reviews for: listing #89003 - Burlington, Vermont House rental

Breathtaking New Lake Champlain Beach,Foliage,Ski Escape!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lakeshore Res.
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Just AMAZING!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

This was absolutely the best girl getaway ever! The house is BEAUTIFUL! The lake view is amazing and the hospitality was extraordinary. Everything you need is there. Not only was the house beautiful, but it was also very clean and well maintained. There is NOTHING I would change about it. I would recommend this getaway to every and anyone.

Our annual girls getaway was nothing short of Perfect! Will plan on returning again next year and for many years to come.

The listing description is exactly what you should expect and then some!!!!

Fondly,

Jen, Madeline, Luz, Shelita & Damary
Boston, MA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful family getaway!!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

I would like to start off with saying Barb has prepared this home so perfectly. She answered any questions before we even knew we had them. We arrived to a wonderfully clean, charming home with all modern conveniences. Gorgeous lake views. A delicious gift basket with the tastes of Vermont right in front of us. Even though the weather was a little on the cold side we enjoyed visiting the local areas. Dakin Farm, Ben and Jerry's, Lake Champlain Chocolates, Cold Hollow Cider Mill. We also enjoyed our time at the house playing family games, watching movies by the fire, etc. We were made to feel right at home. Our family fell in love with Vermont and cannot wait to come back for another visit. Thank you so much Barb for making our family vacation one of the most memorable. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We were looking for a beautiful place for a weekend getaway in January to come relax. This home was beautiful. The Barbaras made sure we had everything we could possibly need, and more. The champagne and basket of Vermont goods was so appreciated. The home was impeccable, so comfortable to stay in. Lots of light, a beautiful view. everything was just delightful. Thank you SO much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Escape!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

I would highly recommend this cabin as it was clean, very well maintained, had all of the accomodations you can think of (fully stocked kitchen, movies, books, pool table, darts, games, comfortable furniture, clean drinking water, beautiful views, etc) The hospitality provided by the owner was beyond compare and the photos you see of the property and cabin online are just what you get in person...a cozy place away from home! We definitely plan on returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

This house is Splendid!! Both Warm and Luxurious!! I celebrated my birthday over a weekend in January. The owners went out of their way to design a Very Special Birthday package!
The house is Wonderfully furnished; Perfect for launging; or taking in the Breath-taking lake and mountain views!
I was amazed at how well appointed the kitchen was! As was the basement gameroom.
I can't wait to come back for the spring or summer to experience the house in a different light and spend some time by the lake (which now in winter had frozen crystal decorative paths upon it).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OMG!!! ...IMPRESSIVE!!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Jan2014-- From the driveway... Gorgeous lake house! Marvelous decor and steps lead to its inner Beauty! Enter, and your jaw drops from the Awesome view! Unforgettable first impression! Oneness with nature!
One could surely see the artistic hand of God from every window and skylight! Amazing!
The house has Remarkable arquitecture and floor plan. Never have I seen a house so welcoming all on its own, through the separate-yet-one design of all rooms and all furniture placed within it! One can see how every single person took pride in his/her creativity... From carpentry to plumbing, to electrical, to flooring, to roofing, to drywall, to painting, to HVAC! Impressive and Great workmanship! Truly a well-deserved Shout out to all workers & contractors whose hands were in it! They did a Magnificent job!

The view of the lake from the loft and the jacuzzi tub were my favorites during the day! And at night, the almost reachable stars from the skylight above the bed!

I would love to come back to take in a different perspective & vista in spring, summer, & fall! I enjoyed myself greatly during my winter stay! It was Marvelous! The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking & baking but I opted for neighborhood culinary talent, And the owners made great recommendations for surrounding restaurants and eatery! Delicious!

P.S. I even had the chance to sit by the cozy gas-stove fireplace to watch the movie Chitty Chitty Bang Bang which the Barbs had in their extensive DVD collection! I also played pool & darts in the basement! Sooo much Fun!!
Thank you very much!!! : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning in every way!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

