reviews for: listing #88926 - Granby, Colorado Condo rental

Base Camp One
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Solvista Granby Ranch
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $199 /nt

sort by:

Had a Lovely Stay Here!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

The condo was very well appointed, very clean, and very comfortable. Communication from the owners was very prompt and thorough, and they were helpful with the few questions that I had about the Granby area. It was a convenient base of operations for exploring the surrounding communities and Rocky Mountain National Park, and it was so nice to have such a lovely place to come "home" to at the end of the day. I would absolutely not hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We loved staying at this condominium. The place was very clean and comfortable. The surrounding is beautiful, obviously. The place was very quiet during our visit. We had two young kids and it was very nice that there was kid friendly equipment (stool, booster chair, kids plates and cups, toys, small chairs in the balcony, etc.) in the unit. There was a grocery store nearby, which was very convenient. The Rocky Mountain National Park was less then half an hour away. Steve responded to all of our questions and inquiries promptly and was very pleasant to deal with. We loved our stay and wished we could stay longer. Steve and Audra, thanks for sharing your home.

Owners response: Thanks Maya for the great review, We bought at Granby Ranch because of how family oriented the entire resort is. Both our children are getting the experience of a lifetime every time we go to our condo. They both learned how to ski, mountain bike, fish and snow shoe up there. In addition we have made many close friends that we know we will have for many years to come. We try to provide all the amenities to our guests that we would need for ourselves. I'm currently staying at another vacation rental in Myrtle Beach with my extended family. Myrtle Beach is extremely family oriented but the condo itself had very few amenities. No towels, toilet paper or pot holders in the kitchen. Immediately after arriving, I had to go shopping and spent about $75 on the basic necessities. We try to provide everything you expect to have from a luxury family condo. After staying at another vacation rental now, I'm even considering a few upgrades. We are happy you had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place - Can't wait to get back!!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We recently visited Granby Ranch for a wedding. We could not have found a better place to stay than this unit. The pictures did not do it justice and in comparing it to the other units our extended family stayed at in BaseCamp One, this was the best. Our family has traveled across the country and stayed in many different places, but this is one of our favorites. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved, loved, LOVED your home!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We absolutely LOVED your home! It was nice and CLEAN! Perfect location!! We literally walked out the back door to the ski lift, ski school, rentals/tickets and the lodge!!! Underground parking was icing on the cake! The owners have thought of everything!! Awesome supply of sheets, towels and all the staples in a kitchen!! The owners were awesome to work with and very helpful!! I would def recommend!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

Enjoyed convenience and quality of accommodations - - but could not find the corkscrew. Neighbors helpful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice condo with adequate room for 4.

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

The condo is very nice with adequate room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. It is nice to have a relatively large kitchen and a full-sized table as we do cook most of our meals. The resort seemed to be full (it was over the holidays) and appeared not to be equipped to handle the numbers. Equipment rental was cramped with a long wait, outside trash cans and recycling bin were over-flowing, pool and hot tub were opened late. We have been to Granby at a less busy time of the year and did not have these issues.

Owners response: It was a very busy season at Granby Ranch. Great snow fall + holiday stays = more people which may mean slightly longer lift lines. I'm a mid - level snowboarder and sometimes I like to challenge myself to the bigger mountains of the major ski resorts and I make the drive over to Winter Park. But my last two stays at my condo, the snow was so good, and it was so nice to sleep in, make a big breakfast, get geared up in the locker room and stroll 50 feet to the lift lines with my two boys that I was content to ski Granby Ranch for the entire weekend. For three days I didn't even start my car up. For ski rentals you can try the Ski Broker in Fraser or the YMCA of the Rockies, they have great rates and no lines. I will talk to my HOA about the garbage situation. You can use the trash chutes on each floor of the building by the elevator versus going to the garbage room in the garage. Thanks again for your review and hope you return next year to our home away from home. The summer months are incredibly peaceful and beautiful at Granby Ranch with plenty to do for the whole family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property, close as you can get to the lifts.

