reviews for: listing #88932 - Princeville, Hawaii House rental

Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Princeville Hanalei
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $175 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,100 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Hale Yoga... Maika'i Loa!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at "Hale Yoga" (Yoga House) in Princeville. It is well maintained with all the amenities, just as described. The area is so very maluhia (peaceful) too. We would recommend staying at Hale Yoga. Grant & Laurie, Mahalo nui loa for sharing your lovely home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yoga House is a perfect getaway!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

The Yoga House is conveniently located in the Princeville area of Kauai not far from the famouns St Regis Hotel on Hanalei Bay. We had a wonderful stay therel It is set up well for disablility access and I would recommend it for anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house, comfortable for a family

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

We found this house to be well appointed, thoughtfully decorated, and very comfortable. It is situated near Hanalei and a set of lovely beaches on the north shore of Kauai. The hosts are very organized and easy to communicate with. The house was extremely clean and well supplied. We enjoyed the spacious living room, the lanai, comfortable bedrooms, and the outdoor shower. The house is located on a relatively quiet street with no very close neighbors. We had a lovely stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yoga house stay

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

Great location, great value.
Loved the master, and the 2nd bedroom. Loved the outside shower.
Things didn't like. 3rd bedroom not very comfortable, youngest son got a lot of mosquito bites in the house. Ran mosquito "zapper" (provided in the house) all the time while in house.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha and mahalo for your kind review. I am pleased that you were pleased overall with your stay at our house.

Regarding the comfort of the third bedroom, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find it to your liking. I wish that I knew what it was that you didn't like as we try to do everything we can to make the house, and particularly the beds, comfortable. All of the beds in the house have memory foam pads for extra comfort.

Concerning the mosquitos, those are a recurring problem in the tropics. We do all we can to minimize that at our house by eliminating standing water and employing a pest control service to spray regularly. I am very sorry that this was particularly problematic for your son. I hope that the mosquito zapper helped to make it more comfortable.

Mahalo again for your comments and review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic family place

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Our family came for a week (wife and two daughters, 9 and 15). We had been to the Princeville area once before and had not had a good experience at all with a poorly maintained property. The Yoga House was the exact opposite. The house was perfect. Spacious, clean, comfortable and - most importantly - outfitted with everything you need to have a worry free stay. Plenty of towels, sheets and beach gear (boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas, masks, fins). This may seem like a small thing, but for us it meant not having to rent any of that gear, so that we could just jump into hitting the beaches and enjoying ourselves without foraging for rentals. The location is great, not too deep into Princeville, walking distance to Queen's Bath and Turtle Cave and a short drive to the Princeville shopping district. Laurel was responsive, helpful and flexible (we had a late flight and were allowed to check out later in the day). We would highly recommend this property and look forward to visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Yoga House

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Home Away is what this was to us! Fresh flowers and a homey feel! The guest book had told us by the owners some tips on finding things. Other guests wrote their experiences on the island as well. The home beautiful. Thank you for giving us a home away from home.
Pamela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Yoga House

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

When we walked through the door we were instantly at home. It was clean and fresh flowers on the table. The guest book helped us find our way around and the home owners just a joy to work with. What a blessing people open up their home to others to enjoy. I fully enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

spacious and had everything we needed

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We really loved the Yoga House in Princeville. The area was quiet, the house was beautiful with everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Staying on the north shore was a great take-off point for hiking, snorkeling and beach hopping. The kitchen was excellent and the beds were comfortable. Could have easily accomodated two couples and 3+ singles as we felt we had a lot of extra space with only 4 of us. The owners were very easy to work with before the stay and we had no problems that needed addressing while we were there. Would fully recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, easy, no surprises, a keeper

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

An excellent 1980-90s wood house with exposed beamed/wood ceilings, wood main room floor, plenty of interior light reflected by a 7x10-12' Yoga/Dance mirror. Appliances newish (frig, ceramic top stove, dishwasher, washer/drier, propane barbq. Cookware rich. Plenty of hot water, towels, even new low water use commodes/solar panels. Tub-shower bath, and a recently tiled walk-in shower. Main room vaulted 14-16' beamed with ceiling fans. The house has full perimeter louvered ventilation. The 10x12' lanai is covered and faces an open mowed grass/palm landscaped "backyard." Good collection of dvds/flat screen tvs in the main room and bedrooms. Spiral main room staircase up to a 4th bedroom.

