienced this myself. The times I've stayed at other properties in Rocky Point, there was no WiFi coverage at all. The WiFi at my condo works better than most properties in RP. The first I knew of any of their other concerns was when I saw the review. I have a very nice and professional cleaning lady who does an awesome job. If there were sheets or mattress covers that were not washed and we were aware of it, she would have immediately taken care of it. She rarely misses anything and does her best to keep my condo in pristine condition. I checked in with these folks a couple of days into their trip and they said that everything was fine. I hope that future renters will not take this information to heart, and I truly believe that most of what this renter said is inaccurate. The tide pools along the beach that he mentions as "not usable" are among the best in RP and you see people in the water and on the beach all of the time, so this is definitely not true that this beach cannot be used. I clearly state in my contract and in my letter that I send to each renter that the hot tub and pool may not be heated. Most people don't mind this as it is 105 degrees right now. To say that he didn't know this until 5 days prior to his trip is not true as it was stated in the contract he signed 5 weeks prior to their trip. I guess this goes to show that not everyone can be pleased, but I do try my best.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

awesome location

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

great location, very clean, easy to go to, awesome ocean front view....
Brenda was easy and great to work with, gave me all the info and made sure i had everything i needed....
beds are super comfy, shower pressure was great, kitchen has all you need for cooking and more....
great to sit there and have breakfast, lunch or dinner with such an amazing view...
saw dolphins and whales daily which was pretty cool...
this is a great place that I will be recommending to all my friends and will def be coming back much more often....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rocky Point Splendor

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Our stay was wonderfully relaxing as expected. The condo is located in a perfect location close to all you need for an extended stay. Beds, condo layout and accommodations were clean, spacious and very well maintained! Beach chairs and umbrella came in handy for our leisurely stays on the beach. Thank you Brenda for sharing your lovely home!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome unit great views

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

This condo is awesome. Literally steps from the pool and ocean. The pool was clean and water temperature was perfect. The condo is close to fish market and very close to a convenience store as well as Mannys beach club. Much more intimate setting than the big resorts on Sandy Beach. Brenda, the owner, is by far the best I have ever rented from in Rocky Point. She answered all our questions and gave us detailed instructions and recommended places to eat and visit. We will for sure rent from Brenda again. We are so happy to have found her and this unit to rent in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Condo/Views

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We just came back from Rocky Point. Stayed in this condo for 4 days. Location is awesome. Views are awesome. We had 6 people, so brought a blow up bed, but there was a fold out couch. We loved being very close to the pool. Brenda was most accomidating. She answered all our questions, and gave us very detailed information on the condo, and recommendations in town on where to eat, and what to do. This is much different then staying on Sandy Beach condos. Less people, less noise, closer to the water and pool. We will rent again from Brenda. Thank you for sharing your second home with us, and thank you for making the trip so easy. Jean

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I really enjoyed this place. For sure I will recommend this property to my friends

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

I went to Puerto Penasco and stayed at here I have to say that this place still exceeds my expectations. I highly recommend staying here. I can't emphasize how gorgeous the view from the patio.This condo looked nice and cozy... the best feature was that it was a ground condo. Just a few steps and you are at the pool and beach. Thanks Brenda!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the condo! Very beautiful and well kept. The view was amazing!!
Brenda was very friendly and her instructions to get to home were easy to follow. Condo is mins away from the main areas. We loved the private condo and the pool and view was breath taking. We plan on staying again in the future and I will gladly refer friends and relatives to Brenda's condo. Rocky Point didn't let us down.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding trip

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

The condo was beautiful. The staff there were very nice. My family had a great time and would recommend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Choice Location

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This location has it all. My family and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. Private codo located on the beach with beautiful views of the sea. We would recommend this location to families and singles as an excellent get away. the owner was friendly and easy to communicate with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Condo

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

The owner of the condo, Brenda, was very helpful and promptlly responsive in providing information and answering our questions about the unit. We found the condo to be clean, spacious, and very nicely appointed. The pool was well maintained and refreshing in the July heat. The view of the beach was fantastic, and the proximity to the town was great. Our only disappointment was that there wasn't really any useable beach access from the unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Owners response: Thank you for your review! There's miles of useable beach just east of the condo within easy walking distance. The water comes almost to the pool during high tide, but many people snorkel or launch kayaks from there. I've also seen people on rafts and inner tubes there. If you want to just get into the water, the beach area just to the east is the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most relaxing trip in years!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

The owner, Brenda was very easy to deal with and answered all my emails quickly. My family and I had a short 2 night stay for Mother's Day weekend. I wish we could have stayed longer. Everything was exactly as described. While the pool is shared with other condos we had it all to ourselves. You can walk down to the beach but we spent most of our time lounging in the infinity pool and the patio taking in the view. The fish market and the grocery and liquor stores were a short 5 min drive away.