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Base Camp One is a perfect place to stay for our family ski vacations. This condo unit worked great for us and was well appointed, clean, and a nice home away from home. Owners were responsive and made sure we had what we needed. Definitely recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We highly recommend this beautiful property

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

Our children and grandchildren ski here and encouraged us to go for a long needed weekend away. The property is well maintained and comfortable. We enjoyed the friendly buzz of families having fun and the mountain views. The entire process with homeaway.com and with Audra Coppa was easy and pleasant. The Granby Ranch Grill was very good for lunch and dinner. We loved the Tabernash Tavern for service and ambience. The portions are too big, so you may want to split a meal. Everything was perfect for our weekend in this unit. We do plan to go back and will tell our friends about it. Ginny & Bob, Littleton, CO

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Condo With The Best Ski Access and Ammenities

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We had always stayed at the Zephyr in Winter Park. This year we decided to try Granby Ranch, and stay at Base Camp One. We checked in on Friday the 8th of February and checked out on the 15th. This condo was new and clean. It had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped to cook some of our meals. The balcony was great, and the 100' walk from the ski locker to the main lift was outstanding. The owners are very quick to respond to emails, and they provide excellent instructions on check-in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Young family ski trip

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This condo was perfect. Easiest ski experience ever, just walk a few steps from the ski lockers. The condo was very nice and perfect for a family of four. Very modern. The mountain was also very family friendly, if you are a good skier you might want to skip over to WP after a couple of days. However, for our young family it was great. There is also a really nice grocery store in Granby. We usually eat out alot but the grocery store had so many things that we ate bf and lunch in the condo. The town of Granby has alot more than I thought it would, several good restaurants. We had pizza at Geno's which was really really good, burgers at Maverick's and chinese at the Pearl Dragon. All the food was good. There is also 3 mexican places, and about 3 or so nicer/american restaurants. We saw a bakery that looked good but it was never open at night. Overall, a great place to go and stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What wonderful place to be

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

This condo was like heaven and so much more. If you want quiet , peace and avoid many people, this is the place to be. Night skiing is amazing and affordable .

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding Night Stay!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Great room! Owners were great to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cindy,

It seems like more and more weddings are held at Granby Ranch throughout the year. It's such as beautiful setting. The ceremony could be held on the mountain top. The reception at Base Camp and all the guests can stay at Base Camp One. There is no need to drive from place to place, all cars could be parked for the entire weekend in the heated indoor garage. If the couple wants an adventure theme wedding, they could choose from biking, hiking, sking, golfing or fishing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

condo at Base Camp One near Granby CO

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Fully furnished 1 bedroom condo had everything I needed for my summer get-away. Very clean. Helpful owners. There is no AC in the unit, but once the windows are open and the cool night air allowed to enter, it was comfortable. The owners have provided window fans that do an excellent job of circulating air. Looking forward to returning for a couple weeks in September. Located between Winter Park and Grand Lake, so many options for exploring. If you have kids that like mountain biking, this would be a good place during the summer. One ski lift is operated to haul bikes up the slope on weekends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Jefferey for your wonderful review. I am so looking forward to getting back from my deployment this fall and going mtn biking. You don't need to be a downhill mtn biker to enjoy the hundreds of miles of cross country trails right outside the back door fully accessible May through November. Biking coupled with hiking, fishing, hunting and exploring truly make Grand County a year round vacation playground.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Condo in Base Camp One

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This was our first stay in Base Camp One, although not our first stay in the Solvista area. The condo was beautiful, very well stocked, well decorated, very clean and comfortable and the owners were always very quick to reply with any questions. This condo overlooked the clubhouse and outdoor activity area, and had a nice-sized deck on which to sit and read or watch what was going on below. This would be a lovely condo for an active couple or small family, as there is so much to do just at Base Camp One, let alone nearby Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park. Cannot say enough good things about this condo, and the graciousness of the owners. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lloyd and Dawn,

Thank you for you for the excellent review. One of the great things about being right at Base Camp is the ability to sit on the deck and watch all the activities going on below. I have two young boys and it is really nice to allow them to play outside and keep a vigilent eye on them the whole time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Unit for Family of 4