This was our first introduction to a home-away stay in the US and the quality & comfort of the home together with the delightful & friendly host surpassed all our expectations! Stand-out features included a delicious basket of welcome goodies, sumptuous leather couches, a well stocked kitchen pantry (including olive oils, herbs & spices & delicious local coffee) and a very comfortable big bed! And then there's the views.... pictures really do not capture the sheer beauty of the vistas, both day and night, across the lake and upwards into the skies. This home away from home really is superb in every way !!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Vacation in Vermont!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We recently returned from a one week stay at Barb's home on Lake Champlain. The home was perfect for us. It is situated at the end of a pretty, country road which gave us the peace and quiet that we were looking for. The house and the yard are large and spacious. The huge windows give you a gorgeous view of the lake. The decks off the main floor and the master bedroom are great for relaxing any time of the day. The kitchen is well-stocked which allowed us to cook any meals that we wanted to prepare at home. All of the house was extremely clean and welcoming when we arrived. The basket of Vermont treats was a nice surprise! The location is perfect for exploring this part of Vermont. During our week's vacation, we easily drove to Burlington, Middlebury, Green Mountain National Forest and Stowe on day trips (and were back at the house in time for Happy Hour on the deck!) Barb was the perfect host: she gave us excellent suggestions for driving routes, restaurants and interesting places to visit. We appreciated having our dog with us and Barb told us about 2 state parks (DAR and Button Bay) where we went for long walks. They have provided many activities to do: lots of water "toys" and indoor games so you can be busy no matter what the weather. However there are many comfy chairs for relaxing outside and just enjoying the view. Thank you Barb for sharing your home and the beautiful Addison County with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Sunny House!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This property has a new, sunny, clean, airy house. It was quite peaceful! We enjoyed it immensely. The owners were very helpful and took great care in providing comfort to us in their well loved home. I particularly enjoyed the clean linens and fresh soft towels. The well equipped kitchen had everything we needed. We spent hours of fun playing games, sipping wine on the deck surrounded by beautiful flowers, and enjoyed spotting the abundant wild life around the cottage. A large hawk swooped right down past me as I sat quietly outside enjoying my early morning coffee. That was very cool! Add to that the quaint Vermont towns and the delicious Ice cream right at the end of the drive, and we had a wonderful vacation!! We didn’t swim however, as the lake had a lot of sea weed in it which we found unpleasant to swim in, so we spent our time on the water instead having great fun canoeing and kayaking in the boats provided. The paddle boat was a hoot! Our granddaughters just had the best time!! Thanks Barb for sharing your lovely home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

romantic weekend excape

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

it started off when we arrived at this beautiful home and location, breathe taken to say the least!! The owners were so friendly and informative about the area and helpful in so many ways!!
Our two dogs came with us and enjoyed every waking moment, I don't think I have ever saw them so relaxed as we too had a relaxing time!!
I would recommend this vacation home to all who look for serenity, romance and just down right a fabulous time!!
Close to stores and anything you have in mind, also fun in the basement with pool tables and ping pong, tarts too!!

quiet serene and warm gas fireplace to make it even more special can't say enough but we will be returning as soon as our business slows down a pace!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Quiet Getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here after a whirlwind 2 weeks of dealing with a hurricane and election night. We were looking for someplace clean, quiet, and well-equipped to get away from everyone and everything. This place was perfect. The bed was so comfortable; the jacuzzi was awesome! The kitchen had everything you needed to make a gourmet dinner. There is nothing I would change or add to this house. We loved it so much that we are returning for 3 nights for New Year's!

Vermont is small enough that we took day trips everywhere; a morning in Middlebury, an afternoon in Burlington, hiking Texas Falls, we even drove out to Manchester one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

“Wow” was our word of the week while relaxing in this beautiful home on our vacation in October! This home is set on park like grounds overlooking Lake Champlain and the beautiful Adirondacks mountains. As we entered the house we walked into a beautiful open kitchen, dining room and cozy living room, all with full views of the lake and mountains. We also were greeted with a yummy welcome basket with goodies all from Vermont. Our host Barb came by to give us a little tour and history of her home as well as some great tips on tourist attractions complete with maps and brochures. We were so touched by her hospitality. The large master bedroom has a gorgeous bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi for soaking after a day of sightseeing or just enjoying the lake. There are skylights for stargazing and a deck off the bedroom for more views of Lake and the mountains. “Wow”! Take your pick why we’ll be back again, this time in May to this breathtaking getaway. Thank you again for a wonderful vacation. It was exactly what we needed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Regained Sanity

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

This was a vacation which my wife and I will always fondly think back upon. Being right on the lake gave us the opportunity to not only go kayaking each day but also sit quietly and reflect while enjoying a cup of coffee- the back deck is a great escape from the television. The house is spacious, clean and well managed and the hostess is friendly and well informed on where to go, what to see and how to get there. And if you happen to need a break from the outdoors, Burlington was only short car ride away. We're planning a return trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful Rest!

