reviews for: listing #88989 - Index, Washington Cabin rental

A Riverside Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $149 - $249 /nt
    $895 - $949 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay, with all the comforts of home

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

This is a charming cabin, spacious and cozy with modern décor and super super comfy beds and living room/dining room kitchen area. Loved staying here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantically enchanting

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

I have been here too many times to count. I just keep coming back. This is hands down the best place to stay if you love the outdoors. The Skykomish river is literally in the front yard. There are tons of hiking trails nearby. Stevens Pass is a few minutes away. From the front porch Mount Index is breathtaking, especially when covered in snow. The hammock and fire pit are perfect in the summer, as are snowball fights and the hot tub in the winter. For those who aren't into the outdoors, there's a huge tv with cable and tons of movies, a wii, and non-electronic games too. The house is great for groups, couples, or solo. Speaking of couples, I always thought winter would be my favorite time to visit, but that all changed this summer. I got engaged during my most recent visit to A Riverside Retreat. I couldn't imagine a more appropriate place for this to have taken place. It's a moment I will never forget. The setting is perfect, no matter what you're looking for. After your first visit to A Riverside Retreat, you won't be able to stay away either.

Owners response: Michelle - thanks for your thorough review and congratulations on your engagement! You're welcome back at any time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good place to have a vacation

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

The house was clean and rooms are fine.
One thing I disappointed was that there was food garbage in trash can in the kitchen (the owner said it would be a mistake of housekeeper).
Even though it was slightly rainy it was good.
Since we had babies, we couldn't enjoy many activities. But we totally enjoyed the house. There was a guitar my son loved, Wii I loved, and hot tub my kids liked.
There is a market in walking distance.

Owners response: Thanks for the business and the feedback Hyunsoo. So glad to hear that your family had a great time and you found plenty to do in the house. We've equipped it with the guitar and board games and movies and cable tv and wi-fi and video games and magazines and books to give everyone something to do.

On the small food pail - when we brought this up with the housekeeper she was mortified as her standards are extremely high. You commented on how clean the place was so you saw that for yourself. We have a compost pile out back as an option for people who like to separate their food waste from the other garbage. This small pail has a lid on it with a charcoal filter so that there is no smell. While it's usually scrubbed clean, it was missed on this occasion. Hopefully you can overlook that detail and stay with us again sometime!

Molly and Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation spot

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Clean, well appointed, stylish, good price, with great views in a great location. The owners were kind, helpful, and quick to respond to emails and inquiries. It's better than the pictures!

This was the perfect home base for me and my husband's hiking vacation, probably the best trip we've ever taken. It also would make a great artist's retreat. With plenty of plein air scenes right off the front porch, I'm glad I had my traveling watercolor kit!

A whole laundry lists of gorgeous hikes are easily accessible from Rt 2; Lake Serene, Necklace Valley Lakes on the Foss River, Alpine Lookout via Meritt Lake, falls at Wallace State park just to name the few we tried. wta.org had a bunch more.

After your outdoor activities in the unparalleled beauty of the cascades, you can come home to soak in the hot tub, relax on the porch and watch the sun play on the incredible mountains that surround you, curl up on the plush couches with a good book, make delicious dinner in a kitchen with all the essentials (including sharp knives, something you don't always find at rentals!). At the end of the day you can collapse on an incredibly soft bed, pop in your earplugs (thoughtfully provided!), and sleep like a rock.

The only down side was I didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ruth - thank you for the hikers review, and we're so glad you found the place enjoyable. You're exactly right that we have some world class hikes within minutes of the cabin. Hopefully you felt our book outlining them was helpful. We're currently staying here ourselves and you're right about the knives - my bandgaged thumb is testament to that! You're welcome back anytime.
Ken and Molly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the RR and had a lot of fun in Index as well! The weather was perfect, the rafting place down the street was having a July 4th weekend beer festival and the house was exactly what we were looking for. And mein gott, that king bed was soooo comfortable... Our only regret was not having more days to enjoy everything more.