The house is fully stocked with everything you need and the beds are very comfortable. It made us at ease to know there was a guard in the parking lot.

I already want to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely condo, all the amenities!

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this well appointed condo. It had everything we needed to make some of our meals in and plenty of room for the four of us! Great location just slightly removed from the hustle and bustle but close enough. There is a little tienda just down the street as well as a couple nearby restaurants within walking distance. Opening the big sliding glass doors right onto the sea front was a pleasure each morning. My daughter and I also enjoyed hunting for shells in the tide pools and volcanic rocks directly in front of the condo. A sandy beach is only steps away. We also enjoyed a short drive to the oyster farms just south of town! We highly recommend and will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great relaxed, easy get away

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Went down from Gilbert AZ - 234 miles and 4 hours 15 minutes door to door, super easy trip both ways! Brenda's directions were easy to follow and right on point!

Condo is very nice, comfortable and clean. Collected shells during low tide and saw dolphins while drinking my morning coffee right out on the patio!

Thank You Brenda- we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best view in rocky point!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

Besides the condo being "top of the line" and having all (and more!) comforts needed from fully stocked kitchen, washer, dryer - the view is outstanding! Wall to wall and floor to ceiling windows overlook the ocean - you can't take your eyes off the view - a gorgeous place right on the ocean. Even the chairs for the patio were so comfortable - you cannot get better than this. We will definately return to this place!
The owner was extremely responsive to my questions and responded so quickly even when I was just asking about restaurant refferals - the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

No need to "Go to the Beach" because you're there, just look out the huge ceiling to floor windows. Whether you're cooking breakfast or sitting on the couch, the view, tides and sky continually change. Walk to restaurants or have pizza delivered. The whole family had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Condo!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your condo! We had a great time. The condo is decorated very nice and had everything in it that we needed to make our vacation fun. We saw dolphins right off the beach one night during the sunset which was a special treat. It was close to town and everything we wanted to do. We would love to come back in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Very nice condo... owner very helpful. Price was great! Highly reccommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wounderful vacation spot

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We had a wounderful time at the condo. It is so beautyful inside and the view is perfect. We thought it was so nice the little gift you left for us. Thank You so much.We will only be staying here when we come to RP.You made it possible to have a perfect vacation. First Rate Condo.We will be telling ll our friends about your place . Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wounderful place to stay

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

The condo was so nice. Your decor was first class. The view was perfect We had the best trip we have ever had to RP.We will always stay at your condo. The little gift you left for us was so nice and thoughtful We will let our friends know what a great place you have. Thanks for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dec 2012

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We spent a month at this Condo and it was the most relaxing time. We never missed a sun up or sundown. Owner got us straight there with directions late at night and provided all the comforts of home. Few roaches about which weren't a big problem, flies were a pest. Too bad the pool and hot tub were freezing, they did heat the tub once for us, such a waste but then...Mexico! Guards were outstanding and so lovely. Definitely recommend for those who just want to chill!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ocean condo

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

A lovely large 2 BR condo overlooking the ocean,beach access.Condo beautfully appointed and reasonably priced.See dolphins and pelicans right out the front window or patio.Easy access to the Melcon and restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Experience!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

We feel lucky to have found this quiet, truly beach front condo. Forget Sandy Beach, this is close enough to the water that we saw Dolphins go by, watched the Pelicans dive and enjoyed a panoramic view through the ceiling to floor, wall to wall windows! Just go outside on the patio and you're AT THE BEACH! Fun experience. The condo was clean and full of all the stuff you need when you're away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best we've Found!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Forget Sandy Beach, we've done that. Walk out this ground floor condo and you're at the beach! No need to leave the patio for panoramic views and great sunsets. Close enough to the water that we saw Dolphins pass by! Quiet and secluded, clean, everything we needed except the Margaritas. Highly recommend for quiet retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the View of the Ocean!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Brenda, we wanted to thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo..very nice and love the view of the ocean. Your neighbors were great! Thank you again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing!!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