Princeville grocery shopping 20 minute walk/5 min drive. Costco 50 min drive. Neighborhood quiet, good walking..Hanalei Beach (15 minute drive) for a 4 mile rt sand-beach walk. Bottom line: the "Yoga House" is comfortable, easy, well built, no surprises..a keeper for slugs, greenies, walkers/runners.

Married 70s couple well traveled holiday house renters
6 week Jan-Feb 2013 stay
Silverdale-Seabect, Wa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Married 70s couple well traveled holiday house renters

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

An excellent 1980-90s wood house with exposed beamed/wood ceilings, wood main room floor, plenty of interior light reflected by a 7x10-12' mirror. Appliances newish (frig, ceramic top stove, dishwasher, washer/drier, propane barbq. Cookware rich..plenty of hot water, towels, new low water use commodes, tub-shower bath, and a recently tiled walk-in shower. Main room vaulted 14-16' beamed with ceiling fans. The house has full perimeter louvered ventilation. The 10x12' lanai is covered and faces an open mowed grass/palm landscaped "backyard." Good collection of dvds/flat screen tvs in the main room and 2 of the 3 downstairs bedrooms. Spiral main room staircase up to a 4th bedroom.
Bottom line: comfortable, easy, well built, no surprises, a keeper.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in our home! We look forward to your return again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Yoga House Harnessed My Chi!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

The Yoga House was beautiful! Between the lush vegetation surrounding the house, windows everywhere, the mirrors in the living room, the louvre windows, and the lanai, everything was just wonderful. Like a little escape! You don't feel like you're in a neighborhood because of the big open grassy area and the vegetation hiding everyone else's homes from view. Fresh air blowing through the house all day and night. We relaxed at the house more than anywhere else! The weather was great, the house was great, the trip was great! We came home completely relaxed. It was much needed and I would love to stay again in the future! It was close to the grocery store and a little shopping center, 5 minutes from Anini Beach, 10 minutes from Hanalei and more beautiful beaches. Great location. Such a peaceful place. And I loved the rooster! He came by at 6:20 every morning to make sure we knew the sun was coming up. Great trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at our house. It is so gratifying to hear that our house gave you the experience you were hoping for. You are very welcome to return anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome stay

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Wonderful house!! My husband, my daughters and I stayed here for a week during Thanksgiving. My mother and father-in-law stayed here for a month. It was absolutely wonderful. The house was clean and tidy. The yard was well kept and my girls absolutely loved it. Loved the outside shower! The location was great. Within a few minutes you could be at the beach. We would definately stay here again no questions asked. I can't say enough about the house and how wonderful it was. If you are considering this house as your vacation stay, I wouldn't think twice. Do it!!!

Owners response: Thank you, Ginger! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their time in our home!

Mahalo, Laurie Moorhead

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can I live on your Lani?!

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We loved staying in this house, truly - we loved this house! Our family of 6: Parents and kids ages 15 - 21, all enjoyed staying here for 16 nights. The home is beautiful, open and comfortable, there is always a cooling breeze throughout! My husband and I lived on the Lani. It looks out to open space, is fully covered in case it rains, and is the most peaceful and relaxing place to have tea, read, nap or just look at all the beautiful plants and birds!

The kitchen is very well equipped, as is the propane b-b-q grill area. There were beach towels and snorkel gear for all. There was even a thermometer and hydrogen peroxide for when we needed those things, it's all there! All the beds all have memory foam and are very comfortable.

The owners are a dream to work with, graciously answering my many question and emails, and gifted us with little extras that made our stay even more pleasant! They even thought to ask us if we wanted to use their Christmas tree and lights - we did and it was lovely!

It is a bit of a beautiful walk to the beaches (about a mile to everywhere), but that just meant that I ate & drank everything I wanted and came home having lost weight! There is a lovely path to Wylie/Anini Beaches, where we found sun & shade, and swam with herds of turtles. Going in the other direction we walked to the beautiful beach below the St. Regis and Hanalei Bay Resorts, again finding sun & shade, and great snorkeling (we drove one day and asked at the HBR if we could park in their lot and they gave us a pass. We also took the St. Regis elevator down to the beach another day). The kids did the climb down to Hideaways beach and said it was fine, but they are young so...! Princeville is a great location from which to explore all the North Shore beaches and any really any other part of the Island, nothing is very far away.