Owners response: Thanks for the review David. I'm so glad to hear you had great weather and enjoyed our luxury bedding. We're admitted bed-snobs and we wanted those to be first class in both bedrooms. We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Views, Peaceful Location

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

We loved staying at the house. The views right out the front door were breathtaking. The town of Index was unique and inviting. All of the local residents were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed hanging out at the house watching TV and movies. We did one of the suggested hikes that was close by which provided more amazing views, plus a good cardio workout! The house had everything we needed, including an old air popper for popcorn, which brought back childhood memories of making popcorn with my family. Thanks for providing a wonderful get away at a reasonable price. We look forward to returning some day!

Owners response: Thanks so much for the thoughtful and thorough review. I'm glad to see that the hiking information we recently added was immediately put to good use. Index is a truly magical place and you are welcome back at any time (maybe in September when Florida gets a bit hot and humid!).

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great romantic getaway!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay! A very comfortable clean place. Comforts of home. And some great walks.

Owners response: Thanks Matt, we welcome your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Weekend Get Away!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Coming from the Eastside this was a great quick get away...only an hour from home...yet truly another world.

For us the pluses of our stay were:

Loved the location, we saw kyakers,lots of birds and the search and rescue team gave us quite the show during their 4 hour class in which they practiced their river safety and rescue techniques.

Living-room/dinning-room furniture was very comfortable, the throw blankets a very nice touch

The TV and Internet worked great and are such a nice bonus when traveling and need to check in or if it happens to be the last weekend of someones Fantasy Baseball Draft and they need to make their last picks.... :)

There were movies to watch with books and magazines as well..

The king size bed was super comfy and the bedding wonderful

Bathroom towels were nicely over-sized and thick, shower worked great and has wonderful water pressure

Having a washer/dryer is a really nice benefit, especially for longer stays.

Kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans, dishes and glassware. Nice to have some oils and spices available (we always bring our own just in case)

Also loved that plastic wrap/foil and baggies were there (always bring our own just in case except this time it just slipped my mind so thank you for having that available)

Did not use the bikes/ outdoor fireplace or BBQ but in the spring/summer would totally use and is a great added feature.


We loved sitting on the front porch Friday night having a cocktail and watching the river and waving to your very nice townspeople. We loved the white lights around the porch as well.

And finally not having a cleaning fee is fantastic...We always treat the homes we stay at as if they were our own and never leave a mess, so that truly was a great bonus!



So again thank you for a wonderful experience and weekend at your truly lovely home in Index... I know we will return and maybe invite another couple to join us next time but then again maybe not as we might just like to keep it a secret for us....

Owners response: Marie,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you this summer and back again next year for your husband's birthday. And wasn't it amazing of us to arrange for a light snowfall during your visit? :-) You are welcome back anytime as our housekeeper said you took great care in checking out making her job easier. Thanks again for your business and we hope to host you again soon!

Ken and Molly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

We had an amazing time in Index! Ken was very accomodating and prompt in getting back to me! I really appreciated that! The house was clean and represented well in the pictures and the king bed was comfy! The views were awesome! The area is beautiful! We walked along the river and watched as a very brave soul rock climbed! We didn't want to leave! Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home! We plan on returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you found our service and our property to your satisfaction Laura. We try very hard to provide a top notch experience at a very good value. Your business is appreciated and we welcome you back any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Best Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

The video says it all and delivers everything it says it has AND MORE. Ken is so accommodating as a rental owner. He called me personally to confirm my requested dates, answered any questions I had from where to buy groceries to purchasing lift tickets. He even blew up inner tubes for my boys to use in the snow!

The home is probably the best-looking on the street, very well maintained, remodeled very nicely and so cozy! The house was super clean, everything was in perfect working order and the kitchen was stocked with anything I could possibly need. As a family of 5 with 3 young boys, I had what I needed to cook, do laundry and keep them entertained.

We were thrilled to find a "home away from home" so that we could get my boys to skiing quickly and several days in a row. In only 25-30 min. you can get up to Stevens Pass for lessons or skiing and return home quickly for a shower and warm meal---a must with young children.

