reviews for: listing #88838 - Sequim, Washington House rental

Serenity Shores Beachfront Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,260 - $1,575 /wk
    $4,480 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful home and location!

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Serenity Shores this last weekend. Four gals celebrating my mother's 75th birthday. Couldn't have been a more pleasant experience. Cheri is wonderful to work with, attentive and helpful every step of the way. Their home is fully equipped, clean and comfortable. And you can't beat the view! The entire north wall is lined with windows looking out to the water, Protection Island, the San Juan's and Victoria, Canada. (In fact, my wireless carrier thought I was in Canada!)
It's a quiet neighborhood by itself but just minutes to Sequim and Port Townsend. We also recommend Hurricane Ridge and Port Angeles. Don't forget to get your fresh crab from the shack on 101 before heading in for the night!
We were sorry to leave. The girls are already planning their next trip! Thanks Cheri!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathy ~ Thanks so much for the great review and all of the compliments! I'm so happy that you and the girls had such a wonderful time and enjoyed Serenity Shores so much. And yes, the view is amazing and the location is perfect to access all of the fantastic adventures in the area.
Also, thanks for the description and pointers to acquaint our future renters with Serenity Shores and the area amenities.
I hope to see you all back soon! Wishing you a wonderful 2014 ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Favorite place to relax

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Our second stay at Serenity Shores was just as great as our first stay last year. This time we relaxed more and explored less than we did on our first stay, and were rewarded with beatiful, clear, warm early-summer weather and lots of great opportunities to watch the resident eagles, porpoises and seals.

Communication with the owner and house caretaker is very good, and the house, property and location are excellent. We love this place and hope to be able to return soon.

Owners response: I'm so happy that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores. It's truly beautiful, relaxing & fun with so may wonderful things to do in the area.
And yes, the wild life & marine shows are fantastic. Not to mention enjoying just relaxing and the lovely beach walks. The whole area is wonderful so no one ever runs out of great things to do! We look forward to seeing you next year (or sooner). Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity Shores is perfectly named

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

My family spent Memorial Weekend at Serenity Shores. The location and view from the house could not be better. Just sitting in the living room and staring out at the wildlife and beautiful views was entertainment enough. However, there is plenty to do in the surrounding areas if you need more adventure. The home is comfortable and well maintained. The owner is pleasant and attentive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jennifer ~ I'm so happy that you and your family had such a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Serenity Shores! And yes, the wild life and marine show is totally encompassing. I hope you all had time to enjoy some beach walks. And hopefully you were able to do some exploring in the surrounding area. There's so much to see & do! Hopefully you can make it back soon and can continue on where you left off. Thanks for the great review! Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful, relaxing 2 days!

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Our stay was relaxing and beautiful. We saw seals every day in front of the property. The kitchen was well equipped and bathrooms were well stocked with linens. It is in quiet location that is close to many options for recreational activities. The beds were beautifully appointed and the memory foam cover was a nice touch. The only problem was the mattress and box springs need to be updated with a firmer option, it was hard on the backs. However, we had a wonderful time and would rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Celeste ~ I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores and enjoyed the ongoing marine life show so much. It is totally relaxing and fun, plus there are so many wonderful things to do in the area. I'm sorry that you felt one of the mattresses was not up to par.
I've only heard that the beds are very comfortable, but I will most certainly check it out.
Hopefully you make it back to Serenity Shores soon! Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Getaway

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

This was our second time staying at Serenity Shores, and we liked it even more the second time. It was a nice experience staying here in November, watching the eagles, herons, and seals and enjoying a very pleasant stay with our family of 8. The house was clean and fresh, and a wonderful place to enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your second stay at Serenity Shores and it truly is wonderful year around in that area. I'm delighted that you had such a lovely Thanksgiving. My best to you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Happy Holidays! Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Beachfront House