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a great little trip away from home at this condo. The location was perfect, near slopes and the addition of the outdoor pool was great for the kids! Will be back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cheryl,

Our family loves the warm pool and the relaxing hot tub too. Granby Ranch and Grand County is great all year round try staying with us again some time this summer. The rodeo and farmers markets are a blast in June and July.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ski in/Ski Out Luxury at Base Camp One & Sol Vista,

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

For the second time enjoyed a brief ski vacation in this well-appointed, comfortable condominium. Close proximity to Sol Vista ski lift and the availability of a ski locker created a 'civilized skiing' experience for this 80 year old couple who are still 'skiing enthusiasts'. Inside parking very much appreciated. Having owned a nearby mountain house for 26 years gave us a real insight into Grand County dining - - Seven Trails Grill in the base lodge was a culinary treat as always. Condo owners careful and attentive to guests needs and easily available. Age being what it is to these skiing enthusiasts we were too exhausted after skiing to enjoy pool and hot tub. Maybe on a future trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul,

It was great meeting you last weekend and we appreciate your review very much. We hope when we retire some day we will finally have the time to make it up to our condo for multiple visits during one month like you guys. Please come back any time you need some relaxlation, want to chill in the hot tub, or heat up the slopes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place--felt like home away from home--everything perfect

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

This was a great rental. I stayed it during Harb Ski Camp for a week in February.

It was immaculate and tasteful. It had everything one needed for a comfotable stay. The owners were great communicators and gave easy to understand instructions about everything including amenities and how to access the house. The kitchen had great utensils and there were some basics (salt, sugar, etc.) which made it easy to cook at home. Washer and dryer in unit so you can clean clothes if you need to..dishwasher, fireplace, etc. Could actually live there for months. Very spacious floor plan. TV with cable, internet, all bells and whistles.

The location was the best. View onto the lodge, fall out of bed and you are on the main lift, ski lockers on first floor.

Sol Vista is a great ski location--resort is smaller and family oriented without too many people and zero attitude like hte other places. All lifts/runs go to the same point so large parties can ski and find eachother as needed. safe for kids. Can't say enough about how nice ths staff are--super friendly, many from South America, lots of smiles and thumbs up. Ski patrol presence is obvious which is also helpful. The grill/bar is great in the lodge with nice servers and host--the seafood special at 15$ was the highlight as was the draft Stella Artois. Supermarket is about 2 miles away or 10 minutes by car.

Drive from Denver not so bad and when you wake up and get on the skis it will be obvious why you made the trip.

BTW Harb Ski Camp worth every penny--he is fabulous coach and I highly recommend his method and camps.

OK--enough said--this place was wonderful and the price was right. The owners are stand up people, easy to deal with and are honest. Definitely would do this stay again with zero hesitation.

Go for it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Reuben,

Thanks for your amazing review and for taking the time away from your busy schedule to visit our condo in Colorado. Next time you are in the state, please come and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend getaway at this little Sol Vista Gem. Perfect spot for a family of 4 - The skiing amenities were just perfect and very affordable compared to other ski resorts! The condo was very comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids - perfect location and very easy communication with owners! We especially enjoyed the new pool and hot tub after the long ski days!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Kristine for your wonderful review. We just came back with our family from a weekend at our condo. There were so many things that you just can't do at the bigger resorts. Once we arrived, we never got back in the car until we left. Base Camp served free smores and hot chocolate throughout the day by the fire pits to everyone. The night sking and tubing was a blast. The hot tub and heated pool was so relaxing and pretty. Just the little free tube hill and kids "king of the mountain snow" pile kept the kids busy for hours. It was just one big familiy party!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Everything at the place was amazing. This was my wife and son's first trip to the mountains and skiing. It would have been a big hastle to stay down the road. Having everything you need so close to the action, made the trip more enjoyable.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT LOCATION!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your rental property! We had such a wonderful time! There simply is not a more perfect location! 10 steps from ski check-in and the lift! Sol Vista truly is a wonderful family resort! The girls learned to ski and we all went on a sleigh ride and to the tubing hills. Can't ask for more fun! The condo was clean and comfortable and the kitchen was terrific! We hope to come back in the summer and try the golf and hiking. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your rental property! We had such a wonderful time! There simply is not a more perfect location! 10 steps from ski check-in and the lift! Sol Vista truly is a wonderful family resort! The girls learned to ski and we all went on a sleigh ride and to the tubing hills. Can't ask for more fun! The condo was clean and comfortable and the kitchen was terrific! We hope to come back in the summer and try the golf and hiking. Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo in a Great Location!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time exploring Rocky Mountain National Park and its surroundings, and this condo went along way toward making our visit as enjoyable as it was. The unit is spacious, clean, and modern. The view from the deck looks toward the mountains just a few hundred yards away, and after long days of hiking, horseback riding, and whitewater rafting, it was so nice to come "home" to our condo amid the tranquility of the mountains.