The area is quiet with the most amazing views! There are places to eat out, get gas etc. but we were happy to bring in our groceries from Monroe and spend our free time walking the neighborhood along the river and skiing. We are looking forward to returning very soon for another ski trip or during the summer months to explore rafting, hiking and fishing!

Hot tub, FREE internet, cable and phone, NO cleaning fee and NO outrageous deposit made this a spectacular deal for our family. I looked at other rentals in Snoqualmie that were too big and WAY over-priced. It's nice to see an honest couple willing to share their beautiful home for a reasonable price.

If you are thinking about staying here, book it now! I am recommending this rental to everyone I know! You will not be disappointed. We were sad to leave!

Owners response: Coming from Hawaii, these guests had a few more questions than our normal family but we were happy to answer them and make sure the kids first experience with snow was a good one. Actually, the phone was disconnected during their stay due to an automated payment gone awry - but they never complained, and we were able to get it reconnected in short order. We'd welcome back Celeste and her family any time! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The Perfect Getaway!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

After all the holiday scrambling around Seattle I was looking forward to a short getaway from the city. Wanting to get some runs in at Stevens Pass but not looking forward to the drive time that weekend, we decided to stay Friday and Saturday night at the Riverside Retreat and definitely are glad we did. An hour drive out of Seattle and 30 minutes before Stevens Pass Ski Area, the Retreat was perfect for me, my wife, and our two young children, 3 and 6 years old. We got into Index to about 3 inches of snow and freezing temperatures but the clean and well maintained house warmed up well and there were plenty of clean throw blankets to welcome us along with several other nice touches that made it feel like home within a few minutes. We relaxed with a movie before bed then woke up for a full breakfast well ahead of the Stevens Pass rush from Seattle. We took our time at the table and just watched and listened to Bald Eagles from the large picture window from inside the house. The views of Mt. Index and Persus that morning from inside and in front of the house in the early morning were jaw dropping!! Returning from the mountain, we all got into the hot tub and spent some time going from the corner view of Mt. Index, to watching Bald Eagles fly only feet above the house, to gawking at the sheer 1,000 ft of the Index Town Wall directly behind the house. A short stroll along the river across the street with the kids, a great dinner with more Eagle watching, and a very relaxing night's sleep finished out our day.

While I can't say enough positives about the entire experience, readers will want to be aware of a few minor details that are less than perfect. The Hot Tub was so new that it didn't yet have a proper cover on it so that was a bit of a pain that I'm certain is now well taken care of. The Riverside Retreat is more of a house on the outskirts of a very small town (population of ~180) vs. a "cabin in the woods" so there are neighbors on two sides with no fences. The open lot is huge though and the tradeoff of such amazing views is well worth it. The only other item of note is that the BNSF railroad is heavily used and runs up the entire Skykomish River valley so occasional trains within view are a certainty but our kids loved them and they never really bothered Liz or I at all.

All in all, the Riverside Retreat was a spectacular time for me and my family and we'll definitely be back!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words John, and it was a pleasure to have you as a return guest from last year! So glad you got to enjoy a snowfall - they are simply magical. Good news: The hot tub cover is now installed - an inflatable cover that is simple to take on and off unlike those big heavy ones that eventually get waterlogged. The "2-3 weeks" promise on the custom cover somehow became 10 weeks(!) when they had a part back ordered - grrrrr!

While there is a house on the upriver side of our home, it's vacant and only occasionally used during the summer by the family that has owned it for about 40 years. The only other home within a stone's throw is about 150' from the back of the house. While John is correct - this is not an isolated cabin in the woods, there is certainly plenty of space to stretch out (we have 5 city lots) and ample privacy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Place

