reviews for: listing #89036 - Don Pedro Island, Florida House rental

Sundowner
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,400 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Amazing vacation home on Don Pedro Island!!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We had one of the best vacations of our lives! The house was comfortable and had everything we needed to make us feel right at home. The island was beautiful and we had a blast on the beach. The beach was gorgeous and the water was perfect! We would love to visit again someday! Thanks Cheryl and Pat! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Island Paradise

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We have found our Island Paradise! This is our 3rd year vacationing at Pat & Cheryl's Wonderful Island Home! And already booked our 4th! Since we have found it we just can't imagine going anywhere else! The house is so clean & comfortable! Has everything anyone could need or want. The pool & gulf cart is like icing on the cake! The beach is amazing! Beautiful & uncrowded! Shells galore & we our addicted to collecting sharks teeth! We love to grill at the house but having RumBay & Johnney Leverocks so close is perfect for a night out!
We can sincerely say once you come to this Island Home you will want to come back again & again like us!

Owners response: We love having return guests especially for a great family like yours and consider you our friends. We look forward to your yearly visit to our home. We offer our returning guests discounts on their rentals and hope you will become one of our seasonal guests and friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas at the Beach!

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

(Posted from Guest Book in Home) "Thank you for making our Christmas this year very memorable! We all enjoyed our stay at your beautiful and comfortable beach home. It was so kind and thoughtful of you to decorate the cottage with the two Christmas trees, candles, cookies and gifts for our children under the tree. It was all so magical for our family!
Don Pedro Island is so beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed our days at the beach jumping in the waves, collecting shells and shark's teeth, watching the dolphins ad building sand castles. Our girls enjoyed going to the resort for crafts with Redbeard and his Friday night show. It was fun to see the New Year's Day Parade of golf carts. All of this plus sunny warm days in December made this a Christmas we will always remember!
It is so difficult for us to leave--this house feels like home. Thank you for sharing this little piece of paradise with us! God Bless!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Picture perfect vacation!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We fell in love with the house by looking at the pictures and had the same feeling when we arrived.
We were looking to relax and this is exactly what we got : trip to the beach, jump in the pool, nap for the all family and nice dinner on the deck.
What you see on the pictures and what you read on the description are exactly what you get. The house is clean, well-equipped and great for a family, we were 3 adults: my husband, my mother-in-law and 2 kids (our son, 5 years old and our daughter almost 4 years old).
The golf kart is a must, just because the kids loved it and very helpful to load all the stuff for a day at the beach. And of course the trip to the restaurant and get an ice cream on the resort (only golf karts are allowed on the resort)!
Cheryl was very helpful and respond quickly to any question we had all the long of the reservation process. When we arrived, Cheryl and her husband were at the house to welcome us and took the time to tell us about the house, the island and answer our questions.
The pool is the perfect size to relax after a day at the beach and all the family had great naps because it is so quiet.
A plus: the firefighters are our closest neighbors and they were very nice. Our daughter hurt herself and guess what? She now loves firefighters.
At this time of the year, we saw some turtle nests on the beach and one of our neighbors in front of the house was a turtle. We were lucky to see 3 dolphins when we were on the ferry; all those little things that make you feel on vacation! No need to leave the island: just relax and enjoy those quite moments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Blessing!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This vacation was such a blessing. Coming over on the ferry we were in awe at the gorgeous scenery. Pat and Cheryl met us at their beautiful home and gave us a tour. They were so welcoming. We felt at home right away. Their home is lovely and has everything we needed to settle right in for a week of Island Adventure. The house was very clean and well stocked with supplies. The pool was a great bonus, especially for the kids. And us too. The golf cart was such a fun way to explore the island and take trips to the beach and to Coconuts for ice cream. If you love to search for shells and sharks teeth they are everywhere along miles of beach. Fishing was great too. The sky was captivating whether is was completly blue or filled with clouds. We took many pictures of the sky including storm clouds as they rolled in. The sunsets were amazing. I can't say enough of this vacation. Pat and Cheryl have a beautiful home and we are so thankful for the love they have put into their home and opened it to us. We are so blessed to have found such an amazing get away. My husband grew up in Venice, Fl and never new that Don Pedro was an island. Very cool. Thanks Pat and Cheryl and God Bless