I rented this condo for the week of 4th of July for my girlfriend and I, along with her parents. I was extraordinarily impressed with this place, and how quiet the area was at night. If you are looking for something that is not as busy as the resort areas, with all the same amenities then this is the place for you. We actually wanted to relax on our vacation, and I've had bad experiences with the sandy beach resorts due to noise and partying everywhere so we decided to do something different this time. Let me tell you, I'm glad we did! Amazing view, beautiful pool, ground floor, 50 feet from the beach when the tide is up, you just can't go wrong here. The owner, Brenda, was great and provided us with everything we would need to know prior to the trip and even included some suggestions on fun things to do and places to eat. The Wi-Fi code was provided to us in the same document so I guess the last lady did not bother to read it! The condo itself is nicely furnished, definitely better than any hotel you could stay in, and the tile work on the ceiling in the living/dining area is gorgeous. Direct TV was a bonus, so I was able to keep up on the news while we were there. The only complaint I would have is the water pressure is a little low, but it seems that is just a Rocky Point problem because everywhere else is like that too. Overall I'm very very happy with our stay there, and plan to go back in the near future. Thanks Brenda!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 dead roaches in hallway when we first got there then the next day there were 3 more, bIG ONES!!

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

I had no wifi the entire weekend. And when I tried contacting someone about it , it was a huge run around. (I even had to add international calling on my cell phone to contact someone in mexico which was Rosy the cleaning lady, who apparently didnt have the code but after talking to security he said she knew the code, not to mention there is no phone in the room to call around Mexico) At first no one would give me the security code then when I did get it the router wasn't working. I had asked the neighbor w/the pugs and she said hers was working. So I wasted alot of time trying to get online all weekend because I had a pyschology test that I needed to take but I never met my deadline and my grade ended up a zero. Another issue was the cable just stopped working for about 5 hours and then popped back on. The umbrella in the closet didnt fit the table outside for any shade. And the hot tub wasn't working, however the day we were leaving the pool got cleaned and the hot tub was being worked on. (how convienant)So overall, I loved your place the view and the quietness. However, I don't think I would stay or recommend staying to another person due to the run arounds I did and wasted alot of time checking on wifi connections. Unless I was given a great deal for staying at your condo again. I do plan on going back for Thanksgiving since I have family living in Rocky Point.

Owners response: I am devastated by this review as I did everything on earth to please this lady, but there was no pleasing her. She didn't pay me timely but I kept the condo reserved for her anyway. This guest was provided a letter prior to her visit that gave her all of the pertinent information about the condo, including the WiFi code. Then she e:mailed me for the code and I promptly sent it to her for the 2nd time. My cleaning lady and the security guards would have no reason to know the WiFi code, so there was no run- around. It stands to reason that if the WiFi worked for the neighbor, that it would have worked in my condo, too, so it leaves me to surmise that she did not enter the information correctly. As for the roaches, it has been a very rainy Fall and bugs come out from the rocks when it rains. Being right on the water along with the rain can cause a bug problem. However, I spray regularly and stay on top of it, which is evidenced by the bugs being dead, instead of alive. All of the Rocky Point properties are hurting (including mine) due to the economy as many people have defaulted on their condos and the HOA funds have been greatly reduced. The hot tub is not left on all of the time due to the expense. The umbrella that was referred to is a beach umbrella, not to be confused with an umbrella for a table. I have a telephone in the condo for free calls to and from the US. Since most of my guests are U S citizens, I believe that this is what most people would want, rather than a phone for calls within Mexico. I honestly do not believe that I could have done anything differently to make this guest happy. Most of my guests love my condo and have become return visitors and friends. I hope that future visitors will consider that 99.9% of my feedback has been very favorable, all 5's except for one 4. I don’t always have control over every situation, as this is Mexico and things do not work the same as in the U. S. But, I try very hard to provide a nice place to stay directly on the water for a good price. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your beautiful getaway condo. We enjoyed the breathtaking view and took full advantage of the pool & kitchen. Absolutely in love with the ceiling design in the living room. We enjoyed your neighbor's suggestion to tak a 2 hour boat ride at sunset; it was entertaining. P. S. The guard here is so kind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful condo! It was so nice and relaxing and out of the 5 days we were here, we had the whole place to ourselves until the last day. Very romantic! The sunrises are stupendous and our furry friends had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We had an amazing time staying at your condo. What a beautiful place! The view is spectacular! Everything was so clean and organized and we really appreciated it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Your condo is beautiful. The decorating is lovely, The beds are soft and inviting. Once we walk out the back door, it is as if we are in our own private paradise. My grandson and I totally enjoyed the tide pools and sitting on the concrete dock getting splashed by the waves. Just lots of good memories made. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We had a great time! This is the first time we've veen here just the two of us (no kids). It was fun and romantic. The view is beautiful and the condo had everything we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Desparetely needed

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Place was great, weather was great........Can't stand crickets........................

