reviews for: listing #89039 - Kissimmee, Florida Villa rental

Lake View House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Oak Island Harbor
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $129 - $158 /nt
    $950 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic House

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

What a wonderful house! We found the property very clean, well stocked with all kinds of things you might need and very comfortable. The pool and hot tub were the best feature! The pool was very nicely heated (considering the nights were 50 degrees) and very clean. The neighborhood was so quiet and the pond was a super nice backdrop. We also saw the alligator living in the pond :) Kitchen had everything we needed and more! So centrally located I couldn't believe how convenient it was. The garbage disposal did not work when we arrived and they were out the next morning and fixed the problem, what service! The owners were so nice, easy to work with, accessible and answered all our questions very quickly and thoroughly.

The only complaint we had was that the property did not have any blankets. I assume they wanted you to use the bedspreads for warmth, but they were inadequate for that function in most rooms. Since the nights were cool (50 degrees) the air conditioning was not running and the windows were closed, but the house still got quite cool at night and in the morning, not to mention sleeping with just a sheet is unusual to us.

We would rent this house again in a heartbeat! Oh, and Sea World is one of the best attractions Orlando has to offer, we were pleasantly surprised and won't miss it on future visits!

Owners response: Tiffany ,
Thank you for such a wonderful review it’s very much appreciated!!!
If only you had mentioned about being cold my management would have come round immediately with instructions on how to operate the forced air heating [it’s very rarely on in Florida but this past winter has been exceptional]
If I can help with any future Disney vacations please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Derek

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful home. It's exactly as the photos show. We have already recommended this place to all the people we know. Our vacation was great and this place is so close to all the theme parks. We will definitely be returning. Derek is a pleasure to deal with and very quick to reply to any questions/concerns you may have. Thank you for making our family vacation so awesome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Villa!!!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Lake View Villa is a perfect holiday home!!

The Villa itself is beautiful, spacious and spotlessly clean with everything that you could possibly want.

It is very conveniently situated 10-15 minutes away from the Disney Parks, so it is easy to pop back, mid-afternoon, for a relax in the sun (looking at the wonderful lake view), have a swim or just unwind in the jacuzzi, before setting off again for an evening in the Parks!!

There is a supermarket (which is open late in the evening so you can get provisions on your way home after the Parks) and a range of restuarants close by.

Derek rang to check that everything was to our satisfaction whilst we were there (it was!!) and has been in contact by email before and after our visit.

We will certainly be going back to Lake View House and unreservedly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful holiday in Orlando!! 5*

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home for families & very clean!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This home was perfect in every way. The location of the home was excellent for our day trips to Disney. There was not one thing that we needed that the home did not have. I would recommend this home for any family with small children or even just adult couples. If we go to the area again we would rent this home again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location, location

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

Thank you to Derek for renting his fantastic holiday home to us. The location couldn't be more perfect and was just minutes away from some of Orlando's best restaurants, Outback, Olive Gardens, Logan's, Bahama Breeze, Longhorns, to name but a few. The Disney parks were really near and very easy to drive to. The Villa itself had everything we needed and more for our holiday. We enjoyed many a night in the hot tub in the evening after a day at the parks. We even got to see 2 of the residential gators in the lake! Our family all had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this villa for your Florida holiday

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Expectations were met and we really liked the stay

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Everything was as expected and the house was well maintained and stocked nicely with just the right amount of what is needed. The location is well situated with restaurants and shops nearby and Disney is a short drive away.

My younger boy loved the pool and his room with the TV and stuffed animals. We all had plenty of room to sprawl out and relax after long days at the park.

Derek was great to work with and they had everything well documented and clearly stated with reasons as to why things are they way they need to be – vert nice.

I have and will continue to recommend this to people I know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Welcome home!!!!!!'