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Two nights was not enough at this incredibly relaxing get away. We were lucky enough to get to enjoy a storm one day and bright sunshine the next. Waves crashing right outside the huge picture windows that span the whole front of the house, a nice glass enclosed deck to enjoy the outdoors but without the wind, eagles feeding nearby on old pilings, seals, auklets, gulls,Protection Island a short distance away. Great woodstove with plenty of wood available to warm the place. Very roomy house. It was just the two of us and our little dog, but the house would easily accommodate several more. Diamond Point is a quiet, peaceful community. There are stores and restaurants not too far away in the town of Sequim, but the large kitchen is easy to prepare meals in as well though a few new pans would be helpful. Caretaker is nearby if anything is needed.
The beds were very comfortable, which is often not the case. Two large bathrooms with loads of linens available. We truly enjoyed our time here and look forward to coming back, hopefully in summer months.
We had a wonderful meal at The Dockside Grill at John Wayne Marina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shelley ~ I'm so glad that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores! And being located right on the water, the ocean and wildlife show is ongoing, fascinating and ever changing. Folks always run out of time long before they run out of fun things to do - not to mention beach walking & relaxing... Hopefully you can stay longer when you return.
We look forward to your next visit! Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Weekend!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Love this place! My husband and I and another couple (and 2 dogs) rented this place for a much needed long holiday weekend.. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. The location was perfect, the house was amazing and the weather was just right. Each morning we would watch the fishermen while having coffee then take our pups down the beach for mid morning stroll. The evenings were amazing and watching the stars was awesome!

I would definately recommend this home to my friends and family. Our hostess was incredible. We are hoping to make it out sometime in the Summer :)

Owners response: Alicia ~ I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores. And yes, the water activities and star shows are amazing. The beach walks are wonderful and your pups probably enjoyed them almost as much as you! Hopefully you can make it back this summer and enjoy some of the wonderful things to do in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for the great review ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect summer getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Our stay at Serenity Shores this past summer was our first visit to the Olympic Peninsula. We needed a place where our family of six could comfortably stay, and Serenity Shores exceeded our expectations in so many ways. The waterfront location is very quiet with beautiful views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. We were mesmerized by a bald eagle family that frequently flew by and perched outside our window. Walks along the beach provided endless exploration for the kids, and trips into Olympic National Park provide nearly unlimited hiking opportunities. We also loved the house itself! The interior is very clean with an open, spacious layout so we never felt cramped on rainy days. The reliable, high-speed internet was also a plus so that we could stay at least a little connected during our getaway. We plan to visit Serenity Shores again to pick up where we left off exploring the region.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Brad ~ I'm so happy that you & your family had such an enjoyable time at Serenity Shores. I knew that your children would absolutely love the whole area, especially since there are so many great things to do. Thanks so much for the wonderful review! Serenity Shores is anxiously awaiting your upcoming arrival this summer too. Take care ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, wonderful, relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This was the best vacation I ever had, and I was a Travel agent. My husband felt the same way and he is a retired American Airlines employee. We have been almost everywhere, much of the time on cruises, but we loved the Beach House the most. You owe it to yourself to try it! Sandy Gardner, Castro Valley, CA.

Owners response: Sandy ~ Thanks for the great review! I'm so happy that you and your husband had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores. I hope you can make it back soon and can stay longer next time.
Wishing you the best ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place with Panoramic View

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

A very relaxing place for our annual Girls Dinner Group weekend! This will rank at the top of all the places we have been over 20+ years.
The look out the window was being on Diamond Point (ended at the far right), then Port Townsend, the cruise ships were going through to Alaska, Whidbey Island, the tip of Mt Baker, Protection Island (bird sanctuary in front of us), Victoria lights, Dungeness spit with lighthouse, then Port Angeles. We watched eagles eat on a piling in the water and seals play. There was a telescope for viewing and we saw shooting stars, several satellites and built a fire. Laying on the big air mattress and looking up was so nice. We went to the Purple Haze lavender farm on Bell Bottom Rd, picked some lavender there and bought some of the dressing. Wonderful weekend!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa ~ I'm so glad that you and your Girls Dinner Group had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores! And yes, there's an everchanging, ongoing show 24 hours a day by just looking out the window! And the beach walking is always great fun. I hope to see you all back again soon!! Cheri