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I heard from some of my friends in Rocky Point that the cricket situation has gotten better. All of the rain brought them out, but it is drying up again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great relaxing weekend vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

it was a great and peacefull experience, the condo is in excellent shape, we think we were in our house but with a great view, the condo is fully equipted and with a very good taste. every thing was so clean and new.
it's a place to get ride off your watch and just enjoy life, you eat, drink and sleep when ever you feel too.

and in the town you can eat like a king if you like seafood and fish. I felt like the squirrel from the ice age but instead of a acorn it was a giant shrimp

thanks for everything and we will back very, very soon.

para todos los amigos y clientes que no hablan ingles, este condominio es excellente, muy limpio y perfectamente equipado y exquicitamente decorado. sientes que estas en tu casa pero con vista al mar, es el lugar ideal para una segunda luna de miel o una escapadita con la novia.
100% recomendable, ademas que en el pueblo se come excelentemente, si te gustan los mariscos y el pescado es como llegar al eden. yo me sentia como la ardilla de la era de hielo, pero en lugar de una bellota era un camaron.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Heaven July 27, 2012

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This condo is as advertized with breathtaking views of the Sea of Cortez from a modern and clean 1st floor condo. The on site property caretakers are really nice and helpful folks. Everything worked as descrbed beginning with entering the code to enter the front door. The old fish market is filled with the freshest, most affordable seafood I have ever had! See Hector at "Three Boys" for premium jumbo shrimp that he will peel, devein and butterfly. One night we paid $3USD for flounder and shrimp to feed 3 people, Wow!!! My favorite ceviche was from the "Guamuchil" restaurant. We look forward to another trip to Puerto Penasco. This condo has it all so of course I would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phoenix Father and Son

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My son and I stayed for three nights and four days at this great location. Although it seems to be fairly quiet and isolated when you're sitting out by the pool with the sea breeze in your face, it is actually quite near the El Malecón shopping, restaurant, and old port district. Needless to say, this condo is very, very comfortable, with all the modern amenities, and is in a great location.

We especially enjoyed sitting out by the pool every night watching the moon rise over the sea - this sight was breathtaking and unforgettable. Also, we had a lot of fun fishing from shore, shopping, and eating at a couple of the local restaurants. We bought fresh fish and shrimp at El Malecón and grilled and ate most of our meals on the patio. In addition to a few small, nearby markets, for quick-trip type purchases, there is a big, relatively new store located on Blvd. Benito Juárez where you can buy almost anything you need at very reasonable prices.

I have to add that the staff at the Palacio del Mar, the development where the condo is located, are all very friendly and accomodating.

Oh, and the tidal pools here are spectacular!

Everything about the condo was as advertised and we would definitely recommend it to our friends and family. We are already looking forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We really enjoyed this condo. It's in a great location, close to everything, and has everything you need.
Just take your toiletries! Beautiful condo, everything in working order, has round the clock security. I was so pleased that we could bring our dog with us...he really enjoyed it!
The only MINOR drawback is that the lot next door is a "party" lot for the locals and can get somewhat noisy, along with the restaurant across the street. This seems to happen in the evening only and is easily obscured by the television. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Choice