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Just wanted to take a minute to thank Derek for all he's done making my family feel at home with his vacation home. My family arrived and was totally elated to see the everything that you can possibly need is at you fingertips. We were traveling with a 9 month old and to our surprise he had a fold away baby crib that came in very handy and our little one love it. Now on to the cleanliness of the home, the house is well maintained and very clean including the pool and patio area. The only problem we had was the mix up in the pool heat, which one would think in July you wouldn't need pool heat but the mix up was my mistake and I did not read the house manual for the operation of the spa heat and pool heat. We are looking forward to come back to our florida get away home next year thanks to Derek and his wife . You can not go wrong with this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal holiday villa

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

A lovely comfortable villa in an excellent location genuinely close to Disney. Supermarkets and restaurants in close proximity which was very useful after a full and busy day at the parks. The pool was a welcome attraction to cool off in during our down time. The views over the lake were a real bonus and we thoroughly appreciated watching the sun rise from the comfort of the recliner chair in the early morning. All needs were thought of and catered for and we couldn't have asked for any more. The whole experience lived up to our expectations and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the villa to others. Many thanks to Derek and Julie for allowing us to stay there and we fully appreciate the personal contact from Derek at all times. All in all a fabulous holiday and we hope to return in the future. Janet and Richard Armstrong. UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

This home, owner, & location are top notch! After a 12 hour road trip, we were pleasantly surprised at how CLEAN, convenient, and well appointed the home was. It is obvious that the owners actually care and use this home, opposed to other rentals we have stayed in which were obviously only cash cows (updated as things were broken). This home is in a nice and quiet neighborhood, yet 2-3 blocks off of a main strip which offers grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc. Our traveling group consisted of 3 adults and 2 toddlers. We all agreed each time exiting WDW what a great choice we'd made in staying offsite in the Lake View House. We were on our own time, cooked our own meals, and were close enough to leave the park mid-day to nap and cool off in the pool. It took us around 10 minutes from the home to arrive at Magic Kingdom and 5 minutes to arrive at Animal Kingdom. We enjoyed the home so much that we ended up staying there swimming, playing games, and watching satellite tv on the large HD flat screen an extra day than planned and skipping the WDW chaos altogether. A cell phone snapshot of the view from the leather recliner in the living room showing the lake, blue sky, and pool area was good enough to recieve jealous taunts from my coworkers back home ;). The owners Derek and Julie were courteous enough to call the land line and make sure the home and our vacation was going well. We appreciated the personable inquiry. We also agreed that if we lived less than 800 miles away, we would stay in this home for weekend getaways to relax. It is that good! The only thing you will regret if renting this home is not extending your stay! Thanks Derek & Julie! We hope to return asap!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Very roomy, private and close to the parks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning House Absolutley the Best!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We stayed at Lake View House from 7-21 May 2013 and thought it was the perfect home. We came for my father-in-law's 70th birthday, and were a party of 6 adults and 1 child - ranging from 8 to 70 we all enjoyed the house (it was a perfect size for us) and the holiday itself was great. The ground floor master suite was great for the elders! My husband and I have stayed in 5 different homes in the Disney area, 2 in Formosa Gardens, and this was definitely the best. It was absolutely spotless when we arrived with every convenience necessary . We enjoyed watching the wildlife from the pool deck (various birds, turtles, frogs and fish)also watching the sunset from the spa was amazing. Oak Island Harbor at Formosa Gardens is very close to Disney, but is also the only place we've
stayed where it is possible to walk out to dinner (Outback Steakhouse and Red Lobster are closest and both excellent) - about a mile away but well worth it if you all want a drink with your meal. Derek was fantastic during the arranging for the holiday - couldn't have been more helpful to us. Many thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THIS HOUSE IS FANTASTIC

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

This house is fantastic!! We traveled with 4 adults and 4 kids (ages 2-11) and everyone had a blast. Right when we walked in the door our expectations had been far surpassed because it was even nicer than the pictures indicated. I really can’t imagine what else the owner could do to improve this place because he’s covered everything under the sun. Even down to supplying fishing rods [my husband caught lots of largemouth bass]

It never took us more than 10 minutes to get to the Disney property and I think we were actually in our parking space in less than 15. We enjoyed having all of the retail access so close too. (Target, Buffalo Wild Wings, Outback, etc.)