Having the Princeville shopping center within walking distance was perfect. We enjoyed the (quite reasonably priced) Mexican and Thai restaurants there, as well as the Poke from Foodland (shopping there is fine with the Maki card). We had a wonderful dinner at the Tavern Restaurant (reasonable prices, great food, lovely server), and enjoyed the 'open mike night' on the plaza in Hanalei town (every Thursday) while enjoying delicious pizza from Hanalei Pizza (buy your drinks at the market).

We look forward to spending many more vacations in this lovely home. Thanks Laurie and Grant for sharing with us!

Marisa, Bryan & family

Owners response: Thank you, Marisa & Bryan! You were a pleasure to work with as well. We also look forward to having you spend more time in our house and hope to meet you in person someday.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We went on a family vacation along with friends and stayed at the Yoga House for 10 days. It was the perfect home for our stay. The home is very spacious; the Lanai was relaxing and perfect for dining, reading and just sitting outside and enjoying the outdoors. The home comes with everything you need including a BBQ Grill, beach equipment, towels, spacious kitchen, outdoor shower and the list goes on. We had plenty of room and could walk to the town of Princeville, which was very nice. It is a very close to Hanalei Bay along with so many other interesting areas not far from the home.

In setting up our vacation the owners of the home were fantastic and very helpful.

I hope to return and most certainly would stay here again. It was the best vacation I have ever had and the home, its location and surroundings were certainly part of the reason.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Ron! It was a pleasure to have your family stay at our home. I'm so glad it was the vacation you dreamed of!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Princeville Vacation home

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This home on the northshore of Kauai in Princville has everything one needs for the perfect vacation get away. The home is clean , the beds are good and is located in a quiet neighborhood. It is located very close to great beaches, restaurants & shopping. I would definitely stay here again.. it even has water toys for the kids and adults to bring to the beach.. Aloha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

My husband and I and our adult children chose the Yoga House for a special vacation together in Kauai. It was an ideal home for us. Our days began with a coffee on the lanai, watching and listening to a variety of birds all around us, and taking in the beauty of the greenery and tropical flowers in a lovely, residential neighborhood. That same lanai provided a reading or relaxing space throughout the day. We cooked our meals in the very well equipped kitchen and had ample space to dine or visit together in the living area. The vaulted ceiling also adds to the style and enjoyment of this part of the house.

We walked to two beaches within 1.5 miles of the house but appreciated having a rental car to explore other parts of the island and to do daily shopping. There are so many beautiful beaches! We also enjoyed browsing through the shops in Hanalei and Princeville or walking up from Hanalei beach to buy a lunch. Arriving home from the beach, it became a ritual to use the outdoor shower, quite a treat for us. We appreciated having the use of big beach towels, snorkeling gear, picnic cooler and beach chairs. Good laundry facilities in the home were very helpful. We are hopeful that we may return to Kauai one day and would happily stay in the Yoga House again. Besides all the amenities within the home, it was also a pleasure to communicate with the owners. Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Luana! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we truly appreciate all of the helpful tips you gave us. I hope you are able to come again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous House

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Planned a Mother's Day Vacation with both sets of parents. Stayed 1 week but could have stayed 3 more weeks at this house!!! This house was just a beautiful place to stay. Great place for families with many different rooms. Lots of room for everyone to be doing different things. Tv's in mostly every room, but didn't hardly watch any TV because the view was amazing and spent lots of quiet time reading and enjoying the house. Reading in the lanai in the early morning was our favorite. Watching birds and local chickens in the yard was just amazing. Peaceful Princeville away from everything was dream vacation. Outdoor hot shower was so convenient to clean off sand and Anini Beach was less than 10 minutes away. Also, had beach towels, beach toys and coolers to take stuff to the beach. Beautiful kitchen had everything to cook and serve. Huge dining table with extra chairs so large family could eat together. Adults and kids had books to read and games to play. Just loved this home away from home but being a luxurious home in a quiet neighborhood. This house had literally everything you need on a vacation. My girls loved the beautiful hawaii flowers in the yard that they could pick and enjoy every day. Owners were so accomodating and so pleasant to work with in planning our family vacation. Thanks again for a lifelong memory for our kids and mothers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Cherie! It was our pleasure to have you with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for a family