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

It really exceeded our expectations, a lot of space, 3 tv's, directv, dvd player on each tv, fully stainless steel kitchen, 2 full bathrooms, the hot tube & the pool in excellent conditions and most important the view can't be better, you are in front of the ocean, it's really nice, we are planning to be there again during the summer, the only thing that we didn't like was the windy weather that we had for a couple of days but that's why we are going to comeback again during summer.
And you are just a couple of minutes driving from the "malecon", Excellent option really.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We spent Spring Break here and it was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. No rushing here and there on excursions. Just life at a slow pace for the week. This was our first trip to Rocky Point and Brenda was quick to respond to all of my questions while I planned our vacation. The condo is spacious and fully stocked with everything you need to relax, cook meals and make tropical beverages. We made breakfast in the condo and then packed lunches to take to the beach. There are tons of restaurants very close by for dinner. We spent mornings exploring the tidepools for crabs and other creatures and evenings on the patio watching the dolphins pass by. The view is wonderful. We hiked up the mountain next to the condo to photograph the amazing views of the entire city and beaches. The location is secluded, felt very safe with 24 hour security and the staff was wonderful. A day trip to Bird Island to see the sea lions and catch sea bass and triggerfish is a must! We will definitely be returning this summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Time!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We just got back from a great vacation in Rocky Point spent with my parents. Brenda's condo was a fantastic place to be. The view was amazing (we saw whales, dolphins, and sea lions right from the front porch), the unit was spacious and comfortable, and all of the people taking care of the property were helpful and friendly. Brenda was very good at responding to any questions we had. The location is perfect. It's in a quiet neighborhood, but very close to town and the Malecon. One of our favorite restaurants, Manny's, is literally a stone's throw away. It's also right on the beach so great for walking and hunting for treasures in the tidepools. The unit worked out great for my parents who have limited mobility issues. The unit is very accessible with a Handicapped parking spot right near the door. They didn't have to go far to be entertained...just a nice chair on the porch was perfect. We are already planning for a future trip back there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Right on the water

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

It looks just like the photos. The condo is close to town, which was very convenient for shopping and getting to restaurants. Our favorite restaurant, Lolita's, is on Campeche and is walking distance from the condo. The pool and jacuzzi are right out the patio doors. There is also Direct TV, which is great for the kids. We went on a weekend, so there was music from Manny's next door. Overall, we had a comfortable stay.

Owners response: Manny's has been closed for quite sometime, so I am surprised to hear that they were open. When I've visited the condo and Manny's has been open, I've not heard any music from inside the condo, so I don't think that this is a normal occurence.My condo is very spacious and luxurious not to mention a great value for the price that you pay to stay there. When I think of California (and other beach locations) and the price to stay in a hotel room that is not very nice at all with little or no view of the water, I'd pick my condo anytime. My condo is at least 3 times bigger, more tastefully decorated, much better equipped and it is directly on the water. I can't think of a better place to go on vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You've got to see this place!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Wake up to the sights and shounds of the sea. Nowhere else in Puerto Penasco can you actually hear the surf and see the waves from your living room! No elevators. No trecking across parking lots. No checking in, you're there with the gracious help of the owner, our stay was flawless. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You've got to see this place!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

We loved waking up to the view of the sea. One step out the door and you're there! No elevators, no packing up for a day at the beach. Just grab your coffee and watch the Pelicans, Seagulls and Dolphins. Don't even miss the action if you're in the kitchen. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Brenda's condo for a week. We found the place exactly as described. This condo was well kept. The pool and jacuzzi were just outside the patio door with stunning views of the Sea of Cortez. The location of this property was very convenient to Manny's and the Ice Box. It was just a short drive to the dock for renting a fishing boat, buying fish, or stolling around the malecon.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much we are already thinking about returning.
Brenda is very personable and easy to contact and returns communication promptly. I don't hesitate recommending this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Some of our family go to Rocky Point several times a year and stay at the RV park in Sandy Beach. We decided to meet up with them this time and rented Brenda's condo for 3 nights. Everything was exactly as Brenda and the website described. Brenda was very easy to work with and she got back to me very quickly with answers to my questions. The veiw is beautiful. The condo is not on a sandy beach, rather a rocky beach, but we enjoyed that, too. When the tide was out it was fun to look for all the living things in the tide pools. It is very close to the Malecon, or the Fish Market, where there are lots of restaurants and tourist shops, but it is very private as well. The security is also very good. We would definitely stay here again. We had a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review! I wanted to mention that the condo is right on the water, so there's no beach right in front; however, there's miles of sandy beach just east of the condo, for those of you who like a sandy beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We had a great time staying at your condo. We cooked our own meals and went out for dinner. Everything you need is at hand. My kids loved being able to spot the dolphins everyday that we were there. The pool and grounds were kept very clean. The view from the pool was amazing. The condo is in a nice, secluded, quiet location. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home, it gave us the mini vacation we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best week ever!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This condo is awesome! It has everything you could possibly need for your vacation... nice big bedrooms, washer & dryer, all the amenities of home, charcoal grill, beautiful pool and right at the ocean....... Walk over to Manny's for a good meal and a cold beverage. Walk down to the beach and check out the hermit crabs. Take a ride on the banana boat. Do everything or do nothing!! Sitting on the patio, we saw dolphins swimming by 3 different nights!! Such a thrill for all of us.