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Ken and Molly. We had a wonderful week at your place on the river in Index. Your house is just the way I'd want it with a great living room with an awesome TV and satellite, ipod docking station and wireless for the computer. We found everything we needed in the kitchen and grilled out on the back deck a couple times during the week. The beds were very comfortable and the week was so very peaceful. The first morning, we stepped out the door to pick a bowl of blackberries for our pancakes. We took advantage of several outstanding hikes nearby including Lake Serene, Bridal Veil Falls, and Barclay Lake. It was really easy finding your place - a little over an hour from Sea Tac, and we enjoyed easy day trips to a Mariners game and to Leavenworth after driving up over the pass. I thought I was in the Alps. All in all, it was an amazing week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michael - WOW. I'm not sure we've had previous guests that have gotten more out of one week than you guys - so cheers to you on that! So happy to hear you had a great escape and that you found the home comfortable and relaxing as well as ideally located for adventures. Hopefully you had a chance to take advantage of the newly built fire pit and the recently added bicycles. We hope to see you back next year (or sooner)! Ken and Molly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at "A Riverside Retreat" over the weekend and had a great time! The house was so adorable, quiet and peaceful. It was great to get away, relax and kick back. We had a bunch of fun beating each other at Wii Bowling, watching movies and drinking coffee (and wine) on the porch with the twinkly lights. The stars were also amazing!

The bed is really comfy but be ready to be woken up by the rooster somewhere in the neighborhood at about 8AM!

Sidebar: There is food and beer at the Outdoor Adventure rentals place!

I would totally stay here again or recommend this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hillary,

Thanks for your thoughtful review. We're so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and are recommending us!

Molly and Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little getaway

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

The description on the website did not do the house & surroundings justice. From the moment we arrived we felt "at home". The house was very warm & cozy feeling, with all the basic comforts of home. Being just remodeled, the did it just right. Being right on the river, near enough to hear the sounds of the rapids, just added to the atmosephere. Perfect place for the outdoorsman, or for anyone just wanting to "get away from it all". If you are thinking about checking it out, JUST DO IT, you won't regret it!! I HIGHLY recomend this getaway to everyone.

Owners response: Darrin,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the hearty recommendation! You're welcome back any time. And thanks for taking the time to write a review.

August is a great time to visit as the Skykomish river is usually warm enough to swim in. Don't mistake that for "warm" - but you'll find it quite "refreshing" on those hot summer days.

Ken & Molly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Hammock!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at this cabin. It was extremely clean and the kitchen had everything we needed to make our meals. There were also a lot of wonderful small touches that made it a very special vacation. I particularly loved the hammock and we made good use of the BBQ.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Emma - thanks for review and we are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. The hammock is new and you were the first ones to use it so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Molly and I purchased it on our travels in Guatemala and we're happy it's getting some use. We try to think of all the little things that will make a stay memorable, so I'm so happy to hear you talk about that. Come stay with us again any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view, cozy cabin!

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

My family very much enjoyed our stay, there were lots of games for kids and the house was well stocked. The view from the cabin was incredible, the river right out front with eagles every morning, the mountains covered in snow, and the huge granite walls of Index right behind. Easy commute to Steven's Pass for skiing!

Owners response: Jesse - thank you for thinking of us for your son's birthday. We are so pleased that you had a good time. We wanted our guests to have lots of good family options so we bought about 12 of the best board games we could find. Some of our best memories are playing games with family and friends, so we wanted that as an option. Hope we see you soon! Molly and Ken.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Little Getaway!

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

I spent my birthday weekend here in September and had a fabulous, relaxing stay. It's the perfect distance away from Seattle - far enough to feel like you're escaping, but close enough to hop out there for a quick weekend.

The town of Index is charming, with a cute raft company that serves food and drink. There's a little general store, but if you need to do a big grocery shop, you can drive a quick ten minutes to Gold Bar.

The house itself is directly across the street from the beautiful river and incredible mountain views. The front porch is the perfect place to sit and have a drink after a long day of swimming, hiking or climbing. That is, if you can get yourself to move from the ridiculously comfortable overstuffed chairs in the living room. Huge TV with several movies to choose from, as well as travel books & magazines. The house has a nice open feel so that you can have people relaxing in the living room while others cook, and it still feels like you can all be hanging out together. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could need, and they even had a little welcome gift waiting! Both bedrooms have very comfortable beds and decent sized closets. Everything was clean and well maintained.

All in all, I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking for a romantic getaway for two, or a small gathering of 4-6 people. I will definitely be back this winter to use it as the perfect home base for a ski weekend at Stevens Pass.