Owners response: It is guests like your family that make renting our beach second home a blessing and very enjoyable. It is a pleasure meeting our guests and doing everything we can to make their vacation happy and one that they will remember as one of their great vacations. We have been blessed with such nice people that have chosen our home for their vacation. Comments like this make all our efforts worthwhile and we really appreciate all our guests that take the time to comment about their vacation. Thank you! Pat & Cheryl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mr.

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Our time at the vacation rental was relaxing, very comfortable & enjoyed by each member of our family. The home was well equipped & felt like a home away from home. The sunsets, dolphins & beaches were beautiful. Our location was an easy bike ride to the beach or use the golf cart (for an extra charge - well worth it). We look forward to returning to Don Pedro Island & to The Beach House.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments! We are so happy that your vacation was enjoyable and you are planning to return. Pat and I work hard maintaining our home and providing all the comforts of home for our guests. We seem to have such nice people renting our home and we appreciate it. All you need to bring is your food and clothes. We provide the rest in hopes that your vacation will be great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Our 4-week stay, with our son, his wife and 2 babies (2 yrs old and 7 months old) has given us the opportunity to see Florida in a very different way. Prior to our arrival, Cheryl had provided us with all information concerning the house, the island, all beaches, restaurants, Publix and more. When we arrived, while Pat was answering my husband’s questions, I went upstairs to meet Cheryl to tour the house. What a beautiful house! The house is exactly as described and as in the pictures. Clean, well maintained and spacious. We toasted our stay with the bottle of wine that Pat and Cheryl have offered us upon our arrival. During our stay, Cheryl made sure that we were ok. The pool was still chilly but we waited for the warm sun and went for a swim 3 or 4 times. We enjoyed the house, the beach, the golf cart (don’t even think not to rent it! It is essential!) and explored the beautiful island and it's vicinity. I would say that it is an island that put an automatic smile on your face! Everyone you meet is happy and friendly! My husband and our son went fishing almost every day and caught very interesting kind of fish. They had fun! We saw sting rays and dolphins. Every morning, my daughter-in-law, grandchildren and I went for walks around the island and went on the beach for shark teeth and shells or simply relax. We would definitely recommend this property. It is a home away from home. We were sad to leave such a beautiful place. Hope to be back very soon! Christine, Jean and Family, NDL (Hautes Laurentides,Québec) CANADA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Back Again!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

In 2011 we came for the first time to Cheryl & Pats Don Pedro Island Home & fell in love with it! So this year we had to comeback & fell in love all over again! The home,beach, the island lifestyle is a dream come true for us!
We find comfort, peace, tranquility, & natures true beauty everywhere! Cheryl & Pat are so helpful & make you feel like youve known them for years
The home offers EVERYTHING you could want & more! So clean & comfortable. We feel so at home here! Parking the car & only having to use the golfcart or walking is wonderful. Sun, shells & sharksteeth fill our days Grilling fresh fish from Placida fish market on one of 2 grills Or for a dinnerout take the golfcart to Rum Bay or water taxi to Leverocks !
We feel so blessed to have found such a special piece of paradise! Thankyou Cheryl & Pat for sharing it!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

If you're looking for relaxation in a beautiful home on a beautiful secluded island, this is it!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