I've been home 15 hours and am already planning a trip back!! Thanks Brenda! We're so grateful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First class accommodations with stunning ocean view!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

We were so pleased with our stay at this condo. The picture is not deceiving - it truly is as beautiful as it looks. The condo has beautiful furnishings, the kitchen is fully stocked, and both bedrooms are very comfortable. This condo also has modern amenities such as a dishwasher and satellite TV. One more side note - we felt very safe in Mexico and at this condo. We highly recommend a stay at this condo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a weekend!

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This place is amazing! This is the second time if been to Rocky Point and this is place gets 10/10! You will find a lot of the places are old and funky but this condo is BRAND NEW and VERY NEW!
Spacious living room big comfy beds, great kitchen fully stocked with all new glasswear and appliances. There is not one complaint I could find with this condo.

Location was great for my girlfriend and friends! Its super close to all the bars and restaurants and makes a short walk to all the action. There is also a 24hr security guard who spoke very good english. He made it very reassuring that our car would not be vandalized or stolen. The pool and hot tub were very clean and in working condition. We couldnt have asked for a better time! Place is amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous Place

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

My wife and I and our friends absolutely loved your condo as it was nice to walk out the sliding glass doors and have the pool and jacuzzi right there. We also loved your place it is so nicely decorated and very cozy. The beach is real nice as well and being able to walk in the water and have all the tropical fish swim around you is breathtaking. We will be back in the future for sure. A definite two thumbs up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful beach getaway!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

My husband and I recently enjoyed three wonderful days at this lovely condo in Rocky Point. It was decorated beautifully and had a magnificent view. Brenda did a great job giving us information prior to our trip and made our stay fool proof. I would recommend this property and encourage others to visit Rocky Point. The fish market in town was great for fresh shrimp and seafood that we cooked at the condo! We felt very safe in Rocky Point and had no problems like those that have been reported at other border towns. A wonderful beach getaway for desert dwellers!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Title definitely lives up to its name!! Amazing views!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This property is every bit as beautiful as its pictures. We've been here twice now and will continue to return. We have recommended it to our friends and some of them have gone and enjoyed it as much as we have. Brenda, the landlord, is a pleasure to work with and very helpful. Mexico is safe in this area and we have been going to Puerto Penasco and never had any problems at the border and the people have all been weloming and friendly. Be sure to visit, but save days for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stunning views! Extremely comfortable and safe. Way more than we were expecting!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

This place rocked! We had an awesome time! Everything we needed was here and the views were spectacular! The pool as great as well. We will certainly be coming back here again. The complex is quiet and we felt very safe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wowed This Frequent Visitor

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

I've been coming to Puerto Penasco (aka Rocky Point) for over 20 years, have stayed at some of the best beach-front homes in Las Conchas, the finest condos and resorts that Sandy Beach has to offer, and I can safely say that this was the most jaw-dropping experience there I've ever had. The photos are no exaggeration--you are LITERALLY facing the pool and jacuzzi, both are mere steps away, and the negative-edge pool offers you an unparalleled breath-taking view of the ocean.

The amenities are impeccable, from the satellite-equipped flat-screen TV to the comfy sofa and mattresses, the well-stocked bathrooms & kitchen (all w/ upgraded fixtures!) and the ice-cold AC. Since only a few of the condos in the complex are actually furnished, you pretty much have the place to yourselves.

Manny's Beach Club and the lot are within walking distance and the sunsets can't be beat. The topper was probably our last day, floating in the pool just before sunset, drinks in hand, as a rambunctious sea lion slowly made his way down shore, seemingly wishing us a safe trip home, "Que tengas un buen viaje."

Or maybe that was just the margaritas talkin'.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We love this condo

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

You can't beat the value of this condo. First of all, it is beautiful and all new and has everything you need. It's on the ground floor, so you can just walk out to the pool and ocean. You can see in the photos how beautiful the view is. We really like the location because it is on the closest beach to town. Similar oceanfront condos on Sandy Beach run at least $200 per night. Everything is so easy; there are no long walks from your car to the condo and Manny's Beach Club is right there. Also, the owner is a very nice person to work with. We love going to Rocky Point and have stayed in several different locations and rentals and this is our favorite by far.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

after spending the weekend at this condo, I can tell you, I will never rent at Sandy Beach again! If you want to be close to the water, it doesnt get any closer. I strongly recommend this Stunning property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review