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Serenity Shores....the name says it all!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This house was exactly what we were looking for. We literally sat for hours watching the porpoises play, the bald eagle perched on his piling, fish jumping and the ferries streaming by in the distance. The house had everything we needed (and more) as far as amenities, is eclectically decorated, with windows looking out at the water the entire length of the house.Even though it only has 2 bedrooms, there is a delightful sunroom off of one of the bedrooms complete with a very comfy sofa bed, and the sofa in the living room is also another bed. The owner is a delight. She couldn't have been more accommodating, provided us with lots of insight for places to visit, and is simply a wonderful person. You truly will run out of time before you exhaust all the things you can do!
We can't wait to go back next year....need to spend more time in that gorgeous Olympic forest. Highly recommend this home for a relaxing vacation...but there's lots to do if you are so inclined.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roxiegirl ~ I'm so glad that you and your wonderful family enjoyed your stay at Serenity Shores so much and found the house so accommodating. And thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! I love my renters to have a great time and they usually do return to do what they missed or just to enjoy & relax. Serenity looks forward to your return next summer! Cheri

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Serenity Shores is the right name

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was the best location yet for our annual getaway with all four sisters and Mom. The house is large, with windows fronting spectacular scenery including an island wildlife sanctuary and Mt. Baker. The kitchen is well-appointed, and we enjoyed having a salmon, corn and asparagus barbecue with the gas unit provided. We especially loved seeing orcas and sea otters, plus the amazing sunsets. We took two daytrips, one to the Sequim Saturday Market, the other to Port Townsend on Sunday, where we drove through the hilly streets with restored Victorians and found a few treasures in the downtown shops. (The bead shop also includes a treasure trove of fabric trims and accessories that can't be found elsewhere.) We would do it again in a heartbeat, except for the fact that we are so geographically separated.

Owners response: Joanna ~ I'm glad that you girls had such a wonderful annual reunion at Serenity Shores! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying the beach, wildlife activity, shopping & sightseeing. There's so much to enjoy in the Sequim area ~ folks always run out of time, long before they run out of things to do. I hope you can make it back soon! Cheri

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely wonderful "home away from home"!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Of all the weekend getaway places we've stayed over the years, Serenity Shores is far and away the best ever. Located in remote but not too remote little beach community at Diamond Point, it feels like you're hours away from the city (when in fact Sequim is but 15 minutes up the road).

The listing actually doesn't do Serenity Shores justice - it's so much like if you had your own vacation home - FULLY furnished - not just "hotel furnished". It's so large and roomy inside - 2 bedrooms, 2 bath rooms, HUGE living room with full water view windows, solarium, shielded patio on the water side, and even a working garage if you prefer to put your car away at night. Throughout the home are tasteful and interesting decorations, just as if you're staying in a friend's house.

It was exceptionally clean, full kitchen supplies, and fabulous service from the owner but in a "hands off way" which we liked! And if you have a dog, it will absolutely LOVE the beach out front! Our little doggie had never seen a beach and just went nuts.

Services are only 15-20 minutes up the road - grocery stores in Sequim, casino and liquor store, and lots of things to do in the area (we just stayed home and enjoyed the home - did all our cooking in).

We would absolutely recommend Serenity Shores to anyone and will be back again soon.

Owners response: Anne ~ I'm delighted that you & your family had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores! And you're right ~ it's private & relaxing, yet has so many great things to enjoy nearby that are easily accessible. I hope you can come back soon & stay longer! Serenity awaits your return.
Wishing you & yours a wonderful 2012 ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Christmas visitors