My family stayed in this home for 6 weeks. During this time we had family visit at different times including our four grandchildren ranging in age from 4 months to 7 years. The description of this home is extremely accurate and exceeded our expectations. The home was spotless upon arrival and every amenity you may require is sure to be there. Cheryle greeted us with a tour of the home and a bottle of champagne! She and Pat were available to answer any questions at any time and went so far as to check on us by phone and e-mail to make sure everything was o.k. Our days were spent exploring the island including the beaches, trails and resort. DO (and I can't stress this enough) rent the golf cart! If you have little ones, visit the resort on Friday nights and Sundays where "Red Beard" the pirate puts on a show and does arts and crafts with the kids. My 3 year old grandson was captivated and still talks about him every day. After he left, Red Beard made a short video for him that he listens to every day. The pool was a little chilly for us but our kids and grandchildren enjoyed it while we sat in the sun and enjoyed them. If you enjoy reading, no need to bring books. I'm a fast reader and Cheryle had enough reading material to keep me happy for 6 months.While there we had a problem with our credit card and had to change our card. Cheryle was unable refund our deposit without the original card so she and Pat went out of there way to meet us in a city a couple of hours away on our departure from Florida to give us cash. They are such wonderful people and I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you rent this vacation home. Thank you so much again Cheryle and Pat. Looking forward to the next time. Cathy and Steve.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Every Bit as Good as Jamaica

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

WOW! We had to cancel our vacation to Jamaica for financial reasons and thought we'd find someplace closer to home that has a great beach and a relaxing environment. Well, we found it ALL on Don Pedro Island! The home is exactly as pictured, the description is dead on and the island is more beautiful than imagined!

Cheryl provided us with information on grocery stores in the area so we stocked up at Publix, and pre-ordered our wine and beer from Total Wine in Fort Myers. That made getting everything we needed for a week on the island super convenient. I would recommend renting a full-size car or larger to fit everything. We had four adults, four medium sized pieces of luggage, plus groceries and our Total Wine boxes. There was barely room for us!

The house is beautiful, clean and stocked with kitchen utensils for cooking. There are beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and a floatie. The golf cart made getting up to Palm Island Resort quick, easy and fun (lots of laughs on the cart!). One of the guys fished off a near-by bridge and we had fresh snapper one day for lunch!

The beach is beautiful just as Chery said ... shells, sharks teeth and even dolphins about six feet from shore. The water is clear as can be too! Some days we were the only four people out for as far as we could see on either side of us!

Cheryl provided us with all the information we needed to have an amazing vacation and was only a phone call away if we needed something (which we didn't). I would HIGHLY recommend staying in the beautiful home on this beautiful island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing in a home away from home

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

My husband, brother and his wife and I vacation together each year. This year we chose a beach vacation at the Sundowner. We had everything we needed for relaxation and fixing meals. We rented golf carts and drove over the island many times. We took trips to the beach for looking for shells and shark teeth, to the resort for candy at the gift shop or admiring all the lovely beach houses on the island. Everyone waves and makes you feel welcome. We highly recommend that you choose to vacation here. The owners have done everything possible to provide all your needs for your comfort and then they go the extra mile to be available to assure that everything goes smoothly for your stay. Everything was very clean and well maintained.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

My family and I had such an amazing stay at the Lonergan's home! Pat and Cheryl were there to welcome us upon our arrival and gave us a very informative tour of the home and property. The pictures on the website are spot on. Very nice, comfortable home with almost any amenity you could think of. Just bring your food and clothes. The golf cart was definitely a must. It was so pleasurable to explore the island. Everyone was very friendly. The beach is so beautiful, clean and peaceful. We brought a pop up tent and would go out to the beach in the morning, set it up with chairs and would leave it up all day until evening when we would pack it up. We had absolutely no worries about leaving our belongings unattended on the beach if we went back to the house for a nice dip in the refreshing pool or to get a bite to eat. It was a perfect getaway for a family that has 2 kids under 10 and a grandparent in their 70s. It met everyone's needs. We look forward to returning again in the near future! Thank you, again, Pat and Cheryl, for the hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exotic location, very peaceful getaway

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The house is comfortable, well equipped and spacious. We would happily recommend this place to our friends.

The description of the property states that no pets are allowed. However, the owner has a small dog, and if you are alergic to dogs (like my wife) this is probably not the ideal rental for you. We wish this was communicated to us before we decided to rent.

