reviews for: listing #88920 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Spacious 2 Bedroom Apartment on Manhattan's Upper West Side
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $575 /nt
    $2,450 - $3,650 /wk
    $8,500 - $10,500 /mth

sort by:

Summer in New York

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Location! this property is in a great location near upper west side. Easy to metro and lots of restaurant. My biggest issue was the cleanness of apt. We encountered new towels but they had never been washed so when using them to dry the body the towels would leave residue on the body. the bathrooms are really old and not clean to my standards. I bought some cleaning products to clean the bathtub before using the shower. The rest was just ok.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great 2 BR apartment for a family!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days with my family, including a baby.
Booking was easy and hassle-free through Rob.
Apartment was clean, comfortable and just as shown in the pictures. Heating was quite efficient.
Location was very convenient with close proximity to museums, central park and restaurants; and of course it is one of the safer locations in the city.
There are 2 subway stations a couple of blocks on either side.
Street parking is available as long as you follow the parking rules.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A good well located property with most of what we

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

The unit was well equipped, but some minor issues were present. Could not get 2 of the 3 TV's working and the 3rd was unreliable. Instructions on their use did not exist. The unit was too noisy and drafts exist at all windows. We lost heating and hot water for 24 hours. These items should be addressed for the cost of the stay.

Owners response: I'm sorry to hear you had trouble with the TV's... If you called me I would have gotten them all working which I did right after you sent your review and it took be less than 5 minutes. As for TV's with cable, often people press a lot of buttons or hook up computers to TV's changing input settings. This would result you seeing NO SIGNAL on the screen, just a quick remote control setting. signal. Based on your review and other people calling me in the past who I walked through trouble shooting I have made laminated booklets in the apartment with how to get the TV's working if they are not.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic apartment! Spacious & great location!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

Perfect for 5 of us, so much space for Manhattan, gorgeous neighborhood, close to 2 subways, Central Park and food stores etc. lovely apartment with all you need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this great apartment during the last week in October. We've always loved the Upper West Side but were a little leary about this vacation rental because of some negative reviews regarding cleanliness. Rob assured us that he had changed cleaning services, that the apartment would be clean upon arrival, and, lo and behold, it lived up to our every expectation. It was perfect!

The lively colors and brightness, beautiful wood floors, comfortable beds, to name just some of the amenities, made our stay exceptional. We walked, saw movies, went restaurant-hopping, and when tired just stayed "home" and relaxed. I'd like to come back with another couple in the near future and have them share in our excitement.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment in a Great Neighborhood.

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We had a FANTASTIC time staying in this apartment. The place was exactly as shown in the pictures and was spotless when we arrived. Rob, the owner, was incredibly helpful. He recommended some great restaurants and places in the neighborhood to try. We are certainly looking forward to returning again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing New

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and another couple in late Dec. We had a great time! The apartment looked just like the photos. It was spacious, very clean and fully stocked with towels and such. It was really nice to have two bathrooms and the kitchen was amazing. It's nothing like the tiny NYC apartments our local friends have. We were really comfortable and are even talking about a return stay when the weather is warmer. I highly recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Location! Great Apartment!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom with 2 other adults and 2 children. The apartment is extremely spacious , and in addition to the two beds in the bedroom there are two full size air mattresses and two chairs that fold out into beds available. Not only is this apartment spacious , but it is also in a great location with plenty to do. It is beautifully furnished and stocked with the basic supplies: shampoo , conditioner , coffee , sugar , etc. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to all our needs . They made sure that the apartment was clean and ready for our arrival.
This apartment is perfect for families and couples alike. I would definitely recommend this apartment for your stay in the city!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

The listing description was accurate, the place was very clean and well appointed. The owner was very nice and personally called to arrange our stay. When we had an issue with the internet and cable TV not working, the owner got it fixed right away. The location was fantastic and the place was a real find. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious and great location, but dirty!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

The pros: Apartment was very spacious and well appointed, with comfortable beds even! Location can't be beat. This neighborhood has EVERYTHING but the crowds and chaos. We loved staying on the Upper West Side and felt like real New Yorkers for a week. Five stars for location and accommodations.

The cons: Despite the other recent negative review, the apartment was not clean upon our arrival. The floors had not been vacuumed (for weeks, it looked like!), bathroom rugs were FILTHY, shower curtains covered with mildew. Francesca was very nice and showed up on day 2 of our stay with new rugs and a shower curtain, but this place still gets one star for cleanliness. What a shame!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

not cleaned upon arrival

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Apartment wasn't cleaned upon arrival as office staff had "forgotten" to schedule cleaners. I was told they would take $100 off rental to accomodate dinner out while the apartment was being cleaned. Next day, I had to go buy cleaning supplies. After several requests for reimbusement, I still haven't received it for either amount. It is now mid-March!! Some office staff were helpful, but that doesn't make up for these issues.