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our visit to Serenty Shores was eveything that we had hoped for and the property was as good or better than advertised. The pictures in some ways do not do the rental property justice. The view from the dining and living room areas are ever changing and wonderfully relaxing. The property was well maintained and supplied. The property owner was very accommodating and pleasant to communicate with. We would love to return again soon for another stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Richard ~ I am so happy that you and your family had such a wonderful Christmas at Serenity Shores. And yes, it is beautiful, relaxing and fun! Hopefully you can return soon and enjoy all of the wonderful things to do in the area.
Thanks for visiting Serenity Shores! Cheri
p.s. Serenity Shores was just awarded the 2011 Best of Sequim Award in the Vacation Home Rental category by the US Commerce Association (USCA)! Great news!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a great time at Serenity Shores for Thanksgiving weekend. Cheri couldn't have been more helpful in making sure we had a wonderful stay. There were five of us total -- four adults, one toddler -- plus our dog, and we all had a lovely time, despite the stormy weather outside. And the beds were so comfortable! Would definitely recommend to other families.

My only caution is for families with small children -- the house has tons of pretty, breakable items which I had to move up high as soon as we arrived so curious hands didn't accidentally break something.

Everything was really clean and very well organized. And the view overlooking the water from the main room is stunning.

Owners response: Hi Kim ~ So glad you had such a great Thanksgiving at Serenity Shores. I hope you can make it back this spring/summer to enjoy some of the great weather and wonderfully fun things to do in the area! And the beachwalks & sunbathing are super! Happy holidays to you & yours ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Name Says It All

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

On a recent trip to Sequim to visit family we decided to stay at Serenity Shores rather than with family. It was so hard to leave Serenity Shores to go visit the family. This home is so comfortable and relaxing that all we wanted to do was curl up in one of the comfortable chairs and stare out at the water. To add to the charm, the owner has many interesting artifacts throughout the house. We will certainly stay at the beautiful home again just as soon as we get a chance.

Owners response: I'm so happy that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores! It's relaxing, fun and beautiful, but there are also so many great things to do and see in the area. I hope you'll have more time to enjoy a few of them your next visit.
Thank you visiting Serenity Shores ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity for sure!!!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

We had a excellent stay. It was my birthday weekend. Wanted to see whales-and some mink were playing out there. Also the bald eagles and sea otters. A great time was had by all!!! Thanks so much!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michelle ~ I am so happy that you had such a wonderful time at Serenity Shores. I knew you would - it's so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. And Happy Birthday Michelle!!!
Wishing you a great year ahead ~ Cheri

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

FIVE STAR ~ Spent the weekend at Serenity Shores and it was a delightful experience. We had planned on Sunday dinner out, but it was so pleasant where we were at - we just purchased some food and had dinner at the beach house and enjoyed the surroundings. My dog wandered away and we were out looking for him. After a couple of hours a found notice was posted and several people contacted me that they knew where the dog was. A great beach house and a great community. You could not ask for more. Had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

FIVE STAR ~ The house, property, shoreline -- all were just great! We would definitely stay again, especially since our pet was welcome to stay as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

FIVE STAR ~ We were treated to great views of the Strait of San Juan de Fuca. We found ourselves sitting in the living room watching eagles fly and deer play on the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

FIVE STAR ~ Another wonderful vacation! Another great week at Serenity Shores. We've been here several times and love the closeness to the beach, sunsets, wildlife, and tranquility. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2010

FIVE STAR ~ Great place & location. Everything about this beach home was great! Was more than what we expected from looking at the pictures.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We rented this home for an entire week and loved it so much we stayed an extra day!
The 180 degree window view of the water is awesome; the home has a
nice "open" feel; sunny nearly every day, and we were there in October! Deer, heron, eagles, sea planes, boats, pink sunsets,
kayakers, the distant lights of passing cruises ships at night.
We were even blessed with a "Harvest Moon" shining on the water
in the evenings. So perfect.
Some family members surprised us with a visit on Saturday, and
they all commented on what a great place it was.
There's a great sandy area right in front of the home (right
off the low front deck) where little ones can play so they're
not right next to the water. Our visiting 14-mo. old was in
heaven!
Very accomodating owner who thinks of all the extras from the
candles and wine to the abundance of chairs for seating outside.
Definitely recommend this place, and we'll be going back as soon
as we can.
Thanks again for one of our most relaxing get-aways ever, Cheri!

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review