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

everything was good. Allot of comments about how nice the view from deck was.
We ate all our meals on deck

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Place for Romantic Getaways as well as Family Vacations!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We think of Yoga House as our home away from home. We have stayed here at least four times and we look forward to going back as soon as we can. Princeville is situated on a bluff overlooking the ocean as well as Hanalei Bay and the picturesque Taro Fields. The town of Hanalei is a quick 5 minute drive and this sweet town, as well as all the beaches here and all the way to the end of the road, is paradise on earth as far as we are concerned. A relaxed pace of life greets us on every visit. A variety of restaurants can be found in Princeville, Hanalei, and beyond. Boat tours of the incredibly amazing Napali coast are available in the late spring, summer and fall from Hanalei.

Although the house is not on the beach, a quick drive or walk up the road from the house gets you to fabulous beaches and some easy snorkeling, as well as the beautiful Queen's Bath. the nearby town of Kilauea, as well as the historic lighthouse are also fun to visit on the northshore of the island. Walking/jogging paths, a large playground, and one of two local golf courses are all walking distance from the house.

The house is a great size, feeling comfortable and open. We enjoy most of our meals on the lanei. The house is clean and ready for us when we arrive. The kitchen, updated in the last few years, is well equipped, making it easy to prepare meals. Our kids have enjoyed the books and toys that are kept there and we like having the ability to do laundry as needed.
We recommend this place to all of our friends who are thinking about visiting the Hawaiian islands because of the location, amenities and the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great for a Romantic Getaway or a Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We think of Yoga House as our home away from home. We have stayed here at least four times and we look forward to going back as soon as we can. Princeville is situated on a bluff overlooking the ocean as well as Hanalei Bay and the picturesque Taro Fields. The town of Hanalei is a quick 5 minute drive and this sweet town, as well as all the beaches here and all the way to the end of the road, is paradise on earth as far as we are concerned. A relaxed pace of life greets us on every visit. A variety of restaurants can be found in Princeville, Hanalei, and beyond. Boat tours of the incredibly amazing Napali coast are available in the late spring, summer and fall from Hanalei.

Although the house is not on the beach, a quick drive or walk up the road from the house gets you to fabulous beaches and some easy snorkeling, as well as the beautiful Queen's Bath. the nearby town of Kilauea, as well as the historic lighthouse are also fun to visit on the northshore of the island. Walking/jogging paths, a large playground, and one of two local golf courses are all walking distance from the house.

The house is a great size, feeling comfortable and open. We enjoy most of our meals on the lanei. The house is clean and ready for us when we arrive. The kitchen, updated in the last few years, is well equipped, making it easy to prepare meals. Our kids have enjoyed the books and toys that are kept there and we like having the ability to do laundry as needed.
We recommend this place to all of our friends who are thinking about visiting the Hawaiian islands because of the location, amenities and the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, beautiful community, beautiful island

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

Stayed at the house for the third time and love everything about it. Everything you need for a beautiful Hawaii vacation is included in the rental of this home. Just bring your swim trunks and fill the frig with groceries. Great location with easy access to the Hwy to Hanalei and further east and 40 minutes to the airport in Lihue. We enjoyed mornings on the lanai watching brightly colored birds visit the open space and the lanai and watching a chicken hen lead her chicks around the open space, the back yard, and the foliage around the lanai. Walk to the beaches below the Princeville Resort and enjoy great views, snorkeling, and beautiful Hanalei Bay.

This house feels like a home, instead of a bland non-descript hotel room or a fake feeling, low quality rental condo. All the amenities of home with a washer & dryer, fully outfitted kitchen, sunscreen for morning and aloe vera for burns at night.

The only "issue" we had was the frig not cooling quickly when we filled it with $100 worth of groceries from the market 3 minutes away. Took 4 hours to cool the beer instead of 1 hour. Tech came out quickly and examined the frig. It was working fine, but just takes a little while to cool down when going from almost nothing to full of food in perfect 80 degree weather.

Can't say enough about how amazing the house and our vacation were. Always felt good to get back to the house after a day exploring the island, and an afternoon spent reading/napping on the lanai was about as close to heaven as possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review