Other than that, It's a remarkable house in a unique location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is our second home and we do have a small cockapoo (that does not shed) that we sometimes bring down for the day when we greet our guests, however, in light of this review, we will not be bringing her down for the day. Our home is thoroughly cleaned by a professional housekeeper after every guest. As you can see from other reviews, our home is well maintained and clean. If you have any concerns, please contact me. Thank you for your interest in our beach home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It's Easy To Feel At Home Here!

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Four winter-weary Canadians (parents, daughter, and son-in-law) were happy to spend sun-filled days and star-filled nights at this lovely home on Don Pedro Island. We had rented beachfront homes on the island previously and we wondered if we'd miss being directly on the beach this time.....we needn't have worried at all! This property allowed easy access to the beach by the owner's rentable golf cart (perfect, and fun!) and the house itself was thoughtfully comfortable with everything to make your vacation memorable and stress-free. Just bring your clothes and your food for your stay....so easy. We agree with previous postings on the many benefits of this home, including the lovely pool, well-equipped kitchen, and relaxation areas. Did I mention the many windows in this solid house built by the owner/contractor himself? The house was cheerfully bright and welcoming with AC and ceiling fans when needed, plus great blinds for privacy and shade too. Very comfy beds! We were delighted to be awakened each morning by the happy sound of cardinals singing! Osprey, too. It's a safe home and a safe island where you can completely forget all your concerns and truly relax! Go, and enjoy! You will not meet kinder or more thoughtful owners than Cheryl and Pat....they reflect the very best of Florida hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Found a piece of Paradise here!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

How thankful am I to have found this Wonderful piece of Paradise ! We have been to Florida many times(many different places) I can say we hit the jackpot here! Everything we could want in Cheryl & Pats lovely comfy home & ideal location We brought my parents here to celebrate their 60th anniversary & they loved it too! Our time flew by ! A typical day was Lovely mornings at the outdoor table off the kitchen sipping coffee while watching the nesting Ospreys. Pack up the golf cart head to the beach &spend warm sunny days beachcombing the quiet shell filled beach, collecting shells & sharks teeth( think we found close to 100! Maybe walk to Don Pedro State Park(abit of a hike) swim in the aqua blue hued gulf, take golf cart down to stump pass watch the dolphins Come home take a dip in the private pool ,watch the gopher turtles crawl around the yard munching grasses here & there, maybe take a nap or read for awhile Time to grill out on one of the 2 grills Hmm should we grill by the pool or grill on the upper deck off the kitchen & eat in the lovely diningroom? After dinner take a evening golf ride! Maybe get icecream down at the Palm Island resort & stop at beach & enjoy gorgeous sunsets. Now home to a very quiet evening on deck sipping a glass of wine amazed at how many stars you can see! The beds are comfortable for sleeping the rooms all inviting & so clean! Masterbedroom has a wonderful large walkinshower!
How good can it get!
Now things we also liked! RumBay restaurant, Coconuts where you can rent kayaks or go on a kayak tour,water taxi to Leverocks Rest. natureboat cruise from Palm Island Resort (saw lots of dolphins) Walking around the island enjoying all the wildlife! Saw many turtles, ospreys,pelicans,egrets, dolphins stingrays shorebirds ! As for shopping Publix & Placida fish market Owners Cheryl & Pat are the best! Feel like I can call them friends!
As you can see we loved every moment in fact sooo much we are returning in 2013
If you are considering coming here I bet you will feel like us that you hit the jackpot!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

My family and I had such an amazing time on our vacation at Pat and Cheryl's home. The home was clean and beautiful and the pictures they have posted are very accurate, and the home is even more amazing then the pictures! Cheryl was always available to answer our questions, before we got there, and while we were there. The golf cart was such a nice inclusion for getting around the island, we went to the beach twice a day, sometimes 3, and just drove all over exploring. The kids loved seeing all the gopher tortoises roaming around. I would say the nicest part about Don Pedro, was that there were no crowds on the beaches, which was wonderful.
Their home had all the amenities we needed and more! If you are looking for a low key relaxing vacation this is the place to go. I would definitely recommend their home, and we hope to return again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate such nice comments from our guests. We pride ourselves on being accessible to our guests to respond to their questions or provide assistance to make their stay enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great hosts, great place