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We were looking for a place to rest our suitcases and have a tranquil location to enjoy a well earned break, Lake Champlain Escape provided this in spades!
We were holidaying in North America for the first time from Adelaide in South Australia. Having had a number of stops we wanted to put our feet up, enjoy the stunning scenery, quiet and have a base to enjoy the delights of Vermont.
Barb met us and introduced the facilities offered by her lovely home and the local attractions. Lots of use of the games room was made, with billiards and darts being the most popular. Many a time was spent sitting in the chairs on the lawn overlooking the lake.
The home is truly beautiful with polished floor boards and all the mod cons one needs to enjoy a great holiday.
Thank you again Barb and Barb for a very restful and memorable stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Weekend Away!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Thank you for such a fantastic weekend! The cabin is the most relaxing place - it's absolutely perfect! The view of the lake and fresh Vermont air were exactly what the doctor ordered.

We will forever remember this as the place we got engaged!! That's Right! Nolan popped the question! We have already decided to make this a yearly trip.

Thank you so much for being so gracious and allowing us to share this amazing place with you.

Allison & Nolan
New York, NY

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What A View!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at this unique home on the shore of Lake Champlain. It was very clean and neat with all the comforts of home. The upstairs master has a private balcony with great views of the lake and NY on the other side. The only downside is that the second bedroom is in the basement while the second bath is on the main floor, but that is a small negative compared to the location and other amenities. Please keep reading!

Barb provided great service and gave us lots of information about the area even dropping by to make sure everything was as it should be. The property is clean and well maintained inside and out and has a private dock with steps leading down to it. It is within 45 minutes of a number of attractions.

One suggestion for those using a GPS to get there, plug in Vergennes as the location and not West Addision.

We very much recommend Barb and her lovely home and hope to go back there someday!

Owners response: We sleep 6 comfortably with a king with master bath and Jacuzzi tub on the 2nd floor with deck overlooking lake, mountains and sunsets. We have a queen day bed on the first/main floor overlooking the lake as well with full bath. We have a loft above everything with amazing view of the lake and mountains with a guest queen inflatable bed. And we have a queen bed on the lower level with a full rec room with pool, ping pong, bumper pool, darts and every game under the sun and free guest DVD library. The floor plan is all open and airy with 9' walls and vaulted ceilings, walls of windows to the lake and mountains and 5 skylights and transom arch and octagon windows as well with cherry hardwood, ceramic tile and Berber floors, granite counters and all newly built and new appliances, fixtures, gas insert wood stove and 2 large decks overlooking the lake and mountains with 250' of private Lake Champlain waterfront and docks with kayaks, canoes, paddle boats included.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great Fishing Weekend!!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Thank you Barbara, for a great long weekend at your lovely cabin. The weather was ideal. The cabin had everything we needed and more. We both enjoyed the big jacuzzi tub. We sat on the dock and fished and we fell in love with Vermont. The view is amazing and very tranquil. Visiting the local town of Middlebury and the University grounds was very nice also. We can't say enough good things about your place and will be back next September for sure. Best Regards

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

This home was beautiful. I couldn't have asked for a better week of vacation. We mainly came to the home for the fishing on Lake Champlain. The fishing was amazing. The home was more than anyone could ask for. The views of the lake were fabulous and the home was equipt with pretty much anything you would ever need. It was very hard to leave. This was the perfect getaway (quiet, peaceful, away from it all). I cannot wait to come back and stay in this home again. The hospitality of the owners was great and I have zero complaints about my vacation. I would reccomend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

A perfect weekend :)

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Great location, very peaceful, secluded and beautiful views. We only stayed the weekend and immediately fell in love with the house, the place and the friendly people. Barb was great with all the details and made us feel very welcome in the wonderful house she built.
I was looking for a quiet and cozy place to have a romantic weekend with my significant other and it turned out to be more than what i expected. We couldn't stop talking about the place and we would absolutely come again...i think spring would be great ;)

Great place! Thanks so much Barb :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a place!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

We celebrated my wife's 30th birthday while our son stayed with the grandparents. Our expectations were far exceeded! This place is absolutely beautiful, we can't wait to return!