Owners response: Hi Mary,

I apologize for not sending you the $100, I thought it was done already. My assistant just processed a $120 refund to your credit card for the dinner I promised and $20 for supplies. Again, I apologize for the mistake with the cleaning people who didn't show up on-time. This is not taken lightly, I want all of my guests to be satisfied with their stays at my properties.

Rob

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Richard C

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

2 couples stayed for a week. It worked very well with everything in the apartment working and as described. It is not luxury, but was not advertised as such. The internet speed was better than I expected. Rob and Fran were very helpful. A great location with 2 subway stations within a few blocks. We would recommend this place friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Upper West Side Fun

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

The two bedroom, two bath was perfect for my group - two married couples. Subways are very convenient and lots of restaurants on Amsterdam and Columbus. The apartment is prewar, meaning built before WW1, so don't expect central air or fancy bathrooms. However, the bathrooms are very clean, good hot water, window airconditioners in every room, and flat screen TVs. Also there is a hair dryer and iron, and upgraded kitchen. Most important, there is a wine opener in the kitchen drawer - that all we needed. A small elevator takes you to the ninth floor and sometimes we took the stairs to walk off the nonstop eating at places like Freds, mac and cheese.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

decent value for the money

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

the place is fine. not high-end like a Westin, but clean enough and no surprises. furnishings are exactly as pictured. when i told the owner it wasn't spotless, he responded appropriately. i'd stay here again and certainly would recommend to a friend or family member. i think if you have a few people in your party, this is a good value for the money (we have 4 kids and it worked for us).

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Spacious 2 bedroom apartment on Manhattan's Upper West Side

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had a great family week in this spacious apartment. We were 4 adults and 2 children and we had plenty of room. We felt very comfortable in the area. It was a peacful retreat from our busy days. We were close to the subway and bus. The apartment was very clean on our arrival and easy to keep up. The owner was very responsive and accomodating. I would recomment this apartment to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Feels like home

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this apartment for five days. We had such a lovely experience here and felt quite at home. We even entertained a few friends for a dinner party one night. The kitchen is rather large and was very comfortable to cook in. The apartment is furnished in a very modern décor and everything is very clean and homey. It is located in a great neighborhood, close to some amazing restaurants. Rob was very helpful in answering our questions and always got right back to us. The neighborhood guide he provides on his website is actually pretty helpful in learning the area and picking restaurants. I would absolutely stay here again when we come back to New York and I recommended this apartment and Rob to my friends and family.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfortable and convenient

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We are new to apartment vacation rentals and approached our stay with some apprehension. Despite our fears, everything was as described. Though we arrived late, the keys were available for us. Everything was in working order including the cable TV and the internet. The newly renovated kitchen was fine (though we mostly ate out.) This apartment is convenient to the subways, and the neighborhood is quite safe and quiet. A great place for families and I would be happy to stay there on our next trip. Our deposit was returned promptly without requiring any phone calls.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This pre-war building is charming. The nearness to Central Park, eateries galore, great shopping, and easy access to subways and buses make this lovely apartment very desirable. I had some guests visit, and there was ample room to entertain. As usual with Rob, I wasn't disappointed; I have used his services before. The apartment was clean and well-equipped with everything I needed to enjoy my stay. I would certainly recommend this property to friends for a great getaway, with or without children.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Home away from home in New York City.

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Me, my husband, 9 year old daughter and my Mum had a fantastic holiday.
The description of the apartment and photos were totally accurate. Everything was new and clean. The apartment is in the great Upper West Side neighbourhood (Canadian spelling). The space was clean and well maintained with tons of room for four of us. The kitchen was bigger than I thought it would be and there were lots of grocery stores around to buy food to make breakfast at "home" each day or a ten minute walk to Zabars. Rob and Mark were available to us by phone, text or email to answer any questions. The area is fantastic with one great restaurant after the next on Amsterdam Ave. Just a quick bus or walk across the park took us to the Metropolitan Museum and the apt. is close to several subway lines going downtown. As a side note, I was having some back and leg pain from walking so much and had one of the best massages I've ever had at the spa downstairs from the apartment from a masseur called Peter. Also Barney Greenglass deli at 86th. and Amsterdam is like stepping back in time to the perfect idea of a great deli, best lox on a bialy ever. I highly recommend this vacation rental to anyone.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review