Overall, I give this house 10 out of 10 in quality, location and fun! The views across the lake are truly spectacular.
The kids loved playing in the games room. We spent 4 days at the parks and spent 2 days hanging around the house. This was our first trip to Disney and we really enjoyed getting away from the crowds and relaxing at such a nice home. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Renting this home for a week was the best vacation decision we have ever made. This is a beautiful home and comfortable. Close to everything, to all the parks, shopping, and restaurants. Very quiet neighborhood, so it was easy to relax after a day at the parks. The house is set up for children, with the alarm on the back door leading to the pool, a game room for fun and enjoyment for all, and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. Everything has been thought out to make the week relaxing and accommodating for everyone. Even if you don't have children, I recommend this house for anyone. The owners were very easy to work with, they provided great directions, instructions, and they were helpful in everything. We will be coming back in the future, and we know where we will be staying. Tim and Beth Johns, Boise, Idaho 2013

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pure Luxury in Orlando

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Pure Luxury in Orlando

(Lymington, Hampshire, UK)
Review submitted: September 24, 2012 Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We arrived on the Friday after a long flight and check in, we got to the Villa and it took our breath away. We loved every minute there and it made our honeymoon. The villa is stunning in every way, from the bedrooms, to the bathroom, to the kitchen and the lounge. Having not been to America for a while we were slightly blind and Derek had kindly left us information about local resources such as restaurants and shops. After a long day at the parks it was perfect to come back and sit in the jacuzzi looking across the lake and watching the sun go down. The location of the villa is perfect, so close to Disney etc and lovely restaurants only down the road. We would definitely recommend this place to our family and friends and we certainly be returning. Thank you Derek also for lending my husband your fishing rod - he made good use of it and it was very pleased. Thank you again for letting us stay, we had a fantastic time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pure Luxury in Orlando

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We arrived on the Friday after a long flight and check in, we got to the Villa and it took our breath away. We loved every minute there and it made our honeymoon. The villa is stunning in every way, from the bedrooms, to the bathroom, to the kitchen and the lounge. Having not been to America for a while we were slightly blind and Derek had kindly left us information about local resources such as restaurants and shops. After a long day at the parks it was perfect to come back and sit in the jacuzzi looking across the lake and watching the sun go down. The location of the villa is perfect, so close to Disney etc and lovely restaurants only down the road. We would definitely recommend this place to our family and friends and we certainly be returning. Thank you Derek also for lending my husband your fishing rod - he made good use of it and it was very pleased. Thank you again for letting us stay, we had a fantastic time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

"Wonderful home!"
Your home was beautiful and extremely clean. It had plenty of room for my family to stay comfortably. My children especially loved the pool and fishing in the pond behind the house. Nice, quiet community close to stores and attractions. We will be back on our next trip to Disney for sure!
Gina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Home from home with a pool

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

“Home from home with a pool”
The villa was clean and tidy. Well furnished with comfy beds and fabulous en-suite facilities. Truly we felt it was our home from home for the fortnight. The villa was in a great location - very handy for the Disney parks. I also like that it's located within a residential estate and I enjoyed chatting to the locals when we would meet in the street.

I had booked the villa almost a year in advance of our trip (as soon as our flights were booked) as I'd seen it online and thought "that's the villa for us". I liked that the owner and myself kept in touch prior to the holiday and answered any queries I had and he was happy to hear my feedback after my visit.

The owner's package on directions to the villa and how things work in the villa had a couple of things missing but we soon worked them out for ourselves but I did give feedback which I hope was taken on-board and the owner said he would amend that for this year's guests.

Things I would have liked in the villa include a bike and perhaps a set of golf clubs as we had to hire a set while we were there. (The luggage allowance from UK is only 20kg!)