I've rented through Homeaway and VRBO a number of times and this was by far the nicest home we've ever stayed in. From the granite countertops, to the wood floors, to the large windows and huge jacuzzi tub, it was a dream come true for us. A lot of rentals are just that--rentals. This is a home.

Oh, and the view???? Out of this world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Lake Champlain House

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

My wife, 1-year-old and I spent a week in this beautiful place at the end of January. The setting is magnificent, with breathtaking views of lake Champlain and beautiful rural Vermont landscapes. Nearby are local stores and restaurants, and a bit farther away Middlebury is easily accessible. The house itself is beautifully designed and equipped with its wood floors, cathedral ceilings, spacious kitchen, large windows that give on the lake, gas stove to keep things cozy in the winter, jacuzzi, and ping pong/ pool table/ dart board/ games downstairs. There was quite a bit of snow on the ground when we were here, but the house was nice and warm. We walked out onto the lake where people were ice fishing, and went sledding with the baby. The hosts were very welcoming- they baby proofed the electrical outlets for us, left some local specialities for us to try, and gave us lots of pointers. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a house on lake Champlain!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas together with another group of friends. It was one of the best trips we've had. The host Barbara was very helpful and the house was newly built, renovated and everything was perfect!

On our way to the house, my car got stuck in the snow and couldn't move up one of the hills in VT. I called Barbara and Barbara immediately offered to help me find an alternate path. Within a few minutes, she got back to me and helped me find my way there.

Upon arrival, the house was very clean and well-prepared for our arrival. Dishes were dry, the floor was clean, and everything else was in perfect order. Barbara gave us a tour around the house and introduced us to all the games and activities available. She also gave us a very good introduction to the nearby ski resorts and cities, where we could go for ice fishing etc. The wireless internet signal was also a little weak but Barbara helped to realign the wireless router such that I could get internet access on both floors of the house.

The next day, Barbara referred me to a few nearby mechanics so I could get snow tires. When I arrived there they ran out of snow tires and Barbara immediately helped me call up several other stores nearby and when I arrived, I realized that Barbara and even asked them for a special discount on my behalf!

We had a really good time. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is newly built, so everything is in perfect working order. The jacuzzi on the second floor is superb.

But the best thing about this house is its view. Situated by Lake Champlain, it has an amazing view of the lake and the Adirondack Mountains on the other side. We arrived late at night and so we couldn't see the lake, but when we woke up the next morning, all four of us went "WOAHHHHHHH". It's truly insane. We only wished that we went in the summer, for we could not go out boating.

Perfect place for a getaway and worth every penny.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Thank you!

We had a wonderful time. Your lovely house was the perfect getaway for us, as would be for so many people. While we enjoyed a week of lounging, lazing, kayaking and cooking in, others could easily enjoy so many other activities, like hiking, swimming, and enjoying the many activities that Middlebury has to offer.

The house is gorgeous. The main bedroom, with its breathtaking views and large windows, was like sleeping in a landscape painting. And the master bathroom, with its jacuzzi tub that overlooked the lake, just added to our relaxation.

Finally, your own accommodations never failed to make us feel more welcome. Whether it was sharing songs with us on your porch or coming by to make sure that the outlets had safety plugs to ensure that our 1-year old was unharmed, we felt like we were well taken care of.

Thank you again for a lovely vacation. It was exactly what we needed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Escape!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We finally had a chance to truly relax in a remarkably beautiful setting. Our charming hosts who live just down the driveway even provided a small basket of Vermont goodies for us when we arrived. Although 6 can indeed fit here, it was perfect for just 2 of us!. There is a bed for 2 in the basement and a bed for 2 upstairs with a magnificent view of the lake. The sleeping loft is in the upstairs bedroom and could sleep two more. You can lie in bed and see the stars through the skylight! The kitchen is very well equipped - a true plus as I do a fair bit of cooking. The lake is steps away and the kayaks and paddle boat were fun to use. The house is light and airy and beautifully maintained. This was my first experience renting a vacation home and I was very impressed with how smoothly everything went. The town of Vergennes is close by and has a great diner called Three Squares. Breakfast is fabulous- supper fresh eggs and delicious bacon! The Maritime Museum, which I thought had great promise....was a disappointing bore....hopefully they will get better in time. Verizon cell reception was very dicey, but the owners tell us that ATT works better. We found we could plug our IPOD into the television and we were able to play all of our own tunes. I recommend this property highly and without reservation. I plan to visit again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review