Owners response: Happy Birthday Kate! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Isn't it amazing how far away you feel, yet only an hour from downtown Seattle? Many of our visitors have said they feel like they're in the Swiss Alps - without the 12 hour flight. We look forward to your return visit - but wait, you already have, so thanks for that too! Ken and Molly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Treasure on the Sky

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Ken and Molly, I recently spent a very memorable weekend with my children at your amazing home in Index. We fished(50 feet from your front door), hiked, and enjoyed all that Index has to offer. Your home shows pride of ownership and left us wanting for nothing! Very well appointed and extreemly comfortable. We look forward to our next stay! Thank you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Steve - thanks for your visit and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time be sure to take your kids on the Heybrook Ridge hike that ends with a rewarding climb up a fire tower overlooking the whole valley. It's the perfect hike - a well cared for trail and just tough enough to feel you earned the amazing view!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What An Amazing Weekend!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I rented this property for his birthday over the weekend of April 23, 2011. The house was beautiful, sitting right on the river with views of Mt. Index and another peak in the opposite direction. Both snow covered peaks almost hid the beauty of the magnificent rock canyon that stood behind us. The house was remodled, very clean, and extremely comfortable, especially the bed which felt as if you were sleeping on a cloud. The only downside, although I somehow found it quaint and endearing, was the train that ran throughout the night, blowing its warning whistle with each passing. Yet even by the second night I slept soundly, never even hearing the train.

My boyfriend and I got lost on the backroads of Washington in attempts to find the Tulip festival, after a flood washed out our chances of seeing the Big Four Ice Caves, and we were so happy to get back to the rental house, it felt like home. The second day, the home welcomed us after hiking to Bridal Falls near Mt. Index, a beautiful and easy day hike!

Come Sunday morning, after having breakfast on the porch, listening to the river, and waving to the locals walking by, we reluctantly packed our belongings to head home. We both wanted to stay for another week if not forever! This was a great rental, great location, and a great mini vacation. Don't think twice about staying, it is definately worth every minute!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Serena - we appreciate your business and we're so glad you chose to stay with us as home base for your adventures. Growing up in Index I forget the train is even there, but you're not the only one to say they immediately adjusted to it. When you have a chance to finally slow down and relax, it's amazing how the little things don't bother you. We welcome you're return. Ken.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Mountain/River getaway - would stay again!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the rental cabin during the first weekend of February-2011, for 2 nights. We ended up using this opportunity away to celebrate an early Valentine's and go snowboarding at Steven's Pass while we were there. We were very pleased with the condition of the cabin - the physical appearance and decor exceeded our expectations from the photos online. The word cabin can be a little deceiving... it was more like a cute little mountain house that had been beautifully remodeled. The property was clean and well maintained. We brought our own groceries and did all our own cooking there, as there aren't many restaurants nearby. My husband and I were super excited when we arrived and saw the big screen TV with the Wii Gaming Station... we had lots of fun entertaining ourselves playing games when it was raining outside. The cabin is literally right in front of the Skykomish River, and such a beautiful sound when you're sitting on the porch. Great views, and only about 25 minutes away from Stevens. All the amenities were great - we had everything we needed, all kitchen supplies for cooking were there... the furniture was comfortable, and there were plenty of indoor activities (games, movies, books, magazines) and things you could do if the weather was crummy outside. There were some houses in the area that appeared to be a little run down, but everyone we ran into was super friendly - seems like a great little mountain community. The owner was very helpful, answered all our questions, and made the overall logistics experience easy (directions, instructions, rental responsibilities, key, etc.). I would definitely recommend this rental property to friends and family (oh wait, I already have)... Since the cabin is only 2 bedrooms, it would be ideal for a couple wanting a romantic getaway, or two couples looking for some adventure - great for summer or winter, or a small family, seems like it sleeps 4 most comfortably. We're actually going back to Index in June to go river rafting for my birthday with Outdoor Adventures (walking distance from the cabin) - they seemed great when we stopped by to chat and get some information. I would definitely recommend checking them out! We would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kristen and Shawn - thank you so much for your visit and your thoughtful and thorough review. We had a great time remodeling the home and we tried to create a great place to stay and relax, or a home base for adventure. Outdoor Adventure center was just voted the best rafting company in the King 5 Best of Western Washington contest, so you can't go wrong booking a trip with them during your next visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wish we could have stayed longer