It is going to sound sad but I love using the laundry room in America. I was able to do a quick wash every day and kept on top of the family's laundry needs and it meant that I came home from holiday with all my clothes cleaned, washed and ironed... sad or what?
Sandra

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

""spoil yourself in a Stunining luxurious castle "

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Mr.& Mrs. Clean live here! very well maintained luxurious, roomy house.
Its like vacationing at a very private lakeside resort.
The pool with a cascading waterfall hot tub was a very enjoyable way to begin our day, or relax during the evening after a long day at the very close amusement parks. The fireworks @ Magic Kingdom light up the sky during the evening as you relax in the hot tub.
All the restaurants and shopping you could ask for are less than 1 mile away, and because of the close proximity

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Everything and more"

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We stayed at this house the middle of February, 2012. Everything was excellent, even better that what we expected. We they say it is minutes away from the parks, they are honestly telling you the truth. The games room was great for the kids; the pool was so nice and private. Anything that went wrong, they were there so quick to fix, unbelievable service. We just wanted to thank Derek for letting us rent this beautiful house and making our trip so much more memorable! I will highly, highly recommend this house to anyone that wants a holiday with the luxury of feeling like you were at home! Thank you Derek so much!!! When we go to Florida again, I will surely look you up and hopefully this house will be available!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Review #4958684 "Perfect Vacation"

Hi Derek, I just wanted to send you a big THANK YOU for the rental of your home. I know it was your home but my family felt as if it was theirs!! Everything was PERFECT and exactly what you had stated in your description. I will be highly recommended your home to whoever I hear is going to Disney World. Thank you again for making our dream trip really come true!!!! PS… you were dealing with my husband Tony
Kerry Ann

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Time! Terrific House!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our trip to Disneyworld---your house was perfect and my grandkids were in the pool every minute they could get----I hope everything was satisfactory when we left----I will definitely recommend your house to anyone I know taking a trip to Florida---Thanks again, we had a terrific time!----Cathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Totally Amazing!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

. Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
This is the Real Deal. It was the most perfect Vacation we ever had and a large part of that was because of this house. It is the Best ! There is nothing you could ever ask for that this house doesn't have. Our kids were in heaven with the pool, the wifi, having their own TV's to watch and their own rooms. It is less than 10 minutes from the Disney parks and minutes away from shopping or dining. A perfect location. Derek was very easy to deal with and answered any questions I had very quickly. My kids are already asking "when are we going back ?"
Derek is very proud of this house and I can see why. I would rent this house again and would recommend it to anyone. I wouldn't change a thing.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House! Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

London, Ontario, Canada
Review Submitted: February 15, 2011 Date of Stay: January 2011
This house was perfect. It's exactly what you see in the pictures and what you read in the reviews. It had everything we needed and more. The location was amazing. It was in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. We were close to disney, restaurants, shops and grocery stores. It was actually a lot closer to Disney than we expected.
The house was well kept, clean and had all the amenities we could have wanted. They had baby gates, cribs and a play pen. Tons of pillows, extra blankets, towels etc...
Derek was a pleasure to deal with and always answered back emails and questions very quickly.
The children loved having their own room with a tv, dvd player and games. The pool was the perfect size for the kids and we loved having the hot tub to relax in. We loved that the house and doors had alarms on them so we knew the children were always safe in the house.
We would recommend this house to anyone travelling to Florida. We plan on going back to Disney and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.
Everything was perfect!! We loved this house and our vacation!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1st Disney trip

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

Rating
5 out of 5
Paul F.
Friends were 50/50 on staying on or off site for Disney. No question after staying at this home that it was the way to go. 1st location--Less than a 10 minute drive to all the parks and many amenities(restaurants/grocery) within 5 minute drive. 2nd the house itself was a great oasis for the kids when not enjoying the parks. 11 year old fished in the lake morning and night and caught a few bass. 5 & 8 year olds swam morning and night. All three enjoyed the game room. Kitchen provided all the necessities to make some healthy breakfast and dinners for the family. We packed light and really appreciated the laundry room. Overall it was great to have the features of home and then some. Third the price. For a family of five I'm sure we came out ahead of staying in a cramped hotel room.
Thank you Derek and Julie.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children
Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