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

I'm sitting on the pool deck writing this email on our last day. We couldn't be happier. We're probably not your typical monthly renter. My wife and I are 31 and we have three small children. I work from home and travel a lot and my wife home schools our oldest. This has been absolutely perfect for all. I'm close enough to Fort Myers to catch flights easily, while the island is so safe and quiet, it works great for Em to stay home with the kiddos and not worry. Lord willing next year we'll be back.

As for a review, I don't even know where to start. The home is very nice while still being kid friendly. The beach is gorgeous and empty. The ocean is so calm and the floor is nice and sandy once you get past all the shells (which the kids loved). The pool is just the right size for splashing around and playing with the kids. The grills (yes, there are two) are top rate as is the kitchen itself. Our favorite thing turned out to be the "dog party" at sunset, where a dozen or so of the locals and their wonderfully friendly dogs would go down to the beach and congregate for a cocktail. They took us in as one of their own and were very generous (and forgiving) with our kids running from dog to dog petting them like they were their own. Such good people. Speaking of which, Pat & Cheryl, the owners, live about two hours north. They met us at the house, showed us around, and checked in on us via email to make sure we had everything we needed and to make the occasional suggestion on what the kids might enjoy (Redbeard the pirate was one, and it was a hit!). Good people, and we are grateful.

My only suggestion to future renters, as has been mentioned below, RENT THE GOLF CART. The beach is plenty close enough to walk, but when it comes to packing a cooler, beach chairs, towels, toys, etc., it turned into a miniature freighter. Also, for going down to get ice cream at the resort and those sunset golf cart cruises with the kids loaded up, it was a must. We only used our vehicle twice to go off the island and go grocery shopping.

If you want relaxing, empty beach fronts in a super laid back, quiet community, this is it.

Thanks again, Pat and Chery.

Derrick, Emily, Moses, Lillian, and Clara
Winamac, IN

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snow Birds from Missouri!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time on don pedro and enjoyed the house immensely..Your kitchen is beyond belief..every cooking utensil imaginable, it made cooking fun and easy. We also really enjoyed the golf cart, explored every land and road on the island and took it to the beach for fishing, beachcombing and in the evening for the sunset. A must!!! I must say your bed was sooo comfortable, great for reading and sleeping was exceptional. Hearing the surf off in the distance only added to the serenity...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don Pedro Island Get Away

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay on Don Pedro Island. The owners greeted us as we arrived and they toured us and explained all the amenities.We enjoyed the quiet, but it would be helpful, I think to be sure that renters know that once on the island there is not much opportunity for shopping, or entertainment (ie movies, etc) The owners of this property made it very easy for us to go to the mainland using the ferry if we wanted. The owners could not have been kinder in sharing their beach home and their library with us. I can't think of anything that we may have wanted that was not provided. Thanks for a wonderful vacation from Minnesota winter!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate nice comments from our guests as we try to make their stay as comfortable as possible by providing extra amenities that are usually not found in most beach rentals. The beauty of Don Pedro Island is its quiet pristine beach, especially with its lack of commercial establishments. It is truly “old Florida “ living at its best. The mainland is only a five minute car ferry ride for shopping, restaurants and entertainment. Come and enjoy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing in Paradise!!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