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

A Riverside Retreat could not have been more perfect for our weekend. Index is a quiet little town a mile off the highway and a good bit off the grid. And that is the kind of vacation we like. The house is clean, comfortable, charmingly decorated, and well-equipped. The beds are soooo cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals. There are lots of magazines to read and movies to watch on a huge TV. But the better sights are outside the windows, The views are amazing. I loved watching the sun move across the cliffs. And with the river right outside the front door, the sound effects were great, too. We walked around town in the afternoon and visited the General Store.
We skiied at Stevens Pass which is an easy 30 minute drive. We didn't eat out while we were there though we did see a few restaurants in the area. But we did try to stop at as many of the coffee kiosks as we could. We counted 13 between Seattle and Index.
We will go back to A Riverside Retreat as soon as we can. We'd like to try the fishing and some hiking next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Betsy - your description of Index is spot on. Thanks for your thoughtful review and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. During your next visit be sure to use the free highspeed wi-fi we just installed and visit the "Adventures" page on our website for links to local hikes. There is some spectacular sights to be seen and many trail heads within 20 minutes of the cabin (and of course right outside the door as well).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderfully cozy cabin, with "gotcha" amazing mountain and riverside views

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

A Riverside Retreat is precisely that and more--it's riverside and a retreat from the noise and hubbub of life in more densely populated regions. I stayed three nights and would have stayed longer. VERY CLEAN...was one of the first impressions that hit me when I walked in the door of this slightly older, but newly remodeled and well appointed two bedroom, one bath cabin. SPACIOUS...another word, but not one I would usually ascribe to a smaller vacation rental, but this one definitely has room to stretch out in. Ample and comfortable seating in the living area, uncrowded kitchen, and front porch that is a MUST to sit out on in the morning or afternoon, with a hot mug O' beverage, to listen to the soothing flow of the wild North Fork of the Skykomish river and watch for not infrequent bald eagles, or heron's to fly by. I was stunned by the generous and commanding view I had of Mt Index and Persis from the kitchen, living room, or porch. Once on the Porch, I looked upstream to the Gunn Peaks stabbing into the sky both literally and figuratively. The beds were plush and comfortable, plenty of games in the living room entertainment center, and if so inclined, a huge plasma screen TV complete with satellite. Washer and dryer work well. furniture is new, and classy. Creative, fun, angling themes abound in one of the rooms and utility room.
The owner's were easy to deal with--no fuss, no muss. Friendly and helpful on the telephone.
A general store with a nice selection of items is right in town (less than a five minute walk). If you need something more, there is a full service grocery store 10-15 minutes away in Goldbar. Eating out has a few possibilities in the area as well.
Though myself and my guest did not avail ourselves of it this time, there is some fantastic rafting to be had on the Skykomish river and on the East side of Steven's Pass on the Wenatchee.
Several trailhead's of varying difficulty are in the area--I went on a stiff hike up to Lake Serene that ends at the base of the very same Mt Index you see so vividly from the cabin--several mesmerizing waterfalls are on the way up...easier hikes can be found in the area, but all are worth the effort expended in the rewards yielded from the views.
Skiing up at Steven's Pass is a mere 25 minutes or so up the Hwy.
Getting here, it was just a curiously quick hour + drive from SeaTac Airport.
In short, I think this is a great place to stay anytime of the year, and would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: David - thank you for writing our first review! We're so happy that you chose to stay with us. That hike to Lake Serene (from what I remember) is more than just a "stiff" hike but is hand over hand in some places, but as someone who has hiked the Pacific Coast Trail from Mexico to Stevens Pass - I'm sure it was nothing for you. We look forward to your next visit and thanks again. Ken and Molly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review