I think we made the right decision using Granby as our point of access to RMNP instead of Estes Park - this little town is quiet and pleasant and staying on this side of the park exposed us to some beautiful places that we otherwise probably would have missed. Overall our whole rental process was easy and efficient and we can't wait to stay at Steve and Audra's condo again - hopefully for ski season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are glad that you had a great time at our home away from home. We look forward to you staying with us again. Continue to check our facebook page for great special offers. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Coppa-Family-Base-Camp-Condo/184226064944161?r
Steve and Audra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect getaway!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We will recommend your place to everyone we talk to. We really appreciated the great communication and everything was as described, making it a truly stress free getaway! It was wonderful to spend the morning sitting and sipping coffee on the deck while watching the wildlife :) Such a treat to be right there at the base of the lodge. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jim and Jennifer,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to get back up there ourselves and enjoy what summer has to offer at Granby Ranch.
Audra and Steven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

21 Jan 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Steve and Audra, We had a great time at your place. It was so beautiful and nice. It was a memorable occasion because we got to celebrate my son’s 4th birthday and his first time skiing. Thanks for the great memories. Kris and Stacy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 Apr 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Steve and Audra, We had a great week. Thank you for the opportunity! Our kids became snow boarders and learned how to take the lift by themselves. Your condo was perfect and it facilitated a lot of fun. We truly appreciated having such a beautiful home-away-from-home for our spring break! Mark and Suzette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

18 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Coppa Family, We absolutely enjoyed ourselves in your lovely home away from home! The place is beautiful and we will definitely be making a return visit. Thanks so much for everything. Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

16 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Steve and Audra, We had a wonderful trip and really enjoyed your condo and Sol Vista. It was a great place for our boys to learn to ski. Susan and Al

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

26 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Hi Steven and Audra, Thanks so much for letting us use your condo. We loved it. It is beautiful. We had a wonderful time! Thank you! Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

7 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Steven / Audra: Thanks for having us at your condo. Hopefully we got everything cleaned up and put away ok. We liked the place so much; we bought one of our own. Looks like we will be vacation neighbors. Hope to see you around. Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

22 Feb 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

Steven and Audra, Thank you so much for the use of your home away from home! As we did in January, we enjoyed ourselves completely! There were a couple of firsts on this trip that will make it into our photo album. – The whole family did tubing on Saturday night. – I was taught to snowboard by my 11 year old son. – We finally took the plunge and put a contract down here at Base Camp One! Between your hospitality in January when we were weather bound in Sol Vista an extra day and the little additions (thank goodness for the DVD player), we hope we have learned a thing or two about how to rent a vacation home! Thank you so much for the time here and we look forward to seeing you and your family in person here at Sol Vista. Steve, thanks for all that you do for our country and the sacrifices you make! God Bless, Eric

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

20 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Steven & Audra, The condo was great!! We had a wonderful time skiing and sledding and we really enjoyed sitting on the deck at the end of the day. We would love to stay again. Thanks Renee'

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

23 Mar 2011

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

Beautiful Colorado ski day! Sol Vista is so fabulous today! Warm, mash potato snow... My favorite! We wish you were here! It is perfect! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review