My wife and I along with our 3 children had the most amazing 1 week vacation on Don Pedro Island. Cheryl and Pat’s home is perfect, very clean and well stocked with everything you need. When Cheryl told us all we needed to bring was our food and our clothes she was not kidding their home has everything you could possible need from beach towels, umbrella, chairs, beach and pool toys for the kids, cooking supplies and utensils to 2 bbq grills, paper products, books, etc. We rented the golf cart and took our kids for ice cream at the resort everyday. We saw many turtles, birds, rabbits and dolphins and the kids were able to collect all types of shells imaginable at the beach. We enjoyed the beach and pool daily, our only regret is not having rented for 2 weeks, one week was wonderful but went by so fast. We cannot thank you enough for a wonderful vacation of rest, relaxation, and great memories. We hope to return for two weeks next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fastastic Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

My family and I had a beautiful vacation at your home. The house had plenty of space, very clean, and everything we needed. We cooked out, played in the pool, and spent time on the beach every single day. The island is so calm and peaceful and we practically had the whole beach to ourselves for most of our stay. The golf cart was fun to explore the island and we are already planning on when we can go back! If you need a little rest and relaxation this is the place!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful 2 week vacation!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My husband and I along with our 2 year old son had the most wonderful two week vacation on Don Pedro Island and staying in Cheryl and Pat's beautiful home. The house is exceptionally clean and well stocked with everything you need (beach towels, umbrella, cooking supplies and utensils, paper products, books, etc). We rented the golf cart (a must to get around the island!) and took our son for ice cream at the resort almost daily. We saw many turtles, birds, rabbits and even a snake during our golf cart drives! Taking the water taxi to Leverocks was also a fun excursion - we saw dolphins, birds, fish. Now that we are home, we miss our evening walks on the beach terribly! Cheryl and Pat were beyond helpful in answering questions and always available by phone or email during our stay. Cheryl even purchased sand toys for our son to play with at the beach!
We cannot thank you enough for a wonderful two weeks or rest, relaxation, and memories. We have recommended your house to all our friends and family and wish we could return for another vacation starting tomorrow!!!! Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing & beautiful home away from home. We'll be back!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We were greeted & given a tour by Pat & Cheryl, the owners upon arrival to their beautiful home.
We then unpacked all of our provisions. We bought a week's worth of food at the Publix, 2 miles from the ferry. Then drove the golf cart to the beach to watch our 1st amazing & peaceful sunset.
Highly recommend renting the golf cart & bring some insect repellent during the summer. (Or bring a bicycle. They can be rented at Palm Island Resort.) The beach could be a little far to walk, especially with small children. All of us loved having the pool right down stairs. Furniture & beds were comfortable. And everything was clean. Plenty of linens, towels, beach towels, cooler, & beach toys.
Palm Island resort has a small convenience store, ice cream shop, & cafe. But we never ate there, we enjoyed staying at "home".
Nights are quiet & starry. Look for the Milky Way!
It was wonderful being able to call the owners as we had an a/c issue & it was remedied in just a few hours. Hope to see you again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL,FANTASTIC VACATION HOME

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

I MUST SAY THIS WAS THE BEST FAMILY VACATION WE HAVE EVER HAD!!!! AND WE HAVE BEEN ON MANY...THE BEACH HOUSE IS FANTASTIC WITH EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY NEED. KITCHEN WAS SUPPLIED WITH EVERY POT, PAN, OR ANYTHING YOU COULD THINK OF..CHERYL'S COOKBOOKS WERE FANTASTIC. TRY THE COCONUT SHRIMP!!!!!!! YUMMY..MY KIDS AND GRANDCHILDREN ARE ASKING WHEN ARE WE GOING BACK..A LITTLE EARLY TO SAY BUT HOPEFULLY IN THE VERY NEAR FUTURE..ONE THING WE DIDN'T DO WAS RENT THE GOLF CART..BIG MISTAKE!!!!!!THE BEACH WAS WONDERFUL, SUNSETS WERE SPECTULAR AND SHELLING WAS SOOOO MUCH FUN..I FOUND A HUGH SHARKS TOOTH. AFTER THE BEACH EVERYDAY WE CAME BACK TO THE WONDERFUL CLEAN POOL..WHAT A BIG PLUS!! PAT AND CHERYL WERE THOUGHFUL AND CONSIDERATE WITH ALL OUR NEEDS..MEETING US WHEN WE ARRIVED WAS WONDERFUL TO SHOW US AROUND THEIR GORGEOUS HOME..YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED...AWESOME AWESOME !!!!!!!!!!! LET'S NOT FORGET THE TURTLES!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great family! Thank you for this wonderful review. Pat & I really enjoyed having you and your family vacation in our home for five weeks and meeting both of you. We work hard to make our guests' vacation enjoyable by providing the extra touches to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We hope you will come back to our home very soon and that we have many more nice families like yours stay in our beach home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Five Snowbirds.