1st Disney Trip

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

Friends were 50/50 on staying on or off site for Disney. No question after staying at this home that it was the way to go. 1st location--Less than a 10 minute drive to all the parks and many amenities(restaurants/grocery) within 5 minute drive. 2nd the house itself was a great oasis for the kids when not enjoying the parks. 11 year old fished in the lake morning and night and caught a few bass. 5 & 8 year olds swam morning and night. All three enjoyed the game room. Kitchen provided all the necessities to make some healthy breakfast and dinners for the family. We packed light and really appreciated the laundry room. Overall it was great to have the features of home and then some. Third the price. For a family of five I'm sure we came out ahead of staying in a cramped hotel room.

Thank you Derek and Julie.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Clean house

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This is a great house for a bigger family. My 5 kids all had room to spread out. Pool is a little small but did the trick. House only had a few bars of soap so be prepared to bring or buy everything. Also, "walking distance" means one mile and those 800 channels do not include ESPN. However, the house was really clean which is the most important thing to me. The lake and wildlife are really calming after a day in the parks. Location and price were excellent.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing House! Amazing Vacation!

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

This house was perfect. It's exactly what you see in the pictures and what you read in the reviews. It had everything we needed and more. The location was amazing. It was in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. We were close to disney, restaurants, shops and grocery stores. It was actually a lot closer to Disney than we expected.
The house was well kept, clean and had all the amenities we could have wanted. They had baby gates, cribs and a play pen. Tons of pillows, extra blankets, towels etc...
Derek was a pleasure to deal with and always answered back emails and questions very quickly.
The children loved having their own room with a tv, dvd player and games. The pool was the perfect size for the kids and we loved having the hot tub to relax in. We loved that the house and doors had alarms on them so we knew the children were always safe in the house.
We would recommend this house to anyone travelling to Florida. We plan on going back to Disney and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.
Everything was perfect!! We loved this house and our vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Totally Amazing !

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

This is the Real Deal. It was the most perfect Vacation we ever had and a large part of that was because of this house. It is the Best ! There is nothing you could ever ask for that this house doesn't have. Our kids were in heaven with the pool, the wifi, having their own TV's to watch and their own rooms. It is less than 10 minutes from the Disney parks and minutes away from shopping or dining. A perfect location. Derek was very easy to deal with and answered any questions I had very quickly. My kids are already asking "when are we going back ?"

Derek is very proud of this house and I can see why. I would rent this house again and would recommend it to anyone. I wouldn't change a thing.

The Robertson Family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alana Balbirnie

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Hello,

I just wanted to thank you so much for renting your beautiful home to us for the week. We just got back and enjoyed our stay so much. You have a wonderful home and it was the perfect location. We hope to make a return trip in the future.

Thanks again for allowing us to enjoy your home.

Sincerely,

Alana Balbirnie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our trip to Disneyworld---your house was perfect and my grandkids were in the pool every minute they could get---I hope eveythingwas satisfactory when we left---I will definitely recommend your house to anyone I know taking a trip to Florida---Thanks again, we had a terrific time!----Cathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Dear Derek ,



At last, I have found time to write to you and thank you.

We have enjoyed on our stay and very satisfy with the technical help of Alexander.

Although the weather is a little bit colder, we are satisfied with the location of the house, shopping malls nearby, supermarkets, and amusement parks.

I hope everything is fine after our departure and nothing to complain on your side, as we are the guest. We do our best to leave the house as we found.

Thanks for everything,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Hi Derek ,

First of all thanks for a great time at your house in Florida which we thoroughly enjoyed !!

Great location , superb views and everything in the house needed to make a great vacation !!

We celebrated New Year 2010 in style - champagne in the spa watching the Disney fireworks - a night to remember

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review