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We thoughly enjoyed a month in your comfortable home on Don Pedro Island during our escape from the frigid weather up North. The many large windows in every room let in lots of natural light. Your kitchen was well equiped with everything anyone could possibly need to put together meals from the very simple to the elegant gourmet fare. You certainly provided an abundance (and variety) of books, which we all enjoyed reading as we relaxed around the pool everyday. We often dinned at the Rum Bay restaurant in the Palm Island Resort at the northern end of the island. The restaurant offered very good meals at affordable prices. We occasionally took their water taxi to the mainland restaurant for Happy Hour.....always a fun evening out! The easy walk to the beach only takes a few minutes from the house. Whether searching for million year old shark's teeth (I found 3000!) and unique shells, taking a quiet morning stroll or gathering with other "islanders" to watch the spectacular sunsets.....the tranquility of this wonderful barrier island can't be beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Getaway

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We live in the cold, snowy north and were looking for a place to getaway for a week and we were very pleasantly surprised with the property. It is alway risky when you rent site unseen, but this house was exactly as advertised and shown in the pictures. It was clean, nicely decorated, and well supplied with all of our needs. We only wished that we could have stayed longer. If you are considering renting this house, be sure to rent the golf cart as well. We explored every inch of the island with it and met a lot of nice people. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The beaches are beautiful and there are no crowds even in peak season. Cheryl and Pat greeted us and explained everything to us and that was helpful. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely house and a beautiful island

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

I stayed for a week this winter and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The house is beautiful and so is the island. There's a great beach and the house has its own sparkling clean pool. The owners were very thoughtful and very considerate and stocked the house with everything you need except for a few groceries! I will stay here again when I get the chance!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply Paradise!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We had an absolutely fantastic time at the beach house. We stayed for a whole month and enjoyed every minute - (this is a great price compared to the other listings). The house itself is beautifully furnished - kitchen, bedroom, bathrooms, the floors - all gorgeous. There is a great gas BBQ outside and we cooked up some treats on it almost every night. It is also in a wonderful location. Just a short stroll down to the beach and you are confronted with miles and miles of pristine unspoilt Florida beach. The owners are truly delightful people who went out of their way to ensure are stay was enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this house to visit without hesitation. We came all the way from the UK to go there and can't wait to make the long journey back again. It is simply paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We had a wonderful time at your house this week! Everyone had a great time. The beach is beautiful, we found lots of shells and shark's teeth. The pool was really enjoyed by my son, and everyone else for that matter! My brother caught some mullet, pompano and trout. It was so relaxing, a perfect vacation for us. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Home

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

We stayed at this home for 5 days while attending our son's wedding on the island. Our son didn't give us much advance notice and we were very fortunate to find such a lovely place on short notice. The owners are very easy to deal with and very helpful. The home is very well maintained and well appointed. The listing photos do not do it justice, it's truly a home, not a typical rental. Having a washer and dryer to use was a nice addition for the wet clothes and towels from the beach. The kitchen had everything you could need and more, including basic items like spices. The location was close to the beach, and close to the ferry. However, it is next to the fire house, which was not a problem for us as it's not manned 24/7. The pool, while small, was a nice asset for our grandchildren to use. We rented their golf cart as well as having our car on the island and that was great for the short trip to the beach. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a family rental. If we are lucky enough to return to the island, we will rent this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review